You are not logged in.

#176 2008-06-24 16:40:58

nsf
Member
From: Yekaterinburg, Russia
Registered: 2007-09-15
Posts: 160
Website

Re: bmpanel

pyther wrote:

Any chance this can become 64bit compatible?

Yes. I want it. But I have no x86_64 linux smile I have tried to setup qemu + ubuntu cd today, but it was a bad idea. I'm too lazy to install x86_64 OS sad

noalwin wrote:

I have tried Psi, OpenOffice and konqueror on openbox.

Openbox (and most WM) gives you a option to put a window on all destops, if I activate it, the app appears first on the panel (instead being the third for example) and I can't iconify, restore or focus it with the panel.

PD: sorry for the answer delay

OK, I think I have just fixed it. Check git version. You can use this PKGBUILD:

pkgname=bmpanel-git
pkgver=20080624
pkgrel=1
pkgdesc="BMPanel"
arch=('i686')
url="http://nsf.110mb.com/bmpanel/"
license=('custom')
groups=()
depends=('imlib2' 'fontconfig' 'libx11' 'libxrender' 'libxcomposite')
makedepends=('git' 'gcc')
provides=(bmpanel)
conflicts=(bmpanel)
md5sums=()

_gitroot="git://github.com/nsf/bmpanel.git"
_gitname="bmpanel"

build() {
  cd $startdir/src
  msg "Connecting to GIT server...."

  if [ -d $startdir/src/$_gitname ] ; then
    cd $_gitname && git-pull origin
    msg "The local files are updated."
  else
    git clone $_gitroot
  fi

  msg "GIT checkout done or server timeout"
  msg "Starting make..."

  rm -r $startdir/src/$_gitname-build
  cp -r $startdir/src/$_gitname $startdir/src/$_gitname-build
  cd $startdir/src/$_gitname-build

  #
  # BUILD HERE
  #

  ./configure --prefix=/usr || return 1
  make || return 1
  DESTDIR=$startdir/pkg make install || return 1
  install -D -m644 COPYING $startdir/pkg/usr/share/licenses/$pkgname/COPYING
}

Bmpanel2 and obkey developer.

Offline

#177 2008-06-24 17:36:36

noalwin
Member
From: Spain
Registered: 2007-06-08
Posts: 115

Re: bmpanel

Seems fixed big_smile

another one, sometimes I see

bmpanelbugpb8.png

The apps on the tray are Psi and qmpdclient, both are qt4 apps. It happen when I move windows on the top layer over the tray. I also have see it happen when I put kpdf on fullscreen.

Last edited by noalwin (2008-06-24 17:37:50)

Offline

#178 2008-06-24 18:12:32

nsf
Member
From: Yekaterinburg, Russia
Registered: 2007-09-15
Posts: 160
Website

Re: bmpanel

noalwin wrote:

Seems fixed big_smile

another one, sometimes I see

http://img46.imageshack.us/img46/8710/bmpanelbugpb8.png

The apps on the tray are Psi and qmpdclient, both are qt4 apps. It happen when I move windows on the top layer over the tray. I also have see it happen when I put kpdf on fullscreen.

Is it happening only with qt4 tray icons? Or with other toolkit's tray icons too? I'll see what I can do, but tray is a hard piece in the panel, so it might take a lot of time.


Bmpanel2 and obkey developer.

Offline

#179 2008-06-24 18:28:38

noalwin
Member
From: Spain
Registered: 2007-06-08
Posts: 115

Re: bmpanel

I only have see it with that apps, but it doesn't happen allways, only sometimes, and I can't reproduce it. sad

edit ok, I could
1 login on openbox, (bmpanel gets loaded from the autostart.sh)
2 open qmpdclient
3 open konqueror
then it happens. You don't even have to wait until konqueror is loaded.

But if I preload also the kde, and other, stuff from the autostart.sh (running at the begining the /etc/xdg/openbox/autostart.sh) it doesn't happen.

edit2 and it doesn't happen with pidgin's icon
edit3 tkabber's tray icon appears on a window instead in the tray

Last edited by noalwin (2008-06-24 18:54:22)

Offline

#180 2008-06-24 19:35:08

Sam_uel
Member
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2008-01-22
Posts: 13
Website

Re: bmpanel

Hey I'm getting an error when trying to make this, any idea what's going on? (It's the second app I've tried to compile from source, so if the errors are easy to sort then I'm sorry :])

C: src/bmpanel.c
src/bmpanel.c:11:25: warning: sys/timerfd.h: No such file or directory
src/bmpanel.c: In function 'init_and_start_loop':
src/bmpanel.c:1435: warning: implicit declaration of function 'timerfd_create'
src/bmpanel.c:1435: error: 'CLOCK_MONOTONIC' undeclared (first use in this function)
src/bmpanel.c:1435: error: (Each undeclared identifier is reported only once
src/bmpanel.c:1435: error: for each function it appears in.)
src/bmpanel.c:1443: error: variable 'tspec' has initialiser but incomplete type
src/bmpanel.c:1443: error: extra curly bracket group at end of initialiser
src/bmpanel.c:1443: error: (near initialisation for 'tspec')
src/bmpanel.c:1443: warning: excess elements in struct initialiser
src/bmpanel.c:1443: warning: (near initialisation for 'tspec')
src/bmpanel.c:1443: error: extra curly bracket group at end of initialiser
src/bmpanel.c:1443: error: (near initialisation for 'tspec')
src/bmpanel.c:1443: warning: excess elements in struct initialiser
src/bmpanel.c:1443: warning: (near initialisation for 'tspec')
src/bmpanel.c:1443: error: storage size of 'tspec' isn't known
src/bmpanel.c:1444: warning: implicit declaration of function 'timerfd_settime'
src/bmpanel.c:1443: warning: unused variable 'tspec'
make: *** [.mk/build/src/bmpanel.o] Error 1

Any help would be appreciated.

Offline

#181 2008-06-25 04:54:55

nsf
Member
From: Yekaterinburg, Russia
Registered: 2007-09-15
Posts: 160
Website

Re: bmpanel

Sam_uel wrote:

Hey I'm getting an error when trying to make this, any idea what's going on? (It's the second app I've tried to compile from source, so if the errors are easy to sort then I'm sorry :])

Please tell me what distro are you using, and what GCC/glibc/kernel version you have?
updated:
Actually I think I know the solution. I wrote on my web site that bmpanel works good on "rolling releases" linux distributions.

It should work on latest linux distributions (better if distribution is "rolling releases" like gentoo or archlinux).

And this is so so true. This feature called timerfd (file descriptor representing timer) appeared only 4 months ago in glibc. So your linux distribution should use glibc from CVS, because the latest official release of glibc was 2.7 and there is no such feature. I'm sorry, but I don't want to support *old* systems. Change your linux distribution to archlinux or other *good* linux distribution.
But, in case if you are on archlinux already and have these problems. I'm sorry and something else is really wrong and I screwed it. But I hope I'm right.

I think all desktop linux distributions should have "rolling release" style, because it's open source life style. You have the latest version of a software and you are using it. If you have noticed a bug, you send a bug report and then download the latest version again with bug fixed. It's really the only right way to live in open source.

PS. You can also try 0.9.21 version with libev.

Last edited by nsf (2008-06-25 07:25:59)


Bmpanel2 and obkey developer.

Offline

#182 2008-06-25 08:51:43

nsf
Member
From: Yekaterinburg, Russia
Registered: 2007-09-15
Posts: 160
Website

Re: bmpanel

noalwin wrote:

I only have see it with that apps, but it doesn't happen allways, only sometimes, and I can't reproduce it. sad

edit ok, I could
1 login on openbox, (bmpanel gets loaded from the autostart.sh)
2 open qmpdclient
3 open konqueror
then it happens. You don't even have to wait until konqueror is loaded.

But if I preload also the kde, and other, stuff from the autostart.sh (running at the begining the /etc/xdg/openbox/autostart.sh) it doesn't happen.

edit2 and it doesn't happen with pidgin's icon
edit3 tkabber's tray icon appears on a window instead in the tray

uh.. I'll see what I can do, tray causes so many problems sad


Bmpanel2 and obkey developer.

Offline

#183 2008-06-25 09:02:13

Sam_uel
Member
From: Leeds, UK
Registered: 2008-01-22
Posts: 13
Website

Re: bmpanel

nsf wrote:
Sam_uel wrote:

Hey I'm getting an error when trying to make this, any idea what's going on? (It's the second app I've tried to compile from source, so if the errors are easy to sort then I'm sorry :])

Please tell me what distro are you using, and what GCC/glibc/kernel version you have?
updated:
Actually I think I know the solution. I wrote on my web site that bmpanel works good on "rolling releases" linux distributions.

It should work on latest linux distributions (better if distribution is "rolling releases" like gentoo or archlinux).

And this is so so true. This feature called timerfd (file descriptor representing timer) appeared only 4 months ago in glibc. So your linux distribution should use glibc from CVS, because the latest official release of glibc was 2.7 and there is no such feature. I'm sorry, but I don't want to support *old* systems. Change your linux distribution to archlinux or other *good* linux distribution.
But, in case if you are on archlinux already and have these problems. I'm sorry and something else is really wrong and I screwed it. But I hope I'm right.

I think all desktop linux distributions should have "rolling release" style, because it's open source life style. You have the latest version of a software and you are using it. If you have noticed a bug, you send a bug report and then download the latest version again with bug fixed. It's really the only right way to live in open source.

PS. You can also try 0.9.21 version with libev.

Yeah, I'm using ubuntu, I'll download it and install from source then.
I'd love to use arch but I can't get myself a wired internet connection for long enough to get it all set up sad

Offline

#184 2008-06-25 20:34:02

nsf
Member
From: Yekaterinburg, Russia
Registered: 2007-09-15
Posts: 160
Website

Re: bmpanel

I have installed arch x86_64 on qemu and made a debug session.
bmpanel commit f2f124a9500fd0
x86_64 fix.
Please test it. I'm waiting for feedbacks.

PKGBUILD:

pkgname=bmpanel-git
pkgver=20080625
pkgrel=1
pkgdesc="BMPanel"
arch=('i686' 'x86_64')
url="http://nsf.110mb.com/bmpanel/"
license=('custom')
groups=()
depends=('imlib2' 'fontconfig' 'libx11' 'libxrender' 'libxcomposite')
makedepends=('git' 'gcc')
provides=(bmpanel)
conflicts=(bmpanel)
md5sums=()

_gitroot="git://github.com/nsf/bmpanel.git"
_gitname="bmpanel"

build() {
  cd $startdir/src
  msg "Connecting to GIT server...."

  if [ -d $startdir/src/$_gitname ] ; then
    cd $_gitname && git-pull origin
    msg "The local files are updated."
  else
    git clone $_gitroot
  fi

  msg "GIT checkout done or server timeout"
  msg "Starting make..."

  rm -r $startdir/src/$_gitname-build
  cp -r $startdir/src/$_gitname $startdir/src/$_gitname-build
  cd $startdir/src/$_gitname-build

  #
  # BUILD HERE
  #

  ./configure --prefix=/usr || return 1
  make || return 1
  DESTDIR=$startdir/pkg make install || return 1
  install -D -m644 COPYING $startdir/pkg/usr/share/licenses/$pkgname/COPYING
}

Last edited by nsf (2008-06-25 20:38:49)


Bmpanel2 and obkey developer.

Offline

#185 2008-06-26 03:01:37

pyther
Member
Registered: 2008-01-21
Posts: 1,395
Website

Re: bmpanel

Half fixed!

The imlib errors are no longer present. However whenever you maxamize the window the height is very small.

See screenshot: 200806252259431280x1024rd9.th.png


Website - Blog - arch-home
Arch User since March 2005

Offline

#186 2008-06-26 04:39:55

nsf
Member
From: Yekaterinburg, Russia
Registered: 2007-09-15
Posts: 160
Website

Re: bmpanel

pyther wrote:

The imlib errors are no longer present. However whenever you maxamize the window the height is very small.

Done.. smile


Bmpanel2 and obkey developer.

Offline

#187 2008-06-26 11:11:21

pyther
Member
Registered: 2008-01-21
Posts: 1,395
Website

Re: bmpanel

^^
Thanks a lot! Works like a charm!


Website - Blog - arch-home
Arch User since March 2005

Offline

#188 2008-07-20 08:21:55

Windowlicker
Member
Registered: 2008-07-20
Posts: 15

Re: bmpanel

Please add support for pcf fonts.

Offline

#189 2008-07-23 20:40:11

nsf
Member
From: Yekaterinburg, Russia
Registered: 2007-09-15
Posts: 160
Website

Re: bmpanel

Windowlicker wrote:

Please add support for pcf fonts.

It's not easy, because Imlib2 has no support for them. I should rewrite a whole rendering engine to do this (use cairo instead of imlib probably).
Well, it's not hard either. However, I'm not really interested in this feature smile Maybe someday.. No promises.

Good quality patches are welcome (in case if you are a programmer)

Last edited by nsf (2008-07-23 20:41:27)


Bmpanel2 and obkey developer.

Offline

#190 2008-08-01 23:16:13

DonVla
Member
From: Bonn, Germany
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 997

Re: bmpanel

i there a possibilty to get the blacky theme from somewhere?

Offline

#191 2008-08-02 07:48:19

nsf
Member
From: Yekaterinburg, Russia
Registered: 2007-09-15
Posts: 160
Website

Re: bmpanel

DonVla wrote:

i there a possibilty to get the blacky theme from somewhere?

http://nsf.110mb.com/bmpanel/Blacky.tar.gz


Bmpanel2 and obkey developer.

Offline

#192 2008-08-02 08:01:14

xd-0
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2007-11-02
Posts: 327
Website

Re: bmpanel

Thought I lost that theme when I reinstalled to 64bit. I see now that you have put the theme on your site smile
I will try to make some more themes when I have time.  Thanks again for a great panel.

ps. If you could implement internet time in the clock, that would be great.

Offline

#193 2008-08-02 13:08:30

icrave
Member
Registered: 2006-04-11
Posts: 193

Re: bmpanel

Can you host my clearlooks theme?

I prefer to limitate the host of google/code to my application.

Theme: http://recorder.googlecode.com/files/clearlooks.tar.bz2

Offline

#194 2008-08-02 19:12:21

nsf
Member
From: Yekaterinburg, Russia
Registered: 2007-09-15
Posts: 160
Website

Re: bmpanel

icrave wrote:

Can you host my clearlooks theme?
I prefer to limitate the host of google/code to my application.
Theme: http://recorder.googlecode.com/files/clearlooks.tar.bz2

Yeah, sure, why not? But I have to recompress it to tar.gz, for some reason 110mb hosting doesn't support bz2 files sad
It's kinda strange, they have such a big list: http://www.110mb.com/forum/file-type-no … 503.0.html
And it's missing bz2 sad

Can't upload right now (their ftp seems busy), I'll do it tomorrow maybe or today, but later.


Bmpanel2 and obkey developer.

Offline

#195 2008-08-02 19:36:16

ro0x
Member
From: Santiago, Chile
Registered: 2004-06-20
Posts: 79

Re: bmpanel

hey!!! I need the download of the Sandwich-black bmpanel theme sad the link posted in the forum has been expired sad!!!! plzz share it!

Offline

#196 2008-08-07 08:22:24

Blice
Member
Registered: 2008-08-05
Posts: 29

Re: bmpanel

Hi- I tried out your panel and it's awesome. Replacing my pypanel for sure!

I have a problem though- I have four 19" monitors. With pypanel I could specify the start location and end location of the panel.. With bmpanel, it (For some reason) decides to start on my third monitor down (Whch isn't my primary, I don't think), and it doesn't extend to any of the other desktops.

I looked in the theme config file and couldn't find anywhere to change this. Halp?


Thanks~

Offline

#197 2008-08-07 15:05:23

even
Member
From: Salvador, Bahia - Brazil
Registered: 2007-11-10
Posts: 29
Website

Re: bmpanel

The arch theme override the windows aparence (when it maximize). How fix it?

Offline

#198 2008-08-07 18:36:19

nsf
Member
From: Yekaterinburg, Russia
Registered: 2007-09-15
Posts: 160
Website

Re: bmpanel

Blice wrote:

I have a problem though- I have four 19" monitors. With pypanel I could specify the start location and end location of the panel.. With bmpanel, it (For some reason) decides to start on my third monitor down (Whch isn't my primary, I don't think), and it doesn't extend to any of the other desktops.

My panel doesn't ready for multimonitor systems, sorry. I just don't know how they work and what should I do to support them. I'll fix it when I'll have 1+ monitors, but now I have only 1 smile

even wrote:

The arch theme override the windows aparence (when it maximize). How fix it?

I'm not sure what you mean, but bmpanel has height_override parameter. It's used for partially transparent themes like arch.
Can you post a screenshot and explain what you don't like and what you want? smile


Bmpanel2 and obkey developer.

Offline

#199 2008-08-22 16:07:42

DonVla
Member
From: Bonn, Germany
Registered: 2007-06-07
Posts: 997

Re: bmpanel

hi nsf,
thanks for bmpanel.
i like it very much, but i'm missing some basic window control besides minimizing/unminimizing.
it would be nice if shading/unshading and also closing windows will also be supported. i mean smth like mousewheel up on panel
-> shade window, mousewheel down -> unshade window; middlebutton-click -> close window. it would also be nice if these functions could be assigned to buttons by the user.
thanks again nsf,

vlad

Offline

#200 2008-08-22 17:08:22

nsf
Member
From: Yekaterinburg, Russia
Registered: 2007-09-15
Posts: 160
Website

Re: bmpanel

DonVla wrote:

hi nsf,
thanks for bmpanel.
i like it very much, but i'm missing some basic window control besides minimizing/unminimizing.
it would be nice if shading/unshading and also closing windows will also be supported. i mean smth like mousewheel up on panel
-> shade window, mousewheel down -> unshade window; middlebutton-click -> close window. it would also be nice if these functions could be assigned to buttons by the user.
thanks again nsf,

vlad

Sorry, but I won't do this (even though I think it's a good idea, I don't use this kind of features). However, good patches are welcome.


Bmpanel2 and obkey developer.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB