You are not logged in.

#76 2008-03-13 15:46:28

godane
Member
From: NH, USA
Registered: 2008-02-03
Posts: 241
Website

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

Notes:
user:root
pass:ArchLinux

Changes:
20080312
*new modules:
  -xulrunner
  -miro

*dropped modules
  -jre
  -swt
  -tuxguitar

*replaced programs
  -audacious replaces bmp
* new scripts
  -cache2lzm - to turn all packages in cache in to separate modules

the exdevel module is extra stuff the that is not in the core devel. (EX. cvs,git,subversion,etc)

I added the core devel to the 01-core module along with firmware modules.

everything is update to 20080312

Xfce is still the desktop in this one. I just wanted the kdemod modules up. I added jre to the release page.

@ ibendiben
put the modules on a hard drive before you load them. It moves them cause your loading them in union. I will have to see if i can fix this problem.

Also you will have to download all kdemod-base modules if you want k3b to work. It will also not appear in the menu cause its .desktop file is in /opt/kde/share/applications. It  will appear in menu if you login to kde.

you will be able to load modules now from the web without download. This only will work with modules from http://live-modules.org/webmounts.htm  THIS WILL NOT WORK WITH SLAX SLIK PROXY.

The homepage is google.com/firefox now.

@ venky80

I'm not uploading a iso with kdemod. Just the modules. I have tested through and it does work.

I hope this helps everyone.


I'm working on a live cds based on Archlinux. http://godane.wordpress.com/

Offline

#77 2008-03-13 22:05:55

ibendiben
Member
Registered: 2007-10-10
Posts: 519

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

godane wrote:

@ ibendiben
put the modules on a hard drive before you load them. It moves them cause your loading them in union. I will have to see if i can fix this problem.

Also you will have to download all kdemod-base modules if you want k3b to work. It will also not appear in the menu cause its .desktop file is in /opt/kde/share/applications. It  will appear in menu if you login to kde.

you will be able to load modules now from the web without download. This only will work with modules from http://live-modules.org/webmounts.htm  THIS WILL NOT WORK WITH SLAX SLIK PROXY.

The homepage is google.com/firefox now.

Very good!

Offline

#78 2008-03-14 00:17:56

godane
Member
From: NH, USA
Registered: 2008-02-03
Posts: 241
Website

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

there were some packages that didn't get update in 20080312 release.

* libevent
* module-init-tools
* rp-pppoe
* cryptsetup
* dmraid
* udev
* vi

I'm sorry about this. But I don't think this will be a problem through. I will add a module with just the update parts. This will make a update module later. Luckily all the packages are just in the core modules. But since it will be a update it will add the klibc stuff also. So this update will make everything updated to today.  The update name is 01-core-20080313.lzm.

There is a option called modpath you can use on boot. This will allow you to bind a folder on the hd/usb or other devices to be seen has being on the CD. Meaning you will be able to load modules from other devices without a remaster.

I hope this helps tell you where things are with the update.


I'm working on a live cds based on Archlinux. http://godane.wordpress.com/

Offline

#79 2008-03-15 21:22:47

Digital Nomad
Member
Registered: 2008-03-15
Posts: 3

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

Thanks for your work Godane .
Audacious instead BMP is a right move wink Especially when Audacious player has many improvements in new version 1.5 smile I made a few small modules from TGZ packages if you interested wink

barrage-1.0.2-i486.lzm
gparted-0.3.5-i486.lzm
gxine-0.5.901-i486.lzm
pdfedit-0.4.1-i686.lzm
smplayer-0.5.62-i686.lzm
spiralmodular-0.2.2a-i486.lzm
sweep-0.9.2-i486.lzm
truecrypt-5.0a-i686.lzm

Offline

#80 2008-03-20 03:46:37

godane
Member
From: NH, USA
Registered: 2008-02-03
Posts: 241
Website

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

#!/bin/sh
#
# arch2lzm- convert Archlinux packages to LiveCD modules.
#
# Author: Christopher Rogers (aka Godane) <slaxemulator@gmail.com>
#
# License: GPL v3
#

