You are not logged in.

#1 2010-10-01 00:20:00

magyckleo
Member
Registered: 2010-09-24
Posts: 30

Install a .deb package

Howdy,

I've been looking everywhere for an answer to this: I have a .deb package for a program that I installed in Ubuntu. Now I want to install it in Arch but can't find anywhere for a way to install it. I've tried with deb2targz and successfully extracted the contents... But after that I haven't got a clue as to what I have to do. I tried manually compiling it with make and make install, but no success. I found this post:

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=55148

But the aur package the post is referring to doesn't exist anymore. So I'm stumped.

Help, please.

Offline

#2 2010-10-01 00:29:20

flamelab
Member
From: Athens, Hellas (Greece)
Registered: 2007-12-26
Posts: 2,160

Re: Install a .deb package

What package is it ? Source ? Link ?

Offline

#3 2010-10-01 01:15:51

magyckleo
Member
Registered: 2010-09-24
Posts: 30

Re: Install a .deb package

http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=15566

That was the link, but the package isn't there anymore. I could really use a tool or a good tutorial on how to install a .deb in Arch. I tried looking for that same package in the AUR, and I found it but it was a demo version AND it was for 32bit. The deb I have is not a demo AND is for 64 bits.

Offline

#4 2010-10-01 01:25:41

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,430

Re: Install a .deb package

I think flamelab asked what's the name of the package you want to install.

Offline

#5 2010-10-01 01:52:27

magyckleo
Member
Registered: 2010-09-24
Posts: 30

Re: Install a .deb package

The program is CrossOver Pro, but I have the .deb package for the 64 bit version that works fine on my Ubuntu. It's not the demo that I found on AUR, it's the full edition that the codeweavers people gave out some time ago. That's why I want to install it, but haven't found a way to create the pkg.tar.gz that Arch Linux needs to install it. All I could do is use deb2targz to turn it into a tar.gz file, but when I try to do make and make install to compile it from that file I get squat, so I'm stumped, hehehehe

Offline

#6 2010-10-01 12:33:21

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,430

Re: Install a .deb package

I don't think you need to compile it, usually .deb is an already compiled package.

You can try to manually do what the build() does - it should be very easy: http://aur.archlinux.org/packages/cross … o/PKGBUILD
Next, run what's in http://aur.archlinux.org/packages/cross … er.install

Or you can adapt that PKGBUILD for the .deb you have.

Offline

#7 2010-10-01 14:20:38

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 3,731

Re: Install a .deb package

magyckleo wrote:

The program is CrossOver Pro, but I have the .deb package for the 64 bit version that works fine on my Ubuntu. It's not the demo that I found on AUR, it's the full edition that the codeweavers people gave out some time ago. That's why I want to install it, but haven't found a way to create the pkg.tar.gz that Arch Linux needs to install it. All I could do is use deb2targz to turn it into a tar.gz file, but when I try to do make and make install to compile it from that file I get squat, so I'm stumped, hehehehe

Just use http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=14187

Bump the version / update the md5sum as needed.

Last edited by Mr.Elendig (2010-10-01 14:21:00)


Evil #archlinux@freenode channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

#8 2010-10-01 14:23:36

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,430

Re: Install a .deb package

Mr.Elendig wrote:

Bump the version / update the md5sum as needed.

@ magyckleo
Read 'man makepkg' and http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Creating_Packages to learn how to do that if you got lost.

Last edited by karol (2010-10-01 14:24:18)

Offline

#9 2010-10-01 15:15:43

Barghest
Member
From: Hanau/Germany
Registered: 2008-01-03
Posts: 563

Re: Install a .deb package

For Crossover Pro I always use the sh installer and install it in my home directory.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB