You are not logged in.

#1 2009-04-10 07:35:05

CodeBlock
Member
From: Ohio, USA
Registered: 2008-06-13
Posts: 76
Website

ArchLinux Web Browser Start Page

Just made this for the heck of it. Pardon the hackish JavaScript. :-/

<html>
    <head>
        <title>Home Page</title>
        <style>
            #cont{
                width: 750px;
                margin: 0 auto;
                padding-top: 85px;
                text-align: center;
                font-family: helvetica, arial;
            }
        </style>
        <SCRIPT language="JavaScript">
        function OnSubmitForm()
        {
          if(document.sform.sub[0].checked == true)
          {
            document.sform.action ="http://www.google.com/search";
          }
          else
          if(document.sform.sub[1].checked == true)
          {
            document.sform.elements['q'].name = "keywords";
            var arch_trickery = document.createElement("input");
            arch_trickery.setAttribute("name", "action");
            arch_trickery.setAttribute("value", "search");
            arch_trickery.setAttribute("type", "hidden");
            document.sform.appendChild(arch_trickery);
            document.sform.action ="http://bbs.archlinux.org/search.php";
          }
          else
          if(document.sform.sub[2].checked == true){
                document.sform.elements['q'].name = "search";
              document.sform.action ="http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Special:Search"
          }
          return true;
        }
        function select(){
            document.sform.q.focus();
            document.sform.q.select();
        }
        </SCRIPT>
    </head>
    <body onload="select();">
        <div id="cont">
                <img src="http://i135.photobucket.com/albums/q143/macuser9214/logo-3.png" alt="Logo" /><br />
                <form name="sform" method="get" onSubmit="return OnSubmitForm();">
                <input type="radio" id="sub" name="sub" value="1" checked> Google   
                <input type="radio" id="sub" name="sub" value="2" > ArchLinux Forum   
                <input type="radio" id="sub" name="sub" value="3" > ArchLinux Wiki   
                <br />
                <input type="text" size="40" name="q" /><input type="submit" value="Search" />
                </form>
                
        </div>
    </body>
</html>

(logo image snatched from archlinux.us- hoping Crouse doesn't kill me), however, it was saved, and copied to photobucket, so I don't snatch bandwidth as well tongue

And here's a screeny...
archpage.png

Let me know what you think.
I also might add a AUR/Package search, and Bugs/Flyspray search?

Also, I think this is fair/legal, because it doesn't actually parse any data, it simply links to the search results page, using the input from the text box.

Edit: I might throw this up on a server, and then add some server-side things, such as latest packages (by parsing the Arch RSS feed using PHP), etc. if there's enough interest in this, then people can set their homepage to that.

Last edited by CodeBlock (2009-04-10 07:40:13)


I'm a block of code, and I approve this message.

Offline

#2 2009-04-10 09:18:01

mikesd
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2008-02-01
Posts: 788
Website

Re: ArchLinux Web Browser Start Page

I like it. I use a similar homepage at work with work related links, feeds, etc on it. I would probably use it as I just use a blank startpage at home.

Offline

#3 2009-04-10 12:24:08

MarCustomized
Member
From: Detroit, MI
Registered: 2008-09-05
Posts: 116

Re: ArchLinux Web Browser Start Page

Wiki search doesn't work for me.

Offline

#4 2009-04-10 12:52:25

CodeBlock
Member
From: Ohio, USA
Registered: 2008-06-13
Posts: 76
Website

Re: ArchLinux Web Browser Start Page

yikes it works for me...... weird.

If I type in 'alsa' it goes right to the alsa page. If I type something that's not a direct match, 'ipod', for example, it brings a list of results back, like the normal wiki search box.


I'm a block of code, and I approve this message.

Offline

#5 2009-04-10 13:02:14

X/ax
Member
From: Oost vlaanderen, Belgium
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 275
Website

Re: ArchLinux Web Browser Start Page

Nice stuff.
Hosted: http://arch.codercpf.be

Ps: works here like a charm smile

// Edit
Took the liberty of cleaning some of the code. And putting the image local
I'm going to try out some more, but if there's bugs, hit me tongue

Last edited by X/ax (2009-04-10 13:11:52)


My coding blog (or an attempt at it)
Archer start page (or an attempt at it)

Offline

#6 2009-04-10 13:16:45

crouse
Arch Linux f@h Team Member
From: Iowa - USA
Registered: 2006-08-19
Posts: 907
Website

Re: ArchLinux Web Browser Start Page

Nice work.
BTW, I stole the artwork from here:
ftp://ftp.archlinux.org/other/artwork/  big_smile big_smile

......... at least that's where I think I got it from... been to long ago, I can't remember lol smile

Offline

#7 2009-04-10 13:36:22

CodeBlock
Member
From: Ohio, USA
Registered: 2008-06-13
Posts: 76
Website

Re: ArchLinux Web Browser Start Page

Glad you guys like this. I will do some server-side stuff (and throw X/ax the code (and anyone else that wants it) so he can update his hosted copy).

Spring break's almost over though, so not sure when I'll have time to work on it again... sometime soon though. big_smile


I'm a block of code, and I approve this message.

Offline

#8 2009-04-10 13:40:45

X/ax
Member
From: Oost vlaanderen, Belgium
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 275
Website

Re: ArchLinux Web Browser Start Page

Update: code cleaned ^^

index.html

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" dir="ltr" lang="en-US">
    <head>
        <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8" />
        <title>Home Page</title>
        <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="styles/style.css" />
        <script type="text/javascript" src="scripts/script.js"></script>
    </head>
    <body>
        <div id="cont">
                <img src="images/logo-3.png" alt="Logo" /><br />
                <form name="sform" id="sform" method="get" action="">
                <span><input type="radio" name="sub" value="1" checked="checked" /> Google   </span>
                <span><input type="radio" name="sub" value="2" /> ArchLinux Forum   </span>
                <span><input type="radio" name="sub" value="3" /> ArchLinux Wiki   </span>
                <br />
                <input type="text" size="40" name="q" id="q" /><input type="submit" value="Search" id="search_btn" />
                </form>
                
        </div>
    </body>
</html>

scripts/script.js

function mySubmit()
{
  subs = document.getElementsByName('sub')
  sform = document.getElementById('sform')
  q = document.getElementById('q')

  if (subs[0].checked)
  {
    sform.action = "http://www.google.com/search"
  }

  if (subs[1].checked)
  {
    q.name = "keywords"
    var arch_trickery = document.createElement('input')
    arch_trickery.setAttribute('name', 'action')
    arch_trickery.setAttribute('value', 'search')
    arch_trickery.setAttribute('type', 'hidden')
    sform.appendChild(arch_trickery)
    sform.action = "http://bbs.archlinux.org/search.php"
  }

  if (subs[2].checked)
  {
    q.name = 'search'
    sform.action = "http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Special:Search"
  }

  return true
}

function init()
{
  q = document.getElementById('q')
  q.focus()
  q.select()

  subm = document.getElementById('search_btn')
  subm.onclick = function()
    {
      return mySubmit()
    }
}

if (document.getElementById)
  window.onload = init

styles/style.css

#cont
{
  width: 750px;
  margin: 0 auto;
  padding-top: 85px;
  text-align: center;
  font-family: helvetica, arial;
}

Thinking about putting some feedreader or some update stuff in the space under the searchbar.


My coding blog (or an attempt at it)
Archer start page (or an attempt at it)

Offline

#9 2009-04-10 14:22:03

Barrucadu
Member
From: York, England
Registered: 2008-03-30
Posts: 1,158
Website

Re: ArchLinux Web Browser Start Page

Nice, I've made a similar page which has a massive Arch logo and shows all of my bookmarks.

edit: Hi CodeBlock, haven't seen you around for a while.

Last edited by Barrucadu (2009-04-10 18:26:13)

Offline

#10 2009-04-10 18:14:29

X/ax
Member
From: Oost vlaanderen, Belgium
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 275
Website

Re: ArchLinux Web Browser Start Page

Update: New "site" added, looking for someone to layout it ^^
It basically displays the updated packages and the updated news messages, fetched through a cron job.
Url: http://archer.codercpf.be/

Deploying this reminded me why it was so long ago since I last developed something in Django. Love the language, hate the deployment process.

# Edit
Django code available: http://archer.codercpf.be/stuff/archer.tar.bz2

Last edited by X/ax (2009-04-10 18:31:15)


My coding blog (or an attempt at it)
Archer start page (or an attempt at it)

Offline

#11 2009-04-10 18:50:57

arch0r
Member
From: From the Chron-o-John
Registered: 2008-05-13
Posts: 597

Re: ArchLinux Web Browser Start Page

i would even scale the image a bit down because it lasts a bit long til the logo has loaded. or convert it into ascii to keep it much simpler big_smile
you could also (just an idea wink ) create three rows one with the search thingy, one with news and last one with updated packages.

Offline

#12 2009-04-10 19:26:50

haxit
Member
From: /home/haxit
Registered: 2008-03-04
Posts: 1,247
Website

Re: ArchLinux Web Browser Start Page

Also hosted at my site: http://archsearch.tk/

Last edited by haxit (2009-04-11 15:05:18)


Archi686 User | Old Screenshots | Old .Configs
Vi veri universum vivus vici.

Offline

#13 2009-04-10 21:46:43

X/ax
Member
From: Oost vlaanderen, Belgium
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 275
Website

Re: ArchLinux Web Browser Start Page

Changed it all to ascii art in response to arch0r (the image was slow indeed)
Urls:
- http://arch.codercpf.be/
- http://archer.codercpf.be/

Both are based on my /etc/issue file, which is based on something I found here on the forum.
I don't really know which one to take. I personally think the bigger one is harder to read, but the smaller one isn't optimal either. I'm considering just using the logo without any text...

Opinions are appreciated.

I'll do the rss layout later... Or at least... I'll try ^^


My coding blog (or an attempt at it)
Archer start page (or an attempt at it)

Offline

#14 2009-04-10 22:26:54

CodeBlock
Member
From: Ohio, USA
Registered: 2008-06-13
Posts: 76
Website

Re: ArchLinux Web Browser Start Page

When I do my php version, I'm going to have three boxes below the search thing.. next to each other (vertical boxes, like columns).

It's gonna fetch it every time the page is loaded, no need for cron.


I'm a block of code, and I approve this message.

Offline

#15 2009-04-10 23:16:48

dannytatom
Member
From: Seattle, WA
Registered: 2009-02-02
Posts: 229
Website

Re: ArchLinux Web Browser Start Page

Nifty idea, I'll be settin' my own up later tonight. yikes


dnyy in IRC & Urban Terror

Offline

#16 2009-04-10 23:30:31

X/ax
Member
From: Oost vlaanderen, Belgium
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 275
Website

Re: ArchLinux Web Browser Start Page

CodeBlock wrote:

When I do my php version, I'm going to have three boxes below the search thing.. next to each other (vertical boxes, like columns).

It's gonna fetch it every time the page is loaded, no need for cron.

Fetching on every page request... It tickles around the f5 button at that point lol


My coding blog (or an attempt at it)
Archer start page (or an attempt at it)

Offline

#17 2009-04-10 23:50:48

Square
Member
Registered: 2008-06-11
Posts: 435

Re: ArchLinux Web Browser Start Page

I took it and played with it for a local homepage. Thought I might share what I've changed with you guys tongue

Just a few tiny tweaks... possibly could have been implemented better... but who cares.

Hope you don't mind!

Screenie
tMWk5bw

index.html

<!DOCTYPE html PUBLIC "-//W3C//DTD XHTML 1.0 Transitional//EN" "http://www.w3.org/TR/xhtml1/DTD/xhtml1-transitional.dtd">
<html xmlns="http://www.w3.org/1999/xhtml" dir="ltr" lang="en-US">
    <head>
        <meta http-equiv="Content-Type" content="text/html; charset=UTF-8" />
        <title>Home Page</title>
        <link rel="stylesheet" type="text/css" href="styles/style.css" />
        <script type="text/javascript" src="scripts/script.js"></script>
    </head>
    <body style="color:#acacab; background-color:#222222">
        <div id="cont">
                <img src="darkarch.png" alt="Logo" /><br />
                <form name="sform" id="sform" method="get" action="">
                <span><input type="radio" name="sub" value="1" checked="checked" /> Google   </span>
                <span><input type="radio" name="sub" value="2" /> Arch Forum   </span>
                <span><input type="radio" name="sub" value="3" /> Arch Wiki   </span>
                <span><input type="radio" name="sub" value="4" /> AUR   </span>
                <br />
                <br />
                <input type="text" size="40" name="q" id="q" /><input type="submit" value="Search" id="search_btn" />
                </form>
                
        </div>
    </body>
</html>

scripts/script.js

function mySubmit()
{
  subs = document.getElementsByName('sub')
  sform = document.getElementById('sform')
  q = document.getElementById('q')

  if (subs[0].checked)
  {
    sform.action = "http://www.google.com/search"
  }

  if (subs[1].checked)
  {
    q.name = "keywords"
    var arch_trickery = document.createElement('input')
    arch_trickery.setAttribute('name', 'action')
    arch_trickery.setAttribute('value', 'search')
    arch_trickery.setAttribute('type', 'hidden')
    sform.appendChild(arch_trickery)
    sform.action = "http://bbs.archlinux.org/search.php"
  }

  if (subs[2].checked)
  {
    q.name = 'search'
    sform.action = "http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Special:Search"
  }

  if (subs[3].checked)
  {
    q.name = 'K'
    sform.action = "http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?"
  }
  return true
}

function init()
{
  q = document.getElementById('q')
  q.focus()
  q.select()

  subm = document.getElementById('search_btn')
  subm.onclick = function()
    {
      return mySubmit()
    }
}

if (document.getElementById)
  window.onload = init

styles/style.css

#cont
{
  width: 750px;
  margin: 0 auto;
  padding-top: 85px;
  text-align: center;
  font-family: glisp, helvetica, arial;
}

EDIT

Forgot the image!

darkarch.png (Stolen from the about:blank page in another thread. Hope he doesn't mind either!)
http://omploader.org/vMWk5cA

Last edited by Square (2009-04-10 23:53:50)


 

Offline

#18 2009-04-11 09:37:26

X/ax
Member
From: Oost vlaanderen, Belgium
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 275
Website

Re: ArchLinux Web Browser Start Page

I was thinking about adding AUR support yesterday. Was too tired though ^^
So, if you don't mind, I'll yank that part of the code and add it to archer.codercpf.be
After which I'm going to attempt some layout work (finally)
Oh, and I decided to have the ascii logo only used. No text. I think that makes the page all that more nice.

Perhaps I'm going to change to a black theme too. Having the text appear in white and stuff. But that's for when my layouting worked out tongue

# Update
So, layouting is finished. For as much as I can layout shizzle roll
Anyhow, comments are highly appreciated, here's the link again: http://archer.codercpf.be/ If there's anything bad about it, please, please tell me smile

Last edited by X/ax (2009-04-11 12:01:04)


My coding blog (or an attempt at it)
Archer start page (or an attempt at it)

Offline

#19 2009-04-11 15:05:51

haxit
Member
From: /home/haxit
Registered: 2008-03-04
Posts: 1,247
Website

Re: ArchLinux Web Browser Start Page

I actually changed the URL to http://archsearch.tk/

So visit at your hearts desire.


Archi686 User | Old Screenshots | Old .Configs
Vi veri universum vivus vici.

Offline

#20 2009-04-11 20:50:23

CodeBlock
Member
From: Ohio, USA
Registered: 2008-06-13
Posts: 76
Website

Re: ArchLinux Web Browser Start Page

X/ax wrote:

I was thinking about adding AUR support yesterday. Was too tired though ^^
So, if you don't mind, I'll yank that part of the code and add it to archer.codercpf.be
After which I'm going to attempt some layout work (finally)
Oh, and I decided to have the ascii logo only used. No text. I think that makes the page all that more nice.

Perhaps I'm going to change to a black theme too. Having the text appear in white and stuff. But that's for when my layouting worked out tongue

# Update
So, layouting is finished. For as much as I can layout shizzle roll
Anyhow, comments are highly appreciated, here's the link again: http://archer.codercpf.be/ If there's anything bad about it, please, please tell me smile

Nice job- only problem I see is the names of the packages in recent package updates sometimes overlaps the x86_64 stuff.. so you might want to make the box just a tiny bit wider, OR truncate the package name and use "...".


I'm a block of code, and I approve this message.

Offline

#21 2009-04-11 21:40:17

X/ax
Member
From: Oost vlaanderen, Belgium
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 275
Website

Re: ArchLinux Web Browser Start Page

CodeBlock wrote:
X/ax wrote:

I was thinking about adding AUR support yesterday. Was too tired though ^^
So, if you don't mind, I'll yank that part of the code and add it to archer.codercpf.be
After which I'm going to attempt some layout work (finally)
Oh, and I decided to have the ascii logo only used. No text. I think that makes the page all that more nice.

Perhaps I'm going to change to a black theme too. Having the text appear in white and stuff. But that's for when my layouting worked out tongue

# Update
So, layouting is finished. For as much as I can layout shizzle roll
Anyhow, comments are highly appreciated, here's the link again: http://archer.codercpf.be/ If there's anything bad about it, please, please tell me smile

Nice job- only problem I see is the names of the packages in recent package updates sometimes overlaps the x86_64 stuff.. so you might want to make the box just a tiny bit wider, OR truncate the package name and use "...".

I saw the exact same just a minute ago. Sucked to see it tongue


My coding blog (or an attempt at it)
Archer start page (or an attempt at it)

Offline

#22 2009-04-11 21:45:00

Gigamo
Member
Registered: 2008-01-19
Posts: 394

Re: ArchLinux Web Browser Start Page

Square wrote:

...

Completely irrelevant to the topic; but how do you get firefox's tabbar to the bottom? ^^

Offline

#23 2009-04-11 22:47:57

X/ax
Member
From: Oost vlaanderen, Belgium
Registered: 2008-01-13
Posts: 275
Website

Re: ArchLinux Web Browser Start Page

Update: changed the color scheme, it's based on the zenburn color scheme.
I also "fixed" the bug of overlapping stuff. Took the advice and added a '...' every 15 chars, seems to have worked out just fine smile

Small screenshot:
3432958998_872d5f6250.jpg
(clicky for bigger)

Comments appreciated smile


My coding blog (or an attempt at it)
Archer start page (or an attempt at it)

Offline

#24 2009-04-13 01:42:51

pyther
Member
Registered: 2008-01-21
Posts: 1,395
Website

Re: ArchLinux Web Browser Start Page

First of thanks for this!

Second a Bug!!!

If you search google, then go back in the browser and try to search the forums the search will fail. This is due to the fact the textbox's name is changing. To fix this give the text box an id and change the name accordingly in the javascript.

Thanks to dusty for helping me fix the javascript!

        
</style>
        <script type="text/javascript">
        function OnSubmitForm()
        {
          if(document.sform.sub[0].checked == true)
          {
            document.getElementById('search_box').name = "q";
            document.sform.action ="http://www.google.com/search";
          }
          else if(document.sform.sub[1].checked == true)
          {
            document.getElementById('search_box').name = "keywords";  
            var arch_trickery = document.createElement("input");
            arch_trickery.setAttribute("name", "action");
            arch_trickery.setAttribute("value", "search");
            arch_trickery.setAttribute("type", "hidden");
            document.sform.appendChild(arch_trickery);
            document.sform.action ="http://bbs.archlinux.org/search.php";
          }
          else if(document.sform.sub[2].checked == true){
            document.getElementById('search_box').name = "search";
            document.sform.action ="http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Special:Search"
          }
          else if(document.sform.sub[3].checked == true){
            document.getElementById('search_box').name = "K";
            document.sform.action="http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php";
          }
          return true;
        }
        function select(){
            document.sform.q.focus();
            document.sform.q.select();
        }
        </script>

<input id="search_box" type="text" size="40" name="q" /><input type="submit" value="Search" />

I modified the page to display the latest 4 news item at the top of the page and the latest packages on the bottom. If anyone wants I can upload the webpy script.

sn_small.png
(click for bigger screenshot)

http://arch.pyther.net

Last edited by pyther (2009-04-13 01:44:34)


Website - Blog - arch-home
Arch User since March 2005

Offline

#25 2009-04-13 02:01:00

Square
Member
Registered: 2008-06-11
Posts: 435

Re: ArchLinux Web Browser Start Page

Gigamo wrote:
Square wrote:

...

Completely irrelevant to the topic; but how do you get firefox's tabbar to the bottom? ^^

It's a stylish script I modified.
It's supposed to do a bunch of other stuff, but I cropped the portion that makes the tabbar go to the bottom.


http://userstyles.org/styles/9223


 

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB