You are not logged in.

#1 2011-04-07 19:51:58

KlavKalashj
Member
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 362

Problem with networkmanager 0.8.998-1

After upgrading networkmanager today (0.8.3-0.20110113 -> 0.8.998-1) network stopped working. The KDE plasma applet reports 'invalid state' for wireless and wired, and doesn't even list my 3g connection. The only relevant pacman message is:

[2011-04-07 22:25] warning: directory permissions differ on var/lib/NetworkManager/
filesystem: 755  package: 700

I tried changing permission on /var/lib/NetworkManager/ to 700, but no difference. Downgrading solves this.

Offline

#2 2011-04-07 19:59:01

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: Problem with networkmanager 0.8.998-1

that warning is inoffensive.  the daemon would automatically change the permission back to 755 if i remember well.

the problem is mostly with that kde plasma. to find out that, use for a minute network-manager-applet


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#3 2011-04-07 20:15:10

KlavKalashj
Member
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 362

Re: Problem with networkmanager 0.8.998-1

wonder wrote:

that warning is inoffensive.  the daemon would automatically change the permission back to 755 if i remember well.

the problem is mostly with that kde plasma. to find out that, use for a minute network-manager-applet

You are correct. With nm-applet it works fine, with plasma applet it doesn't. Both running at the same time. What should I do? Mark as solved, change title, report arch bug or kde bug?

Offline

#4 2011-04-07 20:18:22

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: Problem with networkmanager 0.8.998-1

report on our tracker that the applet is broken. I'm confident that andrea would fix it


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#5 2011-04-07 20:20:15

roentgen
Member
Registered: 2011-03-15
Posts: 91

Re: Problem with networkmanager 0.8.998-1

Same problem here. I see nothing wrong in the logs (maybe I didn't look well enough).

Offline

#6 2011-04-07 20:25:45

KlavKalashj
Member
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 362

Re: Problem with networkmanager 0.8.998-1

wonder wrote:

report on our tracker that the applet is broken. I'm confident that andrea would fix it

Done.

https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/23634

Offline

#7 2011-04-07 22:58:32

ilpianista
Fellow developer
From: Lecce, Italy
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 568
Website

Re: Problem with networkmanager 0.8.998-1

well...it works now (git20110407-1 in [testing]), but I lost all my saved connections.

Offline

#8 2011-04-08 06:45:36

KlavKalashj
Member
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 362

Re: Problem with networkmanager 0.8.998-1

bash wrote:

well...it works now (git20110407-1 in [testing]), but I lost all my saved connections.

I upgraded but there is still some problems. It still does not detect my 3g interface, and networking is disabled by default upon every boot. I can enable it, which makes kded4 go crazy and I have to restart it, but 3g does not work.

Offline

#9 2011-04-08 07:11:49

roentgen
Member
Registered: 2011-03-15
Posts: 91

Re: Problem with networkmanager 0.8.998-1

In my case wireless works if I go to "Network management settings" and manually add the connection  there.

If I just try to connect form the plasmoid it asks for the wireless password but does not connect.

KlavKalashj - check /var/lib/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.state. You could try to stop the networkmanager service, delete that file and restart the service.

Offline

#10 2011-04-08 07:15:11

KlavKalashj
Member
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 362

Re: Problem with networkmanager 0.8.998-1

roentgen wrote:

KlavKalashj - check /var/lib/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.state. You could try to stop the networkmanager service, delete that file and restart the service.

Thanks, but it did not help.
Another thing, if I go to the network settings module, choose any connection and press 'edit', I get 'No agents were available for this request'. I have no idea what that means.

Offline

#11 2011-04-09 01:48:25

AngryKoala
Member
Registered: 2009-01-22
Posts: 197

Re: Problem with networkmanager 0.8.998-1

I have the same problem on my Samsung NC10 netbook.  The new package worked at first, but my connections are listed as "invalid state" in the tray icon.  I can see wifi networks, but I cannot connect to them.  I receive the same "No agents were available for this request" error as KlavKalashj.  Downgrading does not seem to remedy.

Offline

#12 2011-04-09 10:16:10

abraxas88
Member
From: Cosenza, Italy
Registered: 2009-12-12
Posts: 87

Re: Problem with networkmanager 0.8.998-1

@AngryKoala, after you downgraded, remove the file /var/lib/NetworkManager/NetworkManager.state
I have the same identical issue, downgraded and didn't solve the problem. Removing NetworkManager.state solved the problem smile


Asus G53Jw-IX160V Intel Core i7 740M 1.73 GHz, 8 GB RAM DDR3 1333 MHz, nVidia GTX 460M 1.5 GB GDDR5. Arch Linux 64 bit, of course. wink

Offline

#13 2011-04-09 10:31:09

KlavKalashj
Member
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 362

Re: Problem with networkmanager 0.8.998-1

is anyone using a 3g modem? mine is not recognized, still. nm-applet works as expected.

Offline

#14 2011-04-11 06:07:29

ilpianista
Fellow developer
From: Lecce, Italy
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 568
Website

Re: Problem with networkmanager 0.8.998-1

roentgen wrote:

In my case wireless works if I go to "Network management settings" and manually add the connection  there.

If I just try to connect form the plasmoid it asks for the wireless password but does not connect.

This has been fixed in git. I'll package it ASAP.

Offline

#15 2011-05-01 05:58:24

Bogart
Member
From: Madrid, Spain
Registered: 2005-06-22
Posts: 263

Re: Problem with networkmanager 0.8.998-1

Today after upgrading networkmanager and kdeplasma-applets-networkmanager (they've been moved to [extra] now) I had the same problem described in this thread.

Downgrading solves the problem, but I wonder if the problem is solved for the ones who were experiencing it in the first place? If so, are there any further steps required apart from just upgrading the packages?

Offline

#16 2011-05-01 07:35:33

KlavKalashj
Member
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 362

Re: Problem with networkmanager 0.8.998-1

Bogart wrote:

I wonder if the problem is solved for the ones who were experiencing it in the first place? If so, are there any further steps required apart from just upgrading the packages?

Actually, I haven't looked into it for a while. I recently bought an android phone and wanted hassle-free wifi to it, so I just bought a router that can handle 3g-dongles, and problem solved. Nothing has happened for a while in the upstream bug though...

https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=270772

Offline

#17 2011-05-02 19:29:08

ilpianista
Fellow developer
From: Lecce, Italy
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 568
Website

Re: Problem with networkmanager 0.8.998-1

Bogart wrote:

Today after upgrading networkmanager and kdeplasma-applets-networkmanager (they've been moved to [extra] now) I had the same problem described in this thread.

Downgrading solves the problem, but I wonder if the problem is solved for the ones who were experiencing it in the first place? If so, are there any further steps required apart from just upgrading the packages?

Seems that the KDE plasmoid is broke for most configuration, though works for basic wifi configuration like None/WEP/WPA/WAP2 Enterprise). 3G modem support and VPN are broke and also support for hidden wifi seems to be.
This is because KDE will not support Network Manager 0.9 before 4.7.

If you are using KDE, your solutions are:
0) Downgrade networkmanager to 0.8.3-0.20110113, or previous, and kdeplasma-applets-networkmanagement to git20110418-1, or previous.
1) Use the network-manager-applet of GNOME
2) Switch to wpa_supplicant/netcfg/wicd/*

Note, I had to patch kdebase-workspace 4.6.3 to build with NM09, this *could* (I cannot test it yet) broke the support for NM < 0.9; in that case the solution 0 will not work with KDE 4.6.3.

Offline

#18 2011-05-02 19:36:03

Bogart
Member
From: Madrid, Spain
Registered: 2005-06-22
Posts: 263

Re: Problem with networkmanager 0.8.998-1

Hi, bash, thanks for the reply. I'm using basic WEP based Wi-Fi, but it just doesn't connect. For now I'm staying with the old packages that work fine for me. I will be testing new ones as they come out, though for what you say it might not be fixed until KDE 4.7.

No big problem, as long as th old ones work... and else I can always use the Gnome applet.

Offline

#19 2011-05-11 11:25:39

zjons
Member
Registered: 2011-04-08
Posts: 1

Re: Problem with networkmanager 0.8.998-1

My first post to the Archlinux forums is a mee-too ...

I am having the same or similar problem on my Lenovo Z61m laptop

If I upgrade from networkmanager-0.8.3-0.20110113 or kdeplasma-applets-networkmanagement-git20110405-1, wireless stops working. For me it is definitely not fixed with the latest kdeplasma-applet. The Gnome networkmanager-applet doesn't work either with the latest networkmanager. However I did upgrade polkit.  I also tried wicd but unfortunately it can't connect to one of the networks I use for some reason (simple WEP WiFi).  Anyway I guess I'll just have to wait until this gets fixed and hope it doesn't break any further. What I find strange is that the Gnome applet works for some but not for me. What's up with that?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB