You are not logged in.

#1 2010-04-10 15:13:32

rent0n
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2009-10-29
Posts: 457
Website

[i3] urxvt has black borders...

Hi there smile
I'm trying out the i3 window manager and it seems to be quite nice except for one little thing that is driving me mad.
urxvt always appears with some black borders around it and I don't know how to remove them.

90295780956945721601_thumb.jpg

I really can't understand if the responsible for this behaviour is i3 or urxvt but I noticed that:
- the empty space at the bottom is black too even if I use 'xsetroot -solid "1A1A1A" in my .xinitrc
- the same .Xdefaults in wmii works perfectly without black borders at all.

Is anyone able to help me? Any hint would be much appreciated.

I'm attaching some files that may be important to solve the issue:

~/.xinitrc

#!/bin/sh
#
# ~/.xinitrc
#
# Executed by startx (run your window manager from here)

# exec gnome-session
# exec startkde
# exec startxfce4
# ...or the Window Manager of your choice


# add terminus and dina fonts to xfontsel
xset +fp /usr/share/fonts/local

# set background and wallpaper
xsetroot -solid "#1A1A1A"
feh --bg-scale /home/rent0n/.wallpapers/archlinux-zenburn-wide-grey.jpg

# start window manager
exec i3
# exec wmii
# exec dwm

~/.Xdefaults:

! urxvt
urxvt.title: urxvt
urxvt.background: #1A1A1A
urxvt.foreground: #999999
urxvt.cursorColor: #5E468C
urxvt.borderColor: #1A1A1A
urxvt.borderless: false
urxvt.internalBorder: 3
urxvt.externalBorder: 3
urxvt.scrollBar: false
!urxvt.font: -misc-fixed-medium-r-*--12-*-*-*-*-*-iso10646-1
!urxvt.boldFont: -misc-fixed-medium-r-*--12-*-*-*-*-*-iso10646-1
urxvt.font: xft:terminus:pixelsize=12
urxvt.boldFont: xft:terminus:bold:pixelsize=12

! colors
!black
*color0:  #333333
*color8:  #3D3D3D
!red
*color1:  #8C4665
*color9:  #BF4D80
!green
*color2:  #287373
*color10: #53A6A6
!yellow
*color3:  #7C7C99
*color11: #9E9ECB
!blue
*color4:  #395573
*color12: #477AB3
!magenta
*color5:  #5E468C
*color13: #7E62B3
!cyan
*color6:  #31658C
*color14: #6096BF
!white
*color7:  #899CA1
*color15: #C0C0C0

~/.i3/config

# This configuration uses Mod1 and Mod4. Make sure they are mapped properly using xev(1)
# and xmodmap(1). Usually, Mod1 is Alt (Alt_L) and Mod4 is Windows (Super_L)

# ISO 10646 = Unicode
# font -misc-fixed-medium-r-normal--13-120-75-75-C-70-iso10646-1
# font -misc-fixed-medium-r-*--12-*-*-*-*-*-iso10646-1
font -xos4-terminus-bold-r-*--12-*-*-*-*-*-iso10646-1

# Use Mouse+Mod4 to drag floating windows to their wanted position
floating_modifier Mod4

# Fullscreen (Mod4+f)
bind Mod4+41 f

# Stacking (Mod4+r)
bind Mod4+27 s

# Tabbed (Mod4+w)
bind Mod4+25 T

# Default (Mod4+e)
bind Mod4+26 d

# Toggle tiling/floating of the current window (Mod4+Shift+Space)
bind Mod4+Shift+65 t

# Go into the tiling layer / floating layer, depending on whether
# the current window is tiling / floating (Mod4+t)
bind Mod4+28 focus ft

# Focus (Mod4+j/k/l/;)
bind Mod4+43 h
bind Mod4+44 j
bind Mod4+45 k
bind Mod4+46 l
# (alternatively, you can use the cursor keys:)
bindsym Mod4+Left h
bindsym Mod4+Down j
bindsym Mod4+Up k
bindsym Mod4+Right l

# Focus Container (Mod1+Mod4+j/k/l/;)
bind Mod1+Mod4+43 wch
bind Mod1+Mod4+44 wcj
bind Mod1+Mod4+45 wck
bind Mod1+Mod4+46 wcl
# (alternatively, you can use the cursor keys:)
bindsym Mod1+Mod4+Left wch
bindsym Mod1+Mod4+Down wcj
bindsym Mod1+Mod4+Up wck
bindsym Mod1+Mod4+Right wcl

# Snap (Mod4+Control+j/k/l/;)
bind Mod4+Control+43 sh
bind Mod4+Control+44 sj
bind Mod4+Control+45 sk
bind Mod4+Control+46 sl
# (alternatively, you can use the cursor keys:)
bindsym Mod4+Control+Left sh
bindsym Mod4+Control+Down sj
bindsym Mod4+Control+Up sk
bindsym Mod4+Control+Right sl

# Move (Mod4+Shift+j/k/l/;)
bind Mod4+Shift+43 mh
bind Mod4+Shift+44 mj
bind Mod4+Shift+45 mk
bind Mod4+Shift+46 ml
# (alternatively, you can use the cursor keys:)
bindsym Mod4+Shift+Left mh
bindsym Mod4+Shift+Down mj
bindsym Mod4+Shift+Up mk
bindsym Mod4+Shift+Right ml

# Move Container (Mod1+Mod4+Shift+j/k/l/;)
bind Mod1+Mod4+Shift+43 wcmh
bind Mod1+Mod4+Shift+44 wcmj
bind Mod1+Mod4+Shift+45 wcmk
bind Mod1+Mod4+Shift+46 wcml

# Workspaces (Mod4+1/2/…)
bind Mod4+10 1
bind Mod4+11 2
bind Mod4+12 3
bind Mod4+13 4
bind Mod4+14 5
bind Mod4+15 6
bind Mod4+16 7
bind Mod4+17 8
bind Mod4+18 9
bind Mod4+19 10

# Move to Workspaces
bind Mod4+Shift+10 m1
bind Mod4+Shift+11 m2
bind Mod4+Shift+12 m3
bind Mod4+Shift+13 m4
bind Mod4+Shift+14 m5
bind Mod4+Shift+15 m6
bind Mod4+Shift+16 m7
bind Mod4+Shift+17 m8
bind Mod4+Shift+18 m9
bind Mod4+Shift+19 m10

# Mod4+Enter starts a new terminal
bind Mod4+36 exec /usr/bin/urxvt

# Mod4+Shift+q kills the current client
bind Mod4+Shift+24 kill

# Mod4+v starts dmenu and launches the selected application
# for now, we don't have a launcher of our own.
bind Mod4+55 exec /usr/bin/dmenu_run -i -fn -xos4-terminus-bold-r-*--12-*-*-*-*-*-iso10646-1 -nb \#1A1A1A -nf \#999999 -sb \#1A1A1A -sf \#31658C

# Mod4+Shift+e exits i3
bind Mod4+Shift+26 exit

# Mod4+Shift+r restarts i3 inplace
bind Mod4+Shift+27 restart

# The IPC interface allows programs like an external workspace bar
# (i3-wsbar) or i3-msg (can be used to "remote-control" i3) to work.
ipc-socket ~/.i3/ipc.sock

# 1-pixel Border
new_window bp

# Colors
#   class                     border       background   text
    client.focused            #999999      #999999      #1A1A1A
    client.focused_inactive   #1A1A1A      #1A1A1A      #999999
    client.unfocused          #1A1A1A      #1A1A1A      #999999
    client.urgent             #31658C      #31658C      #999999
    bar.focused               #999999      #1A1A1A      #999999
    bar.unfocused             #1A1A1A      #1A1A1A      #999999
    bar.urgent                #31658C      #1A1A1A      #999999

# Workspaces
workspace 1 main
workspace 2 www
workspace 3 mail
workspace 4 misc

Thank you very much. smile


rent0n@deviantART | rent0n@bitbucket | rent0n@identi.ca | LRU #337812
aspire: Acer Aspire 5920 Arch Linux x86_64 | beetle: Gericom Beetle G733 Arch Linux i686

Offline

#2 2010-04-10 17:00:56

Atsutane
Package Maintainer (PM)
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-08-18
Posts: 96

Re: [i3] urxvt has black borders...

That's the space urxvt doesn't fill itself with the configured font size. you can minimalize that by searching for a font size that fits mostly to your default layout with terminals or resizing the containers by hand which is bad as you'd have to redo it every time.


[blog - mostly german] - [JabberID: atsutane 0x40 freethoughts 0x2E de] - [identi.ca]

Offline

#3 2010-04-10 17:45:37

rent0n
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2009-10-29
Posts: 457
Website

Re: [i3] urxvt has black borders...

So there's no real solution?

I'm forced to move to wmii then, even if it hasn't all the nice features of i3 and configuring it it's quite a mess, at least it seems to manage urxvt perfectly...

Thanks,


rent0n@deviantART | rent0n@bitbucket | rent0n@identi.ca | LRU #337812
aspire: Acer Aspire 5920 Arch Linux x86_64 | beetle: Gericom Beetle G733 Arch Linux i686

Offline

#4 2010-04-10 18:51:32

Army
Member
Registered: 2007-12-07
Posts: 1,784

Re: [i3] urxvt has black borders...

Offline

#5 2010-04-10 19:03:52

panuh
Member
From: X :ɯoɹℲ
Registered: 2009-11-24
Posts: 144

Re: [i3] urxvt has black borders...

rent0n wrote:

I'm forced to move to wmii then, even if it hasn't all the nice features of i3 and configuring it it's quite a mess, at least it seems to manage urxvt perfectly...

You will most probably have those borders in wmii, too. I have them.
It really is an urxvt issue. There is something in the manpages about it, I think (not sure).
I doesn't bother me too much so I just left them there.

Offline

#6 2010-04-10 19:11:57

Atsutane
Package Maintainer (PM)
From: Germany
Registered: 2008-08-18
Posts: 96

Re: [i3] urxvt has black borders...

This is not only an issue with urxvt, other terminal emulators have that too. Anyway I'll bring that topic back up and I guess we at least enhance the current workaround for that glitch so one can at least specify the color which is used to fill the gaps.


[blog - mostly german] - [JabberID: atsutane 0x40 freethoughts 0x2E de] - [identi.ca]

Offline

#7 2010-04-10 20:08:22

rent0n
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2009-10-29
Posts: 457
Website

Re: [i3] urxvt has black borders...

@Army: thanks, I will give it a try
@panuh: I don't have them in wmii. But maybe is just because I set  wmii background color like urxvt background color?

@Atsutane: Yes, that would be a great idea and it would solve the issue, at least graphically. Let me know if you manage to implement it into i3 code!
Thanks


rent0n@deviantART | rent0n@bitbucket | rent0n@identi.ca | LRU #337812
aspire: Acer Aspire 5920 Arch Linux x86_64 | beetle: Gericom Beetle G733 Arch Linux i686

Offline

#8 2010-04-10 20:12:18

litemotiv
Forum Fellow
Registered: 2008-08-01
Posts: 5,026

Re: [i3] urxvt has black borders...

rent0n wrote:

@panuh: I don't have them in wmii. But maybe is just because I set  wmii background color like urxvt background color?

yes wink

the current workaround in i3 would be to make a small png with the background color of your terminal and set it as tiling desktop background with (e.g.) feh


ᶘ ᵒᴥᵒᶅ

Offline

#9 2010-04-10 21:43:19

skottish
Forum Fellow
From: Here
Registered: 2006-06-16
Posts: 7,942

Re: [i3] urxvt has black borders...

rent0n wrote:

@panuh: I don't have them in wmii. But maybe is just because I set  wmii background color like urxvt background color?

It's possible the wmii ignores window size hints. This causes all sorts of redrawing issues with most terminals. It's also possible that it just handles window size hints "better". dwm does a good job with terminals.

Offline

#10 2010-04-13 21:02:37

rent0n
Member
From: Italy
Registered: 2009-10-29
Posts: 457
Website

Re: [i3] urxvt has black borders...

Posting just to confirm that by using #000000 as urxvt backround color, black borders are no more visible.
So adding to i3 the (pretty basic) feature to set a background color would definitely solve this issue.

Atsutane, do you think I should report this on the i3 mailing list or maybe file a bug in the bugtracker?


rent0n@deviantART | rent0n@bitbucket | rent0n@identi.ca | LRU #337812
aspire: Acer Aspire 5920 Arch Linux x86_64 | beetle: Gericom Beetle G733 Arch Linux i686

Offline

#11 2012-03-23 15:50:24

mage
Member
Registered: 2012-03-23
Posts: 2

Re: [i3] urxvt has black borders...

well, 2 years and still urxvt windows has that ugly black borders when using it with i3 (or maybe other tiling wm) sad

Offline

#12 2012-03-23 17:12:11

anti-destin
Member
Registered: 2009-02-14
Posts: 234

Re: [i3] urxvt has black borders...

just use the same color for the terminal background and the client background. see this.

Offline

#13 2012-03-23 23:07:47

ewaller
Administrator
From: Pasadena, CA
Registered: 2009-07-13
Posts: 19,797

Re: [i3] urxvt has black borders...


Nothing is too wonderful to be true, if it be consistent with the laws of nature -- Michael Faraday
Sometimes it is the people no one can imagine anything of who do the things no one can imagine. -- Alan Turing
---
How to Ask Questions the Smart Way

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB