You are not logged in.

#1 2006-10-20 20:29:05

rztka

wpa_supplicant.conf for wired connection [SOLVED]

hi
i'm trying to connect to internet (eduroam) in my university in utrecht but i'm stuck completely.. i have no idea how my wpa_supplicant.conf file should look like.... they have no support for linux users, only some pdf manul for windows but i guess there is not all the info i need...
http://www.uu.nl/content/Handleiding_la … 06_eng.pdf

is there someone from utrecht by any chance? sad

i'm completely new to this wpa stuff... i searched internet, there is lot of examples of configurations for wireless but not much for cable... someone have some simple example which you think i could use?

thank you very much in advance for pointing me in some useful direction wink

tereza

#2 2006-10-21 02:25:19

pauldonnelly

Re: wpa_supplicant.conf for wired connection [SOLVED]

You mean for a wireless connection, right? A wired network would not use WPA.

#3 2006-10-21 13:28:40

rztka

well they require everyone to identify (with our username and password) even if we use cable..

i want to use cable since i'm installing arch again from scratch on my laptop, and i know the wireless is more tricky so i thought it would be easier to start with cable to get all the packages i need..

the university recommends to use some "secure W2" software (both for wireless and wired connection).. and i found on internet that wpa_supplicant package is able to replace this for linux (also for wired connection).

problem is that i have to write my own configuration file for something i have no idea about.. but i already know that arch is like this and i like it wink if i make some progress i will post it here..

#4 2006-10-21 16:47:13

skr

rztka wrote:

the university recommends to use some "secure W2" software (both for wireless and wired connection).. and i found on internet that wpa_supplicant package is able to replace this for linux (also for wired connection).