You are not logged in.

#451 2018-10-15 18:12:10

thorsten
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-02-24
Posts: 168

Re: herbstluftwm

Do you see anything in the bar if you run the following command?

$ { echo Hello ; cat ; } | dzen2 -x 0 -y 0 -fn '-*-fixed-medium-*-*-*-12-*-*-*-*-*-*-*' -h 16 # runs til ^C

If yes, what about the following?

$ { echo Hello ; cat ; } | dzen2 -w 3440 -x 0 -y 0 -fn '-*-fixed-medium-*-*-*-12-*-*-*-*-*-*-*' -h 16 -e 'button3=;button4=exec:herbstclient use_index -1;button5=exec:herbstclient use_index +1' -ta l -bg '#101010' -fg '#efefef'

If no, what about this?

$ { echo Hello ; cat ; } | dzen2

In any case, press Ctrl+C to quit it.

Offline

#452 2018-10-15 18:28:37

mouseman
Member
From: Outta nowhere
Registered: 2014-04-04
Posts: 282

Re: herbstluftwm

thorsten wrote:

Do you see anything in the bar if you run the following command?

$ { echo Hello ; cat ; } | dzen2 -x 0 -y 0 -fn '-*-fixed-medium-*-*-*-12-*-*-*-*-*-*-*' -h 16 # runs til ^C

If yes, what about the following?

$ { echo Hello ; cat ; } | dzen2 -w 3440 -x 0 -y 0 -fn '-*-fixed-medium-*-*-*-12-*-*-*-*-*-*-*' -h 16 -e 'button3=;button4=exec:herbstclient use_index -1;button5=exec:herbstclient use_index +1' -ta l -bg '#101010' -fg '#efefef'

If no, what about this?

$ { echo Hello ; cat ; } | dzen2

In any case, press Ctrl+C to quit it.

All three examples give me a bar; first one centered, second left, third left as well but larger font.

When I edit the panel.sh to just output what is gathered (instead of piping it to 2> /dev/null | dzen2 etc), I get this:

^bg(#9fbc00)^fg(#101010)^ca(1,herbstclient focus_monitor "0" && herbstclient use "One") One ^ca()^bg()^fg(#ababab)^ca(1,herbstclient focus_monitor "0" && herbstclient use "Two") Two ^ca()^bg()^fg(#ababab)^ca(1,herbstclient focus_monitor "0" && herbstclient use "Three") Three ^ca()^bg()^fg(#ababab)^ca(1,herbstclient focus_monitor "0" && herbstclient use "Four") Four ^ca()^bg()^fg(#ababab)^ca(1,herbstclient focus_monitor "0" && herbstclient use "Gimp") Gimp ^ca()^bg()^fg(#9fbc00)|^bg()^fg() error, cannot load font: '-*-fixed-medium-*-*-*-12-*-*-*-*-*-*-*'
.config/herbstluftwm/panel.sh: line 126: 3440 - : syntax error: operand expected (error token is "- ")

Line 126 in my file is:

echo -n "^pa($(($panel_width - $width)))$right"

edit: missed it initially, but it also says:

error, cannot load font: '-*-fixed-medium-*-*-*-12-*-*-*-*-*-*-*'

Last edited by mouseman (2018-10-15 18:31:46)

Offline

#453 2018-10-15 18:38:06

thorsten
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-02-24
Posts: 168

Re: herbstluftwm

Do you have the standard herbstluftwm panel.sh? It seems that $width is not set in your panel.sh. Do you have the textwidth utility on your system? (it should be shipped together with dzen2). textwidth is used to compute $width. Independently: does your panel.sh work if you omit the -fn '-*-fixed-medium-*-*-*-12-*-*-*-*-*-*-*'?

Offline

#454 2018-10-15 18:58:02

mouseman
Member
From: Outta nowhere
Registered: 2014-04-04
Posts: 282

Re: herbstluftwm

thorsten wrote:

Do you have the standard herbstluftwm panel.sh? It seems that $width is not set in your panel.sh. Do you have the textwidth utility on your system? (it should be shipped together with dzen2). textwidth is used to compute $width. Independently: does your panel.sh work if you omit the -fn '-*-fixed-medium-*-*-*-12-*-*-*-*-*-*-*'?

Yes, I've recopied the file from /etc/xdg/herbstluftwm/panel.sh to make sure. I recopy it after I've made changes to test/troubleshoot this.

textwidth is available. When I try to run it manually I get:

$ textwidth 
usage: textwidth <font> <string>
$ textwidth "-*-fixed-medium-*-*-*-12-*-*-*-*-*-*-*" "bla bla bla"
error, cannot load font: '-*-fixed-medium-*-*-*-12-*-*-*-*-*-*-*'

So, I think I found the issue: pixel size 10, 11, 12 are not available, but 13 is:

$ textwidth "-*-fixed-medium-*-*-*-13-*-*-*-*-*-*-*" "bla bla bla"
66

Now I need to figure out how to install those fonts. I installed a bunch already after reinstalling but apparently I'm still missing some.

Thanks a lot for your assistance Thorsten, really appreciate it!

Offline

#455 2018-10-15 19:23:28

mouseman
Member
From: Outta nowhere
Registered: 2014-04-04
Posts: 282

Re: herbstluftwm

Should I post this under a new topic? I'm not sure what's wrong with my font config but I think I've got all the correct font packages installed, I ran fc-cache -f -v but I can't get fixed fonts available below 13 pxsize.

Nevermind, I needed to read the wiki better and rescan/rebuild with mkfontscale and mkfontdir.

Cheers!

Last edited by mouseman (2018-10-15 19:39:14)

Offline

#456 2022-02-10 09:39:16

grail69
Member
Registered: 2021-09-12
Posts: 11

Re: herbstluftwm

Not sure if anyone covered this and I missed it, but I have my config setup to have 3 tags / virtual desktops set and if my web browser is open on any of them and running youtube (as an example), when I select "fullscreen" from within youtube, it recognises my left border of current tag but then extends off as though it is no the size of
my whole monitor.  If I do this in the middle tag, it will go from the left edge and then sort of disappear under my right tag.

So my question is, how does something like youtube work out the size of the screen to fill?
And is there a way to tell it to only fill the tag I am on?

Offline

#457 2022-02-10 10:02:40

thorsten
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2010-02-24
Posts: 168

Re: herbstluftwm

grail69 wrote:

Not sure if anyone covered this and I missed it, but I have my config setup to have 3 tags / virtual desktops set and if my web browser is open on any of them and running youtube (as an example), when I select "fullscreen" from within youtube, it recognises my left border of current tag but then extends off as though it is no the size of
my whole monitor.  If I do this in the middle tag, it will go from the left edge and then sort of disappear under my right tag.

So my question is, how does something like youtube work out the size of the screen to fill?
And is there a way to tell it to only fill the tag I am on?

There is some confusion in the terminology: you probably have three monitors side by side? Does it work correctly for other applications if you manually toggle the fullscreen state via Mod-f?

Offline

#458 2022-02-10 13:35:07

grail69
Member
Registered: 2021-09-12
Posts: 11

Re: herbstluftwm

Hi thorsten

No, no confusion.  I have a single 49" screen and using herbstluftwm I have set three tags using the following:

hc set_monitors 1280x1400+0+40 2560x1400+1280+40 1280x1400+3840+40

When I open on the middle tag (2560x1400+1280+40) the left side of the fulscreen from youtube sits nicely on the left of this tag,
but the right hand side continues past and under the tag to the right (1280x1400+3840+40) and is doig a full screen for a screen with the
full dimensions of 5120x1440+0+0

Offline

#459 2022-02-10 14:43:49

grail69
Member
Registered: 2021-09-12
Posts: 11

Re: herbstluftwm

Ok, so maybe something easier (maybe) to try and fix.  When I press F11 my copy of Chrome does the same as above issue, ie tries to fill 5120x1440+0+0

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB