You are not logged in.

#1 2008-01-24 04:16:00

violagirl23

My thoughts (and yours too!) about Arch (I'm in love already!)

Hello all!  I suppose I would be called a newbie to Arch, but certainly not to Linux.  I've been running Gentoo for five months.  If I were running, say, Ubuntu for five months, I would probably still be considered a newbie, but five months of Gentoo has made me pretty proficient at Linux.

I (if you haven't guessed yet) am a Gentoo user tongue, and it seems like there are a lot of Gentoo users who go to Arch.  That's how I heard about it, through the Gentoo forums.  I am currently looking for backups in case Gentoo comes crashing to the ground.  I was perfectly content in my little bubble of happy compiling until I learned about the unrest inside of the Gentoo community.  I never realized that things were in such bad shape... like a downward spiral.  The result cannot be good.  I feel like I'm on a sinking ship and am praying for my life here.  I've seen a lot of threads at the forums lately like "If Drobbins fork Gentoo, will you follow him?" and "Will you stay with Gentoo if the Foundation is handed over to a 3rd party?"  I find these a little unsettling!  I understand that the Foundation is a terrible state right now, and the founder's attempt to get it back has failed, so now I don't things are going to head up.  So I've started to face facts, that I better have some backup plans so that I'm not starting over from square 1 when this all burns to the ground (hopefully if, not when, because I like Gentoo and really don't want to have to give it up).  Now I admit that I don't like EVERYTHING about Gentoo, but I like almost everything, and Arch seems to be like Gentoo in many respects.

Some of my personal desires in a distro:
1.Bleeding edge with rolling updates (and thus no need to ever reinstall the distribution)
2. A large repository for the package manager