You are not logged in.

#126 2012-01-01 18:35:56

Zom
Member
From: Sweden
Registered: 2007-10-27
Posts: 406

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.8

When 4.8 stable is released and appears in extra.

Offline

#127 2012-01-02 11:16:20

ilpianista
Fellow developer
From: Lecce, Italy
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 567
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.8

adaptee wrote:

The kmix probem has been fixed in trunk.
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=288675

Sorry for the delay. Pushed.

Offline

#128 2012-01-02 20:58:38

syms
Member
Registered: 2008-12-25
Posts: 292

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.8

Im not sure if its right to report that, but since Qt team for now doesnt show attention, heres annoying bug in which taskbar entries doesnt disappear after you close application:
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=275469
Browsing latest comments, John Stanley has posted patches to Qt to fix those issues. I am wondering could you recompile Qt with these patches?

Offline

#129 2012-01-02 21:04:20

syms
Member
Registered: 2008-12-25
Posts: 292

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.8

Speaking about latest kmix change, i found out that if i increase the volume when hovering over kmix icon on system tray and using the mousewheel, the plasma tooltip shows right percentage of how much i increased volume but if i click on the icon and when opens kmix popup the sliding bar doesnt get updated to the volume.

Offline

#130 2012-01-02 22:42:26

mangus
Member
From: Bologna, Italy
Registered: 2007-04-07
Posts: 288

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.8

another thing is when I try to configure channnels shown in kmix, drag and drop is not working...

Offline

#131 2012-01-03 12:48:43

Akuma
Member
From: France
Registered: 2010-10-26
Posts: 30

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.8

KMix doesn't seem to eat my CPU anymore but still doesn't update the playback streams list correctly when using pulse.
Eg if I start kmix first then launch a music player, it doesn't appear in the audio streams list when I click the icon on the taskbar (but does in the Mixer->Streams tab).
However if I launch the music player before KMix, I can see its playback stream, but then if I stop the music player, its playback stream is still listed and if I try to modify its volume, KMix instantly crashes.

Here below I did a test with clementine and chromium playing sound.
If KMix is started before :
capture35.jpeg
If I start it after :
capture36.jpeg
Anyways that list never updates correctly, like I said if I close an app, it's still listed and KMix crashes if I try to change its volume.

PS: I cleaned all caches and temporary files and still no change.

Last edited by Akuma (2012-01-03 13:07:39)

Offline

#132 2012-01-03 18:57:00

sl1pkn07
Member
From: Spanishtán
Registered: 2010-03-30
Posts: 312

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.8

Akuma wrote:

KMix doesn't seem to eat my CPU anymore but still doesn't update the playback streams list correctly when using pulse.
Eg if I start kmix first then launch a music player, it doesn't appear in the audio streams list when I click the icon on the taskbar (but does in the Mixer->Streams tab).
However if I launch the music player before KMix, I can see its playback stream, but then if I stop the music player, its playback stream is still listed and if I try to modify its volume, KMix instantly crashes.

Here below I did a test with clementine and chromium playing sound.
If KMix is started before :
http://wstaw.org/m/2012/01/03/capture35.jpeg
If I start it after :
http://wstaw.org/m/2012/01/03/capture36.jpeg
Anyways that list never updates correctly, like I said if I close an app, it's still listed and KMix crashes if I try to change its volume.

PS: I cleaned all caches and temporary files and still no change.

i agree

Offline

#133 2012-01-03 19:59:14

ChemBro
Member
Registered: 2008-10-22
Posts: 668

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.8

@Akuma: I think, it is the same bug as the "plasma panel" bug, the one, where closed programs still appear in the panel (and as far as I know: that is a Qt bug).

Offline

#134 2012-01-03 20:22:39

hussam
Member
Registered: 2006-03-26
Posts: 522
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.8

syms wrote:

Im not sure if its right to report that, but since Qt team for now doesnt show attention, heres annoying bug in which taskbar entries doesnt disappear after you close application:
https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=275469
Browsing latest comments, John Stanley has posted patches to Qt to fix those issues. I am wondering could you recompile Qt with these patches?

I rebuilt Qt with the first patch. It fixes the problem. there is no need for the other two patches.

Offline

#135 2012-01-04 16:22:39

HarD
Member
From: Russia
Registered: 2011-08-11
Posts: 30

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.8

RC2 is out

Offline

#136 2012-01-04 16:42:10

1archgamenon2
Banned
Registered: 2011-07-12
Posts: 201

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.8

RC1: tiny buggy...all of u have to admit it!

Last edited by 1archgamenon2 (2012-01-04 16:43:12)

Offline

#137 2012-01-04 17:26:10

ilpianista
Fellow developer
From: Lecce, Italy
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 567
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.8

HarD wrote:

RC2 is out

Where it's?
http://kde.org/announcements/

Offline

#138 2012-01-04 18:58:54

monshin
Member
Registered: 2008-01-14
Posts: 30

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.8

I think he says RC2 tagged. No announcement yet.

Offline

#139 2012-01-04 19:01:47

ilpianista
Fellow developer
From: Lecce, Italy
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 567
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.8

monshin wrote:

I think he says RC2 tagged. No announcement yet.

Since KDE switched to git there is no tag (in git) until the KDE team releases the tarballs.

Offline

#140 2012-01-04 19:02:04

Druedain
Member
From: Poland
Registered: 2011-12-27
Posts: 50

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.8

Offline

#141 2012-01-04 19:05:36

ilpianista
Fellow developer
From: Lecce, Italy
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 567
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.8

Druedain wrote:

Yes that's fine smile
But the release has been delayed to tomorrow: http://lists.kde.org/?l=kde-release-tea … 219356&w=2

Offline

#142 2012-01-04 19:55:41

willy9
Member
Registered: 2009-04-14
Posts: 46

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.8

Looks like a few of us on laptops have been bitten by this bug : https://bugs.kde.org/show_bug.cgi?id=288577

How can we know if it is specific to Arch, or KDE related ? Anyway, let's see if it is any better in RC2... And thanks all the work on kde-unstable smile


Skrooge, a personal finances manager for the Plasma Desktop
http://skrooge.org

Offline

#143 2012-01-05 00:58:00

monshin
Member
Registered: 2008-01-14
Posts: 30

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.8

bash wrote:
monshin wrote:

I think he says RC2 tagged. No announcement yet.

Since KDE switched to git there is no tag (in git) until the KDE team releases the tarballs.

I think is this: http://websvn.kde.org/tags/KDE/4.7.97/

However, I preffer updating from official tarballs.anyway.

In my laptop, suspend on lid close works fine, so the issue is only in some laptops.

Offline

#144 2012-01-05 17:49:31

swiftscythe
Member
From: Rennes, France
Registered: 2009-04-28
Posts: 129
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.8

Delete

Last edited by swiftscythe (2012-01-05 17:52:40)

Offline

#145 2012-01-05 17:53:09

ilpianista
Fellow developer
From: Lecce, Italy
Registered: 2007-10-06
Posts: 567
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.8

@swiftscythe
Cannot reproduce here. Sounds like some package have not been updated. Check you kde package versions.

Offline

#146 2012-01-05 18:38:01

sxe
Member
From: Cologne
Registered: 2009-06-04
Posts: 93
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.8

I still have the kmixer problem.

The main, single channel popup is always set to the minimum, even when it is a different value and bass + treble is resetted after each reboot.

Offline

#147 2012-01-05 18:42:38

swiftscythe
Member
From: Rennes, France
Registered: 2009-04-28
Posts: 129
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.8

bash wrote:

@swiftscythe
Cannot reproduce here. Sounds like some package have not been updated. Check you kde package versions.

Yes, I realized a few seconds before your post, pacman didn't update kdelibs. Everything is okay now.

With RC1 I couldn't use the xsetwacom command to map my stylus buttons, it said "segmentation fault" But it's fixed in RC2, in case any one used it...

Offline

#148 2012-01-05 19:34:57

swiftscythe
Member
From: Rennes, France
Registered: 2009-04-28
Posts: 129
Website

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.8

Are you able to uncompress tar.gz files? I try with the ones downloaded from the AUR, but Ark does not know how to handle them. I can't either create tar.gz files, it complains by saying: 'Failed to create the new archive. Permissions might not be sufficient.' No problem with zip, or other formats. Upstream bug?

Offline

#149 2012-01-05 20:35:36

adaptee
Member
From: China
Registered: 2010-02-02
Posts: 36

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.8

swiftscythe wrote:

Are you able to uncompress tar.gz files? I try with the ones downloaded from the AUR, but Ark does not know how to handle them. I can't either create tar.gz files, it complains by saying: 'Failed to create the new archive. Permissions might not be sufficient.' No problem with zip, or other formats. Upstream bug?

I guess that is related with libarchive-3.0.2 from [testing]. No problem with libarchive-2.8.5, If I remember clearly since I'm not using Arch at the moment.

Offline

#150 2012-01-05 20:41:44

willy9
Member
Registered: 2009-04-14
Posts: 46

Re: [kde-unstable] KDE 4.8

swiftscythe wrote:

Are you able to uncompress tar.gz files? I try with the ones downloaded from the AUR, but Ark does not know how to handle them. I can't either create tar.gz files, it complains by saying: 'Failed to create the new archive. Permissions might not be sufficient.' No problem with zip, or other formats. Upstream bug?

Confirmed here too, same error on tar.gz creation or uncompression. I have libarchive 2.8.5-2.

Last edited by willy9 (2012-01-05 20:42:30)


Skrooge, a personal finances manager for the Plasma Desktop
http://skrooge.org

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB