You are not logged in.

#301 2014-10-30 18:54:39

pjezek
Member
From: Praha - CZ
Registered: 2005-05-19
Posts: 77

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

The latest weston works generally well. What tells to weston which diplay to use for xwayland (launched from tty2 with X on tty1)? There are some hidden influences between paralelly used sessions on the two ttys - once ignoring weston.ini, later failing with launching apps for display mess...


Our tomcat for your mice! Archlinux for your comps! Alfa Romeo for your roads! Faster running guaranted!

Offline

#302 2014-11-03 21:52:01

89c51
Member
Registered: 2012-06-05
Posts: 722

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Is nm-applet supposed to work with weston/wayland?

(nm-applet:1990): nm-applet-WARNING **: Failed to initialize D-Bus: Unable to autolaunch a dbus-daemon without a $DISPLAY for X11

is what i get.

and i have set GDB_BACKEND=wayland

Offline

#303 2014-11-04 04:41:31

Scimmia
Bug Wrangler
Registered: 2012-09-01
Posts: 7,168

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

you're not going to get xembed systray apps to work on Wayland unless you use XWayland.

Offline

#304 2014-11-04 06:56:39

89c51
Member
Registered: 2012-06-05
Posts: 722

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

forget i asked. nm-connection editor was what i wanted. I am an idiot.

Offline

#305 2014-11-06 00:21:02

augustob
Member
From: Florianópolis, Brazil
Registered: 2006-03-17
Posts: 134

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Hey, is anyone playing around with velox [1]? I tried to launch from a tty with:

swc-launch -- velox

But I got a "Could not create WLD DRM context" error.

[1] https://aur.archlinux.org/packages/velox-wl-git/

Offline

#306 2014-11-13 16:02:05

89c51
Member
Registered: 2012-06-05
Posts: 722

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Is there a "tool" like glxinfo for wayland??

Offline

#307 2014-11-14 17:35:32

haagch
Member
Registered: 2013-08-17
Posts: 208

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

For me xwayland only works with weston started from a tty (drm backend?).

Wehn weston is started in X with the x11 backend, the native wayland programs work, but starting any x programs only produces this error in the shell weston was started from:

Fatal server error:
(EE) wl_drm@6: error 2: invalid name

Can anyone with xf86-video-intel please try xwayland in weston in X?

Offline

#308 2014-11-15 18:25:45

stozi
Member
Registered: 2010-03-02
Posts: 149

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

what happened to weston-view?

Offline

#309 2014-11-17 18:31:01

bstaletic
Member
Registered: 2014-02-02
Posts: 658

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Velox-wl-git troubles. Managed to compile and run it, yet none of the key bindings work. I even tried to set dmenu at ctrl+r, not mod+r.

Offline

#310 2014-11-20 12:51:39

89c51
Member
Registered: 2012-06-05
Posts: 722

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Unable to contact D-Bus session bus: org.freedesktop.DBus.Error.NotSupported: Unable to autolaunch a dbus-daemon without a $DISPLAY for X11

Messages like the above apear when starting some apps. Is it something that can be done or it is something upstream will take care of???

Offline

#311 2014-12-16 17:55:52

stozi
Member
Registered: 2010-03-02
Posts: 149

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Now that qt5-wayland is in Extra, why doesn't qupzilla load in Weston? Is there something I can do, is it an issue of package compilation or something upstream?

$ qupzilla --platform wayland-egl Using Wayland-EGL 
(QupZilla: Crashed :( Saving backtrace in /home/user/.config/ 
qupzilla/crashlog ... Backtrace successfuly saved in 
/home/user/.config/qupzilla/crashlog/Crash-2014- 12-16T19\:53\:26.txt 
Aborted (core dumped)
$ cat .config/qupzilla/crashlog/Crash-2014-12-16T19\:53\:26.txt 
Time: Tue Dec 16 19:53:26 2014
Qt version: 5.4.0 (compiled with 5.4.0)
QupZilla version: 1.8.5
WebKit version: 538.1
user
============== BACKTRACE ==============
#0: qupzilla() [0x403393]
#1: /usr/lib/libc.so.6(+0x33b20) [0x7f04352d5b20]
#2: /usr/lib/libX11.so.6(_XSend+0x2b) [0x7f0434d4a0bb]
#3: /usr/lib/libX11.so.6(_XFlush+0x15) [0x7f0434d4a575]
#4: /usr/lib/libX11.so.6(_XGetRequest+0x65) [0x7f0434d4d055]
#5: /usr/lib/libX11.so.6(XChangeProperty+0x59) [0x7f0434d27539]
#6: /usr/lib/libX11.so.6(XSetClassHint+0xa8) [0x7f0434d44a48]
#7: /usr/lib/libQupZilla.so.1(_ZN7QzTools10setWmClassERK7QStringPK7QWidget+0x65) [0x7f0438eb5615]
#8: /usr/lib/libQupZilla.so.1(_ZN13BrowserWindowC1EN2Qz17BrowserWindowTypeERK4QUrl+0x336) [0x7f0438d09266]
#9: /usr/lib/libQupZilla.so.1(_ZN15MainApplication12createWindowEN2Qz17BrowserWindowTypeERK4QUrl+0x4f) [0x7f0438d1459f]
#10: /usr/lib/libQupZilla.so.1(_ZN15MainApplicationC2ERiPPc+0x1577) [0x7f0438d1a577]
#11: qupzilla() [0x40299b]
#12: /usr/lib/libc.so.6(__libc_start_main+0xf0) [0x7f04352c2040]
#13: qupzilla() [0x402d00]

Last edited by stozi (2014-12-16 20:29:51)

Offline

#312 2014-12-16 18:16:21

andy123
Member
Registered: 2011-11-04
Posts: 169
Website

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Did you export the environment variable mentioned here: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Wayland#Qt_5 ?

While it doesn't get qupzilla working for me, this helps with running otter-browser nativeley instead of through xwayland.
My qupzilla output:

Using Wayland-EGL (QupZilla: Creating new profile directory
QupZilla: 0 extensions loaded
QupZilla: Crashed :( Saving backtrace in /home/andy/.config/qupzilla/crashlog ...
Backtrace successfuly saved in /home/andy/.config/qupzilla/crashlog/Crash-2014-12-16T19:10:23.txt
zsh: abort      QT_QPA_PLATFORM=wayland-egl qupzilla

backtrace

Time: Di. Dez. 16 19:07:48 2014
Qt version: 5.4.0 (compiled with 5.4.0)
QupZilla version: 1.8.5
WebKit version: 538.1

============== BACKTRACE ==============
#0: qupzilla() [0x403393]
#1: /usr/lib/libc.so.6(+0x33b20) [0x7f0c4cdafb20]
#2: /usr/lib/libX11.so.6(_XSend+0x2b) [0x7f0c4c8240bb]
#3: /usr/lib/libX11.so.6(_XFlush+0x15) [0x7f0c4c824575]
#4: /usr/lib/libX11.so.6(_XGetRequest+0x65) [0x7f0c4c827055]
#5: /usr/lib/libX11.so.6(XChangeProperty+0x59) [0x7f0c4c801539]
#6: /usr/lib/libX11.so.6(XSetClassHint+0xa8) [0x7f0c4c81ea48]
#7: /usr/lib/libQupZilla.so.1(_ZN7QzTools10setWmClassERK7QStringPK7QWidget+0x65) [0x7f0c5098f615]
#8: /usr/lib/libQupZilla.so.1(_ZN13BrowserWindowC1EN2Qz17BrowserWindowTypeERK4QUrl+0x336) [0x7f0c507e3266]
#9: /usr/lib/libQupZilla.so.1(_ZN15MainApplication12createWindowEN2Qz17BrowserWindowTypeERK4QUrl+0x4f) [0x7f0c507ee59f]
#10: /usr/lib/libQupZilla.so.1(_ZN15MainApplicationC2ERiPPc+0x1577) [0x7f0c507f4577]
#11: qupzilla() [0x40299b]
#12: /usr/lib/libc.so.6(__libc_start_main+0xf0) [0x7f0c4cd9c040]
#13: qupzilla() [0x402d00]

i'm sorry for my poor english wirting skills…

Offline

#313 2014-12-16 18:31:39

stozi
Member
Registered: 2010-03-02
Posts: 149

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Yes, exported the environment variable.

Offline

#314 2014-12-16 18:32:29

stozi
Member
Registered: 2010-03-02
Posts: 149

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

bizarre double of my second to last post, no idea how that happened...

Last edited by stozi (2014-12-16 20:29:21)

Offline

#315 2015-01-09 09:50:18

norserob
Member
Registered: 2014-12-19
Posts: 1

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

I'd like to autostart an application after weston-launch. Tried starting weston-launch as a systemd user service (hoping to be able to start my application from .bash_profile afterwards), but keep getting "/usr/bin/weston-launch: weston-launch must be run from a virtual terminal".

I added a weston-launch group, so I can start applications from remote shells when weston is running.

I miss a .xinitrc equivalent for wayland/weston, so I can specify applications to launch when weston starts up. Any suggestions on how to do this? I need to start an application after boot on a system without keyboard/mouse attached.

Offline

#316 2015-02-14 15:46:00

ehlnx
Member
Registered: 2015-02-13
Posts: 2

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

I replaced in weston.ini in the xwayland section /usr/bin/Xorg with /usr/bin/Xwayland, X applications now work including Firefox.
the weston.ini  man page says use Xorg. In the Arch wiki in weston.ini in

[screensaver]
# Uncomment path to disable screensaver
path=/usr/libexec/weston-screensaver
duration=600

[input-method]
path=/usr/libexec/weston-keyboard

      replace path=/usr/libexec/ with your path to these binaries
my path to these binaries are

/usr/lib/weston/weston-screensaver
/usr/lib/weston/weston-keyboard

Offline

#317 2015-02-14 16:27:03

ehlnx
Member
Registered: 2015-02-13
Posts: 2

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

In vanilla tty mode, weston would not launch until I removed from weston.ini

module=desktop-shell.so

I removed it, then weston-launch worked perfectly.

in weston.ini I added lollypop, and gnome-commander, in the [launcher] fields.

***    Also,  run all apps in weston terminal not gnome terminal or terminal...else you get "can not connect to x display" then apps abort.

Offline

#318 2015-02-15 11:14:21

proninyaroslav
Member
Registered: 2015-02-15
Posts: 2

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Hello. How to run wayland out of sddm (kde 5)?

Offline

#319 2015-02-23 06:51:03

hongy19
Member
From: China
Registered: 2005-04-08
Posts: 79
Website

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

does anyone try chromium/chrome on weston with xwayland? I found firefox works well, but mouse click doesn't work for chromium/chrome.
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=193737

Offline

#320 2015-02-23 13:43:04

hongy19
Member
From: China
Registered: 2005-04-08
Posts: 79
Website

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

it is bug in weston. Chrom works well in another compositor: loliwm
https://github.com/Cloudef/loliwm

hongy19 wrote:

does anyone try chromium/chrome on weston with xwayland? I found firefox works well, but mouse click doesn't work for chromium/chrome.
https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php?id=193737

Offline

#321 2015-03-18 13:27:09

SuperBo
Member
Registered: 2012-02-20
Posts: 45

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

When I run weston-launch in a tty, I got this error. How can I fix this. I'm using laptop with intel HD4400 graphics.

[20:00:00] Starting with no config file.
[20:00:00] Loading module '/usr/lib/weston/drm-backend.so'
[20:00:00] initializng drm backend
[20:00:01] logind: using VT /dev/tty2
[20:00:01] logind: session control granted
[20:00:01] using /dev/dri/card0
[20:00:01] Loading module /usr/lib/weston/gl-renderer.so'
libEGL debug: Native platform type: drm (autodetected)
libEGL debug: EGL search path is /usr/lib/egl
libEGL debug: added egl_dri2 to module array
libEGL debug: the best driver is DRI2
[20:00:02] failed to choose EGL config
[20:00:02] EGL error state: EGL_SUCCESS (0x3000)
[20:00:02] failed to initialize egl
[20:00:02] fatal: failed to create compositor

Offline

#322 2015-03-19 09:40:31

89c51
Member
Registered: 2012-06-05
Posts: 722

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

I get the same in a i915 system. hmm I suspect mesa is to blame. Try downgrading it.

Offline

#323 2015-03-19 21:46:08

splashy
Member
Registered: 2010-08-21
Posts: 128

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

Thank you @89c51 I had the same problem and downgrading mesa to mesa-10.4.6 solved it.

Offline

#324 2015-03-20 07:51:21

jdbrown
Member
Registered: 2014-01-03
Posts: 71

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

89c51 wrote:

I get the same in a i915 system. hmm I suspect mesa is to blame. Try downgrading it.

Yeah, mesa is the cause. I reverted this commit from mesa 10.5.1 and the problem is gone. What's worse, this has also been backported into 10.4 branch so if there were a 10.4.7 in the future it would also break weston.

Offline

#325 2015-03-20 12:48:46

Benix
Member
Registered: 2010-10-18
Posts: 5

Re: Wayland on Arch Linux?

I'm using gnome 3.15.91 and it seems to work quite well on top of wayland. However, xwayland seems to have a problem with gtk2 applications, such as thunderbird, firefox, guake or libreoffice. The problem is that some fonts are simply corrupted or menu items are not displayed correctly. I'm using nouveau 1.0.11 on mesa 10.5.1 @ linux 3.19.2-1-ARCH.
Is this a known bug and if not, where could I report this bug?

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB