You are not logged in.

#26 2011-12-27 19:23:43

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,265

Re: tamsynmod font

steve_, I just tested it and did

echo -e '^fg(#7f7f7f)'"\uE019"

in a script using dzen2, using

dzen2 -bg '#000000' -fn '-*-stlarch-medium-r-normal-*-14-*-*-*-*-*-ISO10646-1' -ta 'r' &

in my startup (.xinitrc). You basically need to put the

"\uE019"

part in. Other than that, I can't help you much with the scripting. I don't know if you can echo the glyph into the terminal (or how you would do it).

Here's a screenshot of monsterwm and dzen showing the Arch glyph to the far right:

tYnh1bw

here's one of the stlarch-14 glyphs, (I don't have the 16, but I can post a shot of that too if anyone needs it):

tYnh1dA

edit:

steve_ wrote:

@stlarch - I don't understand why my test doesn't work with tamsym, any ideas?

I think tamsyn will default to showing the unicode symbols. You would need to be using the font with the icons to see them, but you should still be able to cut and paste them into your scripts as long as the right font is defined(in your script) if I'm understanding you.

Last edited by stlarch (2011-12-27 19:40:33)

Offline

#27 2011-12-28 15:41:16

steve___
Member
Registered: 2008-02-24
Posts: 452

Re: tamsynmod font

Thanks for all the hints.  This is what I have so far:
dwm-sb.png

In order to get this to work I have to specifiy font as '*' in dwm's config.h

static const char font[]            = "*";

I'd like to use Terminus for the ascii chars and stlarch for the icons.  I tried this:

static const char font[] =
"-*-terminus-medium-r-*-*-14-*-*-*-*-*-*-*"
","
"*"
;

and get the ascii chars in the Terminus font but the utf chars do not fallback to stlarch, so I get boxes  :'(

I'll keep fiddling as time permits.  Thanks again.

Last edited by steve___ (2011-12-29 19:34:58)

Offline

#28 2011-12-28 16:47:49

sunaku
Member
From: /dev/tty
Registered: 2010-09-29
Posts: 140
Website

Re: tamsynmod font

That looks better.  Try putting stlarch at the front of your font chain (before Terminus and *).

Offline

#29 2011-12-28 17:16:41

steve___
Member
Registered: 2008-02-24
Posts: 452

Re: tamsynmod font

The only way I can get the utf icons to appear in the status bar is with font set to "*".  One of the dwm devs suggested this is an issue with X.

Offline

#30 2011-12-29 18:21:50

steve___
Member
Registered: 2008-02-24
Posts: 452

Re: tamsynmod font

Ok I was able to get it to go:
dwm-sb.png.

In .xinitrc I had to start dwm like:

LANG=en_CA.UTF-8 dwm

Also the script I use to update the status bar is called from incron.  I needed to add this to the script:

export LANG=en_CA.UTF-8

Lastly, in dwm's config.h I had to set the fonts up like:

static const char font[]            =
"-*-stlarch-medium-r-*-*-16-*-*-*-*-*-*-*"
","
"-*-terminus-medium-r-*-*-14-*-*-*-*-*-*-*"
","
"*"
;

Thank you guys for your hints and the icons.

Last edited by steve___ (2011-12-29 19:38:39)

Offline

#31 2011-12-29 19:04:33

steve___
Member
Registered: 2008-02-24
Posts: 452

Re: tamsynmod font

@stlarch - Can you be convinced to make 'e02c' slightly more narrow and remove the head in the background on 'e009' -- as it is in font size 14?

Last edited by steve___ (2011-12-29 19:39:35)

Offline

#32 2011-12-29 21:14:31

sunaku
Member
From: /dev/tty
Registered: 2010-09-29
Posts: 140
Website

Re: tamsynmod font

Hey Steve, great work following through on this issue.  I didn't think about locale at all; mine was always "LANG=en_US.UTF-8"... was yours "C" or something?  Anyway I'm glad you got things working, your approach of putting the icons after the status indicator is refreshing and, frankly, looks much cooler.  Cheers.

Offline

#33 2011-12-30 09:08:42

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,265

Re: tamsynmod font

Here steve_, http://ompldr.org/vYno3dw/stlarch-16.bdf , I centered E009 too for you.

Offline

#34 2011-12-30 14:03:04

steve___
Member
Registered: 2008-02-24
Posts: 452

Re: tamsynmod font

@stlarch - Awesome, thanks so much.

@sunaku - I'm not sure what I going on, I will do more testing as time permits.  The script I used to update the statusbar is run from incron which I believe has the locale of 'C' (I say this because cron has a locale of 'C').  Did you test the utf chars in the status bar?  I see you are using dzen.  Hardcoding the chars in config.h for the layouts worked for me right away.  I had problems with the status bar.

In hindsight, I run dwm in a while loop from xinitrc and only restarted dwm not X in my testing.

Last edited by steve___ (2011-12-30 14:10:15)

Offline

#35 2012-02-02 17:09:47

Unia
Member
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Registered: 2010-03-30
Posts: 2,486
Website

Re: tamsynmod font

Hello,

I just installed this font particulary for the status symbols. I like the looks of it, but I can't figure out how to use them as I've never messed with this before. (first time using a tiling WM as well).

Could someone point me to some instructions or explain to me how I have to do this? Thanks in advance!


If you can't sit by a cozy fire with your code in hand enjoying its simplicity and clarity, it needs more work. --Carlos Torres

Offline

#36 2012-02-02 18:35:10

steve___
Member
Registered: 2008-02-24
Posts: 452

Re: tamsynmod font

which WM are you using?

Offline

#37 2012-02-02 21:35:58

Unia
Member
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Registered: 2010-03-30
Posts: 2,486
Website

Re: tamsynmod font

steve___ wrote:

which WM are you using?

Wmfs


If you can't sit by a cozy fire with your code in hand enjoying its simplicity and clarity, it needs more work. --Carlos Torres

Offline

#38 2012-02-02 22:05:38

moetunes
Member
From: A comfortable couch
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 1,033

Re: tamsynmod font

You have to make the fonts available to X. I do that with a file in /etc/X11/xorg.conf.d. I call it 20-fonts.conf.

Section "Files"
    FontPath  "/usr/share/fonts/local"
    FontPath  "/usr/share/fonts/artwiz-fonts"
EndSection

I use the app xfd to view the font and printf to show them. Here's the conkyrc I use as an example

out_to_x no
out_to_console yes
double_buffer yes
use_spacer left
update_interval 1
no_buffers yes

TEXT
&4${execi 1800 printf '\xCE'} &1${mem} &4${execi 1800 printf '\xB1'}&2${execi 20 /home/pnewm/.bin/sensors_out}&4 ${execi 1800 printf '\xB5'}&1 $freq_g &3${cpu cpu1}% ${cpu cpu2}% ${cpu cpu3}% ${cpu cpu4}% &4 ${execi 1800 printf '\xA4'} &1${if_up wlan0}${downspeed wlan0}${wireless_link_qual_perc wlan0}%$else${downspeed eth0}$endif &4${execi 1800 printf '\xF0'}&3 $battery &4${execi 1800 printf '\xB9'}&1 ${uptime} &4${execi 1800 printf '\xC9'}&1 ${time %a %d/%m} &4:&2 ${execi 60 /home/pnewm/progs/c.files/fuzzyctime} &4${execi 1800 printf '\xEA'}

The ${execi 1800 printf   part shows the relevant icon.


You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.

Offline

#39 2012-02-02 22:30:46

Unia
Member
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Registered: 2010-03-30
Posts: 2,486
Website

Re: tamsynmod font

Oh I see, so it's not just typing in a letter and you have the status icon?


If you can't sit by a cozy fire with your code in hand enjoying its simplicity and clarity, it needs more work. --Carlos Torres

Offline

#40 2012-02-02 23:38:58

moetunes
Member
From: A comfortable couch
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 1,033

Re: tamsynmod font

You can do the printf in a terminal and copy the result to your script or whatever


You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.

Offline

#41 2012-02-03 09:02:16

Unia
Member
From: Stockholm, Sweden
Registered: 2010-03-30
Posts: 2,486
Website

Re: tamsynmod font

Thanks, that works!


If you can't sit by a cozy fire with your code in hand enjoying its simplicity and clarity, it needs more work. --Carlos Torres

Offline

#42 2012-02-18 15:48:37

stlarch
Member
From: hell
Registered: 2010-12-25
Posts: 1,265

Re: tamsynmod font

Updated to reflect the changes in Tamsyn. The 6x11 is now 6x12, and there is no 7x12 anymore. I won't be doing icons for the 5x9 or 10x20. Here's a acreenshot of the 6x12 (the icons are the same as terminusmod 12 now, the other sizes are unchanged):

tY3U0OQ

edit: It looks like the new 12 is basically the same size as the old 11 but raised up 1 px? I'm not sure if I should try to raise the icons up or not. Just let me know what you think and it shouldn't be too much trouble to change.

Last edited by stlarch (2012-02-18 15:57:46)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB