You are not logged in.

#1 2011-08-16 15:11:51

george55
Member
Registered: 2011-08-10
Posts: 68

Font size of terminal

How can I change the standard font size of the terminal? It's too big!

Offline

#2 2011-08-16 15:27:26

Wey
Member
Registered: 2011-04-22
Posts: 217

Re: Font size of terminal

Are you referring to a terminal emulator in x or an actual tty? for the latter, you could use setfont to identfy a font to your liking, where possible terminal fonts are in /usr/share/kbd/consolefonts. E. g.:

for f in /usr/share/kbd/consolefonts/*.gz ; do setfont "$f" ; echo "$f" ; sleep 1 ; done

Some font files pack multiple sizes in one file, for those you can call setfont -8, setfont -14 or setfont -16 individually. Once you found a pleasing font, put it in the /etc/rc.conf, where it states CONSOLEFONT=, or if you are using systemd without initscripts-systemd, refer to the wiki on how to set up /etc/vconsole.conf. Some font packages like terminus-font also ship terminal fonts.

Offline

#3 2011-08-16 15:42:25

us499
Member
Registered: 2011-08-08
Posts: 11

Re: Font size of terminal

I guess I refer to the terminal emulator. I refer to going to Applications > Terminal in my desktop environment. This is the terminal that has huge fonts...

Offline

#4 2011-08-16 15:43:38

frabjous
Member
Registered: 2010-07-13
Posts: 367

Re: Font size of terminal

us499 wrote:

I refer to going to Applications > Terminal in my desktop environment.

Mind telling us which desktop environment that is? They all use different terminal emulator programs.

Offline

#5 2011-08-16 18:17:53

roygbiv
Member
Registered: 2011-05-18
Posts: 204

Re: Font size of terminal

In some terminals like roxterm, konsole and gnome-terminal just right-click it and edit the current profile with the desired font. For others that don't have this feature, like urxvt, xterm and aterm, you can set the default fonts in the ~/.Xresources file:

For example:

URxvt.font: xft:Bitstream Vera Sans Mono:size=9
XTerm*facename: xft:Bitstream Vera Sans Mono:size=9

Remember to update the x resources database in order to make the changes:

xrdb -merge ~/.Xresources

Last edited by roygbiv (2011-08-16 18:21:40)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB