You are not logged in.

#1 2010-03-21 01:07:49

martin77

installing ATI Radeon 5750HD propietary driver in a fresh Arch install

Hi guys,

well, I'm totally new to Arch and I love it - I'm also green at Linux because I have some (long) time hoping distros and using Ubuntu, but that doesn't counts... well, maybe distro-hoping counts big_smile

Yesterday I managed to install Arch x64 alongside X, ALSA and KDE4 and I'm impressed on how well overall system performs: lightning fast download speed from repos, KDE4 faster than LXDE on many other distros, lol, and so on.

BUT (there's allways a but, isn't it?) I can't manage to make xf86-video-ati neither radeonhd nor propietary driver work, composite is disabled and max resolution I can get is 1280x1024.

I read a lot of post here in the forum related to this and none of them is of any help, that's why I'm opening this thread, sorry for more of the same sad

If anyone have any idea on how to make and ATI Radeon 5750 HD work please let me know. You know, after tasting the sweet honey Arch is, returning to Kubuntu will be a hard punch, arrghhh!

Thank you very much for your time and any suggestion guys.

Martin

Last edited by martin77 (2010-03-27 04:43:54)

#2 2010-03-21 02:30:52

agapito

Re: installing ATI Radeon 5750HD propietary driver in a fresh Arch install

sudo pacman -Rd libgl

sudo pacman -U http://dl.dropbox.com/u/4321633/catalyst-beta-10.3-333-x86_64.pkg.tar.gz

sudo aticonfig --initial

4. add "fglrx" to modules line on /etc/rc.conf
5. Reboot.

If you are not using sudo, run these commands as root user.

Last edited by agapito (2010-03-22 16:02:32)

Excuse my poor English.

#3 2010-03-22 15:23:59

scio

http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=34773 that is the 10.4 catalyst beta if you want to try it.

#4 2010-03-24 21:10:37

martin77

Hi guys, thank you, this community is the best. I'm gonna reinstall Arch right now (03-24 18:11 GMT-3) and see what happens, thanks again big_smile

#5 2010-03-25 01:12:22