You are not logged in.

#176 2011-09-22 16:51:11

anezch
Member
Registered: 2011-03-08
Posts: 23

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

wonder wrote:
anezch wrote:
Jodell wrote:

Nautilus bug?

Plain text previews do not render properly.

http://ompldr.org/tYWd5dA

Same here... text previews bleed. Tried with Faience, Faenza, and Elementary icon themes: same result. If I switch to Gnome (default) icon theme, the text previews don't show up.

nobody wants to hear, "same here". I prefer to see a report link

Oops, wrong words.

Jodell wrote:

Glad to hear it's been fixed.

Offline

#177 2011-09-22 18:02:58

siriusb
Member
From: Hungary
Registered: 2010-01-01
Posts: 414

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

I use xscreensaver and now I get the following error message when trying to lock my screen:

Couldn't execute command: gnome-screensaver-command --lock
Verify that this is a valid command.

Gnome-screensaver is not installed, of course. It worked  before I enabled  gnome-unstable repo.
Is it hardcoded somewhere or I can change this command? Or is it a bug?

Offline

#178 2011-09-22 18:08:08

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

don't use xscreensaver.
http://git.gnome.org/browse/gnome-setti … e811806319

!next

Last edited by wonder (2011-09-22 18:18:27)


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#179 2011-09-22 19:55:52

sironitomas
Member
From: Cordoba, Argentina
Registered: 2009-11-28
Posts: 174
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

This is all a mess. I can't start gdm nor gnome with xinit. Here are the logs from gdm (these are clean, showing just one unsucesfull login). I still get the "Something has gone wrong message".

http://paste.xinu.at/NAJvE/                                               
http://paste.xinu.at/n3hC9/                                                 
http://paste.xinu.at/VVUjE/

Can anyone help me? Thanks.

Offline

#180 2011-09-22 20:06:40

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

S ERROR: !!!   Exception was: Error: Requiring Clutter, version 1.0: Typelib file for namespace 'Cogl', version '1.0' not found
    JS ERROR: !!!     lineNumber = '0'
    JS ERROR: !!!     fileName = '"gjs_throw"'
    JS ERROR: !!!     stack = '"("Requiring Clutter, version 1.0: Typelib file for namespace 'Cogl', version '1.0' not found")@gjs_throw:0
@/usr/share/gnome-shell/js/ui/environment.js:9
"'
    JS ERROR: !!!     message = '"Requiring Clutter, version 1.0: Typelib file for namespace 'Cogl', version '1.0' not found"'
    JS ERROR: !!!   Exception was: Error: Requiring Clutter, version 1.0: Typelib file for namespace 'Cogl', version '1.0' not found
    JS ERROR: !!!     lineNumber = '0'
    JS ERROR: !!!     fileName = '"gjs_throw"'
    JS ERROR: !!!     stack = '"("Requiring Clutter, version 1.0: Typelib file for namespace 'Cogl', version '1.0' not found")@gjs_throw:0
@/usr/share/gnome-shell/js/ui/environment.js:9

@sironitomas  what happened with your cogl? failed to add gnome-unstable above core?

Last edited by wonder (2011-09-22 20:07:14)


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#181 2011-09-23 01:31:21

sironitomas
Member
From: Cordoba, Argentina
Registered: 2009-11-28
Posts: 174
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

@wonder: [gnome-unstable] in on top of all the other repositories in my pacman.conf. Tried reinstalling cogl but the annoying error message still appears.

Somehow, I'm now able to log in. There are a lot of errors though.

- Background is a solid color and changing it has no effects
- Adwaita theme looks awful. (http://i.imgur.com/9yXar.png)
- Others I don't remember right now.

The look and feel is of an unfinished product, even a week before its "stable" release.

