You are not logged in.

#51 2005-06-01 14:30:38

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

Are there repositories containing kernels patched with these patchsets? ;-)

Offline

#52 2005-06-01 14:52:43

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

iphitus wrote:

Not all of these patchsets have 'minor performance differences' phrakture, some of them do make a substantial difference.

I use the CK patchset, and using it, there is a *noticable* increase in system responsiveness and speed. Enemy Territory plays much better, and CS and other games via Cedega, are miles and miles better than with the stock kernel. With the stock kernel I get all sorts of audio stuttering and a lower FPS, with CK they are silky smooth.

CK isnt just a silly patchset, the work into it is real, and it isnt dirty hacks to gain a bit of speed here and there.

iphitus

Sure, but I don't do those things... I don't play ET and CS.... for *me* the performance increase is minor (what's it going to do, speed up vim?)

Offline

#53 2005-06-01 18:30:44

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

it might speed up phrakdows...

Offline

#54 2005-06-01 20:50:11

CyberTron
Member
From: Gotland ,Sweden
Registered: 2005-03-17
Posts: 645
Website

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

You all know what would be fun? If there was a kernel-repo, with different kernels with different patches, (example: CK, CKO, Security-enhanced and so on..)  I know that the mm-patches is in the repos, but what about the other ones that exists....It would be nice to have them availible with pacman..


http://www.linuxportalen.com  -> Linux Help portal for Linux and ArchLinux (in swedish)

Dell Inspiron 8500
Kernel 2.6.14-archck1  (selfcompiled)
Enlightenment 17

Offline

#55 2005-06-01 23:27:00

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,431
Website

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

I said this a millions time before - if you want speed optimize your kernel to your architecture - and do this while building a patchset yourself

I mean common guys, what with penguins script and my PKGBUILD and the other contributions could it be any easier?!

Offline

#56 2005-06-02 07:28:13

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

phrakture wrote:
iphitus wrote:

Not all of these patchsets have 'minor performance differences' phrakture, some of them do make a substantial difference.

I use the CK patchset, and using it, there is a *noticable* increase in system responsiveness and speed. Enemy Territory plays much better, and CS and other games via Cedega, are miles and miles better than with the stock kernel. With the stock kernel I get all sorts of audio stuttering and a lower FPS, with CK they are silky smooth.

CK isnt just a silly patchset, the work into it is real, and it isnt dirty hacks to gain a bit of speed here and there.

iphitus

Sure, but I don't do those things... I don't play ET and CS.... for *me* the performance increase is minor (what's it going to do, speed up vim?)

It doesnt just affect games phrakture, overall the system is much more responsive, and noticably quicker. X starts quicker, apps start quicker, heck, firefox renders it's pages quicker. If you want to, hit irc, ask shastry, he compiled himself a 2.6.11-ck9 yesterday and was blown away by the improvement in responsiveness and interactivity over mainline. He doesnt play games either.

Dont bag it till you've tried it, and a current one at that.

iphitus

Offline

#57 2005-06-02 16:20:13

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

hmm, I'd like to try it if I have time... Still wish somebody would provide me with a 'stock' package for it...

Dusty

Offline

#58 2005-06-02 16:47:28

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

Dusty wrote:

hmm, I'd like to try it if I have time... Still wish somebody would provide me with a 'stock' package for it...

Dusty

or someone can put the PKGBUILD in the AUR

Offline

#59 2005-06-02 19:05:28

IceRAM
Member
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2004-03-04
Posts: 772
Website

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

I also found it strange that there are no flavoured-kernel packages in AUR.

People probably make a kernel for their machine only (precise config file), not for global use.

Offline

#60 2005-06-02 19:32:05

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

IceRAM wrote:

I also found it strange that there are no flavoured-kernel packages in AUR.

People probably make a kernel for their machine only (precise config file), not for global use.

I think dibble's PKGBUILD should be there *hint, hint*

Offline

#61 2005-06-03 02:41:12

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

if you want it, i just revived one of my old pkgbuilds and made ya a package for 2.6.11-ck9. ck9 includes 2.6.11.11.

http://iphitus.loudas.com/arch/kernel26 … pkg.tar.gz

pkgbuild, filelist, and other stuff needed to makepkg.
http://iphitus.loudas.com/arch/kernel26-ck/

iphitus

btw, dont shoot me dibble, i just updated the version on an old package of mine, and the point here is to provide a compiled versions for those here who wish to try ck. the arch config takes aaaages to compile

Offline

#62 2005-06-03 02:48:58

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

Thanks iphitus, downloading now... this installs alongside the stock kernel?

Dusty

Offline

#63 2005-06-03 03:06:23

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

same here - I'm just too lazy to build it 8)

Offline

#64 2005-06-03 03:15:15

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

It kernel panicked on me. :'(

I would try building it (Cotton set me a PKGBUILD), but I don't know if I'll bother just now, I think I may be installing the arch64 port one of these days, so I might wait till after that.

Dusty

Offline

#65 2005-06-03 03:50:21

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

Does ck support reiser4 or would another patch be in order?

Offline

#66 2005-06-03 04:11:45

phrakture
Arch Overlord
From: behind you
Registered: 2003-10-29
Posts: 7,879
Website

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

i'll be rebooting into it when my torrents finish

Offline

#67 2005-06-03 04:34:15

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,431
Website

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

if you want reiser4 or suspend2 or fbsplash you need -cko - which is what I use

should i put my PKGBUILD in the AUR then?  i wasn't sure it was appropriate...

iph - I REALLY want your assitance in stripping my kernel smile

Offline

#68 2005-06-03 05:34:38

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

You can also patch reiser4 with
http://ftp.namesys.com/pub/reiser4-for-2.6/
the patches there.

Dusty: What was the error it panicked about?
It could be a completely bung kernel, im not able to test it because I use reiser4 and standard CK doesnt include R4.

dibble: grab me on irc any friday/saturday any time.

iphitus.

Offline

#69 2005-06-03 14:35:27

Dusty
Schwag Merchant
From: Medicine Hat, Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2004-01-18
Posts: 5,986
Website

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

iphitus: I couldn't say, it output a bunch of hex before saying kernel panic... no textual error, or it scrolled offscreen. I'll build it myself though, its on my todo-for-interest's sake list now... The question is just... when?

Dusty

Offline

#70 2005-06-03 18:23:54

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

I'm using reiser4 now with a custom built kernel.org kernel and patches from namesys, but was really interested in some of the desktop-centric things that ck* patchset provides.

I'll just start trying out kernels and see how they work!

Offline

#71 2005-06-03 18:37:00

iBertus
Member
From: Greenville, NC
Registered: 2004-11-04
Posts: 2,228

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

dibble: I think you should put your PKGBUILD up on AUR. I'd  like to try it myself.

Offline

#72 2005-06-03 19:09:07

IceRAM
Member
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2004-03-04
Posts: 772
Website

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

I believe the main problem is not the PKGBUILD, but the config file, which should be a *working* extended version of the stock config file.

Offline

#73 2005-06-03 19:30:49

CyberTron
Member
From: Gotland ,Sweden
Registered: 2005-03-17
Posts: 645
Website

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

dibble: I would want that pkgbuild too..

just reinstalled arch  and the recent kernel doesn't take my cko patch..dunno why, it
just can't compile

if you don't wannna put it in aur, put it in the aur-request forum for us to download it big_smile


http://www.linuxportalen.com  -> Linux Help portal for Linux and ArchLinux (in swedish)

Dell Inspiron 8500
Kernel 2.6.14-archck1  (selfcompiled)
Enlightenment 17

Offline

#74 2005-06-03 22:21:14

iphitus
Forum Fellow
From: Melbourne, Australia
Registered: 2004-10-09
Posts: 4,927

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

Dusty wrote:

iphitus: I couldn't say, it output a bunch of hex before saying kernel panic... no textual error, or it scrolled offscreen. I'll build it myself though, its on my todo-for-interest's sake list now... The question is just... when?

Dusty

When did it panic, at what stage of the boot?

Offline

#75 2005-06-04 06:38:10

dtw
Forum Fellow
From: UK
Registered: 2004-08-03
Posts: 4,431
Website

Re: Making Arch Faster[solved]

Guys!  It is in there!  Isn't it?  It's linked on the wiki about 26 times smile

It's here in the meantime

I'll submit it to the AUR when I get back home - no internet access for my box till then!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB