You are not logged in.

#1 2010-04-11 10:40:59

Dinth
Member
From: London
Registered: 2009-03-02
Posts: 224

Best preloading / prefetching method for Arch

What preloading methods are you using ? Which is the best ? Any tips on using them? Are you combining some of them them ?

I know:
- preload
- prelink
- gopreload
- pepr

And use both preload & prelink

Offline

#2 2010-04-11 10:57:49

mauz
Member
From: Medellín, Antioquia, COLOMBIA.
Registered: 2005-02-19
Posts: 31
Website

Re: Best preloading / prefetching method for Arch

How do you use those programas, can you show me how you use both?

Offline

#3 2010-04-11 11:29:34

Dinth
Member
From: London
Registered: 2009-03-02
Posts: 224

Re: Best preloading / prefetching method for Arch

im installing them by pacman. Preload goes to rc.conf DAEMONS, and you run prelink with (sory if i mistake) sudo prelink -amR on 32systems and sudo prelink -aR on 64bit systems.

Offline

#4 2010-04-11 13:44:46

JohnnyRogers
Member
Registered: 2009-10-24
Posts: 32

Re: Best preloading / prefetching method for Arch

I've just tried readahead (http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Readahead) but I'm fairly sure that it doesn't save any time on boot.

Offline

#5 2010-04-17 01:24:40

icarus-c
Member
Registered: 2009-11-12
Posts: 17

Re: Best preloading / prefetching method for Arch

JohnnyRogers wrote:

I've just tried readahead (http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Readahead) but I'm fairly sure that it doesn't save any time on boot.

Readahead rather slow down the boot time on for me..

Offline

#6 2010-04-17 01:58:23

thestinger
Trusted User (TU)
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2010-01-23
Posts: 478

Re: Best preloading / prefetching method for Arch

I don't think prelink works on arch unless you compile everything with ABS - it needs a compile option that isn't enabled by default

Last edited by thestinger (2010-04-17 01:58:38)

Offline

#7 2010-04-18 21:19:00

schivmeister
Developer/TU
From: Singapore
Registered: 2007-05-17
Posts: 971
Website

Re: Best preloading / prefetching method for Arch

Have tried them all to no interesting results. Then I had to do what seemed like a nasty prelink revert. Never touched em again. Now my system's 1 second slower!


I need real, proper pen and paper for this.

Offline

#8 2010-04-19 15:01:12

Labello
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-01-21
Posts: 315
Website

Re: Best preloading / prefetching method for Arch

thestinger wrote:

I don't think prelink works on arch unless you compile everything with ABS - it needs a compile option that isn't enabled by default

I do not understand why this should be tha case.

AFAIAI prelinking just modifies the binaries to somehow statically link to the libraries instead of always letting the binaries search their libraries...


"They say just hold onto your hope but you know if you swallow your pride you will choke"
Alexisonfire - Midnight Regulations

Offline

#9 2010-06-10 17:07:41

GSF1200S
Member
Registered: 2008-12-24
Posts: 434

Re: Best preloading / prefetching method for Arch

I cannot get gopreload to work at all, even though it seems perfect for my needs. I run:

gopreload-prepare firefox

and it creates a list, but when I start the gopreload daemon it doesnt load anything. Following the advice on the gentoo thread http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-t-78 … 5ef90f9821, I get a printout where it says:

0/185 files will NOT be preloaded because they cannot be found.

for the firefox list file. According to English, that means it should work, but it doesnt load anything into RAM. When I open firefox, I watch it being loaded into RAM despite the daemon already running.

I dont know if Im missing something with permissions, but it will not work for me.

Offline

#10 2011-01-23 19:12:37

teatreetea
Member
Registered: 2010-11-17
Posts: 6

Re: Best preloading / prefetching method for Arch

Hey, with regard to gopreload has anyone used it with chromium? I've prepared other programs fine but when I hit "./Prepare.sh chromium" chromium just never starts,
any ideas?

Offline

#11 2011-01-23 20:42:47

Lothium
Member
Registered: 2009-10-10
Posts: 192

Re: Best preloading / prefetching method for Arch

Same problem here! With chromium it doesn't work for me.

Offline

#12 2011-01-24 09:11:54

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 1,523

Re: Best preloading / prefetching method for Arch

For some reason "strace -f chromium" doesn't show the window.
Anyway:

Gozer ~ # gopreload-prepare chromium
Detecting opened files...
Press [ENTER] when you've done

#-- HERE wait some seconds for hard disk activity fo finish, next press enter.

Detection completed, parsing file list...
Done with parsing, backtracing symbolic links...
307 on 307 done, will use 32MB to preload them 
./enabled/chromium.openfiles-32MB.txt compiled.

I think it will work.

Offline

#13 2011-01-24 09:59:01

Lothium
Member
Registered: 2009-10-10
Posts: 192

Re: Best preloading / prefetching method for Arch

Yes it detects some files here to (when I open it manually), but it doesn't accelerates the start.

Offline

#14 2011-01-24 10:16:51

Zom
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2007-10-27
Posts: 406

Re: Best preloading / prefetching method for Arch

JohnnyRogers wrote:

I've just tried readahead (http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Readahead) but I'm fairly sure that it doesn't save any time on boot.

You could try readahead-fedora instead. It's like ureadahead, but doesn't require a kernel-patch. It's also pretty much automatic.

Offline

#15 2011-01-24 14:09:23

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 1,523

Re: Best preloading / prefetching method for Arch

Lothium wrote:

Yes it detects some files here to (when I open it manually), but it doesn't accelerates the start.

Did you empty your caches/buffers before checking the time needed to start chromium?

Offline

#16 2011-01-24 14:45:45

Lothium
Member
Registered: 2009-10-10
Posts: 192

Re: Best preloading / prefetching method for Arch

Yes of course... You can notice it in a very easy way. Just make a restart and than open chromium. For me it takes a long time, until the window open. Then close it and start it again. Now it is in RAM and it starts very fast. For all other application it works, but not for chromium.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB