You are not logged in.

#1 2024-02-26 05:36:56

ryanbarillos

Building a battery warn service for laptops — where does each file go?

I'm building a bash script application called "charge-notifier", designed to notify the device's battery status (if it's fully charged, going low, or so low it will go to sleep/hibernation by itself).
However, I have a few questions before I can turn it into a Linux package, in regards to where each file goes:

the SystemD.service — that goes to /usr/lib/systemd/system, then symlinks to /etc/systemd/system/*
The main bash script — any appropriate location for it?
A variable that determines to play notification or not — do I make that inside /etc/environment  during install? Or within the script itself?
Folder for install/remove scripts (or entire folder of the app) — what location to place it besides /opt/ ?

I'd like to let you know that this will be my very first attempt at building a Linux package, and I have no prior experience in creating any application for Linux. (There are good responses on building bash script apps from the Ubuntu forums, but I'm not using that distro.)

Any help is appreciated. Thanks!

Link to the project:
https://github.com/ryanbarillos/charge-notifier

Last edited by ryanbarillos (2024-02-26 21:55:37)

#2 2024-02-26 11:23:43

V1del
Forum Moderator

Re: Building a battery warn service for laptops — where does each file go?

You don't -- and it will horribly break -- want to make that a system wide system service , but an user one, logical difference for packaging it goes into /usr/lib/systemd/user and has some stipulations on the unit file: https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/Systemd/User and more specifically https://wiki.archlinux.org/title/System … user_units

As for the bash script -- assuming you're packaging it properly, see below --, the same spot all binaries go -- /usr/bin.