Last edited by sironitomas (2011-09-23 03:18:22)

Offline

#182 2011-09-23 06:21:30

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

@sironitomas look at this thread, you are the only one with this problem. i suggest to do pacman -Qm and paste the output. also now that you are in paste ~/.xsession-errors


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#183 2011-09-23 07:57:03

siriusb
Member
From: Hungary
Registered: 2010-01-01
Posts: 414

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

@wonder
Thanks. The patch works. I've used xsreensaver for 2-3 years. Maybe I should switch back to gnome-screensaver.

Offline

#184 2011-09-23 08:48:51

perosb
Member
Registered: 2011-09-19
Posts: 12

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

anyone else having problems with gnome-shell taking 100% CPU with the last rc update?
this seem to happen after being idle for a while.
(in beta2 there was a huge memory leak but rc cpu problem.)

Offline

#185 2011-09-23 14:56:22

sironitomas
Member
From: Cordoba, Argentina
Registered: 2009-11-28
Posts: 174
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

@wonder

This is my ~/.xsession-errors: http://paste.xinu.at/nb0/
Don't know why, but here is pacman -Qm: http://paste.xinu.at/JFUC/

Thanks for helping.

Offline

#186 2011-09-23 15:20:00

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

sironitomas wrote:

@wonder

This is my ~/.xsession-errors: http://paste.xinu.at/nb0/
Don't know why, but here is pacman -Qm: http://paste.xinu.at/JFUC/

Thanks for helping.

gnome-session[8551]: WARNING: Application 'gnome-settings-daemon.desktop' killed by signal

(gnome-power-manager:8630): GLib-GIO-CRITICAL **: g_dbus_connection_emit_signal: assertion `G_IS_DBUS_CONNECTION (connection)' failed

looking at the last line, i still think you have mixed gnome 3 and gnome 3.2 modules. you are not fully up to date because gnome-power-manager binary doesn't exist anymore. the functionally was moved in gnome-settings-daemon.

so be sure gnome-unstable is above core, gnome-unstable,core,extra is the right order and pacman -Syu


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#187 2011-09-23 16:07:36

sironitomas
Member
From: Cordoba, Argentina
Registered: 2009-11-28
Posts: 174
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

@wonder
That's the order. In fact, I have:
[gnome-unstable]
[multilib]
[core]
[extra]
[community]

I removed everything gnome related and then did:

pacman -S gnome-unstable/gnome gnome-unstable/gnome-extra

to be sure I'm using only that repository.

After that, nothing changed. The errors are still there. However, trying with a new user (blank home) gnome works perfectly.

What are all the config files I have to delete in my home to have a new clean config?

Last edited by sironitomas (2011-09-23 18:27:58)

Offline

#188 2011-09-23 17:40:52

nierro
Member
From: Milan, Italy
Registered: 2011-09-02
Posts: 809

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

Sorry for the stupid question, but how can I remove a web application made with epiphany from my activities / applications view? Thanks!

Offline

#189 2011-09-23 17:42:39

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

nierro wrote:

Sorry for the stupid question, but how can I remove a web application made with epiphany from my activities / applications view? Thanks!

open epiphany and type about:applications


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#190 2011-09-23 18:04:46

nierro
Member
From: Milan, Italy
Registered: 2011-09-02
Posts: 809

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

ok thanks!
But i have not resolved the problem I had since some days: when i log in, my status is set on unavailable, and if i change it to available, when I restart, same problem: it is set on unavailable...any ideas?

Offline

#191 2011-09-23 18:23:44

sironitomas
Member
From: Cordoba, Argentina
Registered: 2009-11-28
Posts: 174
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

Epiphany doesn't open. This is the output from terminal:
http://paste.xinu.at/mIMy/

Oh, same for gnome-tweak-tool:
http://paste.xinu.at/zILgP/

Last edited by sironitomas (2011-09-23 18:27:21)

Offline

#192 2011-09-23 18:30:31

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

@sironitomas your system is a mess. python2-gobject is missing(you used pacman -Syuf ?)  for gnome-tweak-tool and for epiphany, i don't know, maybe you don't login in gnome properly

Last edited by wonder (2011-09-23 18:30:55)


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#193 2011-09-23 18:33:01

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

nierro wrote:

ok thanks!
But i have not resolved the problem I had since some days: when i log in, my status is set on unavailable, and if i change it to available, when I restart, same problem: it is set on unavailable...any ideas?

it seems that the status state is not preserved. you should report it and paste the link here.


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#194 2011-09-24 10:24:35

thanos
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2008-11-22
Posts: 22

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

sironitomas wrote:

Epiphany doesn't open. This is the output from terminal:
http://paste.xinu.at/mIMy/

I had the same problem with you.Make sure that your networkmanager daemon is running.
When my networkmanager is on i can start epiphany but when it's off i have the same problem with you.

Offline

#195 2011-09-24 10:36:33

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

thanos wrote:
sironitomas wrote:

Epiphany doesn't open. This is the output from terminal:
http://paste.xinu.at/mIMy/

I had the same problem with you.Make sure that your networkmanager daemon is running.
When my networkmanager is on i can start epiphany but when it's off i have the same problem with you.

oh yeah, https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=659103 nobody said anything about it


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.
Blog

Offline

#196 2011-09-24 12:05:25

Rasi
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2007-08-14
Posts: 1,844
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

gdm starts fine here, but i cant login, it simply hangs, after i entered my password.
logging in with startx works fine tho.


He hoped and prayed that there wasn't an afterlife. Then he realized there was a contradiction involved here and merely hoped that there wasn't an afterlife.

Douglas Adams

Offline

#197 2011-09-24 13:39:24

skoruppa
Member
Registered: 2011-09-24
Posts: 4
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

Ok, everything works great after update but can someone tell me how to access easily an empathy user list (main window)? Because from what I had read, with Gnome Shell 3.1 status icon was removed from empathy. So now when I close it and for example there is opened chat window, pressing a empathy icon from anywhere shows me only my chat window... so only way is to close chat window before clicking empathy icon? This is really inconvenient.

And maybe there is a way to display notification area all the time when there is unread notifications (this with numbers smile )? In current form I sometimes misses messages.


Sorry for bad English wink my first post here smile.


Archlinux i686 | Gnome Shell 3.2 beta

Offline

#198 2011-09-24 14:38:12

sironitomas
Member
From: Cordoba, Argentina
Registered: 2009-11-28
Posts: 174
Website

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

wonder wrote:

looking at the last line, i still think you have mixed gnome 3 and gnome 3.2 modules. you are not fully up to date because gnome-power-manager binary doesn't exist anymore. the functionally was moved in gnome-settings-daemon.

What about this? ftp://ftp.archlinux.org/gnome-unstable/ … pkg.tar.xz

wonder wrote:

oh yeah, https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=659103 nobody said anything about it

Oh, now I see why it didn't work. Are we forced to use networkmanager? I like more netcfg. I hope they resolve the bug before the final release.

For now, I'm back with the stable release, I had too much problems with this repo. Maybe because I didn't use gdm nor networkmanager?

Last edited by sironitomas (2011-09-24 14:51:08)

Offline

#199 2011-09-25 09:28:43

fredbezies
Member
Registered: 2011-07-28
Posts: 279

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

Looks like I have no more gnome shell crashes using patch from https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=659676

Could it be added for gnome-shell 3.1.92 or even for gnome-shell 3.2 ?

Thanks for any answer you can give me here.

Offline

#200 2011-09-25 18:54:36

brianji03
Member
Registered: 2010-05-07
Posts: 32

Re: GNOME 3.2 beta2 available in gnome-unstable

Seems pretty solid, just installed it today. However, I can not get epiphany to start up. I get this error:

(epiphany:2413): GLib-GObject-WARNING **: invalid (NULL) pointer instance

(epiphany:2413): GLib-GObject-CRITICAL **: g_signal_connect_data: assertion `G_TYPE_CHECK_INSTANCE (instance)' failed
Segmentation fault

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB