You are not logged in.

#26 2011-02-28 07:01:24

test1000
Member
Registered: 2005-04-03
Posts: 834

Re: New flashplugin 10.2 video overlay issue.

well, i take back what i said. i still have this issue with the "official" package. "Hardware video decoding" not enabled through /etc/adobe/mms.cfg atleast.


KISS = "It can scarcely be denied that the supreme goal of all theory is to make the irreducible basic elements as simple and as few as possible without having to surrender the adequate representation of a single datum of experience." - Albert Einstein

Offline

#27 2011-02-28 07:20:59

brebs
Member
Registered: 2007-04-03
Posts: 3,456

Re: New flashplugin 10.2 video overlay issue.

A dirty hack to get rid of the screen corruption is:

xrandr -s 1280x1024
xrandr -s 1920x1080

To switch away from, and back to, my native resolution.

Offline

#28 2011-03-03 05:03:41

An_tony
Member
Registered: 2010-03-01
Posts: 5

Re: New flashplugin 10.2 video overlay issue.

Another "same problem".  Firefox 4 beta 12 (32-bit) with Flash 10.2 r152, 64-bit Nvidia 260.19.36

An alternate way to clear the overlay is with CTRL-ALT-F2 (to get to a terminal) then ALT-F1 (for Fedora, others use ALT-F7) to return to X.

Offline

#29 2011-03-09 09:55:26

Deadguy1
Member
From: IL, USA
Registered: 2009-09-08
Posts: 9

Re: New flashplugin 10.2 video overlay issue.

the latest nvidia driver upgrade to 260.19.44-1 appears to have fixed the overlay issue for me...

Last edited by Deadguy1 (2011-03-09 09:56:48)


Linux=Freedom

Offline

#30 2011-03-09 11:44:09

firewalker
Member
From: Hellas (Greece).
Registered: 2006-06-05
Posts: 457

Re: New flashplugin 10.2 video overlay issue.


Γίνε ρεαλιστής, μείνε ονειροπόλος ...

Offline

#31 2011-03-10 17:28:02

foggybrain
Member
Registered: 2008-07-29
Posts: 83

Re: New flashplugin 10.2 video overlay issue.

I too had this issue with the GeForce 8400 GS, nvidia 260.19.44 64 bit driver, Firefox 4 RC1 and the 10.2 adobe flash plugin.

Upgrading to flashplugin 10.3 solved the overlay issue. http://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=32072

Now the flash plugin just crashes everytime I change video in utube, leaving me to refresh the new video page each time. No problems with changing videos on bbc iplayer site though.

Also, I would not recommend enabling VAPAU with flash unless you have a video card more powerful than mine, as I experienced a horrible graphics coloured snow crash.

Offline

#32 2011-03-13 11:42:58

Perre
Member
Registered: 2008-01-22
Posts: 189

Re: New flashplugin 10.2 video overlay issue.

Deadguy1 wrote:

the latest nvidia driver upgrade to 260.19.44-1 appears to have fixed the overlay issue for me...

Same thing here.

Offline

#33 2011-03-13 12:51:04

firewalker
Member
From: Hellas (Greece).
Registered: 2006-06-05
Posts: 457

Re: New flashplugin 10.2 video overlay issue.

With Nvidia 270.30 beta the problem remains.


Γίνε ρεαλιστής, μείνε ονειροπόλος ...

Offline

#34 2011-03-31 09:16:17

swanson
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2011-02-05
Posts: 759

Re: New flashplugin 10.2 video overlay issue.

Same problem with flashplugin 10.3 beta from AUR and Nvidia 270.30.

Offline

#35 2011-04-05 11:23:05

kokoko3k
Member
Registered: 2008-11-14
Posts: 1,522

Re: New flashplugin 10.2 video overlay issue.

I've no problem with 260.19.44 on two nvidia gpu systems.

Instead, 270.30 has several issues with youtube in fullscreen when "enable hardware acceleration" is ticked:
-Video on youtube strongly flickers when other elements like user notes, video controls appears
-Flash plugin crashes when exiting fullscreen
-If, in firefox, flashblock is enabled, video on youtube stays black
-When exiting from firefox while the video is playing you still see it being painted over the black areas of the screen, even under the text.
-If i have compositing enabled and in fullscreen i rightclick on the desktop, the system becomes unresponsive, and killing the plugin someway is needed.

Question is: why arch is pushing in a beta driver?

Offline

#36 2011-04-25 21:05:13

XFire
Member
From: UK
Registered: 2008-05-11
Posts: 192

Re: New flashplugin 10.2 video overlay issue.

I have the same problem - nVidia 8400 GS


There is a difference between bleeding [edge] and haemorrhaging. - Allan

Offline

#37 2011-04-29 11:58:37

bug
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2007-06-10
Posts: 48
Website

Re: New flashplugin 10.2 video overlay issue.

Same here.
Downgrading to 10.1.102.65-1 solved it.
flashplugin-10.2.159.1-2 - gives it for me.
nvidia drivers version - 270.41.06-1

Offline

#38 2011-05-18 06:46:02

ar7
Member
Registered: 2011-05-18
Posts: 1

Re: New flashplugin 10.2 video overlay issue.

I had the problem with flashplugin 10.3.181.14-1 (and 10.3.181.14-2) and nvidia 270.41.06-1. Removing flashplugin using "pacman -Rdd" and installing flashplugin-prerelease32 via yaourt from AUR fixed the issue (this version of flash throws up a harmless pop-up warning in Chrome every once in a while but works fine).

Offline

#39 2011-06-29 01:42:39

Tux the penguin
Member
From: Tomorrow
Registered: 2010-05-25
Posts: 196

Re: New flashplugin 10.2 video overlay issue.

I'm going to try lib32-flashplugin-prerelease as flashplugin-prerelease32 wasn't for 64 bit, but I have this also, with flashplugin 10.3.181.26-1. It randomly started happening today. This morning I had watched youtube videos with no problem, and now I have the whole overlay thing and it sometimes crashes chromium. I don't know if it happened after a reboot or upgrade or not...
Edit: I can't use that. I get:
You need to upgrade your Adobe Flash Player to watch this video.
Download it from Adobe.
when I attempt to watch videos on youtube. I am on arch64 if that matters and have nspluginwrapper installed.
Edit: overlay issue is even worse after upgrade to 10.3.181.34-1 and I cant disable hardware acceleration. It is commented out in mms.cfg, but I can't uncheck it under settings after right-click on flash object. It just freezes.

Last edited by Tux the penguin (2011-06-30 01:32:07)


I don't suffer from insanity. I enjoy every minute of it.
MSI CR600 / 3GB Memory / 320GB HDD / Intel Pentium Dual-Core CPU T4200 @ 2.00 GHz | Archlinux x86_64

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB