You are not logged in.

#1 2007-12-27 22:53:37

vagif

ext3+dir_index vs JFS, XFS, ReiserFS. Choice problem

I'm a linux noob.
Going to install Archlinux to new laptop Inspiron 1520
Right now playing with Archlinux on vmware.
I want my laptop be fast, and of course choosing right FS is important in this regard.
Let me sum up all i read so far about different FS.

ext3 vs XFS, JFS, ReiserFS:

- ext3 is most stable, most supported. But also slowest.
- XFS, JFS, Reiser are much faster, but have stability and or support problems.
- ext3 with dir_index is fast, almost as fast as others.
- noatime,nodiratime considerably improve performance of all these FS

So here are my questions.
1. Will ext3 + dir_index + noatime,nodiratime be up to the par with XFS,JFS ?
2. Does disr_index enabled by default on latest Arch or do I have to enable it manually ?
3. What other advantages besides speed JFS,XFS have comparing to ext3 ?

#2 2007-12-27 23:19:04

oli
Website

Re: ext3+dir_index vs JFS, XFS, ReiserFS. Choice problem

I'm using ext3 with dir index and full journal, this is the most reliable solution you can get and I don't have any performance problems.

Read this first:

http://www-128.ibm.com/developerworks/l … l-fs8.html

Use UNIX or die.

#3 2007-12-27 23:31:28

lucke

Honestly, ext3 isn't that much slower than others, sometimes it can be faster. Things also change a bit between different kernel releases. Lots depends on hardware and usage pattern too. With any filesystem you can have into reliability problems.