You are not logged in.

#101 2011-06-28 22:36:44

splashy
Member
Registered: 2010-08-21
Posts: 128

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.7

This is the WTF post. bash you said that nepomuk isn't releated to activities, I'm not really sure of it because when nepomuk is disabled their is no more option of moving a windows throught activities.
Even if the link isn't evident it seems to be normal or can somebody explain me what if the f***** link between phonon and activities!!!!!
I solved my problem by using the phonon package in the kde-unstable repo instead of kdesupport-phonon founded in the snapshot one.

So know activities wrok great.

Offline

#102 2011-06-29 07:29:07

Zom
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2007-10-27
Posts: 406

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.7

So, you used phonon which was packaged for a different repo, which was possibly compiled with different options or versions of the software, and then you were surprised that there were bugs? C'mon.

Though, since arch just deals with packaging, this kind of question might belong in the KDE mailinglist, or their forums. I don't know really. I do think you'll get better answers to those questions over there though.

Offline

#103 2011-06-29 12:51:48

splashy
Member
Registered: 2010-08-21
Posts: 128

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.7

Ho I don't have question I just say that their is no problem with the repo, and I didn't see this package, just by checking pacman I founded it.
Now I have all kde-unstable package but I encounter a bug, I can't pin my applications in my toolbar, I have the option but when the application is closed I can't see its icon.
Do someone know how to fix it? thanks.

Last edited by splashy (2011-06-29 13:04:39)

Offline

#104 2011-06-29 12:56:07

ilpianista
Fellow developer
From: Lecce, Italy
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 567
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.7

Our kdelibs depends on phonon, not kdesupport-phonon. If you have extra repositories which provide some kde component you should disable them, uninstall everything and install kde from [kde-unstable]. Otherwise keep using the kde-snapshot; you cannot mix installations.

Offline

#105 2011-06-29 13:06:19

splashy
Member
Registered: 2010-08-21
Posts: 128

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.7

Yah yah sorry I mixed them because phonon didn't work but now with the update of the repo it's ok.
Is somebody encounter the same bug with pin apps?

Offline

#106 2011-06-29 13:19:27

b0uncyfr0
Member
Registered: 2008-05-11
Posts: 140

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.7

Guys im still running phonon from extra and phonon-xine from aur? I cant remove them without getting rid of a heap of packages. I forgot to replace with ones from unstable repo. What can i do?

Offline

#107 2011-06-29 13:22:14

ilpianista
Fellow developer
From: Lecce, Italy
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 567
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.7

@b0uncyfr0
put [kde-unstable] in top of your repos, then

# pacman -Sy phonon-gstreamer gstreamer0.10-plugins (or pacman -S vlc)
# pacman -R phonon-xine
# pacman -Su

Offline

#108 2011-06-29 13:40:53

b0uncyfr0
Member
Registered: 2008-05-11
Posts: 140

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.7

Awesome thank you so much bash. Well phonon-xine crashes the phonon setting in System settings if thats useful.


Haha mp3 fast forwading does work, i think i  need sleep. Thanks again bash..

Last edited by b0uncyfr0 (2011-06-29 13:53:23)

Offline

#109 2011-06-29 14:47:48

jxy
Member
Registered: 2008-12-03
Posts: 133

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.7

I put my 20 votes there.  Is it only related to arch?  I actually use strigi and nepomuk, so I hope it gets fixed soon.

Offline

#110 2011-06-29 15:37:48

sumski
Member
From: Zagreb, Croatia
Registered: 2011-04-30
Posts: 114

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.7

I doubt it's only Arch related. That's why i always create a testing user for beta's, RC's ,etc. My main user's database is 1GB , so it would be a shame to lost it all...

Offline

#111 2011-06-29 17:44:01

pano
Member
From: Stuttgart, Germany
Registered: 2008-09-08
Posts: 118

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.7

noticed another weird problem:

Sometimes plasma-desktop’s CPU rises up to 50% and stays constantly at 50% even though I am not doing anything special with plasma-desktop: I have no special plasma widgets, just two panels, a systemtray and a few program launchers on the panel.
The only way to get rid of the high CPU usage is to kill the process…

Is anyone else experiencing this?

Offline

#112 2011-06-29 18:16:12

venky80
Member
Registered: 2007-05-13
Posts: 996

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.7

pano wrote:

noticed another weird problem:

Sometimes plasma-desktop’s CPU rises up to 50% and stays constantly at 50% even though I am not doing anything special with plasma-desktop: I have no special plasma widgets, just two panels, a systemtray and a few program launchers on the panel.
The only way to get rid of the high CPU usage is to kill the process…

Is anyone else experiencing this?

This happens to me too...and I am on Chakra 4.7 rc1


DELL XPS 1640 with ATI Mobility Radeon  HD 3670. Arch Linux KDE Minimal Install

Offline

#113 2011-06-29 18:48:33

Zom
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2007-10-27
Posts: 406

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.7

splashy wrote:

Yah yah sorry I mixed them because phonon didn't work but now with the update of the repo it's ok.
Is somebody encounter the same bug with pin apps?

Yeah, I've encountered the same bug, but with kdeplasma-addons-applets-smooth-tasks-kde-sc-46-hg from AUR (Basically, it's smooth-tasks patched to work with pinning apps).

I can pin applications, but when I close applications they still disappear. They're still pinned though, and they appear in the panel after I login again, and after I launch them and close the application, they disappear again.

I thought it was just the plasmoid that was buggy with 4.7, but I suppose the problem lies deeper than that.

Offline

#114 2011-06-30 14:05:53

pano
Member
From: Stuttgart, Germany
Registered: 2008-09-08
Posts: 118

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.7

venky80 wrote:
pano wrote:

noticed another weird problem:

Sometimes plasma-desktop’s CPU rises up to 50% and stays constantly at 50% even though I am not doing anything special with plasma-desktop: I have no special plasma widgets, just two panels, a systemtray and a few program launchers on the panel.
The only way to get rid of the high CPU usage is to kill the process…

Is anyone else experiencing this?

This happens to me too...and I am on Chakra 4.7 rc1

I remember having had this problem earlier too… I somehow managed to solve it last time though, cannot remember how I did it…

I’m going to try some things and report back

Offline

#115 2011-06-30 16:02:05

mangus
Member
From: Bologna, Italy
Registered: 2007-04-07
Posts: 288

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.7

I can't move or resize folderview plasmoid and others in the desktop ,  also with a fresh user. I come from a new installation , anyone else?

Offline

#116 2011-06-30 16:38:48

sumski
Member
From: Zagreb, Croatia
Registered: 2011-04-30
Posts: 114

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.7

mangus wrote:

I can't move or resize folderview plasmoid and others in the desktop ,  also with a fresh user. I come from a new installation , anyone else?

+1

Offline

#117 2011-06-30 17:02:19

ilpianista
Fellow developer
From: Lecce, Italy
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 567
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.7

me neither, I reported this upstream here

Offline

#118 2011-06-30 18:16:51

mangus
Member
From: Bologna, Italy
Registered: 2007-04-07
Posts: 288

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.7

bash wrote:

me neither, I reported this upstream here

ahh, the infamous last minute bug, lol

Offline

#119 2011-07-01 09:47:42

mips1
Member
Registered: 2008-01-02
Posts: 99

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.7

Sorry to be anal but there is no such word as 'splitted', past and present forms are 'split'.

Offline

#120 2011-07-03 16:05:08

pano
Member
From: Stuttgart, Germany
Registered: 2008-09-08
Posts: 118

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.7

another weird problem:

After deleting anything plasma-desktop related, then logging out and in again, trying to add the system tray widget to a normal panel will crash plasma-desktop.

Is anyone else here experiencing this? :-D

Offline

#121 2011-07-07 20:09:56

kevku
Member
From: Estonia
Registered: 2009-11-21
Posts: 57

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.7

upgraded libgl (7.10.99.git20110616-2 -> 7.10.99.git20110706-1)
upgraded intel-dri (7.10.99.git20110616-2 -> 7.10.99.git20110706-1)
upgraded libegl (7.10.99.git20110616-2 -> 7.10.99.git20110706-1)
upgraded mesa (7.10.99.git20110616-2 -> 7.10.99.git20110706-1)

now kde4.7 kwin composition crashes X and my laptop GMA965

Offline

#122 2011-07-08 07:00:28

KlavKalashj
Member
Registered: 2008-10-09
Posts: 359

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.7

kevku wrote:

upgraded libgl (7.10.99.git20110616-2 -> 7.10.99.git20110706-1)
upgraded intel-dri (7.10.99.git20110616-2 -> 7.10.99.git20110706-1)
upgraded libegl (7.10.99.git20110616-2 -> 7.10.99.git20110706-1)
upgraded mesa (7.10.99.git20110616-2 -> 7.10.99.git20110706-1)

now kde4.7 kwin composition crashes X and my laptop GMA965

Same here, with GM45. alt+shift+f12 is a workaround.

Offline

#123 2011-07-08 16:48:34

sumski
Member
From: Zagreb, Croatia
Registered: 2011-04-30
Posts: 114

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.7

Andrea , would you be so kind to include fix for the nepomuk issue with kde-runtime? I know this isn't a snapshot repo , but RC2 is already tagged and i think this is REALLY annoying bug ...

Offline

#124 2011-07-08 17:02:45

ilpianista
Fellow developer
From: Lecce, Italy
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 567
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.7

sumski wrote:

Andrea , would you be so kind to include fix for the nepomuk issue with kde-runtime? I know this isn't a snapshot repo , but RC2 is already tagged and i think this is REALLY annoying bug ...

Yes, it was already in my plain, but I need to solve bug 27730 first smile

Offline

#125 2011-07-08 17:33:39

sumski
Member
From: Zagreb, Croatia
Registered: 2011-04-30
Posts: 114

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.7

Yeah , i bumped into this issue today as i tried to build both 4.6.90 and 4.6.95...
Anyway , thanks smile

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB