You are not logged in.

#1 2008-03-11 18:29:07

md5fungi

Moving root filesystem to another hard drive

Hi everyone,

I've been using Arch Linux for a few months now and it is by far my favorite Linux distribution.

I currently have Arch on an old Pentium III, with a whopping 20 GB IDE hard drive. roll

I'm building a new computer, and want to use a larger 160 GB SATA hard drive, and I was wondering what is the best way that I can just transfer my entire root filesystem so I don't have to bother copying all the scripts, programs, etc.

Can I just tarball my root directory, partition my new hard drive, and use some other LiveCD to copy the root partition? I know this shouldn't be that difficult, because everything in the root partition is in /, unlike Windows, which has association problems with the registry.

Thanks!

#2 2008-03-11 19:04:36

bgc1954

Re: Moving root filesystem to another hard drive

I haven't tried it with Linux but the following should work: if you setup your new drive as a slave drive you should just be able to copy over all the files using your favorite file manager as root.  I've done this before in winblows so linux should work more easily.

You'll need to add an entry to your /etc/fstab so when you reboot linux will recognize it /dev/sdb1 /mnt/newroot ext3 users,noauto 0 0 or something like that and make a new directory /mnt/newroot.  Use gparted for example to partition the new drive like you want it and make it like your old drive (ie. swap, root, home partitions in the same order as your original drive).  Mount the slave drive and copy away--just make sure you copy over the hidden files as well.

Then setup the new drive as master and you'll need either a boot floppy so you can enter your new drive or an arch install cd to setup grub on the new drive: http://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Reinstalling_GRUB

You'll also edit your /etc/fstab in the new drive to remove the /dev/sdb reference but that can be done later.