You are not logged in.

#1 2008-08-04 15:23:39

piege

Good softawre for student in electrical engineering

Hey,

I was wondering what software people in engineering (especially electrical) were using?

I seem to be using a lot of latex which is a wonder for technical papers.

Appart from that i'm pretty much a noob.

#2 2008-08-04 15:30:15

ornitorrincos
Forum Fellow

Re: Good softawre for student in electrical engineering

depends in what are you looking for, for circuits I uso windows software(they ask me to use them and I don't really now any oss or crossplattform alternatives)

-$: file /dev/zero
/dev/zero: symbolic link to '/dev/brain'

#3 2008-08-04 15:59:48

catwell
Website

For microcircuit design (FPGA and such), Xilinx's toolkit is available for Linux (but not free-as-in-free-speech).
Other than that, I'm still a student and more in the communications / computing field, but I usually don't write Latex since I don't like it (what an horrible syntax). For reports, I use markdown and generate the corresponding lout or Latex code with pandoc.

What I really miss is a good text-based slides generator for presentations. I've tried beamer, pythonpoint and magicpoint but I haven't found what I need. So, I'm stuck with OpenOffice for that.

Other than that, I'd say the tools I use most are claws-mail and vi tongue

Last edited by catwell (2008-08-04 16:03:35)

#4 2008-08-04 16:12:14

ornitorrincos
Forum Fellow

For microcircuit design (FPGA and such), Xilinx's toolkit is available for Linux (but not free-as-in-free-speech).

ah, true, I forgot Xilinx

-$: file /dev/zero
/dev/zero: symbolic link to '/dev/brain'

#5 2008-08-04 17:07:08

Berticus

I'm an electrical engineering student (entering junior year). Last year I learnt about LaTeX and wrote all of my papers with that.