TMPDIR=/tmp/pkg2lzm$$

if [ "$1" = "" ]; then
   echo
   echo "Download and convert local cache Archlinux's PKG.TAR.GZ package and deps into .LZM compressed module"
   echo "usage: $0 [option] common_package_name"
   echo "        option: "
   echo "        merge - cleans and download all new packages to cache "
   echo "        to make a module of all cache package "
   echo "        (Ex. $0 merge xfce4)"
   echo
   echo "        update - updates the module you ask for "
   echo "        (Ex. $0 update 01-core.lzm" 
   echo
   echo "        clean - cleans the cache"
   echo
   echo "         pkg - make a module of a package only "
   echo "         (Ex. $0 pkg xchat)"
   echo
   echo "        local - make a module from a package store localy "
   echo "        (Ex. $0 local path/to/package_name)"
   echo "        (NOTE: no need to add 1.0.0-1-i686.pkg.tar.gz)"
   echo 
   exit 1
fi

if [ -f /var/lib/pacman/db.lck ]; then
   rm -f /var/lib/pacman/db.lck
fi

merge()
{
    pacman -Scc --noconfirm
    pacman -Sy
    pacman -Sw "$1" --noconfirm
    PKG=$(ls /var/cache/pacman/pkg/*.pkg.tar.gz)
    CWD=$(pwd)
    
    mkdir -p $TMPDIR/var/lib/pacman/local
    for FILE in $PKG; do
    pacman -U -d -r $TMPDIR $FILE
    done
    
    DESTINATION="$(pwd)/$(basename $1).lzm"
    mksquashfs $TMPDIR $DESTINATION -b 256KB > mksquashfs.log
    if [ $? -ne 0 ]; then 
    echo "Error building module"
    exit
    fi
    
    echo $DESTINATION
    chmod oga-x $DESTINATION
}

pkg()
{
        mkdir -p $TMPDIR/var/lib/pacman/local
    pacman -Sy
    pacman -Sw "$1" --noconfirm
    PKG=$(ls /var/cache/pacman/pkg/$1-[0-9]*.pkg.tar.gz)
    pacman -U -d -r $TMPDIR $PKG
    
    echo "Creating module ..."

    DESTINATION="$(pwd)/$(basename $PKG .pkg.tar.gz).lzm"
    mksquashfs $TMPDIR $DESTINATION -b 256KB > mksquashfs.log
    
    if [ $? -ne 0 ]; then 
    echo "Error building module"
    exit
    fi
    echo $DESTINATION
    chmod oga-x $DESTINATION
}

local()
{
        mkdir -p $TMPDIR/var/lib/pacman/local
    PKG=$(ls $1-[0-9]*.pkg.tar.gz)
    pacman -U -d -r $TMPDIR $PKG
    
    echo "Creating module ..."

    DESTINATION="$(pwd)/$(basename $PKG .pkg.tar.gz).lzm"
    mksquashfs $TMPDIR $DESTINATION -b 256KB > mksquashfs.log

    if [ $? -ne 0 ]; then 
    echo "Error building module"
    exit
    fi
    echo $DESTINATION
    chmod oga-x $DESTINATION
}

clean()
{
    pacman -Scc --noconfirm
}
    
update()
{
    MODULE=$(basename "$1" .lzm).lzm
    IMAGES=/mnt/live/memory/images
    TMPDIR=/mnt/live/memory/tmp
    CHANGES=$TMPDIR/changes
    UNION=$TMPDIR/union
    
    if [ -d $TMPDIR ]; then
    umount -n -l $UNION 2>/dev/null
    rm -Rf $TMPDIR
    fi
    
    if [ ! -d $IMAGES/$MODULE ]; then
        echo "Module may not exist in union."
    fi
    mkdir -p $CHANGES/var/lib/pacman/local
    mkdir -p $UNION

    mount -t aufs -o br:$CHANGES=rw:$IMAGES/$MODULE=rr aufs $UNION
    if [ $? -ne 0 ]; then 
    echo "Error building union."
    exit
    fi

    pacman -Syu -d -r $UNION --noconfirm

    rm -Rf $UNION/var/lib/pacman/sync/*

    mksquashfs $UNION $MODULE -b 256KB > mksquashfs.log

    if [ $? -ne 0 ]; then 
    echo "Error building module"
    exit
    fi

    umount -f $UNION

    echo $MODULE
    chmod oga-x $MODULE
}

action="$1"
path="$2"
case $action in
    merge)
        merge $path
        ;;
    clean)
        clean
        ;;
    update)
        update $path
        ;;
    pkg)
        pkg $path
        ;;
    local)
        local $path
        ;;
esac

echo "Cleaning temporary files ..."
rm -Rf $TMPDIR
echo "Completed!"

I rewrote my arch2lzm script. Now all the my scripts for for arch-live are in here. The good ones anyway. You will get you cache cache clean in merge cause this is going to run on a live cd anyway. Sorry if this is a problem but it makes my live easier since my hard drive is run arch-live in live mode. There is nothing being saved for me to care about for cache on arch-live.

I hope you like my script.

EDIT: fixed pkg and local options.

Last edited by godane (2008-03-20 17:01:45)


I'm working on a live cds based on Archlinux. http://godane.wordpress.com/

Offline

#81 2008-03-20 15:32:24

godane
Member
From: NH, USA
Registered: 2008-02-03
Posts: 241
Website

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

I just update arch-live again. Its update to 20080319.

Notes:
root pass:ArchLinux

user:arch
pass:arch

Changes:
20080319
  * add:
   -xchat
   -elisa
   -most/all gstreamer plugins
   -frozen-bubble
   -lincity
   -xbill
   -snes9x-gtk
   -openbox
   -fluxbox
   -icewm

  * replace:
   -sylpheed replaces thunderbird
   -cashe2lzm,pkg2lzm,and update2lzm are replace by arch2lzm sub options

  * bugfix: can now burn audio CDs with mp3s in brasero

everything is update to 20080319

I think I now getting better at this. I hope everyone likes it. Also xfce4 is still the default desktop.


I'm working on a live cds based on Archlinux. http://godane.wordpress.com/

Offline

#82 2008-03-20 21:17:25

venky80
Member
Registered: 2007-05-13
Posts: 1,002

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

Godane now that you have gotten better at this would you be able to release modules for other desktop environments? i mean so that we remove xfce and plugin the other DE/WM....
Maybe you can also make a list of suggested modules for each DE/WM (Zen Philosophy)
I think that would be awesome. Thanks for all the effort though.


Acer Aspire V5-573P Antergos KDE

Offline

#83 2008-03-20 22:46:26

ibendiben
Member
Registered: 2007-10-10
Posts: 519

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

@venky80
Did you try the kdemod modules godane made?

Offline

#84 2008-03-27 22:51:09

godane
Member
From: NH, USA
Registered: 2008-02-03
Posts: 241
Website

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

20080327
* added:
    -gnome-commander
    -gonvert
    -xaos
    -ktsuss
    -gnumeric
    -hardinfo
    -a server module in base/core folder

* dropped:
    -avidemux
    -gtkpod
    -xchm
    -lincity
    -snes9x-gtk
    -xdeps and elisa

* bugfix:
    -fixed lang boot command

* bug:
    -xdialog shows text in only en_US (?)

everything is update to 20080327 testing repo
NOTE: This iso was build before php and libtool update.

I think it would be nice to have a testing iso for once. I hope everything is ok.


I'm working on a live cds based on Archlinux. http://godane.wordpress.com/

Offline

#85 2008-03-29 17:13:27

godane
Member
From: NH, USA
Registered: 2008-02-03
Posts: 241
Website

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

Notes:
root pass:ArchLinux

user:arch
pass:arch

Changes:
20080328
  * added:
    -gnudoku
    -totem and totem-plugin
    -gstreamer0.10-ffmpeg
    -gnome-commander
    -gtkpod
    -avidemux
    -kino
    -gnumeric
    -hardinfo
    -gonvert
    -server module

   *dropped:
    -miro
    -elisa
    -frozen-bubble
    -xbill
    -compiz modules
    -xchm

  *replace:
    -thunderbird with claws-mail

  *others:
    made arch-live xfce look more like zenlite

everything updated to 20080328

This is based on current repo. (no testing)

new screenshot below:
dbimage.php?id=165914


I'm working on a live cds based on Archlinux. http://godane.wordpress.com/

Offline

#86 2008-03-29 19:30:57

pl2lnce
Member
Registered: 2007-11-15
Posts: 8

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

i have been hoping for a project like this and it looks very promising.  however, i am not familiar with how to add the modules to an iso.  do i just open the iso with PowerISO (or a similar program) and placee the modules into folders.  Is there an FAQ or some sort of documentation to help newbs get started with this??

also is there a way to basically do the opposite of what larch does.  and install a clone of this live cd to your harddrive?

any help is appreciated.

Offline

#87 2008-03-29 20:08:50

godane
Member
From: NH, USA
Registered: 2008-02-03
Posts: 241
Website

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

http://slax.org is the web site for some docs.

here is the docs for customizing the iso:
http://www.slax.org/documentation_customize_slax.php

You will have to use arch2lzm in command line to turn archlinux packages into modules for arch-live.
Just type arch2lzm to see the option on how to build the modules.

NOTE: The packages are downloaded when using the script.

I hope this helps.

PS You can use iso master to edit the iso also. Iso master is in arch-live.


I'm working on a live cds based on Archlinux. http://godane.wordpress.com/

Offline

#88 2008-03-29 22:38:17

ibendiben
Member
Registered: 2007-10-10
Posts: 519

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

Ah! big_smile That xfce4 layout is a lot better thanks!

Offline

#89 2008-03-29 23:29:47

venky80
Member
Registered: 2007-05-13
Posts: 1,002

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

Hey godane/ibendiben
I tried adding the kdemod modules to the modules folder and then booting the usb stick, it takes me again to xfce, I tried to edit the xinitrc but it went over my head.
Is there a simple way to remove xfce and add kdemod?
Thanks,
I am thinking something needs to be done to slim so that it boots kde, am I right?
Thanks


Acer Aspire V5-573P Antergos KDE

Offline

#90 2008-03-30 00:34:28

godane
Member
From: NH, USA
Registered: 2008-02-03
Posts: 241
Website

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

venky80 wrote:

Hey godane/ibendiben
I tried adding the kdemod modules to the modules folder and then booting the usb stick, it takes me again to xfce, I tried to edit the xinitrc but it went over my head.
Is there a simple way to remove xfce and add kdemod?
Thanks,
I am thinking something needs to be done to slim so that it boots kde, am I right?
Thanks

The reason I'm using slim is cause gdm doesn't work will with the new xserver. That xserver package was updated in the last week i think.

I don't know of a way to edit .xinitrc to make it work with kde. It was just a copy of /etc/X11/xinit/xinitrc.xfce file.

this may help you.

#!/bin/sh
# $Xorg: xinitrc.cpp,v 1.3 2000/08/17 19:54:30 cpqbld Exp $

userresources=$HOME/.Xresources
usermodmap=$HOME/.Xmodmap
sysresources=/etc/X11/xinit/.Xresources
sysmodmap=/etc/X11/xinit/.Xmodmap

# merge in defaults and keymaps

if [ -f $sysresources ]; then
    xrdb -merge $sysresources
fi

if [ -f $sysmodmap ]; then
    xmodmap $sysmodmap
fi

if [ -f $userresources ]; then
    xrdb -merge $userresources
fi

if [ -f $usermodmap ]; then
    xmodmap $usermodmap
fi

# start some nice programs
# exec ion
# exec wmaker
 exec startkde
# exec icewm
# exec blackbox
#exec gnome-session
# exec startfluxbox
# exec startxfce4
# exec openbox

This will help you get the .initrc file to work with kde i think. Also its best not to remove the xfce4 module cause it has some deps that are need for other programs. (deps like vte and libsexy for most gnome programs to work)

I hope this helps.


I'm working on a live cds based on Archlinux. http://godane.wordpress.com/

Offline

#91 2008-03-30 13:09:36

ibendiben
Member
Registered: 2007-10-10
Posts: 519

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

It might be that you'll have to set
/opt/kde/bin/startkde
in stead of just startkde, some time ago there where some topics about startkde not being found anymore.
Also when nothing else works you can try to run kdm, this starts a kde-session by default.

I tried to get the kdemodmodules working recently, by integrating them in the iso. (copying to /optional) but it seems the windows (.bat) version of the makeiso script had some problems with them long paths, and so it warned be modules got a different name, and when starting the iso, it was so confused it could only flicker between slim/error/xorg

So I wondered if I did the right thing by just copying the kdemod modules into /optional and running the makeiso script provided. Or that I have to do something else, or that there is still something not functioning well with the kdemod modules or the makeiso script.

ps. actually arch-live needs a little "pacman to modman" to install and check dependencies of modules tongue

Offline

#92 2008-03-31 03:46:33

venky80
Member
Registered: 2007-05-13
Posts: 1,002

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

well i dont know i tried startkde it doesnt work, do you think i should edit the rc.conf and remove slim and put kdm?


Acer Aspire V5-573P Antergos KDE

Offline

#93 2008-03-31 12:09:06

godane
Member
From: NH, USA
Registered: 2008-02-03
Posts: 241
Website

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

venky80 wrote:

well i dont know i tried startkde it doesnt work, do you think i should edit the rc.conf and remove slim and put kdm?

You will need other deps other then kdemod modules. I don't have them yet. I plan on release a new iso that will allow you have kdemod base in one module. This will make it easier for me and you to be able to use kde.

PS You get login to kdemod be press F1 until the words "Session: KDE" appear. Thats when you can login into kde. Its just the deps are not all there in common.


I'm working on a live cds based on Archlinux. http://godane.wordpress.com/

Offline

#94 2008-03-31 15:28:08

venky80
Member
Registered: 2007-05-13
Posts: 1,002

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

I actually tried putting kdm and removing slim in rc.conf.
I also deleted .xinitrc I got an interesting result. After boot I got a mouse symbol, the screen flickered then I was thrown into the command prompt.
Godane i really did not understand your Post Script. I will wait till you release the new ISO
Thanks


Acer Aspire V5-573P Antergos KDE

Offline

#95 2008-03-31 21:06:09

godane
Member
From: NH, USA
Registered: 2008-02-03
Posts: 241
Website

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

i have release a new iso with kdemod now.

Notes:
root pass:ArchLinux

user:arch
pass:arch

Changes:
20080331
  * added:
   -xampp
   -drupal
   -drupal-xampp
   -kdemod
   -ghostscript

  * dropped:
    -none
  * replaced:
    -03-server with xampp

Get drupal to work with Xampp
Xampp will startup on boot. You can go to http:/localhost/
select your language. Then go phpmyadmin on the left menu.
This is where you enter your mysql database name so you can get drupal to work.
http:/localhost/drupal/ is the address to go to setup drupal.

everything is updated to 20080331 this morning

You have to press F1 at slim login for you to cycle through the session window managers.

I hope this helps everyone.


I'm working on a live cds based on Archlinux. http://godane.wordpress.com/

Offline

#96 2008-03-31 22:48:42

venky80
Member
Registered: 2007-05-13
Posts: 1,002

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

ooh that was fast ..Thank you very much !


Acer Aspire V5-573P Antergos KDE

Offline

#97 2008-04-02 13:34:33

Digital Nomad
Member
Registered: 2008-03-15
Posts: 3

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

That distro really shine smile  Thanks Godane .

Offline

#98 2008-04-04 21:27:53

godane
Member
From: NH, USA
Registered: 2008-02-03
Posts: 241
Website

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

Notes:
root pass:ArchLinux

user:arch
pass:arch

Changes:
20080403
  * added:
    -parted
    -netkit-bsd-finger
    -subversion
    -exiv2 (testing)
    -gnome-python-desktop
    -intltool
    -libwnck
    -jre-6u5
    -tuxguitar
    -xchm
    -rapidsvn
    -screenlets
    -yaourt

  * dropped:
    -none

everything updated to 20080403 (including firefox)
NOTE: not all of the aur packages are up to date or are updated beyond aur repo version

I have updated this with some added modules for development.

I hope this help everyone.


I'm working on a live cds based on Archlinux. http://godane.wordpress.com/

Offline

#99 2008-04-04 22:15:19

bender02
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2007-02-04
Posts: 1,328

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

I tried your livecd (from a usb, 3/31 version), and it works great (spits out some warnings during the init process, but nothing essential). I like it. I'm just thinking what would be the best way to update things, since I don't feel like downloading another iso every few days is a good practice. Maybe just download the modules that I want to update + base?

One thing regarding the usb install though: usb uses syslinux instead of isolinux, and so I had to manually copy the *.cfg files from /boot/isolinux to /boot/syslinux and rename isolinux.cfg -> syslinux.cfg before 'syslinux /dev/sdb', otherwise you end up only with the menu from /boot/syslinux/syslinux.cfg, which doesn't set the language, resulting in some errors further on in the booting process.

Keep up the good work!

Offline

#100 2008-04-05 15:31:45

godane
Member
From: NH, USA
Registered: 2008-02-03
Posts: 241
Website

Re: arch-live cd release (20080409)

The reason I'm uploading a new iso every few days is cause the packages are being removed or added to new modules not in the older iso. The modular layout is in constant flux. Sorry about this.

below is away to make a updateonly module:

arch2lzm updateonly

This will give you update-*timestamp.lzm module. This is good for using testing packages in testing repo too. wink

I hope this helps you bender02.


I'm working on a live cds based on Archlinux. http://godane.wordpress.com/

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB