You are not logged in.

#26 2012-01-05 03:06:36

pbhenson
Member
Registered: 2012-01-04
Posts: 6

Re: Sandy Bridge desktop (P67) fails to resume after suspend (s3)

I just used their email support form:

http://vip.asus.com/eservice/techserv.aspx

Windows probably has a workaround for whatever brokenness is in the bios. I asked the linux acpi kernel devs about this issue, they asked for an acpidump of the bios but I haven't heard back from them yet. Their initial impression was that if the bios is broken and doesn't tell them how to correctly do suspend there's not much to be done about it other than fixing the bios.

It's ridiculous that your support tech told you to blow off. Of course, mine is insisting that I RMA the motherboard 8-/.

I also have an Asus P8P67 PRO (full size ATX) motherboard. It suspends perfectly, so it's not a general issue across their entire LGA1155 line.

My asus ticket # is RTM2011123001058-398. Everybody with this issue should open tickets and reference each other smile.

Offline

#27 2012-01-05 19:09:52

ams
Member
Registered: 2011-12-06
Posts: 12

Re: Sandy Bridge desktop (P67) fails to resume after suspend (s3)

I've filled a ticket in their support forum.

Hope they look into it.

Offline

#28 2012-01-06 00:16:22

pbhenson
Member
Registered: 2012-01-04
Posts: 6

Re: Sandy Bridge desktop (P67) fails to resume after suspend (s3)

I called their USA support # today and talked the level 1 support person into transferring me to a supervisor. After about an hour on death hold <sigh>, I spoke with a very helpful gentleman who said if there was an issue Asus would definitely fix it. He said I should set "ACPI 2.0" to enabled and "APEC" to disabled in the bios. I don't recall seeing those options, and as the system is at home I couldn't look at it, so I told him I'd look for those in the bios when I get home tonight. I just downloaded the P8P67-M Pro motherboard manual though, and those two options aren't in it. Given I don't remember seeing them and they're not in the manual I don't think I'll find them when I look tonight, but I'll double check anyway.

I did provide him with links to a few forum postings (including this one) with a number of people all with the exact same failure, and provided the ACPI errors Linux generates. He said once I check for those bios options and it still doesn't work he'll bundle the info together and get it to an engineer to review, so fingers crossed there's a light at the end of the tunnel everybody smile...

Offline

#29 2012-01-06 11:38:46

ams
Member
Registered: 2011-12-06
Posts: 12

Re: Sandy Bridge desktop (P67) fails to resume after suspend (s3)

Great news pbhenson.

I've checked my bios and didn't find any options named ACPI 2.0 or APEC.

If you get in touch with him again, please tell him that the same problem occurs in P8Z68V-LX, and i couldn't find those options. My ticket number with asus is WTM20120106252331604

Last edited by ams (2012-01-06 17:50:39)

Offline

#30 2012-01-07 00:34:37

pbhenson
Member
Registered: 2012-01-04
Posts: 6

Re: Sandy Bridge desktop (P67) fails to resume after suspend (s3)

The option was actually "APIC", not "APEC", I misunderstood over the phone. But neither that nor the other option was in my BIOS. I let him know those options were definitely not there and am waiting to hear back. The engineer is in Taiwan, so it might take a bit.

Offline

#31 2012-01-13 23:35:23

pbhenson
Member
Registered: 2012-01-04
Posts: 6

Re: Sandy Bridge desktop (P67) fails to resume after suspend (s3)

Hmm, another user I was conversing with who was having the same problem sent me this link:

http://thread.gmane.org/gmane.linux.acp … ocus=51407

I haven't confirmed it yet myself, but he says after applying this patch his board suspends/resumes perfectly. So perhaps it's been a linux bug all along, not a broken BIOS, and we owe Asus an apology smile. On the other hand, the second tier support guy I spoke with last week hasn't returned any of my email, so Asus Linux support still seems to suck sad.

Offline

#32 2012-01-13 23:48:10

pbhenson
Member
Registered: 2012-01-04
Posts: 6

Re: Sandy Bridge desktop (P67) fails to resume after suspend (s3)

Correction, he didn't just apply that one patch, he applied the entire patch set of 18 patches.

Offline

#33 2012-01-14 07:51:13

sa1
Member
Registered: 2011-08-21
Posts: 20

Re: Sandy Bridge desktop (P67) fails to resume after suspend (s3)

I hope the patches fix the problem. I have a P8Z68-V LE motherboard and face the same problem. I complained too to Asus today but am yet to receive a reply.

EDIT: I got a chance to compile the kernel today. I confirm that the patches work.

Last edited by sa1 (2012-01-17 23:15:21)

Offline

#34 2012-01-14 12:28:53

ams
Member
Registered: 2011-12-06
Posts: 12

Re: Sandy Bridge desktop (P67) fails to resume after suspend (s3)

It worked!!

I downloaded kernel 3.2.1, applied the patch in

http://thread.gmane.org/gmane.linux.acp … ocus=51407

(only that one, not the others) and can now suspend / resume perfectly. No ACPI errors in the log also.

Thanks pbhenson.

Does anyone know how we can monitor this patch to see when it is included in the mainline kernel?

I tried to look at http://www.lesswatts.org/projects/acpi/ to see if i could understand the ACPI developers workflow, but the information seems out of date.

Last edited by ams (2012-01-14 23:04:36)

Offline

#35 2012-01-15 03:19:30

eL_vErDe
Member
Registered: 2012-01-15
Posts: 2

Re: Sandy Bridge desktop (P67) fails to resume after suspend (s3)

Wow guys...

Thanks a lot. I was having the same issue on an Asus P8Z68-V-LE, with the same ACPI errors in dmesg.
After building 3.2.1 + the patch from the post above, suspend now works as expected smile

Offline

#36 2012-01-16 18:58:24

ttll
Member
Registered: 2011-03-27
Posts: 8

Re: Sandy Bridge desktop (P67) fails to resume after suspend (s3)

The patch also seems to work for me (Asus P8H67)

Suspeded and resumed twice, no problems.

No special bios settings, no blacklisted modules.

Nice work!

Offline

#37 2012-01-17 10:57:59

eL_vErDe
Member
Registered: 2012-01-15
Posts: 2

Re: Sandy Bridge desktop (P67) fails to resume after suspend (s3)

Hi,

I created a blog post for Debian/Ubuntu users:
http://blog.le-vert.net/?p=24

Offline

#38 2012-01-18 19:18:10

beta990
Member
Registered: 2011-07-10
Posts: 205

Re: Sandy Bridge desktop (P67) fails to resume after suspend (s3)

Can someone please how me how you patched the kernel with this? smile

Offline

#39 2012-01-18 21:19:38

ams
Member
Registered: 2011-12-06
Posts: 12

Re: Sandy Bridge desktop (P67) fails to resume after suspend (s3)

beta990:

In eL_verde's blog post he explains how to do it for debian, but the process is similar for arch.

Try reading this guide for building the kernel:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Ke … raditional
(there's another version, that uses ABS, which should be simpler, but i've used this one).

Basically,
1) make sure you have all the tools to build the kernel,
2) download the kernel from http://kernel.org,
3) apply the patch (el_verde's blog has the patch and shows you how to apply it,  i simply edited the files directly but this is not how it should be done);
4) the only tricky part is getting the configuration right. I recommend using "make localmodconfig" as it copies the config already in use and only prompts for new options (leave default)
5) build the kernel, copy image to boot, edit grub menu and reboot.

Try to follow the guide, it's not hard.

Offline

#40 2012-01-19 12:32:07

beta990
Member
Registered: 2011-07-10
Posts: 205

Re: Sandy Bridge desktop (P67) fails to resume after suspend (s3)

@ams: Thanks for the information, .. you have right, Arch has the best wiki I have ever seen. smile

Can someone indicate when it's going to be in the official kernel? smile

Last edited by beta990 (2012-01-19 18:19:37)

Offline

#41 2012-01-24 11:30:39

sa1
Member
Registered: 2011-08-21
Posts: 20

Re: Sandy Bridge desktop (P67) fails to resume after suspend (s3)

beta990 wrote:

@ams: Thanks for the information, .. you have right, Arch has the best wiki I have ever seen. smile

Can someone indicate when it's going to be in the official kernel? smile

Its coming in 3.3. 
http://www.phoronix.com/scan.php?page=n … px=MTA0NDE
I am not sure but 3.3 rc-1 should have it. You can try it instead of patching the current kernel.

Offline

#42 2012-01-26 19:09:45

EIA
Member
From: Florida
Registered: 2012-01-26
Posts: 1
Website

Re: Sandy Bridge desktop (P67) fails to resume after suspend (s3)

Edit: After a fews days, I've proved myself entirely wrong. Please discard below.

I'm new to Arch, and this is my first post. I have had troubles resuming from Suspend on an Asus A8J laptop. I read a reply in a post somewhere (I'll add the link if/when I find it again), that wireless may be part of the problem. I have been resuming from Suspend successfully since disabling wireless before doing so. If I do not disable wireless, Xfce freezes, or I have a blank screen.

I hope this helps, and if not appropriate for this thread, please delete it. 
Note: Using WICD for wireless management.

Last edited by EIA (2012-01-28 15:24:39)

Offline

#43 2012-01-28 17:35:42

farnsworth
Member
Registered: 2012-01-28
Posts: 17

Re: Sandy Bridge desktop (P67) fails to resume after suspend (s3)

Hi,
The linux-mainline kernel from AUR seems to have this patch included.
I'm now able for the first time to suspend to ram my P8H67-M Pro!!
Thanks!

Offline

#44 2012-02-22 07:08:13

Januz
Member
Registered: 2012-02-22
Posts: 2

Re: Sandy Bridge desktop (P67) fails to resume after suspend (s3)

Hi,

I´m using a Asus P8Z68-V LX and Ubuntu 11.10. Before applying the patch, I could only us S4, but not S3.

After patching, I can now successfully suspend to ram, but shut down doesn´t work properly anymore and initiates a restart instead.

Is anyone else experiencing this problem?!

Thanks,

Januz

Offline

#45 2012-02-22 12:11:37

ams
Member
Registered: 2011-12-06
Posts: 12

Re: Sandy Bridge desktop (P67) fails to resume after suspend (s3)

Januz,

I also have a P8Z68V-LX and after the patch i'm able to suspend, resume, restart and shutdown properly.

I'm using Arch though. Probably Ubuntu has something different.

Offline

#46 2012-02-22 16:29:44

Januz
Member
Registered: 2012-02-22
Posts: 2

Re: Sandy Bridge desktop (P67) fails to resume after suspend (s3)

Hi ams,

thanks for your answer! I´ll have to search for the problem then.

What APM settings do you use in the BIOS?

Offline

#47 2012-02-27 19:58:26

ams
Member
Registered: 2011-12-06
Posts: 12

Re: Sandy Bridge desktop (P67) fails to resume after suspend (s3)

Januz wrote:

Hi ams,

thanks for your answer! I´ll have to search for the problem then.

What APM settings do you use in the BIOS?

I have all the options disabled.

Offline

#48 2012-07-22 01:07:39

phildg
Member
Registered: 2006-03-10
Posts: 146

Re: Sandy Bridge desktop (P67) fails to resume after suspend (s3)

The thread initially discussed ASUS's P8P67LE. The problem has been resolved with the most recent BIOS update, version 3602.

Using Debian's standard 2.6.32-5 kernel.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB