You are not logged in.

#1 2011-06-15 18:18:04

sko123
Member
Registered: 2011-06-15
Posts: 1

tor and privoxy

Hi I can't get Privoxy working with Tor.

I followed the Proxy routing with Tor and Privoxy but I can't seem to get it to work.

I want curl to POST stuff into privoxy which in turn gives it to tor. But Privoxy gives this error:

Privoxy was unable to socks4a-forward your request www.test.com through localhost: connect_to failed: see logfile for details

Just try again to see if this is a temporary problem, or check your forwarding settings and make sure that all forwarding servers are working correctly and listening where they are supposed to be listening. 

Privoxy log file:

Jun 15 20:06:16.001 b75786c0 Fatal error: can't load actions file '/etc/privoxy/default.action': first needed line (409) is invalid: +limit-connect{-}

It says this line is invalid in my default.action:
#    +limit-connect{-}                     # All ports are OK

Which is an commented line ?

If I uncomment it, I can't even start privoxy because it will give THE SAME ERROR ?!

My privoxy config: http://pastebin.com/NmtBMw2Z

Last edited by sko123 (2011-06-15 18:22:20)

Offline

#2 2011-06-15 21:44:13

Xyne
Moderator/TU
Registered: 2008-08-03
Posts: 5,793
Website

Re: tor and privoxy

What version of privoxy are you using? The configuration file says it's for v3.0.11 but the latest version is v3.0.17. Could the syntax have changed? I know the line is commented but maybe it's due to something further up.

What happens if you remove the line? It it complains about a different line, keep removing lines until you track down the real source of the problem.

Sorry, that's all I could think of.

Offline

#3 2011-06-16 15:36:49

admiralspark
Member
From: Alaska, USA
Registered: 2011-01-07
Posts: 87

Re: tor and privoxy

Question--could you just use polipo instead? I use Tor/Polipo and it works with the config file they have on the site, and just use things like foxyproxy or the torbutton on FF and chrome. And if you're routing over tor with, say, an IM client, you can just input the polipo port number.


Team Ignition Kernel Developer
linux-ideapad developer/maintainer
Flame Kernel developer for Galaxy Nexus and Galaxy S3
Want a cheap, reliable VPS with AWESOME customer service?

Offline

#4 2011-06-18 03:57:38

milomouse
Member
Registered: 2009-03-24
Posts: 940
Website

Re: tor and privoxy

Your config is quite outdated.  Update Privoxy and check the new config.  I have multiple Privoxy configs and the only significant change I made to my Tor related Privoxy config is:

forward-socks5 / myhostname:9050 .

Hope that helps.

Offline

#5 2011-06-19 20:56:05

Xi0N
Member
From: Bilbao - Spain
Registered: 2007-11-29
Posts: 784
Website

Re: tor and privoxy

I am unable to make tor + privoxy running...
I use chromium browser, and Proxy Switchy.
Settings are (Of Proxy Switchy):

Manual Configuration
HTTP Proxy: localhost:9050
Use the same proxy server for all protocols

No proxy for "localhost; 127.0.0.1; <local>"

What am I doing wrong?

Last edited by Xi0N (2011-06-19 20:57:03)

Offline

#6 2011-06-20 05:00:07

anrxc
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2008-03-22
Posts: 834
Website

Re: tor and privoxy

Stop using Privoxy for a start and point your browser directly to TOR. Then if you establish TOR is working properly, use Privoxy if you must.

Last edited by anrxc (2011-06-20 05:00:28)


You need to install an RTFM interface.

Offline

#7 2011-06-20 07:01:04

Xi0N
Member
From: Bilbao - Spain
Registered: 2007-11-29
Posts: 784
Website

Re: tor and privoxy

anrxc wrote:

Stop using Privoxy for a start and point your browser directly to TOR. Then if you establish TOR is working properly, use Privoxy if you must.

You mean use Tor directly? without using polipo? is this right?

Offline

#8 2011-06-21 03:49:22

admiralspark
Member
From: Alaska, USA
Registered: 2011-01-07
Posts: 87

Re: tor and privoxy

For testing, yes. Make sure it loads pages through Tor first. Use Vidalia if you want a graphical check as well.
And, seriously, consider using the Tor Documentation config: click here and copy paste
It works fine for me, just tested it.


Team Ignition Kernel Developer
linux-ideapad developer/maintainer
Flame Kernel developer for Galaxy Nexus and Galaxy S3
Want a cheap, reliable VPS with AWESOME customer service?

Offline

#9 2011-06-21 11:26:24

Xi0N
Member
From: Bilbao - Spain
Registered: 2007-11-29
Posts: 784
Website

Re: tor and privoxy

No way... it looks like im always connected directly.....
Maybe the order of the daemons? first start tor, then polipo, right?
if i point directly to 127.0.0.1:9050 (suposed to be tor's port) i get the same results...... hmm

Offline

#10 2011-06-23 16:40:31

admiralspark
Member
From: Alaska, USA
Registered: 2011-01-07
Posts: 87

Re: tor and privoxy

yep, tor then polipo. Are you sure you're not connected? Does it time out or does it instantly give you a "cannot connect" when browsing the internet?
use the torcheck to see if it's working through the browser. With both tor and polipo running, you need to point a proxy service at 'localhost:8118', like foxyproxy, NOT directly at Tor!
Literally just checked, my tor setup is working, maybe the tor nodes or polipo/tor ports are filtered by your ISP?


Team Ignition Kernel Developer
linux-ideapad developer/maintainer
Flame Kernel developer for Galaxy Nexus and Galaxy S3
Want a cheap, reliable VPS with AWESOME customer service?

Offline

#11 2011-06-23 16:49:48

Xi0N
Member
From: Bilbao - Spain
Registered: 2007-11-29
Posts: 784
Website

Re: tor and privoxy

The weird thing is that, having used tor previously and knowing the speed it has, i noticed, if i enable tor, and browse any page, its like if i were bypassing the proxy and connecting directly to the internet, ignoring polipo and, therefore, tor......
Checking the logs, i can tell that tor is working, but i have my doubts about polipo or my settings with switchy proxy.....
I already tried many times unsuccessfully...
BTW... the default tor config that gets installed with the package is the one that should be used, isn't it? I mean.. you dont have to touch tor's config: Only download the config file from the tor page and place it in /etc/polipo, am i right?

Offline

#12 2011-06-23 17:18:14

Xi0N
Member
From: Bilbao - Spain
Registered: 2007-11-29
Posts: 784
Website

Re: tor and privoxy

Ok, i got it working... launch chromium this way:

chromium --proxy-server="socks://localhost:9050"


It is in the wiki..... seems to have been updated recently.....

Which is the problem/advantage of bypassing polipo and connecting directly to tor?

Offline

#13 2011-06-23 19:03:24

anrxc
Member
From: Croatia
Registered: 2008-03-22
Posts: 834
Website

Re: tor and privoxy

Xi0N wrote:

Which is the problem/advantage of bypassing polipo and connecting directly to tor?

Browsers can leak DNS requests when using a SOCKS proxy (TOR directly). You are also more prone to some other tracking like with cookies, while Privoxy or Polipo also help avoid ads, and they cache content. But contrary to the popular belief you are not required to use anything beyond Tor, if you are not interested in any of these benefits of caching proxies.


You need to install an RTFM interface.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB