You are not logged in.

#26 2011-05-18 17:36:58

king.flasher.dave
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2008-11-25
Posts: 137
Website

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

Having the same issues with my card. Well... sometimes. Which makes it more painful.

Running arch on a Dell Studio XPS1340 with nvidia's "pain in the ass" graphics and proprietary drivers:

02:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation G98 [GeForce 9200M GS] (rev a1)
03:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation C79 [GeForce 9400M G] (rev b1)

Speak when you are angry and you will make the best speech you'll ever regret.

Offline

#27 2011-05-18 19:51:54

xjcook
Member
Registered: 2010-09-07
Posts: 1

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

Same issue.....my GF:

01:00.0 VGA compatible controller [0300]: nVidia Corporation GT216 [GeForce GT 330M] [10de:0a29] (rev a2)

I had to switch to XFCE

Offline

#28 2011-05-19 10:07:42

moystard
Member
Registered: 2011-05-18
Posts: 2

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

Disabling the lock after suspend did not fix my issue unfortunately. Guess I have to wait for an update from nVidia or Gnome as I don't want to switch to another Desktop Environment.

Offline

#29 2011-05-20 13:22:02

Koven
Member
Registered: 2006-06-13
Posts: 151

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

Same here for me I disabled lock after suspend, it requested me password and screen was totally frozen. I had to reboot. Will we see any future resolution for this issue?

BR

Offline

#30 2011-05-21 13:17:55

markz79
Member
Registered: 2009-05-17
Posts: 65

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

Looks like new nVidia driver (nvidia 270.41.19-1) doesn't solve the problem.

Offline

#31 2011-05-21 14:59:45

xbow
Member
Registered: 2011-05-21
Posts: 1

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

I'm having the same issues on my XPS m1330 with a 8400m gs (ubuntu x64 with gnome 3 ppa). I am using an external screen (DFP-1), but not in dual head mode in my "Screen" Section:
"metamodes" "DFP-1: 1920x1200_60 +0+0, DFP-0: null; DFP-0: 1280x800_60 +0+0, DFP-1: null;"

I don't know if this always works, but so far no crashes after resume:
Option         "DynamicTwinView" "0"
If all your displays are connected on startup, all of your metamodes should still work correctly (via xrandr), but you are unable to use/create new ones, i.e. via nvidia-settings.

Last edited by xbow (2011-05-21 15:00:23)

Offline

#32 2011-05-24 08:09:11

hooch
Member
Registered: 2010-12-15
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

I don't have any problem any longer - but I don't know why. Maybe it was some update. I also changed the theme of gtk3 and gnome-shell.

Offline

#33 2011-05-24 21:45:44

crabmarkjellozest
Member
Registered: 2010-07-09
Posts: 20

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

hooch wrote:

I don't have any problem any longer - but I don't know why. Maybe it was some update. I also changed the theme of gtk3 and gnome-shell.

Can anybody else confirm this before I spend time trying Gnome 3 again?

Offline

#34 2011-05-25 12:46:20

dejavu
Member
Registered: 2008-05-26
Posts: 103

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

crabmarkjellozest wrote:
hooch wrote:

I don't have any problem any longer - but I don't know why. Maybe it was some update. I also changed the theme of gtk3 and gnome-shell.

Can anybody else confirm this before I spend time trying Gnome 3 again?

I can't..., but probably its really theme related?!

Edit:
nvidia-beta seems to be much better!

Last edited by dejavu (2011-05-25 14:24:47)

Offline

#35 2011-05-25 14:50:45

hooch
Member
Registered: 2010-12-15
Posts: 21

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

I'm using those themes:

http://half-left.deviantart.com/art/GNO … shell&qo=0
http://browse.deviantart.com/?qh=&secti … 3#/d3gbffz

but i have no idea if it's really theme related, would be strange i think..

Offline

#36 2011-05-26 00:53:28

crabmarkjellozest
Member
Registered: 2010-07-09
Posts: 20

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

Nvidia-beta seems to resolve this for me, too! Unfortunately it's at the cost of some graphical weirdness elsewhere, but color me satisfied. Thanks.

dejavu wrote:
crabmarkjellozest wrote:
hooch wrote:

I don't have any problem any longer - but I don't know why. Maybe it was some update. I also changed the theme of gtk3 and gnome-shell.

Can anybody else confirm this before I spend time trying Gnome 3 again?

I can't..., but probably its really theme related?!

Edit:
nvidia-beta seems to be much better!

Offline

#37 2011-05-26 03:07:15

markz79
Member
Registered: 2009-05-17
Posts: 65

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

Last week I upgraded to testing/kernel 2.6.39-1 and testing/nvidia 270.41.19-2 hoping to solve the problem -- it didn't. I haven't experienced the issue for a couple days but it's intermittent enough that I wouldn't say it's resolved. Let's hope a recent update did indeed resolve this.

Edit: Still a problem...

Last edited by markz79 (2011-05-28 01:23:54)

Offline

#38 2011-05-28 12:44:19

matseway
Member
Registered: 2011-05-28
Posts: 2

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

I have the same problem. But only if I have Firefox running when I go to suspend mode. Does the problem have to do something with Firefox? strange anyway....

Offline

#39 2011-05-28 16:45:18

markz79
Member
Registered: 2009-05-17
Posts: 65

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

@matseway: Interesting re Firefox. I'm pretty sure every time I've had the problem Firefox was running.

I am now trying nvidia-beta. If the problem recurs I'll test with Firefox not running when going into suspend.

Offline

#40 2011-05-29 02:19:33

limaunion
Member
From: Argentina
Registered: 2011-03-11
Posts: 40

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

Same problem here, when resuming from s2ram the wallpaper/background is completely corrupted, I've to logout/login (will try later ALT+F2 + r) ; I'm not using the suspend-lock setting.

Some information:
- nvidia 270.41.19-1
- GNOME 3.0.0.2
- GPU: 00:12.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation C67 [GeForce 7150M / nForce 630M] (rev a2)

Offline

#41 2011-05-30 15:16:36

markz79
Member
Registered: 2009-05-17
Posts: 65

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

With nvidia-beta 275.09-1 I've never had a lock-up. There's little screen damage upon resume and I'm able to do "ALT-F2 r" to correct the issue.

Offline

#42 2011-05-30 21:19:47

fsss
Member
Registered: 2010-04-09
Posts: 11

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

I can confirm that nvidia-beta 275.09 almost solved this issue (I also set false in "lock-suspend" and "lock-use-screensaver"). Almost because after resume, wallpaper is corrupted but Alt+F2 "r" works.

Last edited by fsss (2011-05-30 21:20:43)

Offline

#43 2011-05-31 20:58:28

cell
Member
Registered: 2007-10-23
Posts: 96

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

It's pretty much the same for me with 275.09 so if you are not suffering from lock-ups now I don't think there's much point in doing the beta. Just FYI.

01:00.0 VGA compatible controller: nVidia Corporation GT200 [GeForce GTX 260] (rev a1)

Offline

#44 2011-06-01 17:25:09

bluefalcon
Member
Registered: 2011-05-10
Posts: 12

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

The 275.09 beta seems to be working better for me as well.  When returning from suspend there are a bunch of screen artifacts but I am able to Alt+F2 "r" and correct these issues.  There still needs to be a real fix, but it is at least usable.

Offline

#45 2011-06-02 14:13:22

dejavu
Member
Registered: 2008-05-26
Posts: 103

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

Now I'am also using the vanilla (normal) nvidia driver from the repo.
I just logout before i want to suspend...

Offline

#46 2011-06-04 00:46:31

limaunion
Member
From: Argentina
Registered: 2011-03-11
Posts: 40

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

fsss wrote:

I can confirm that nvidia-beta 275.09 almost solved this issue (I also set false in "lock-suspend" and "lock-use-screensaver"). Almost because after resume, wallpaper is corrupted but Alt+F2 "r" works.

I confirm that this work-around is also working here.

Offline

#47 2011-06-11 14:39:43

dcransto
Member
Registered: 2011-06-11
Posts: 1

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

I have an Nvidia 8800 GS running the 270.41.06 drivers.  I set lock-suspend and lock-use-screensaver to false, and I have been using the Alt+F2 'r' work-around because of video corruption on resume.  I suspend my PC using the User->Suspend menu item.

For what it may be worth...
There was a recent patch applied to gnome-shell in the git repository. 
http://git.gnome.org/browse/gnome-shell … b0e624e85d

Since I applied this patch to my /usr/share/gnome-shell/js/ui/statusMenu.js file, I have suspended my pc at least two dozen times and only once have I needed to use the Alt+F2 'r' work-around.  Previously, I had to use Alt+F2 'r' after every resume.   The one time I had video corruption and needed to use Alt+F2 'r' was on the first suspend after a PC reboot.

Offline

#48 2011-06-14 16:03:17

markz79
Member
Registered: 2009-05-17
Posts: 65

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

With kernel 2.6.39.1 and nvidia 270.41.19-3 I haven't had the problem yet, but it's still early to say it's fixed.

Offline

#49 2011-06-14 20:31:03

king.flasher.dave
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2008-11-25
Posts: 137
Website

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

New nvidia driver might solve the problem: https://bbs.archlinux.org/viewtopic.php … 12#p948012
Hope it'll fix the lockup on external monitor setup for me as well! :>


Speak when you are angry and you will make the best speech you'll ever regret.

Offline

#50 2011-06-14 22:32:37

bluefalcon
Member
Registered: 2011-05-10
Posts: 12

Re: [SOLVED]gnome-power-manager 3.0.0-1 resume from suspend

Latest nvidia driver (275.09.07-1) fixes this problem:
http://www.nvnews.net/vbulletin/showthr … ost2445094

I haven't seen screen corruption yet. 

Here is the link for the driver in AUR:
driver: https://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=15152
Utils: https://aur.archlinux.org/packages.php?ID=19224

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB