You are not logged in.

#1 2011-09-15 23:52:34

sunnieside-up
Member
Registered: 2011-08-10
Posts: 58

Ethernet will not connect

Hi all,

My ethernet will not connect, it's driving me crazy! I have networkmanager installed, and it cannot connect to the network.. it keeps trying, but then fails. So I try to go back to network, and change my rc.conf back to:

#Static IP example
#eth0="eth0 192.168.0.2 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.0.255"
eth0="dhcp"
INTERFACES=(eth0)

(I had !eth0 before due to networkmanager)
and try sudo dhcpcd eth0, which gives me:

dhcpcd[2173]: version 5.2.12 starting
dhcpcd[2173]: eth0: waiting for carrier
dhcpcd[2173]: timed out

and it's not a wire problem because I can connect with windows 7. When I fresh installed Arch, dhcpcd worked flawlessly.... but now I can't get it to work anymore!! Any help would be appreciated.

Last edited by sunnieside-up (2011-09-16 21:45:26)

Offline

#2 2011-09-16 00:37:41

the sad clown
Member
From: 192.168.0.X
Registered: 2011-03-20
Posts: 833

Re: Ethernet will not connect

What is your network card?  What were the events leading up to the failure to connect?

Last edited by the sad clown (2011-09-16 00:38:32)


I laugh, yet the joke is on me

Offline

#3 2011-09-16 00:45:39

azripah
Member
Registered: 2011-05-15
Posts: 18

Re: Ethernet will not connect

Same problem on a machine of mine, would be grateful for a fix. Neither the on-board or dedicated ethernet will work.

Offline

#4 2011-09-16 00:50:23

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,430

Re: Ethernet will not connect

the sad clown wrote:

What is your network card?  What were the events leading up to the failure to connect?

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=987003 which is strange because it got solved in the end ... or maybe we're talking about different computers.

Offline

#5 2011-09-16 00:54:43

the sad clown
Member
From: 192.168.0.X
Registered: 2011-03-20
Posts: 833

Re: Ethernet will not connect

karol wrote:
the sad clown wrote:

What is your network card?  What were the events leading up to the failure to connect?

https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=987003 which is strange because it got solved in the end ... or maybe we're talking about different computers.

Or a different problem.  OP said:

When I fresh installed Arch, dhcpcd worked flawlessly.... but now I can't get it to work anymore!! Any help would be appreciated.

But I suppose another ip addr list is in order.  Sunny, want to post the info on that command again?


I laugh, yet the joke is on me

Offline

#6 2011-09-16 00:56:25

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,430

Re: Ethernet will not connect

Some networkmanager-related thread https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=126526

Have you tried using dhclient instead of dhcpcd?

Offline

#7 2011-09-16 01:04:11

the sad clown
Member
From: 192.168.0.X
Registered: 2011-03-20
Posts: 833

Re: Ethernet will not connect

Curious, since the card is Realtek, if this is the problem:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ne … _WOL_issue

Realtek no link / WOL issue

Users with Realtek 8168 8169 8101 8111(C) based NICs (cards / and on-board) may notice an issue where the NIC seems to be disabled on boot and has no Link light. This can usually be found on a dual boot system where Windows is also installed. It seems that using the offical Realtek drivers (dated anything after May 2007) under Windows is the cause. These newer drivers disable the Wake-On-LAN feature by disabling the NIC at Windows shutdown time, where it will remain disabled until the next time Windows boots. You will be able to notice if this issue is affecting you if the Link light remains off until Windows boots up; during Windows shutdown the Link light will switch off. Normal operation should be that the link light is always on as long as the system is on, even during POST.

I wonder if that would explain the previous

2: eth0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP>

and the current problems the OP is experiencing.


I laugh, yet the joke is on me

Offline

#8 2011-09-16 02:34:31

sunnieside-up
Member
Registered: 2011-08-10
Posts: 58

Re: Ethernet will not connect

Thanks for all you guys' replies!

ip addr list:

1: lo: <LOOPBACK,UP,LOWER_UP> mtu 16436 qdisc noqueue state UNKNOWN 
    link/loopback 00:00:00:00:00:00 brd 00:00:00:00:00:00
    inet 127.0.0.1/8 scope host lo
    inet6 ::1/128 scope host 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
2: eth0: <NO-CARRIER,BROADCAST,MULTICAST,UP> mtu 1500 qdisc pfifo_fast state DOWN qlen 1000
    link/ether 70:5a:b6:69:e7:3e brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff
    inet6 fe80::725a:b6ff:fe69:e73e/64 scope link 
       valid_lft forever preferred_lft forever
3: wlan0: <BROADCAST,MULTICAST> mtu 1500 qdisc mq state DOWN qlen 1000
    link/ether 00:26:c7:17:c2:48 brd ff:ff:ff:ff:ff:ff

That other thread was me, on the same computer. It worked out for me once.... then when I tried again later it failed, like before.
And yes, I tried dhclient, that doesn't work either. And sad clown, the realtek suggestion is interesting. I tried to enable wol in windows 7, but I couldn't find the realtek card in the device manager for some reason... windows 7 ethernet is weird. But I tried hibernating, so that maybe it wouldn't disable the card; that didnt work either. I don't think that's the problem though, because ethernet has worked before, and on other distros I've had on this computer it has worked. It's getting worse now, my computer just crashes when networkmanager tries to connect to ethernet... screen freezes and computer stops responding to anything. I'm going to install GNOME and see if that fixes anything

Last edited by sunnieside-up (2011-09-16 02:42:36)

Offline

#9 2011-09-16 02:45:43

the sad clown
Member
From: 192.168.0.X
Registered: 2011-03-20
Posts: 833

Re: Ethernet will not connect

As far as I can tell, you are having the same problem as last time, whatever that was/is.  I don't believe a switch to Gnome will fix it.

If you are looking to figure out WOL on W7, try this link:

http://lifehacker.com/348197/access-you … ake+on+lan


I laugh, yet the joke is on me

Offline

#10 2011-09-16 04:36:00

sunnieside-up
Member
Registered: 2011-08-10
Posts: 58

Re: Ethernet will not connect

Yeah installing gnome didn't work... must be some config problem cuz even dhcpcd isn't working

Offline

#11 2011-09-16 04:48:22

the sad clown
Member
From: 192.168.0.X
Registered: 2011-03-20
Posts: 833

Re: Ethernet will not connect

Well, nothing will work if your Windows WOL setting has turned off the network card.  Does your NIC have a light indicating when it is on/off?  If it does, check this and see if it isn't off.


I laugh, yet the joke is on me

Offline

#12 2011-09-16 05:36:26

sunnieside-up
Member
Registered: 2011-08-10
Posts: 58

Re: Ethernet will not connect

Windows is not shutting down the NIC, I have ruled this case out. I just booted to a Ubuntu live cd, and the wired connection works fine. Although when I booted to the Arch live, dhcpcd did not work there either. Actually the only time I really remember the ethernet ever working on Arch was at my university. At home, I may not have tried until now. Although I have 2 routers working fine and I've been unable to connect to either.

Offline

#13 2011-09-16 05:46:29

the sad clown
Member
From: 192.168.0.X
Registered: 2011-03-20
Posts: 833

Re: Ethernet will not connect

OK, so we'll have to go through the process one step at a time.  First let's check if we can bring the interface up:

sudo ip link set eth0 down
sudo ip link set eth0 up

This will bring it down if it is up but not working and then bring it back up again.  Post results of these commands.

Actually, before doing that, do this:

sudo /etc/rc.d/network restart

This will start the network daemon.  In a normal situation, this would be enough to get your eth0 working.

Last edited by the sad clown (2011-09-16 05:51:38)


I laugh, yet the joke is on me

Offline

#14 2011-09-16 06:27:27

sunnieside-up
Member
Registered: 2011-08-10
Posts: 58

Re: Ethernet will not connect

Well I'm using networkmanager, but I switched to network, removed the "!" from "!eth0" and set it to dhcp in rc.conf, and switched to the network daemon. No outputs from sudo ip link set eth0 down/up. And I tried to connect.... the network card is doing something to my computer.... it makes it crash every time it tries to connect. Like it's frozen, won't respond, can't go to another virtual console or anything. I tried it in init 3, same thing. Then I tried using networkmanager again... put "!eth0".... and same thing, my computer totally freezes as it's connecting.

Last edited by sunnieside-up (2011-09-16 06:27:49)

Offline

#15 2011-09-16 06:52:36

the sad clown
Member
From: 192.168.0.X
Registered: 2011-03-20
Posts: 833

Re: Ethernet will not connect

Did you place a "!" in front of networkmanager when you switched to network?


I laugh, yet the joke is on me

Offline

#16 2011-09-16 09:48:56

sunnieside-up
Member
Registered: 2011-08-10
Posts: 58

Re: Ethernet will not connect

I deleted it off the daemons in rc.conf and replaced it with network

Last edited by sunnieside-up (2011-09-16 09:49:06)

Offline

#17 2011-09-16 10:56:30

Mr.Elendig
#archlinux@freenode channel op
From: The intertubes
Registered: 2004-11-07
Posts: 3,731

Re: Ethernet will not connect

sunnieside-up wrote:
#Static IP example
#eth0="eth0 192.168.0.2 netmask 255.255.255.0 broadcast 192.168.0.255"
eth0="dhcp"
INTERFACES=(eth0)

The old syntax will not work. Please read the news and take care of your .pacnew files.

Last edited by Mr.Elendig (2011-09-16 10:56:41)


Evil #archlinux@freenode channel op and general support dude.
. files on github, Screenshots, Random pics and the rest

Offline

#18 2011-09-16 12:15:20

Barafu Albino Cheetah
Member
From: Moscow
Registered: 2011-09-16
Posts: 33

Re: Ethernet will not connect

Look at my rc.conf.

interface=eth0
address=
netmask=
broadcast=
gateway=

Try using exactly this snippet.

Offline

#19 2011-09-16 21:34:04

sunnieside-up
Member
Registered: 2011-08-10
Posts: 58

Re: Ethernet will not connect

Yes thank you guys so much for your help! The new conf file fixed everything! You are the savior of arch linux.... I was considering going back to Fedora if this ethernet couldn't work!

Offline

#20 2011-09-16 22:06:07

sunnieside-up
Member
Registered: 2011-08-10
Posts: 58

Re: Ethernet will not connect

Wait.... I spoke a bit early. It worked once after a reboot and I installed the pacnew rc.conf. Then it failed to work again. I did change the default hostname, but then I tried changing it back, no luck. My rc.conf is now exactly like Barafu Albino Cheetah's. What's odd is that it works only one time for all users. I logged in as root, and it works the first time. Then I log out, and log back in, and it doesn't work anymore.

Last edited by sunnieside-up (2011-09-16 22:55:13)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB