You are not logged in.

#1 2010-12-27 22:57:52

vikyboss
Member
Registered: 2010-12-27
Posts: 22

[SOLVED] Brightness resets

I am a newbie to arch linux.

I have a laptop in which none of the fucntion keys work(but they worked perfectly in fedora 14 not in 13), plus the brightness resets to 100 after every restart.

The only way I can change brightness is to follow either of the two ways:

1. Use Gnome panel brighness applet(Moving the bar in the applet is really slow/lags, it is the same case with ubuntu 10.10 but not 10.04)

2. Use this command(Here I used 0 as my brightness):

echo -n 0 > /proc/acpi/video/VGA1/LCD/brightness

So, finally I decided to run this command at every startup so it starts automatically at 0. But I don't know where to put this command. I think I can put this in rc.local or create a startup application in gnome(but none of them worked).

Is there any way to excute this command at startup or make the fucntion key work. Thanks in advance.

Last edited by vikyboss (2011-05-08 02:16:53)

Offline

#2 2010-12-28 11:29:09

stqn
Member
Registered: 2010-03-19
Posts: 1,189
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Brightness resets

For the brightness reset problem, see http://ohioloco.ubuntuforums.org/showth … ?p=9259920 ... Not sure if that's your problem though.

Last edited by stqn (2010-12-28 11:31:21)

Offline

#3 2010-12-28 18:04:37

vikyboss
Member
Registered: 2010-12-27
Posts: 22

Re: [SOLVED] Brightness resets

stqn wrote:

For the brightness reset problem, see http://ohioloco.ubuntuforums.org/showth … ?p=9259920 ... Not sure if that's your problem though.

Thanks stqn, actually that is not my problem. My problem is brightness keys don't work in my laptop plus when I tried xbacklight, I'm getting

No outputs have backlight property

And I have described the only two ways I can change the brightness in my laptop in my post. If someone can help me, I would appreciate it. Thanks.

Offline

#4 2010-12-28 22:09:48

miro279
Member
Registered: 2010-10-02
Posts: 137

Re: [SOLVED] Brightness resets

Offline

#5 2010-12-29 00:17:49

Daniel_F
Member
From: Brazil
Registered: 2010-12-28
Posts: 69

Re: [SOLVED] Brightness resets

Have you tried to add

acpi_backlight=vendor

as a kernel parameter ??

Offline

#6 2010-12-29 03:22:20

vikyboss
Member
Registered: 2010-12-27
Posts: 22

Re: [SOLVED] Brightness resets

miro279 wrote:

I can't actually find what it did, but after logging the screen dims(looks good). But the thing is my function keys don't work. When I press Fn+f7, brightness goes to 100. When i press Fn+f8, brightness goes to 0(But if I keep on pressing, it goes to 100).

Is there any way I can make function key to work. I had this problem with Ubuntu 10.04, 10.10, fedora 13, fedora 14 kde. The only distro that worked out of box, meaning the all my function keys worked pefectly is with Fedora 14.

Last edited by vikyboss (2010-12-29 03:30:20)

Offline

#7 2010-12-29 03:27:09

vikyboss
Member
Registered: 2010-12-27
Posts: 22

Re: [SOLVED] Brightness resets

Daniel_F wrote:

Have you tried to add

acpi_backlight=vendor

as a kernel parameter ??

No luck, after having this:

# (0) Arch Linux
title  Arch Linux
root   (hd0,4)
kernel /boot/vmlinuz26 root=/dev/sda5 ro
initrd /boot/kernel26.img

After changing the kernel parameter, there is no way I can change brightness, even the 2 ways that I mentioned at the first post didn't work. This is what I got when I tried the echo command:

[root@praba praba]# echo -n 40 > /proc/acpi/video/VGA1/LCD/brightness
bash: echo: write error: Invalid argument

Thanks for the  quick reply.

Offline

#8 2010-12-29 03:46:35

jasonwryan
Forum & Wiki Admin
From: .nz
Registered: 2009-05-09
Posts: 19,361
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Brightness resets

vikyboss wrote:

Is there any way I can make function key to work. I had this problem with Ubuntu 10.04, 10.10, fedora 13, fedora 14 kde. The only distro that worked out of box, meaning the all my function keys worked pefectly is with Fedora 14.

Yes. You just have to read the wiki https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ex … board_Keys

Basically, you can make Arch do pretty much anything you want it to with almost all hardware; but you have to do it yourself.

Please look through the excellent documentation the community has provided, try and get things to work yourself and then, if you encounter difficulties, ask here.


Arch + dwm   •   Mercurial repos  •   Github

Registered Linux User #482438

Offline

#9 2010-12-29 06:52:31

vikyboss
Member
Registered: 2010-12-27
Posts: 22

Re: [SOLVED] Brightness resets

jasonwryan wrote:
vikyboss wrote:

Is there any way I can make function key to work. I had this problem with Ubuntu 10.04, 10.10, fedora 13, fedora 14 kde. The only distro that worked out of box, meaning the all my function keys worked pefectly is with Fedora 14.

Yes. You just have to read the wiki https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ex … board_Keys

Basically, you can make Arch do pretty much anything you want it to with almost all hardware; but you have to do it yourself.

Please look through the excellent documentation the community has provided, try and get things to work yourself and then, if you encounter difficulties, ask here.

Thanks that helped a lot. So, all I have to do is assign functions to my function keys. But as I said before I can execute the echo command with specific brightness specified. But how can I implement them in my two function keys to increase/decrease depending on the two functions key?

Thanks.

Offline

#10 2011-05-08 02:16:33

vikyboss
Member
Registered: 2010-12-27
Posts: 22

Re: [SOLVED] Brightness resets

I found that to implement this functions using function keys I can use xbindkeys. I had a similar question here got resolved by people in this forum: te

Thanks everyone for helping with this problem. smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB