You are not logged in.

#1 2010-04-09 01:54:30

radioactivo
Member
Registered: 2009-08-04
Posts: 8

no sound in tv time

Hi to everyone. I am using arch with the official kde and i have the next problem: i have an analog tv turner encore

Multimedia controller: Philips Semiconductors SAA7130 Video Broadcast Decoder (rev 01)

that arch detects immediately and load the respective module (saa 7134). The tv turner has a line out jack that must be connect to line in on my sound card.

Audio device: nVidia Corporation MCP72XE/MCP72P/MCP78U/MCP78S High Definition Audio (rev a1)

Using tv time i see the image perfectly but with no sound. Now if i use vlc and ivtv to tune some channel, i can heard sound but the image is in black and white and in some channel i can saw them in colors. With that test i discard any problem with hardware compatibilility becouse i can see in tv time and i can heard in vlc. I also tried with opensuse(kde) and passed the same, tried in mandriva 2010 and tv time works exellent i can see and i can heard. So my question is, anybody knows how i get tv time works with sound???
I remember in the old kde 3.X in kmix i have an option called analog loopback, or something like that, and i must activated to listen the bass that i have connected to the line in or the mic in the mic jack to heard my voice.
Sorry for my english and thanks in advance.
Bye!!

Last edited by radioactivo (2010-04-09 01:56:27)

Offline

#2 2010-04-26 17:55:16

StercusAccidit
Member
Registered: 2010-04-26
Posts: 1

Re: no sound in tv time

Hi, radioactivo!

I don't really have a solution to suggest, just a workaround that works for me: install sox, and call it up each time you start tvtime (or kdetv, in my case) with

sox -c 2 -s -r 32000 -t ossdsp /dev/dsp2 -t ossdsp -r 32000 /dev/dsp

*adjust the "/dev/dsp2" part of the command, according to your system's sound cards listing.
 

arecord -l

will show the number of your saa7134 device.
Keep in mind that you 'll have to kill sox in order to have sound from other devices.

I know there is a script somewhere to automate the process, but i can't help with that, i'm not an advanced user (yet! )

p.s. (excuse my English too, i hope i 'm making some kind of sence)

Offline

#3 2010-04-26 18:31:40

Gusar
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 3,466

Re: no sound in tv time

Use this, it'll use the alsa default device, which is dmix-ed, so you'll have working sounds from other apps at the same time:

sox  -r 32000 -c 2 -t ossdsp /dev/dsp1 -t alsa default

No idea about getting sound via the cable - my guess would be there's something in alsamixer that needs to be un-muted or otherwise switched. So start alsamixer and play around with the switches.

Offline

#4 2010-04-26 23:41:45

radioactivo
Member
Registered: 2009-08-04
Posts: 8

Re: no sound in tv time

Thanks both for the answer but unfortunately neiher worked. For the moment when i want to watch tv i simply switch de cable.
I tried all the combinations in alsamixer and kmix and none worked. I hope some day with new release of tvtime or some new program it can work
Bye!!

Offline

#5 2010-12-31 20:18:20

mohtasham1983
Member
Registered: 2008-12-15
Posts: 80

Re: no sound in tv time

I get no sound on tvtime either. It took me a long time to configure my webcam microphone, Skype, Flash and all the other audio related apps to work together without any conflicts. Is there any way to get tvtime working without making any conflicts?

Offline

#6 2011-01-01 20:41:07

Gusar
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 3,466

Re: no sound in tv time

No, tvtime simply doesn't have audio support.

Offline

#7 2011-05-13 18:47:11

st37
Member
Registered: 2011-05-13
Posts: 2

Re: no sound in tv time

Hi, i have intel hda sound (AD1986A) + saa7134 + spdif output.
No pulseaudio only alsa.
Unfortunately only 1 program can use the sound system
(mixer doesn't work however i don't really need it)

So I made some small scripts to make life easy:

------------- 1a. /usr/local/bin/tvtime.sh

#!/bin/sh
killall -q -s 9 sox
killall -q -s 9 vlc
killall -q -s 9 xine
killall -q -s 9 mplayer
/usr/bin/sox --buffer 2048 -r 32000 -t alsa hw:1,0 -t alsa hw:0,1 &
/usr/bin/tvtime
kill -9 %-

------------- 1b. /usr/local/bin/tvtime

#!/bin/sh
exec tvtime.sh

------------- 2a. /usr/local/bin/vlc.sh

#!/bin/sh
killall -q -s 9 sox
killall -q -s 9 vlc
killall -q -s 9 xine
killall -q -s 9 mplayer
killall -q -s 9 tvtime
/usr/bin/vlc "${1}"

------------- 2b. /usr/local/bin/vlc

#!/bin/sh
exec  /usr/local/bin/vlc.sh "${1}"

------------- 3a. /usr/local/bin/xine.sh

#!/bin/sh
killall -q -s 9 sox
killall -q -s 9 vlc
killall -q -s 9 xine
killall -q -s 9 mplayer
killall -q -s 9 tvtime
/usr/bin/xine "${1}"

------------- 3b. /usr/local/bin/xine

#!/bin/sh
exec /usr/local/bin/xine.sh "${1}"

Offline

#8 2011-05-13 19:30:31

Gusar
Member
Registered: 2009-08-25
Posts: 3,466

Re: no sound in tv time

st37 wrote:

/usr/bin/sox --buffer 2048 -r 32000 -t alsa hw:1,0 -t alsa hw:0,1

The part I highlighted is your problem. Using hw:0,1 means accessing the device directly, which is not dmixed. Use the alsa default device instead:

/usr/bin/sox --buffer 2048 -r 32000 -t alsa hw:1,0 -t alsa default

This should make your entire script obsolete.

Last edited by Gusar (2011-05-13 19:31:36)

Offline

#9 2011-05-13 22:06:10

st37
Member
Registered: 2011-05-13
Posts: 2

Re: no sound in tv time

Doesn't make a difference.
If i start vlc while running the tvtime/sox the sound will be grabbed by vlc
and tvtime never gets it back even if  vlc stopped.

Offline

#10 2011-06-02 12:18:57

blablo
Member
Registered: 2011-06-02
Posts: 18

Re: no sound in tv time

Try this : https://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=24031 (tvtime-1.0.2-full2.patch)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB