You are not logged in.

#1 2008-01-23 17:43:31

finferflu
Forum Fellow
Website

Ever thought of a graphics terminal?

Have you ever thought of the goodness of a graphics terminal? Like running X-like apps inside it (not X apps, that would be redundant), the ability of having a bit more eyecandy, and of course the ability of displaying images without resorting to dark magic. Yes, I think eyecandy can improve usability, when it can provide a cleaner and clearer user interface. Also, having the possibility of using a better font rendering would reduce eye strain.

I was googling for it, and I have found an interesting article about it, and I share all of the views exposed there: http://www.xs4all.nl/~evbergen/groklaw- … minal.html

I would really like to see a terminal like that around some time. Otherwise I'll develop it myself hmm The only problem is that I'm not a coder/programmer (yet).

Have you Syued today?
Free music for free people! | Earthlings

"Perfection is achieved, not when there is nothing more to add, but when there is nothing left to take away." -- A. de Saint-Exupery

#2 2008-01-23 17:54:29

dolby

Re: Ever thought of a graphics terminal?

There shouldn't be any reason to learn more editor types than emacs or vi -- mg (1)
[You learn that sarcasm does not often work well in international forums.  That is why we avoid it. -- ewaller (arch linux forum moderator)

#3 2008-01-23 18:52:51

finferflu
Forum Fellow
Website

That's interesting, but it's not exactly what I meant.
The point is that having the folders or emoticons being displayed in the terminal is quite useless in my view. I would concentrate more on fonts and the whole graphical aspect first. But I guess that's already a step towards that direction.
The features I'm looking for are those which improve usability, more than fancy eyecandy. That should be optional and come only in the second place, if at all tongue

Have you Syued today?