You are not logged in.

#1 2008-08-26 21:36:29

thetrivialstuff

Wine + KDE -- default program for .exe on upgrade

I find that every time I pacman -Syu, WINE gets set as the default program for opening windows .exe files.

Since I'm a sysadmin for several mail servers, I occasionally have to open suspicious e-mails and see what they are, including examining the attachments. I'm worried that one day I'll accidentally double-click one of the .exe ones and that wine will run it.

I'm sure WINE doesn't have the level of windows compatibility required for spyware & viruses to do much, but it still makes me nervous.

I always go into the KDE settings and remove this file association as soon as I notice it, but I'm wondering if there's any way to make it stay permanently gone?

Is this something the package maintainer for WINE and/or KDE has any control over, or is this the wrong place to complain about it?

~Felix.

#2 2008-08-27 03:51:18

kensai
Website

Re: Wine + KDE -- default program for .exe on upgrade

Unfortunately I have not scceded in finding a way to disable this. Maybe it can't be done, maybe it can be done, but well is late here so I didn't put my best effort into searching. If anybody finds something please drop me a line here or to my email. Thanks. wink

Follow me in: Identi.ca, Twitter, Google+

#3 2008-08-27 05:12:20

iphitus
Forum Fellow

This thing is crazy....

The other week I put a CD in...

KDE: Do you want to autorun CD?
Me: wtf!

Then sure enough, the AOEII installer ran flawlessly and the game started flawlessly from the new shortcut on my desktop! As easy as windows, except without the reboot tongue

I felt replaced! No longer did I need to mount, or mess with winecfg or open up a black box and type funny commands.

Last edited by iphitus (2008-08-27 05:13:03)

#4 2008-08-27 06:15:02

thetrivialstuff