You are not logged in.

#1 2008-12-01 23:31:52

fmma

X doesn't work anymore after upgrade to xorg-server

Hi,

I have arch linux instaled on a hp 2133 mininote, which has a via chrome graphic chip. So far, I had X running with the "vesa" diver.

I saw now a new verion of the openchrome driver in the announcement section (openchrome 0.2.903-1), which I installed. Part of this process, the xorg-server was re-installed (now to xorg-server 1.5.3-2).

Unfortunatly, X is not starting anymore. Neither with the o;d xorg.conf file nor with a new one generated with hwd utility.
Screen just black.

Does anyone know what to do ?

I'm not an expert, so please apologize if I have missed something obvious.

fr

#2 2008-12-01 23:48:11

mutlu_inek

Re: X doesn't work anymore after upgrade to xorg-server

I don't know anything about the via chrome chip, but there have been many people who couldn't start X either and posted here during the last 24 hours. Just browse the forums.

Most likely, hwd keeps putting an "RgbPath" option in your xorg.conf, which is a mistake and keeps X from starting. If commenting the line does not help and browsing the forum does not point you to anything that helps, post the output of

grep EE /var/log/Xorg.0.log

#3 2008-12-02 00:40:43

wolfvorkian

X wouldn't start for me after the upgrade either. I messed around with one of the solutions that had helped some but it didn't help me.

What did was this. I renamed the xorg.conf file and then rebooted. In a flash too fast to really read, the screen said a new xorg.conf was being reconfigured ( I think ). X is working again fine now but I'm without an xorg.conf file.

#4 2008-12-02 01:13:58

pyther
Website

wolfvorkian wrote:

X wouldn't start for me after the upgrade either. I messed around with one of the solutions that had helped some but it didn't help me.