You are not logged in.

#1 2011-10-02 13:36:55

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,531
Website

black screen with lightdm

Installed lightdm from the AUR.  Per the wiki, no configuration should be needed.  I get a black screen when I run it in either test mode via (lightdm --test-mode -c /etc/lightdm/lightdm.conf) or "for real."  From the log it looks like I need to add a 'lightdm' user?  What's with the "plymouth" ping error?

/var/log/lightdm/lightdm.log

[+0.00s] DEBUG: Logging to /var/log/lightdm/lightdm.log
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Starting Light Display Manager 1.0.0, UID=0 PID=3081
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Loaded configuration from /etc/lightdm/lightdm.conf
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Using D-Bus name org.freedesktop.DisplayManager
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Registered seat module xlocal
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Registered seat module xremote
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Adding default seat
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Starting seat
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Starting new display for greeter
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Starting local X display
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Could not run plymouth --ping: Failed to execute child process "plymouth" (No such file or directory)
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Using VT 7
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Activating VT 7
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Logging to /var/log/lightdm/x-0.log
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Writing X server authority to /var/run/lightdm/root/:0
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Launching X Server
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Launching process 3085: /usr/bin/X :0 -auth /var/run/lightdm/root/:0 -nolisten tcp vt7 -novtswitch
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Waiting for ready signal from X server :0
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Acquired bus name
[+0.00s] DEBUG: Registering seat with bus path /org/freedesktop/DisplayManager/Seat0
[+0.79s] DEBUG: Got signal 10 from process 3085
[+0.79s] DEBUG: Got signal from X server :0
[+0.79s] DEBUG: Connecting to XServer :0
[+0.79s] DEBUG: Starting greeter session
[+0.79s] DEBUG: Unable to start greeter, user lightdm does not exist
[+0.79s] DEBUG: Failed to start greeter
[+0.79s] DEBUG: Stopping display
[+0.79s] DEBUG: Sending signal 15 to process 3085
[+1.87s] DEBUG: Process 3085 exited with return value 0
[+1.87s] DEBUG: X server stopped
[+1.87s] DEBUG: Removing X server authority /var/run/lightdm/root/:0
[+1.87s] DEBUG: Releasing VT 7
[+1.87s] DEBUG: Display server stopped
[+1.87s] DEBUG: Display stopped
[+1.87s] DEBUG: Stopping X local seat, failed to start a display
[+1.87s] DEBUG: Stopping seat
[+1.87s] DEBUG: Seat stopped
[+1.87s] DEBUG: Stopping lightdm, required seat has stopped
[+1.87s] DEBUG: Stopping display manager
[+1.87s] DEBUG: Display manager stopped
[+1.87s] DEBUG: Stopping Light Display Manager

/var/log/lightdm/x-0.log

X.Org X Server 1.10.4
Release Date: 2011-08-19
X Protocol Version 11, Revision 0
Build Operating System: Linux 3.0-ARCH x86_64 
Current Operating System: Linux simplicity 3.0-ck #1 SMP PREEMPT Thu Sep 29 16:22:01 EDT 2011 x86_64
Kernel command line: BOOT_IMAGE=/vmlinuz-linux-ck root=UUID=62001fcb-641e-4f69-bfbf-f7e346f64263 ro quiet
Build Date: 17 September 2011  07:42:58AM
 
Current version of pixman: 0.22.2
	Before reporting problems, check http://wiki.x.org
	to make sure that you have the latest version.
Markers: (--) probed, (**) from config file, (==) default setting,
	(++) from command line, (!!) notice, (II) informational,
	(WW) warning, (EE) error, (NI) not implemented, (??) unknown.
(==) Log file: "/var/log/Xorg.0.log", Time: Sun Oct  2 09:37:47 2011
(==) Using config directory: "/etc/X11/xorg.conf.d"
(EE) Failed to load module "nv" (module does not exist, 0)
(EE) Failed to load module "vesa" (module does not exist, 0)
(EE) Failed to load module "fbdev" (module does not exist, 0)
(EE) [drm] failed to open device
(EE) Microsoft Natural® Ergonomic Keyboard 4000: failed to initialize for relative axes.

Last edited by graysky (2011-10-02 13:40:38)


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#2 2011-10-02 13:40:49

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,428

Re: black screen with lightdm

What graphics driver are you using? Why is it trying to load nv?

Offline

#3 2011-10-02 13:44:49

graysky
Member
From: /run/user/1000
Registered: 2008-12-01
Posts: 8,531
Website

Re: black screen with lightdm

@karol - I'm using propitiatory nvidia.  Works with GDM and slim.  Main question I have is how do I go about making a lightdm user properly?  If I use the gdm.install as a guide:

getent group gdm >/dev/null 2>&1 || groupadd -g 120 gdm
  getent passwd gdm > /dev/null 2>&1 || usr/sbin/useradd -c 'Gnome Display Manager' -u 120 -g gdm -d /var/lib/gdm -s /sbin/nologin gdm
  passwd -l gdm > /dev/null
  chown -R gdm:gdm /var/lib/gdm > /dev/null

Should I simply make the substitution of "lightdm" for "gdm"?

Last edited by graysky (2011-10-02 13:47:19)


CPU-optimized Linux-ck packages @ Repo-ck  • AUR packagesZsh and other configs

Offline

#4 2011-10-03 02:51:09

dhave
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Outside the matrix.
Registered: 2005-05-15
Posts: 1,110

Re: black screen with lightdm

@graysky: This may or may not be your problem, but the symptom (black screen) is the same.

lightdm-1.0.0.-1 is broken for at least some users due to an authorization error of some sort. See the bug report here:

https://bugs.launchpad.net/lightdm/+bug/863630

I tried the fix mentioned in the bug discussion (copying /etc/pam.d/gdm-autologin to /etc/pam.d/lightdm-autologin and /etc/pam.d/gdm to /etc/pam.d/lightdm), but that didn't work for me on Archlinux.

I've reverted to lightdm-0.9.7-1, which works fine.


Donate to Arch!

Tired? There's a nap for that. --anonymous

Offline

#5 2011-10-03 21:37:23

Carlinhos
Member
Registered: 2011-07-08
Posts: 41

Re: black screen with lightdm

dhave wrote:

@graysky: This may or may not be your problem, but the symptom (black screen) is the same.

lightdm-1.0.0.-1 is broken for at least some users due to an authorization error of some sort. See the bug report here:

https://bugs.launchpad.net/lightdm/+bug/863630

I tried the fix mentioned in the bug discussion (copying /etc/pam.d/gdm-autologin to /etc/pam.d/lightdm-autologin and /etc/pam.d/gdm to /etc/pam.d/lightdm), but that didn't work for me on Archlinux.

I've reverted to lightdm-0.9.7-1, which works fine.

Hey,
Would you share the pkgbuild to 0.9.7-1?
Thanks

Last edited by Carlinhos (2011-10-03 21:40:10)

Offline

#6 2011-10-03 22:25:25

dhave
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Outside the matrix.
Registered: 2005-05-15
Posts: 1,110

Re: black screen with lightdm

Sure, where should I upload it?

If you want to do it yourself, you can simply using the current AUR tarball from here.  I edited the version number to 0.9.7 in the PKGBUILD, then replaced the first md5sum at the bottom of the PKGBUILD with this string: 'bdfc4d1c052c5a16c9f42f05e1818479'.

But I don't at all mind uploading the older package if you can suggest a place to send it.

Last edited by dhave (2011-10-03 22:31:12)


Donate to Arch!

Tired? There's a nap for that. --anonymous

Offline

#7 2011-10-03 22:43:51

Carlinhos
Member
Registered: 2011-07-08
Posts: 41

Re: black screen with lightdm

I managed to do it myself following your instructions smile
Thanks a lot.

Offline

#8 2011-10-03 22:46:40

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,428

Re: black screen with lightdm

When looking for older AUR PKGBUILDs, check aur.git http://pkgbuild.com/git/aur.git/tree/li … 30a1f42342

Offline

#9 2011-10-03 23:08:43

dhave
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Outside the matrix.
Registered: 2005-05-15
Posts: 1,110

Re: black screen with lightdm

Carlinhos wrote:

I managed to do it myself following your instructions smile
Thanks a lot.

Give a man a duck, and he'll eat for a day. Teach a man to duck, and you may save his life. :]


Donate to Arch!

Tired? There's a nap for that. --anonymous

Offline

#10 2011-10-03 23:14:21

dhave
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Outside the matrix.
Registered: 2005-05-15
Posts: 1,110

Re: black screen with lightdm

karol wrote:

When looking for older AUR PKGBUILDs, check aur.git http://pkgbuild.com/git/aur.git/tree/li … 30a1f42342

Good to know, especially since simply editing the version number and md5sum isn't always enough (i.e., if the current PKGBUILD has other changes).

Thanks.


Donate to Arch!

Tired? There's a nap for that. --anonymous

Offline

#11 2011-10-03 23:14:38

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,428

Re: black screen with lightdm

dhave wrote:
Carlinhos wrote:

I managed to do it myself following your instructions smile
Thanks a lot.

Give a man a duck, and he'll eat for a day. Teach a man to duck, and you may save his life. :]

So if it looks like a duck, it's Carlinhos? :-P

Offline

#12 2011-10-03 23:19:39

dhave
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Outside the matrix.
Registered: 2005-05-15
Posts: 1,110

Re: black screen with lightdm

karol wrote:
dhave wrote:
Carlinhos wrote:

I managed to do it myself following your instructions smile
Thanks a lot.

Give a man a duck, and he'll eat for a day. Teach a man to duck, and you may save his life. :]

So if it looks like a duck, it's Carlinhos? :-P

Maybe a flamingo.

Last edited by dhave (2011-10-03 23:20:56)


Donate to Arch!

Tired? There's a nap for that. --anonymous

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB