You are not logged in.

#1 2007-08-26 19:16:46

Schpariel
Member
Registered: 2007-08-24
Posts: 25

Frugalpkg - Frugalware's pacman frontend ported to Arch (experimental)

archfrugalpkgod1.jpg

http://smfadi.googlepages.com/frugalpkg … h-5.tar.gz
http://file-pasta.com/d/1922.gz

Remember that this is an experimental port, it has a few crude hacks, and it's not 100% tested, also:

* It's slow, because it reads from pacman's stdout, but still usable
* The code is a bit messy (I might fix that later)

The source files in the above tarball are already patched, the patches are still included in the ARCH_PATCHES folder for reference though

EDIT: 27/08/07
* Enabled interactive search (search as you type in the package list)
* Added extra groups: Installed, Not installed, Local & Orphans

Any comments/suggestions are welcome smile

Last edited by Schpariel (2007-08-29 13:52:17)

Offline

#2 2007-08-26 20:00:02

Misfit138
Misfit Emeritus
From: USA
Registered: 2006-11-27
Posts: 4,189

Re: Frugalpkg - Frugalware's pacman frontend ported to Arch (experimental)

Very nice, looks promising! I might have to install an 'experimental' Arch on a spare HD to test this out.

Offline

#3 2007-08-26 20:05:25

hussam
Member
Registered: 2006-03-26
Posts: 572
Website

Re: Frugalpkg - Frugalware's pacman frontend ported to Arch (experimental)

looks good but it is a bit slow. I didn't use it to install or upgrade anything but it seems to launch and run well. Keep us updated. smile

Offline

#4 2007-08-26 20:58:11

smoon
Member
Registered: 2005-08-22
Posts: 468
Website

Re: Frugalpkg - Frugalware's pacman frontend ported to Arch (experimental)

Nice work. I'd prefer a pacman backend for PackageKit though.

Last edited by smoon (2007-08-26 20:58:54)

Offline

#5 2007-08-26 21:05:31

Cerebral
Forum Fellow
From: Waterloo, ON, CA
Registered: 2005-04-08
Posts: 3,108
Website

Re: Frugalpkg - Frugalware's pacman frontend ported to Arch (experimental)

smoon wrote:

Nice work. I'd prefer a pacman backend for PackageKit though.

I'm looking into it - familiarizing myself with PackageKit's C implementation for backends and trying to stuff pacman into it.

Offline

#6 2007-08-27 10:34:15

smoon
Member
Registered: 2005-08-22
Posts: 468
Website

Re: Frugalpkg - Frugalware's pacman frontend ported to Arch (experimental)

Cerebral wrote:
smoon wrote:

Nice work. I'd prefer a pacman backend for PackageKit though.

I'm looking into it - familiarizing myself with PackageKit's C implementation for backends and trying to stuff pacman into it.

Wow, that's great. Let me know if you need any help wink

Offline

#7 2007-08-27 11:21:07

Schpariel
Member
Registered: 2007-08-24
Posts: 25

Re: Frugalpkg - Frugalware's pacman frontend ported to Arch (experimental)

Updated, and added a few more patches/fixes

I think it's good enough for real usage now, here's a PKGBUILD:

# Contributor: Fadi Moukayed <smfadi@gmail.com>

pkgname=frugalpkg-arch
pkgver=1.1
pkgrel=5
pkgdesc="Port of the Frugalware package manager for Arch, uses pygtk"
url="http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?pid=276263#p276263"
arch=('i686')
license="GPL"
depends=('pygtk')
source=("http://smfadi.googlepages.com/frugalpkg-$pkgver-arch-$pkgrel.tar.gz")
md5sums=('9606ae07e0e29154ec98ac8c95042343')

build () {
    cd $startdir/src/$pkgname-$pkgver
    rm mime/*
    sed -e 's/|| exit [45]//' install > install-arch
    sh install-arch --root=$startdir/pkg --prefix=/usr
}

Last edited by Schpariel (2007-08-29 13:53:50)

Offline

#8 2007-08-27 12:47:00

hussam
Member
Registered: 2006-03-26
Posts: 572
Website

Re: Frugalpkg - Frugalware's pacman frontend ported to Arch (experimental)

Schpariel, since we remove the /usr/share/doc , could you remove the help toolbar button in Frugalpkg?

Offline

#9 2007-08-27 13:16:57

Schpariel
Member
Registered: 2007-08-24
Posts: 25

Re: Frugalpkg - Frugalware's pacman frontend ported to Arch (experimental)

hussam wrote:

Schpariel, since we remove the /usr/share/doc , could you remove the help toolbar button in Frugalpkg?

Done. Thanks for reminding me, I can't believe I missed that >_>

Offline

#10 2007-08-27 13:53:36

hussam
Member
Registered: 2006-03-26
Posts: 572
Website

Re: Frugalpkg - Frugalware's pacman frontend ported to Arch (experimental)

Ok great Schpariel.

There's also another thing. When I press on 'New Packages', it keeps saying under 'I'm working on' "creating package list". It doesn't freeze but the 'creating package list' message doesn't go away. Maybe it doesn't handle an empty 'New Packages' ?

When I click on 'New packages', it spits this error in the terminal.

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/frugalpkg", line 838, in <lambda>
    tview1.connect('cursor_changed', lambda tview1: change_group())
  File "/usr/bin/frugalpkg", line 65, in change_group
    for package in get_packages(group):
  File "/usr/bin/frugalpkg", line 611, in get_packages
    packages.append([package, version, 'gtk-new'])
UnboundLocalError: local variable 'package' referenced before assignment

But otherwise, it's working great.

Offline

#11 2007-08-27 14:29:07

Schpariel
Member
Registered: 2007-08-24
Posts: 25

Re: Frugalpkg - Frugalware's pacman frontend ported to Arch (experimental)

hussam wrote:

Ok great Schpariel.

There's also another thing. When I press on 'New Packages', it keeps saying under 'I'm working on' "creating package list". It doesn't freeze but the 'creating package list' message doesn't go away. Maybe it doesn't handle an empty 'New Packages' ?

When I click on 'New packages', it spits this error in the terminal.

Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/frugalpkg", line 838, in <lambda>
    tview1.connect('cursor_changed', lambda tview1: change_group())
  File "/usr/bin/frugalpkg", line 65, in change_group
    for package in get_packages(group):
  File "/usr/bin/frugalpkg", line 611, in get_packages
    packages.append([package, version, 'gtk-new'])
UnboundLocalError: local variable 'package' referenced before assignment

But otherwise, it's working great.

Yes, this is a minor annoyance; but apart from that, it's harmless. I'll fix it in the next -pkgrel.

EDIT: Updated links & PKGBUILD, this is fixed now

Last edited by Schpariel (2007-08-27 15:02:13)

Offline

#12 2007-08-27 20:24:52

krix
Member
Registered: 2006-07-03
Posts: 8

Re: Frugalpkg - Frugalware's pacman frontend ported to Arch (experimental)

Nice but outdated. I mean frugalpkg.

We got a new tool written in pure C and GTK+ frontend. It designed for pacman3.X then redesigned to fit pacman-g2 and now uses libpacman (libarch in pacman3) .

Devel tree:

http://git.frugalware.org/gitweb/gitweb … ;a=summary

Shots:

http://frugalware.org/~krix/screenshots/gfpm_shot1.png
http://frugalware.org/~krix/screenshots/gfpm_shot2.png

There is a small 'bug' in that picture, well gnome-screenshot taker wasn't so good smile

There is no release, because its still in development tongue

Regards
-krix-

Offline

#13 2007-09-01 20:14:55

hussam
Member
Registered: 2006-03-26
Posts: 572
Website

Re: Frugalpkg - Frugalware's pacman frontend ported to Arch (experimental)

krix, it won't build on arch even after fixing the includes.

Offline

#14 2007-09-05 12:51:46

priyank
Member
Registered: 2006-03-11
Posts: 4
Website

Re: Frugalpkg - Frugalware's pacman frontend ported to Arch (experimental)


- Priyank

Offline

#15 2007-09-10 03:56:55

hussam
Member
Registered: 2006-03-26
Posts: 572
Website

Re: Frugalpkg - Frugalware's pacman frontend ported to Arch (experimental)

It won't build. it has references to pacman.h

Offline

#16 2007-09-10 10:23:07

shining
Pacman Developer
Registered: 2006-05-10
Posts: 2,043

Re: Frugalpkg - Frugalware's pacman frontend ported to Arch (experimental)

hussam wrote:

It won't build. it has references to pacman.h

It's a frugalware app, it isn't supposed to work with pacman3.
You either need to install their pacman (I think its called pacman-g2 currently), but I don't recommend it unless you really know what you're doing, since it might mess things up. Better use frugalware directly.
Or you need to port this app to pacman3, so start hacking now smile


pacman roulette : pacman -S $(pacman -Slq | LANG=C sort -R | head -n $((RANDOM % 10)))

Offline

#17 2007-09-11 17:00:28

Schpariel
Member
Registered: 2007-08-24
Posts: 25

Re: Frugalpkg - Frugalware's pacman frontend ported to Arch (experimental)

shining wrote:
hussam wrote:

It won't build. it has references to pacman.h

It's a frugalware app, it isn't supposed to work with pacman3.
You either need to install their pacman (I think its called pacman-g2 currently), but I don't recommend it unless you really know what you're doing, since it might mess things up. Better use frugalware directly.
Or you need to port this app to pacman3, so start hacking now smile

I took a look at the source, and I don't have enough patience to port it, they're using pacman 2.x (libalpm didn't exist back then).
I guess a PackageKit backend is a good idea, they don't seem to have any good documentation though (?)

Offline

#18 2007-09-11 17:26:26

shining
Pacman Developer
Registered: 2006-05-10
Posts: 2,043

Re: Frugalpkg - Frugalware's pacman frontend ported to Arch (experimental)

Schpariel wrote:

I took a look at the source, and I don't have enough patience to port it, they're using pacman 2.x (libalpm didn't exist back then).
I guess a PackageKit backend is a good idea, they don't seem to have any good documentation though (?)

What made you think that?
For example, looks there :
http://git.frugalware.org/gitweb/gitweb … 12;hb=HEAD

#include <pacman.h>
....
pacman_db_unregister (sync_db);

They just renamed libalpm to libpacman, so did s/alpm/pacman/ everywhere.
Maybe you could try doing it back smile
Otherwise yes, you could try helping for the PackageKit backend :
http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=36575
Ask tradiaz about it.


pacman roulette : pacman -S $(pacman -Slq | LANG=C sort -R | head -n $((RANDOM % 10)))

Offline

#19 2007-09-11 17:48:26

krix
Member
Registered: 2006-07-03
Posts: 8

Re: Frugalpkg - Frugalware's pacman frontend ported to Arch (experimental)

Well. We did not do a s/alpm/pacman/ only tongue

Search for alternatives. BTW why we use a alpm name (arch linux package manager) when pacman-g2 no more releated to archlinux.

BTW i know gfpm wont build with arch pacman because of API/ABI difference in the whole code.

Regards
-krix-

Ps.: http://git.frugalware.org/gitweb/gitweb … ME;hb=HEAD

A full changelog and overview what changed and news in pacman-g2 and about libpacman, pacman.h change

Last edited by krix (2007-09-11 17:49:19)

Offline

#20 2007-09-11 17:49:05

priyank
Member
Registered: 2006-03-11
Posts: 4
Website

Re: Frugalpkg - Frugalware's pacman frontend ported to Arch (experimental)

shining wrote:
Schpariel wrote:

I took a look at the source, and I don't have enough patience to port it, they're using pacman 2.x (libalpm didn't exist back then).
I guess a PackageKit backend is a good idea, they don't seem to have any good documentation though (?)

What made you think that?
For example, looks there :
http://git.frugalware.org/gitweb/gitweb … 12;hb=HEAD

#include <pacman.h>
....
pacman_db_unregister (sync_db);

They just renamed libalpm to libpacman, so did s/alpm/pacman/ everywhere.
Maybe you could try doing it back smile
Otherwise yes, you could try helping for the PackageKit backend :
http://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=36575
Ask tradiaz about it.

We have not simply renamed libalpm to libpacman. It includes features that arch's pacman-3 doesn't have.
You may want to read this -> http://git.frugalware.org/gitweb/gitweb … ME;hb=HEAD


- Priyank

Offline

#21 2007-09-11 18:27:41

shining
Pacman Developer
Registered: 2006-05-10
Posts: 2,043

Re: Frugalpkg - Frugalware's pacman frontend ported to Arch (experimental)

priyank wrote:

We have not simply renamed libalpm to libpacman. It includes features that arch's pacman-3 doesn't have.

I never meant to say it was the only change, sorry if that's what you understood...
I was thinking that this change might be the one that led to confusion.


pacman roulette : pacman -S $(pacman -Slq | LANG=C sort -R | head -n $((RANDOM % 10)))

Offline

#22 2007-10-24 20:10:17

s26c.sayan
Member
From: Kolkata, India
Registered: 2007-02-07
Posts: 176
Website

Re: Frugalpkg - Frugalware's pacman frontend ported to Arch (experimental)

hussam wrote:

looks good but it is a bit slow. I didn't use it to install or upgrade anything but it seems to launch and run well. Keep us updated. smile

echo!!

Good job....:)


March Linux : An Arch Linux "distrolet" that I am trying to develop (March = My Arch!)
Please take a look......:)

Offline

#23 2007-10-24 20:48:47

Roberth
Member
From: The Pale Blue Dot
Registered: 2007-01-12
Posts: 894

Re: Frugalpkg - Frugalware's pacman frontend ported to Arch (experimental)

Maybe time to fork frugalpkg? rename it to Archpkg?


Use the Source, Luke!

Offline

#24 2007-10-25 06:30:12

s26c.sayan
Member
From: Kolkata, India
Registered: 2007-02-07
Posts: 176
Website

Re: Frugalpkg - Frugalware's pacman frontend ported to Arch (experimental)

Roberth wrote:

Maybe time to fork frugalpkg? rename it to Archpkg?

Yeh....a rename would look good! smile


March Linux : An Arch Linux "distrolet" that I am trying to develop (March = My Arch!)
Please take a look......:)

Offline

#25 2007-10-26 01:07:44

Misfit138
Misfit Emeritus
From: USA
Registered: 2006-11-27
Posts: 4,189

Re: Frugalpkg - Frugalware's pacman frontend ported to Arch (experimental)

Oh boy oh boy oh boy....I wish I could code!
A good, solid, strongly developed and embraced frontend for pacman is so desirable to me, I can taste it!
Arch programmers.......ASSEMBLE ! ! !
GO!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB