You are not logged in.

#1 2011-03-22 19:19:09

IdoMcFly
Member
Registered: 2007-12-18
Posts: 28

[Firefox 4] different font rendering between RC2 and final?

I was using firefox-beta-bin and today I updated to final but I found the font is blurry on final. Anyone noticed that?

Offline

#2 2011-03-22 19:55:46

thestinger
Trusted User (TU)
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2010-01-23
Posts: 478

Re: [Firefox 4] different font rendering between RC2 and final?

it looks like it still isn't dynamically linked against cairo

strcat@arch i ~ % grep cairo /var/abs/extra/firefox/mozconfig 
ac_add_options --enable-default-toolkit=cairo-gtk2
#ac_add_options --enable-system-cairo

cairo in [testing] is built with --enable-tee, so firefox could build against it again

Last edited by thestinger (2011-03-22 19:56:59)

Offline

#3 2011-03-22 20:02:18

jnguyen
Member
Registered: 2011-02-17
Posts: 139
Website

Re: [Firefox 4] different font rendering between RC2 and final?

thestinger wrote:

it looks like it still isn't dynamically linked against cairo

strcat@arch i ~ % grep cairo /var/abs/extra/firefox/mozconfig 
ac_add_options --enable-default-toolkit=cairo-gtk2
#ac_add_options --enable-system-cairo

cairo in [testing] is built with --enable-tee, so firefox could build against it again

I don't know about the OP's question, but you are looking at the old mozconfig. The new mozconfig for firefox-4.0 has the system-cairo line uncommented. The ABS tree takes a while to sync, so you are better off looking at the subversion repo.


TOMOYO Linux: Mandatory Access Control.
My AUR packages

Offline

#4 2011-03-22 20:03:17

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: [Firefox 4] different font rendering between RC2 and final?

thestinger wrote:

it looks like it still isn't dynamically linked against cairo

strcat@arch i ~ % grep cairo /var/abs/extra/firefox/mozconfig 
ac_add_options --enable-default-toolkit=cairo-gtk2
#ac_add_options --enable-system-cairo

cairo in [testing] is built with --enable-tee, so firefox could build against it again


keep in mind that abs generates new snapshot from svn once a day. you got an old mozconfig version.
http://projects.archlinux.org/svntogit/ … /mozconfig

also, he is running the mozilla official version, the one provided by mozilla, not from us.


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#5 2011-03-22 20:04:51

IdoMcFly
Member
Registered: 2007-12-18
Posts: 28

Re: [Firefox 4] different font rendering between RC2 and final?

So I just have to wait for cairo in testing to go in stable and an new package release of firefox?

Offline

#6 2011-03-22 20:09:59

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: [Firefox 4] different font rendering between RC2 and final?

IdoMcFly wrote:

So I just have to wait for cairo in testing to go in stable and an new package release of firefox?


cairo 1.10.2-2 is in extra and has tee support
firefox 4.0-1 is in extra and is built with system cairo support


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#7 2011-03-22 20:13:28

thestinger
Trusted User (TU)
From: Toronto, Canada
Registered: 2010-01-23
Posts: 478

Re: [Firefox 4] different font rendering between RC2 and final?

wonder wrote:
thestinger wrote:

it looks like it still isn't dynamically linked against cairo

strcat@arch i ~ % grep cairo /var/abs/extra/firefox/mozconfig 
ac_add_options --enable-default-toolkit=cairo-gtk2
#ac_add_options --enable-system-cairo

cairo in [testing] is built with --enable-tee, so firefox could build against it again


keep in mind that abs generates new snapshot from svn once a day. you got an old mozconfig version.
http://projects.archlinux.org/svntogit/ … /mozconfig

also, he is running the mozilla official version, the one provided by mozilla, not from us.

whoops, I forgot about ABS lagging behind the repos a bit xD

Last edited by thestinger (2011-03-22 20:13:38)

Offline

#8 2011-03-22 20:13:41

IdoMcFly
Member
Registered: 2007-12-18
Posts: 28

Re: [Firefox 4] different font rendering between RC2 and final?

I've installed package named "firefox" from extra, so it is supposed to work?

Offline

#9 2011-03-22 21:03:08

IdoMcFly
Member
Registered: 2007-12-18
Posts: 28

Re: [Firefox 4] different font rendering between RC2 and final?

I've checked cairo too, and it is the good version.

Last edited by IdoMcFly (2011-03-22 21:03:36)

Offline

#10 2011-03-22 22:52:05

ninian
Member
From: United Kingdom
Registered: 2008-02-24
Posts: 689
Website

Re: [Firefox 4] different font rendering between RC2 and final?

Looking good now!
Hoping that Thunderbird with system cairo will follow too ...
smile

Last edited by ninian (2011-03-22 23:07:36)

Offline

#11 2011-03-23 08:16:06

IdoMcFly
Member
Registered: 2007-12-18
Posts: 28

Re: [Firefox 4] different font rendering between RC2 and final?

the bin provided by mozilla does not have my problem, so my blurry font may come from this cairo link thing?

Offline

#12 2011-03-24 13:23:51

IdoMcFly
Member
Registered: 2007-12-18
Posts: 28

Re: [Firefox 4] different font rendering between RC2 and final?

so I have to use the package from mozilla ? hmm

Offline

#13 2011-03-24 18:14:50

brebs
Member
Registered: 2007-04-03
Posts: 3,413

Re: [Firefox 4] different font rendering between RC2 and final?

Set up your fonts how you like them. See Arch wiki.

"Blurry" to you might be "beautiful" to someone else, with different eyes looking at a different monitor with maybe different fonts.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB