You are not logged in.

#101 2014-07-20 18:48:06

heftig
Developer
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-04-19
Posts: 152

Re: heftig's nightlies: Firefox, Freetype, and more

Gulver wrote:

Zen headers is returning an error of source not found.

3.15.5 was replaced by 3.15.6. Run pacman -Syu before trying to install again.

Offline

#102 2014-07-22 23:38:39

heftig
Developer
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-04-19
Posts: 152

Re: heftig's nightlies: Firefox, Freetype, and more

Aurora is now built with GTK3. Works well so far; let's see.

Offline

#103 2014-07-23 00:01:35

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,440

Re: heftig's nightlies: Firefox, Freetype, and more

heftig wrote:

Aurora is now built with GTK3. Works well so far; let's see.

Does is mean that flashplugin doesn't work with it?

Offline

#104 2014-07-23 00:02:11

heftig
Developer
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-04-19
Posts: 152

Re: heftig's nightlies: Firefox, Freetype, and more

karol wrote:

Does is mean that flashplugin doesn't work with it?

No. The plugin processes load GTK2.

Offline

#105 2014-07-23 00:20:13

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,440

Re: heftig's nightlies: Firefox, Freetype, and more

The context menu (RMB) doesn't work - I get a black rectangle and I can see the letters and icons only after I mouse over them.

Offline

#106 2014-07-23 00:21:51

heftig
Developer
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-04-19
Posts: 152

Re: heftig's nightlies: Firefox, Freetype, and more

Did you set any of the azure backends to skia? If so, return them to the default setting.

See if the default theme (Adwaita) works.

Offline

#107 2014-07-23 00:53:56

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,440

Re: heftig's nightlies: Firefox, Freetype, and more

heftig wrote:

Did you set any of the azure backends to skia?

I don't even understand the question :-)
I didn't change anything yet, I've just installed it.

I'm using the default theme.

Offline

#108 2014-07-23 18:29:51

Asseon
Member
Registered: 2014-07-23
Posts: 8

Re: heftig's nightlies: Firefox, Freetype, and more

Had the same problem, with the default theme Raleight.

Adwaita is not even installed by default, its a GNOME theme and can be found in gnome-themes-standard, but its working thanks for the hint.

all other themes I tried today are working too, no idea why Raleight dont't.

Offline

#109 2014-07-23 18:35:30

heftig
Developer
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-04-19
Posts: 152

Re: heftig's nightlies: Firefox, Freetype, and more

For all intents and purposes, Adwaita is GTK3's intended default theme. Raleigh is just a stopgap fallback until the internal CSS engine gets good enough to support Adwaita. For 3.13 this has already happened, so 3.14 will not have Raleigh and instead ship Adwaita.

Offline

#110 2014-07-23 19:02:56

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,440

Re: heftig's nightlies: Firefox, Freetype, and more

Installing gnome-themes-standard fixed it, thanks, Asseon :-)

Offline

#111 2014-07-23 20:39:08

AnAkkk
Member
Registered: 2014-03-03
Posts: 148

Re: heftig's nightlies: Firefox, Freetype, and more

Scrolling the page with the mouse wheel doesn't seem to work with the GTK3 build hmm

EDIT: Actually it works but from time to time it stops working.

Last edited by AnAkkk (2014-07-23 20:39:42)

Offline

#112 2014-07-31 13:42:26

AnAkkk
Member
Registered: 2014-03-03
Posts: 148

Re: heftig's nightlies: Firefox, Freetype, and more

Any chance you could add this patch to the aurora build?
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1034957

Every time I watch a video it hangs, it's really annoying.

Offline

#113 2014-09-04 21:40:28

AnAkkk
Member
Registered: 2014-03-03
Posts: 148

Re: heftig's nightlies: Firefox, Freetype, and more

Flash no longer works since aurora was updated to v34.
https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1051209

Offline

#114 2014-09-05 10:29:22

AnAkkk
Member
Registered: 2014-03-03
Posts: 148

Re: heftig's nightlies: Firefox, Freetype, and more

Looks like there's now a fix here:
https://bug1051209.bugzilla.mozilla.org … id=8484848

EDIT: Looks like you already included it, thanks smile

Last edited by AnAkkk (2014-09-05 10:30:27)

Offline

#115 2014-09-07 18:54:11

clickit
Member
From: Athens, Hellas
Registered: 2007-07-18
Posts: 91

Re: heftig's nightlies: Firefox, Freetype, and more

karol wrote:

The context menu (RMB) doesn't work - I get a black rectangle and I can see the letters and icons only after I mouse over them.

hi to all,
unfortunatelly given solutions didn't work for me
the problem with black menues continues even
If it helps somehow, I'm using xfce and style is clearlooks
version of aurora is the very latest one: 34.0a2+20140907+g8a9db5d-1

thanks a lot
jim

Offline

#116 2014-10-11 12:50:44

AnAkkk
Member
Registered: 2014-03-03
Posts: 148

Re: heftig's nightlies: Firefox, Freetype, and more

I have quite a lot of crashes with this version of aurora, and the backtrace seem to be different every time, I'm not sure the backtrace is correct. I have tried firefox-aurora from AUR and it seems to work much better. Could you enable the crash reporter?

Offline

#117 2014-10-30 16:07:26

titaniumbones
Member
Registered: 2013-12-20
Posts: 52

Re: heftig's nightlies: Firefox, Freetype, and more

Hi Heftig,

I'm having a significant problem with the aurora package:  checkboxes and radio buttons are invisible in web pages and also in the UI, e.g. in the preferences pop-up window.  Interestingly, the checkboxes in about:Preferences do show up.  I think the issue is likely with gtk, but oddly, the problem does not show up in the vanilla aurora downloaded directly form mozilla.  I've tested with e10s enabled/disabled, in a clean profile, and in safe-mode, and the heftig version shows the same problem in all cases.  Also, the error messages are diffferent at the command line.  Heftig erros include these lines:

(aurora:23033): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: The property GtkSettings:gtk-menu-images is deprecated and shouldn't be used anymore. It will be removed in a future version.

(aurora:23033): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: The property GtkSettings:gtk-button-images is deprecated and shouldn't be used anymore. It will be removed in a future version.


But I don't see that in mozilla's version.  I reported a but at bugzilla: 

https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1091136

But now I think it only applies to your packages, not to firefox itself.  I am looking at your package &, if in fact it's a gtk issue, I'm not sure what your packaging does that might expose a gtk misconfiguration or similar -- can you? 

Anything I can do to help diagnose this?  Thanks, m

Offline

#118 2014-10-30 16:22:16

Asseon
Member
Registered: 2014-07-23
Posts: 8

Re: heftig's nightlies: Firefox, Freetype, and more

The problem does not occur with the Mozillas version because it is build with gtk2, heftigs aurora uses gtk3.

It seems to depend on the gtk3 theme.
adwaita works fine, all others I tried are unfortunately showing the same problems you described.

Offline

#119 2014-11-10 22:53:09

heftig
Developer
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-04-19
Posts: 152

Re: heftig's nightlies: Firefox, Freetype, and more

Aurora got rebranded into the developer edition. This comes with its own profile separation, so the aurora renaming got reverted as well. Launch the developer edition once to create the profile it uses in ~/.mozilla/firefox/.

I also switched back to GTK2, as the GTK3 integration got annoyingly buggy since the 3.14 release.

Offline

#120 2014-11-11 13:05:04

AnAkkk
Member
Registered: 2014-03-03
Posts: 148

Re: heftig's nightlies: Firefox, Freetype, and more

Any chance to turn firefox-developer-edition into an official arch package?

Offline

#121 2014-11-11 13:31:00

Pank
Member
From: IT
Registered: 2009-06-13
Posts: 371

Re: heftig's nightlies: Firefox, Freetype, and more

heftig wrote:

[...] I also switched back to GTK2, as the GTK3 integration got annoyingly buggy since the 3.14 release.

Shame.  I hope it will get less buggy soon, since it was quite nice that it respected the dark theme.

Out of curiosity, was it annoying in terms of building or did you experience regressions in terms of usage (of which I experienced none),


Arch x64 on Thinkpad X200s/W530

Offline

#122 2014-11-12 23:07:45

heftig
Developer
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-04-19
Posts: 152

Re: heftig's nightlies: Firefox, Freetype, and more

AnAkkk wrote:

Any chance to turn firefox-developer-edition into an official arch package?

No, since it's an automated nightly build.

Pank wrote:
heftig wrote:

[...] I also switched back to GTK2, as the GTK3 integration got annoyingly buggy since the 3.14 release.

Shame.  I hope it will get less buggy soon, since it was quite nice that it respected the dark theme.

Out of curiosity, was it annoying in terms of building or did you experience regressions in terms of usage (of which I experienced none),

See https://bugzilla.mozilla.org/show_bug.cgi?id=1073117 .

Offline

#123 2014-12-12 15:20:07

berot3
Member
From: Vienna
Registered: 2009-12-12
Posts: 21

Re: heftig's nightlies: Firefox, Freetype, and more

Hi, I'm new to the linux-zen-kernel. Is it possible to use virtual-box to run my windows-vms with this kernel?

OK, I guess I would have to compile the modules myself, found a comment here.

Last edited by berot3 (2014-12-18 09:20:46)

Offline

#124 2015-01-29 22:22:44

heftig
Developer
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-04-19
Posts: 152

Re: heftig's nightlies: Firefox, Freetype, and more

Now that some GTK3 fixes from Fedora are in the current Dev Edition, I've enabled it again. I'm not porting any of Fedora's further patches, so rendering of native tab strips is still broken, but those are pretty rare and it's not a crippling problem.

Offline

#125 2015-01-29 22:27:26

AnAkkk
Member
Registered: 2014-03-03
Posts: 148

Re: heftig's nightlies: Firefox, Freetype, and more

heftig wrote:

Now that some GTK3 fixes from Fedora are in the current Dev Edition, I've enabled it again. I'm not porting any of Fedora's further patches, so rendering of native tab strips is still broken, but those are pretty rare and it's not a crippling problem.

Did you enable it in 37.0a2+20150129+g1096e59-1?

I keep getting random crashes since today's version, I had to revert to 37.0a2+20150128+g7eb0d49-1.

EDIT:

Apparently you did. Please disable it. It's exactly the same crashes I was getting before you disabled it.

Last edited by AnAkkk (2015-01-29 22:28:31)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB