You are not logged in.

#1 2008-05-22 20:50:28

jerryluc

Archlinux and free software

I was just wondering about Arch policy on proprietary software? I really like Debians policy and GNUs philosophy in general.
I do believe in the open source development, and think it will out conquer closed software in the future.
So can i trust that if something in the official arch repo is not open source it will be marked, like "Macromedia standalone flash player (nonfree)"?

I'm quite new to linux and arch, but has really become an linux/arch fan. And would be interested in hearing what you "old timers" think of the matter?

Last edited by jerryluc (2008-05-22 20:51:05)

#2 2008-05-22 20:54:27

wonder
Developer
Website

Re: Archlinux and free software

if you like debian policy why do you use archlinux? is to easy to use archlinux and you don't like it?:)

Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.

#3 2008-05-22 21:08:50

phrakture
Arch Overlord
Website

Well, in general we try to side with "convenience". There is closed-sourced software in the repos, usually because it is better than the open source alternatives.

Currently we don't mark our software as non-free, but in the future when pacman categories are implemented, we will most likely use that.

I for one, don't care if software is closed or open. I use whatever is best. Technical merit, not philosophical merit, is how I like to roll.

#4 2008-05-22 21:10:26

catwell
Website

I'm not sure that (nonfree) is always added in the description, but all packages are supposed to have a Licenses tag which is visible by pacman -Si package, so you can check.

#5 2008-05-22 21:12:21

jerryluc

if you like debian policy why do you use archlinux? is to easy to use archlinux and you don't like it?smile

that doesn't make any sense. I like arch, it was just the distro i was looking for when i was distro hopping. I'm just wondering about the policy and what others think of the matter.