You are not logged in.

#1 2024-03-11 15:23:21

martinc2
Member
Registered: 2011-09-23
Posts: 60

Chrome/Plasma 6/Wayland: No mouse input after drag and drop

Hi,

I have chrome [google-chrome-stable] working on plasma 6/wayland (with --ozone-platform-hint=auto in ~/.config/chrome-flags.conf).  All appears to be working well, except that if I upload a file via drag and drop, the interface doesn't accept any more mouse input.  Keyboard input works fine.

To reproduce:

launch gmail or outlook in chrome; compose mail; add file attachment via drag and drop.  At this point, mouse clicks cease to work within the chrome interface (and widgets don't change on mouseover, etc.).  Keypresses are unaffected.  Outside the chrome window, everything is as normal.  The only resolution I've found is to kill chrome via Alt-F X and restart it.

Does anyone have a clue what is going on/where I should start looking?  I can obviously run chrome under xwayland in the meantime, but it would be nice to get this fixed.

EDIT: see also https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=482142

Last edited by martinc2 (2024-03-11 15:49:37)

Offline

#2 2024-04-15 08:00:31

bassadin
Member
Registered: 2024-04-15
Posts: 1

Re: Chrome/Plasma 6/Wayland: No mouse input after drag and drop

Just to let you know you're not alone, I'm facing the same issue. Couldn't figure out why until now either...

Offline

#3 2024-04-20 08:52:25

Sausix
Member
Registered: 2020-08-03
Posts: 3

Re: Chrome/Plasma 6/Wayland: No mouse input after drag and drop

Having this problem for months now.
Plasma 6 + Nvidia + Chromium

Does it also affect dragging and dropping selected plain text within the browser? It also disables mouse input.

Offline

#4 2024-04-20 16:57:08

nplatis
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2011-02-22
Posts: 25

Re: Chrome/Plasma 6/Wayland: No mouse input after drag and drop

It does for me, on Chrome 124. Only solution is to close the browser with Alt+F4 and open it again.

Offline

#5 2024-04-22 03:38:23

Unknown_Erase
Member
Registered: 2024-04-22
Posts: 1

Re: Chrome/Plasma 6/Wayland: No mouse input after drag and drop

I wrote this userscript to disable dragging altogether since I tend to do it accidentally quite often, and it really annoys me when it crashes. Use this script with Tampermonkey or whatever other things exist for this sort of thing to apply it and it should stop the accidental crashes.

// ==UserScript==
// @name         Disable Dragging
// @namespace    http://tampermonkey.net/
// @version      0.1
// @match        *://*/*
// @grant        none
// ==/UserScript==

(function() {
    'use strict';
    document.addEventListener('dragstart', function(event) {
        event.preventDefault();
    }, false);
})();

Just install Tampermonkey in your browser, create a new script, and paste this code into it. It should help prevent any accidental drags from causing crashes.

Last edited by Unknown_Erase (2024-04-22 03:41:08)

Online

#6 2024-04-26 14:44:47

duhdugg
Member
Registered: 2022-04-21
Posts: 5

Re: Chrome/Plasma 6/Wayland: No mouse input after drag and drop

This bug gets me at least 3 times per day with how much I accidentally drag. I've also confirmed the same issue with the chomium package from [extra]. I'm on Plasma 6 and intel iGPU.

Edit: the userscript posted above is working well enough for now

Last edited by duhdugg (Yesterday 04:18:22)

Offline

#7 2024-04-26 21:35:26

WildyLion
Member
Registered: 2015-06-07
Posts: 5

Re: Chrome/Plasma 6/Wayland: No mouse input after drag and drop

Same here:

Manjaro
Plasma 6 (plasmashell 6.0.4)
Chromium 124.0.6367.60
Wayland
AMD iGPU
Ozone platform: Wayland
All relevant hardware acceleration features enabled in Chrome

Offline

#8 Today 06:58:39

xmatthias
Member
Registered: 2015-07-07
Posts: 5

Re: Chrome/Plasma 6/Wayland: No mouse input after drag and drop

Seems like there's an open chromium bug for this now in https://issues.chromium.org/issues/336449364

It's quite anoying to have this though - so i (temporarily) went back to x11 for chromium - as i don't really want to install plugins just to work around such a bug.

edit x11 mode shows ugly lags - so i went with the above script after all.

Last edited by xmatthias (Today 09:11:16)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB