You are not logged in.

#626 2012-05-10 21:13:53

Cloudef
Member
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 636

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

moetunes wrote:

I tried to point out that with the catwm base and a different approach to what X gives us to work with there's no need for functions like rotate_monitor. X ignores the monitors and gives us one big rectangle to colour in, so adding a monitor paradigm to the wm seems to me to be going against the way X works. If you look at the code for dminiwm.multiview there's not much extra code involved from my post above. I was happy to find another benefit of using catwm as a base and was well chuffed in how few lines I could do it in, so I wanted to share the approach. It's taking a different approach that's the hard bit. If what you're doing is working for you just ignore my sharing. smile

I recently got a fulltime job, and am busy with it. If you want to take over the multi monitor branch, then feel free do it smile

Offline

#627 2012-05-11 16:12:39

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Opshinz wrote:

Is floating mode not an option with the xcb fork?

as Cloudef said, he's busy lately (job), and hasn't updated it yet.
I might update it once I get some free time, starting next week hopefully.

Last edited by c00kiemon5ter (2012-05-11 16:12:50)


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#628 2012-05-21 14:19:27

Ypnose
Member
From: Jailed in the shell
Registered: 2011-04-21
Posts: 353
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Hi c00kie, just a little question: initlayouts branch is still maintained?


Github -- My terminal font Envypn

Offline

#629 2012-05-21 15:09:29

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

should be up to date, if you have any problems, feel free to report.
i'm away atm, and will be back on tuesday night, so I can only test then.


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#630 2012-05-26 13:20:34

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

heh, I saw kuraku started a screenshots thread here wink thanks

I'm still away. When I'm back I'll go over Cloudef's changes on multimonitor and grab the changes to monsterwm's multimonitor branch on my repo.
I'll also try to get around the xcb version, see if I can get it up to date wink I'll report when that's done

I must also revise the statusbar scripts, moetunes has been making changes on some_sorta_bar

Last edited by c00kiemon5ter (2012-05-26 13:22:30)


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#631 2012-05-26 13:27:25

Cloudef
Member
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 636

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

c00kiemon5ter wrote:

heh, I saw kuraku started a screenshots thread here wink thanks

I'm still away. When I'm back I'll go over Cloudef's changes on multimonitor and grab the changes to monsterwm's multimonitor branch on my repo.
I'll also try to get around the xcb version, see if I can get it up to date wink I'll report when that's done

I must also revise the statusbar scripts, moetunes has been making changes on some_sorta_bar

The xcb branch is quite bit behind smile Good luck with it.
Maybe I have time to rebase it too after that and do multimonitor support for it as well.

However maintaining both might be time consuming.

Offline

#632 2012-05-27 19:05:21

firecat53
Member
From: Sammamish, Wa
Registered: 2007-05-14
Posts: 1,448
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

So with some_sort_bar being changed to a pipe input, can I use one instance to display the window/desktop info and conky info at the same time?

Thanks,
Scott

Offline

#633 2012-05-28 07:11:34

moetunes
Member
From: A comfortable couch
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 1,024

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Thanks for speaking up firecat53.
I wouldn't update some_sorta_bar or change any scripts for the moment. I put the c file from before I started on the font update back on git 'cause it was working fine as I tested it but the spacings are wrong with the simple script I use with monsterwm as a check. Apologies, it worked fine here, I was pressed for time, I have a new missus, I got a flat tyre, the pub was closing and we had to get last rounds in, the train was late, my bike got stolen, a dog ate my homework, I tried to resist the office party but there was cake, my leg fell off, I ran out of staples, the world exploded and my head fell off. I should have it sorted soon.


You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.

Offline

#634 2012-05-29 00:58:59

moetunes
Member
From: A comfortable couch
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 1,024

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

I just had to watch out for newlines in some_sorta_bar so the update for the fonts should be fine now.
@firecat53 here's what I have in .xinitrc to run monsterwm

starter="exec ck-launch-session dbus-launch --sh-syntax --exit-with-session "

numlockx &
xsetroot -cursor_name left_ptr &
fbsetbg -l &
#turn of the caps lock key !!
xmodmap -e 'keycode 66 ='

ds=("web" "dev" "foo" "bar")
ms=("T" "M" "B" "G" "F")
PID=""

function writer {
    while true; do
        #xsetroot -name "&L$r &5[&3$i&5] &RÎ$(date +'%I:%M:%S')  "
        printf "&L$r &5[&3$i&5] &RÎ $(date +'%I:%M:%SÎ ')"
        sleep 1
    done
}

$starter monsterwm | while read -r wmout; do
    kill -n 15 $PID 2> /dev/null
    if [[ $wmout =~ ^(([[:digit:]]+:)+[[:digit:]]+ ?)+$ ]]; then
        #printf "\nWOOT \t $wmout\n"
        read -ra desktops <<< "$wmout" && unset r
        for desktop in "${desktops[@]}"; do
            IFS=':' read -r d w m c u <<< "$desktop"
            ((c)) && fg="&4" i="${ms[$m]}" || fg="&3"
            ((u)) && w+='&5!'
            if [[ $w > 0 ]]; then
                r+="$fg${ds[$d]} ${w/#0/&8¡} "
            else
                r+="$fg${ds[$d]} "
            fi
        done
    fi
    writer &
    PID=$!
done | ~/progs/c.files/some_sorta_bar/some_sorta_bar

Again sorry for the glitch.


You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.

Offline

#635 2012-05-29 05:02:08

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

haha, no prob moetunes wink I just came back from my trip, about 32h sleepless big_smile
I will update the scripts late tonight, and do some work for the multi-monitor branch wink


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#636 2012-05-29 14:22:47

firecat53
Member
From: Sammamish, Wa
Registered: 2007-05-14
Posts: 1,448
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Thanks moetunes! I'll give this a try as soon as I get a chance.

Scott

Offline

#637 2012-05-31 00:00:40

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

updated multimonitor branch with Cloudef's changes
also updated the init script on the gist
and filled a couple of issues on some_sorta_bar,
if you get similar results and think you can help please do smile

Last edited by c00kiemon5ter (2012-05-31 00:02:22)


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#638 2012-06-02 17:09:44

mhertz
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2010-06-19
Posts: 664

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Thanks cookie for updating the initscript on your gist!

However, for me it dosen't show anything in the bar, and crashes X whenever changing workspace, and the output on the console is that the last line produces a broken pipe?

Thanks in advance!

Offline

#639 2012-06-02 21:15:42

prasinoulhs
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2011-10-30
Posts: 53

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Probably some_sorta_bar segfaults beacuase it can't find your font (at least that was the problem i encountered).
Add something like this

,-*-*-*-*-*-*-14-*-*-*-*-*-*-*

at the end of your font list, recompile and it should work (replace 14 with the bar height - 2).

Offline

#640 2012-06-02 22:08:20

mhertz
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2010-06-19
Posts: 664

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Thanks for your reply, but some_sorta_bar just uses "fixed" whenever the declared font isn't available, so it cannot be that...

Edit: Sorry mate, I guess you're right!

Before I posted your reply, then I tried running some_sorta_bar manually from the terminal, and that worked fine, and just outputed in the terminal that the declared font wasen't found and fixed would be used instead, but now after actually trying to pipe something to it, then it indeed segfaults?

Sorry again, and thanks for your help!

I will try to declare a font I do have installed, and check again...

Edit2: It works now, just as you said, mate! Thanks again!

@cookie

I apologise for posting wrong info about your initscript segfaulting X! Sorry again...

I will report the some_sorta_bar error to moe now...

Last edited by mhertz (2012-06-02 22:23:54)

Offline

#641 2012-06-03 07:53:40

moetunes
Member
From: A comfortable couch
Registered: 2010-10-09
Posts: 1,024

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

@ prasinoulhs & mhertz - it would be helpful to know what you are using as a font that fails.
There should be an error like in this pic :
tZTJnYg
I found it would segfault if the font list was empty but it seems to work as expected otherwise here.


You're just jealous because the voices only talk to me.

Offline

#642 2012-06-09 11:04:45

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

I changed the default keybinds for moving/resizing windows with the keybord, instead of using the arrow keys, I now use h/j/k/l with mod4 and shift.

Also the mouse is now warped only on resize, moving grabs the window from any point.

There is also a new branch called rectangle. this keeps resources low, ie when using the wm through an shh X-forworded session on low bandwidth, it is costly to redraw the whole window contents on resize/move. drawing just a rectangle to represent the new position/size of the window, addresses this issue. This came up on the dwm mailing list and I thought it can be usefull.

btw, kuraku told me he had some random crash, has anyone else had any problems ? if so, can you describe what was going on when that happened (or keep it in mind if it happens again) ? I've been trying to reproduce what kuraku described me, but couldn't. I also went through the code (focus behavior, window spawing, window removing ..) to see if I could find any bugs, but can't see anything wrong atm.

Last edited by c00kiemon5ter (2012-06-09 11:07:53)


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#643 2012-06-09 11:33:18

kuraku
Member
From: planet Earth
Registered: 2012-01-03
Posts: 199

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

c00kiemon5ter wrote:

btw, kuraku told me he had some random crash, has anyone else had any problems ? if so, can you describe what was going on when that happened (or keep it in mind if it happens again) ? I've been trying to reproduce what kuraku described me, but couldn't. I also went through the code (focus behavior, window spawing, window removing ..) to see if I could find any bugs, but can't see anything wrong atm.

Have in mind that maybe it is up to my computer. I already told you that i'm unable to focus via mouse so maybe it is bug in debian and libs it use. I will recompile latest source in a few sec and i will test it during the next month (since there is no way to tell when i might expirience what i described to you).

In a nutshell: sometimes monsterwm stops responding to keyboard shortcuts. Maybe it is because i use this script since that is the only difference between my monsterwm usage and others (i think). I noticed that i'm able to use some shortcuts during that error so i'm able to go into tty1 (ctrl+alt+f1) but all monsterwm keyboard shortcuts are unusable.

Offline

#644 2012-06-09 12:49:51

Cloudef
Member
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 636

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

kuraku wrote:

Have in mind that maybe it is up to my computer. I already told you that i'm unable to focus via mouse so maybe it is bug in debian and libs it use. I will recompile latest source in a few sec and i will test it during the next month (since there is no way to tell when i might expirience what i described to you).

In a nutshell: sometimes monsterwm stops responding to keyboard shortcuts. Maybe it is because i use this script since that is the only difference between my monsterwm usage and others (i think). I noticed that i'm able to use some shortcuts during that error so i'm able to go into tty1 (ctrl+alt+f1) but all monsterwm keyboard shortcuts are unusable.

Can you try copy the "CLICK_TO_FOCUS" parts of this commit https://github.com/Cloudef/monsterwm/co … 11d965f359 (lines 1191-1204) and see if it fixes your problem?
It did it for me, though I haven't commited this to multi-monitor branch since it might not be prober solution(?) at least I don't see why the original code din't work.

Last edited by Cloudef (2012-06-09 12:50:07)

Offline

#645 2012-06-09 14:48:53

kuraku
Member
From: planet Earth
Registered: 2012-01-03
Posts: 199

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Cloudef wrote:

Can you try copy the "CLICK_TO_FOCUS" parts of this commit https://github.com/Cloudef/monsterwm/co … 11d965f359 (lines 1191-1204) and see if it fixes your problem?
It did it for me, though I haven't commited this to multi-monitor branch since it might not be prober solution(?) at least I don't see why the original code din't work.

Yes, it actually works. Maybe this fix can be implemented into core this way instead of the original one?

Offline

#646 2012-06-12 00:35:01

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Cloudef's patch should be this (and should work):

diff --git a/monsterwm.c b/monsterwm.c
index 30f885c..3968f3a 100644
--- a/monsterwm.c
+++ b/monsterwm.c
@@ -888,15 +888,18 @@ void update_current(client *c) {
         XSetWindowBorderWidth(dis, c->win, (!head->next || c->isfullscrn
                     || (mode == MONOCLE && !ISFFT(c))) ? 0:BORDER_WIDTH);
         if (c != current) w[c->isfullscrn ? --fl:ISFFT(c) ? --ft:--n] = c->win;
-        if (CLICK_TO_FOCUS) XGrabButton(dis, Button1, None, c->win, True,
-               ButtonPressMask, GrabModeAsync, GrabModeAsync, None, None);
+        if (CLICK_TO_FOCUS) XGrabButton(dis, AnyButton, AnyModifier, c->win, True,
+                        ButtonPressMask, GrabModeAsync, GrabModeAsync, None, None);
     }
     XRestackWindows(dis, w, LENGTH(w));
 
     XSetInputFocus(dis, current->win, RevertToPointerRoot, CurrentTime);
     XChangeProperty(dis, root, netatoms[NET_ACTIVE], XA_WINDOW, 32,
                 PropModeReplace, (unsigned char *)&current->win, 1);
-    if (CLICK_TO_FOCUS) XUngrabButton(dis, Button1, None, current->win);
+    if (CLICK_TO_FOCUS) {
+        XUngrabButton(dis, AnyButton, AnyModifier, current->win);
+        grabbuttons(current);
+    }
 
     XSync(dis, False);
 }

but I can't see why the current code wouldn't work. It seems to be related to grabbing modifier keys along with buttons.
I don't think it's related to Button1 as the check if that's the pressed button is done (and passes with that patch) elsewhere.

that means that this:

diff --git a/monsterwm.c b/monsterwm.c
index 30f885c..ee6d888 100644
--- a/monsterwm.c
+++ b/monsterwm.c
@@ -888,15 +888,18 @@ void update_current(client *c) {
         XSetWindowBorderWidth(dis, c->win, (!head->next || c->isfullscrn
                     || (mode == MONOCLE && !ISFFT(c))) ? 0:BORDER_WIDTH);
         if (c != current) w[c->isfullscrn ? --fl:ISFFT(c) ? --ft:--n] = c->win;
-        if (CLICK_TO_FOCUS) XGrabButton(dis, Button1, None, c->win, True,
-               ButtonPressMask, GrabModeAsync, GrabModeAsync, None, None);
+        if (CLICK_TO_FOCUS) XGrabButton(dis, Button1, AnyModifier, c->win, True,
+                        ButtonPressMask, GrabModeAsync, GrabModeAsync, None, None);
     }
     XRestackWindows(dis, w, LENGTH(w));
 
     XSetInputFocus(dis, current->win, RevertToPointerRoot, CurrentTime);
     XChangeProperty(dis, root, netatoms[NET_ACTIVE], XA_WINDOW, 32,
                 PropModeReplace, (unsigned char *)&current->win, 1);
-    if (CLICK_TO_FOCUS) XUngrabButton(dis, Button1, None, current->win);
+    if (CLICK_TO_FOCUS) {
+        XUngrabButton(dis, Button1, AnyModifier, current->win);
+        grabbuttons(current);
+    }
 
     XSync(dis, False);
 }

should also work (grabbing Button1 instead of all buttons),

but this shouldn't:

diff --git a/monsterwm.c b/monsterwm.c
index 30f885c..add52ce 100644
--- a/monsterwm.c
+++ b/monsterwm.c
@@ -888,15 +888,18 @@ void update_current(client *c) {
         XSetWindowBorderWidth(dis, c->win, (!head->next || c->isfullscrn
                     || (mode == MONOCLE && !ISFFT(c))) ? 0:BORDER_WIDTH);
         if (c != current) w[c->isfullscrn ? --fl:ISFFT(c) ? --ft:--n] = c->win;
-        if (CLICK_TO_FOCUS) XGrabButton(dis, Button1, None, c->win, True,
-               ButtonPressMask, GrabModeAsync, GrabModeAsync, None, None);
+        if (CLICK_TO_FOCUS) XGrabButton(dis, AnyButton, None, c->win, True,
+                        ButtonPressMask, GrabModeAsync, GrabModeAsync, None, None);
     }
     XRestackWindows(dis, w, LENGTH(w));
 
     XSetInputFocus(dis, current->win, RevertToPointerRoot, CurrentTime);
     XChangeProperty(dis, root, netatoms[NET_ACTIVE], XA_WINDOW, 32,
                 PropModeReplace, (unsigned char *)&current->win, 1);
-    if (CLICK_TO_FOCUS) XUngrabButton(dis, Button1, None, current->win);
+    if (CLICK_TO_FOCUS) {
+        XUngrabButton(dis, AnyButton, None, current->win);
+        grabbuttons(current);
+    }
 
     XSync(dis, False);
 }

if those are corrent then it seems that the modifiers somehow affect how grabbing is done.
Also if this stands, I have no idea _why_ it stands big_smile but I can dig more into it.

However, I cant test those, as I'm not affected by the issue. If kuraku or Cloudef, or anyone whose CLICK_TO_FOCUS doesn't work, can test and report the results with those patches, would be great.
To apply those patches, one should copy paste the code to a file, say ctf.diff and then

 $ patch -p1 < ctf.diff  # apply the patch, then 
$ make                   # rebuild
$ sudo make install

all patches are created against the original code, so after making the changes,
to apply another patch you need to reset the changes (using git or patch again):

 $ git reset --hard  # discard the changes introduced by the patch 
 # or
 $ patch -R < ctf.diff

Last edited by c00kiemon5ter (2012-06-12 00:39:51)


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#647 2012-06-12 11:26:24

kuraku
Member
From: planet Earth
Registered: 2012-01-03
Posts: 199

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

c00kiemon5ter wrote:

Cloudef's patch should be this (and should work):

diff --git a/monsterwm.c b/monsterwm.c
index 30f885c..3968f3a 100644
--- a/monsterwm.c
+++ b/monsterwm.c
@@ -888,15 +888,18 @@ void update_current(client *c) {
         XSetWindowBorderWidth(dis, c->win, (!head->next || c->isfullscrn
                     || (mode == MONOCLE && !ISFFT(c))) ? 0:BORDER_WIDTH);
         if (c != current) w[c->isfullscrn ? --fl:ISFFT(c) ? --ft:--n] = c->win;
-        if (CLICK_TO_FOCUS) XGrabButton(dis, Button1, None, c->win, True,
-               ButtonPressMask, GrabModeAsync, GrabModeAsync, None, None);
+        if (CLICK_TO_FOCUS) XGrabButton(dis, AnyButton, AnyModifier, c->win, True,
+                        ButtonPressMask, GrabModeAsync, GrabModeAsync, None, None);
     }
     XRestackWindows(dis, w, LENGTH(w));
 
     XSetInputFocus(dis, current->win, RevertToPointerRoot, CurrentTime);
     XChangeProperty(dis, root, netatoms[NET_ACTIVE], XA_WINDOW, 32,
                 PropModeReplace, (unsigned char *)&current->win, 1);
-    if (CLICK_TO_FOCUS) XUngrabButton(dis, Button1, None, current->win);
+    if (CLICK_TO_FOCUS) {
+        XUngrabButton(dis, AnyButton, AnyModifier, current->win);
+        grabbuttons(current);
+    }
 
     XSync(dis, False);
 }

but I can't see why the current code wouldn't work. It seems to be related to grabbing modifier keys along with buttons.
I don't think it's related to Button1 as the check if that's the pressed button is done (and passes with that patch) elsewhere.

It works.

that means that this:

diff --git a/monsterwm.c b/monsterwm.c
index 30f885c..ee6d888 100644
--- a/monsterwm.c
+++ b/monsterwm.c
@@ -888,15 +888,18 @@ void update_current(client *c) {
         XSetWindowBorderWidth(dis, c->win, (!head->next || c->isfullscrn
                     || (mode == MONOCLE && !ISFFT(c))) ? 0:BORDER_WIDTH);
         if (c != current) w[c->isfullscrn ? --fl:ISFFT(c) ? --ft:--n] = c->win;
-        if (CLICK_TO_FOCUS) XGrabButton(dis, Button1, None, c->win, True,
-               ButtonPressMask, GrabModeAsync, GrabModeAsync, None, None);
+        if (CLICK_TO_FOCUS) XGrabButton(dis, Button1, AnyModifier, c->win, True,
+                        ButtonPressMask, GrabModeAsync, GrabModeAsync, None, None);
     }
     XRestackWindows(dis, w, LENGTH(w));
 
     XSetInputFocus(dis, current->win, RevertToPointerRoot, CurrentTime);
     XChangeProperty(dis, root, netatoms[NET_ACTIVE], XA_WINDOW, 32,
                 PropModeReplace, (unsigned char *)&current->win, 1);
-    if (CLICK_TO_FOCUS) XUngrabButton(dis, Button1, None, current->win);
+    if (CLICK_TO_FOCUS) {
+        XUngrabButton(dis, Button1, AnyModifier, current->win);
+        grabbuttons(current);
+    }
 
     XSync(dis, False);
 }

should also work (grabbing Button1 instead of all buttons),

This does not work on my machine.


but this shouldn't:

diff --git a/monsterwm.c b/monsterwm.c
index 30f885c..add52ce 100644
--- a/monsterwm.c
+++ b/monsterwm.c
@@ -888,15 +888,18 @@ void update_current(client *c) {
         XSetWindowBorderWidth(dis, c->win, (!head->next || c->isfullscrn
                     || (mode == MONOCLE && !ISFFT(c))) ? 0:BORDER_WIDTH);
         if (c != current) w[c->isfullscrn ? --fl:ISFFT(c) ? --ft:--n] = c->win;
-        if (CLICK_TO_FOCUS) XGrabButton(dis, Button1, None, c->win, True,
-               ButtonPressMask, GrabModeAsync, GrabModeAsync, None, None);
+        if (CLICK_TO_FOCUS) XGrabButton(dis, AnyButton, None, c->win, True,
+                        ButtonPressMask, GrabModeAsync, GrabModeAsync, None, None);
     }
     XRestackWindows(dis, w, LENGTH(w));
 
     XSetInputFocus(dis, current->win, RevertToPointerRoot, CurrentTime);
     XChangeProperty(dis, root, netatoms[NET_ACTIVE], XA_WINDOW, 32,
                 PropModeReplace, (unsigned char *)&current->win, 1);
-    if (CLICK_TO_FOCUS) XUngrabButton(dis, Button1, None, current->win);
+    if (CLICK_TO_FOCUS) {
+        XUngrabButton(dis, AnyButton, None, current->win);
+        grabbuttons(current);
+    }
 
     XSync(dis, False);
 }

This is not working too.


I am trying this on monocleborders and only that branch since i dont use any other one nor i need any other.

Offline

#648 2012-06-12 18:34:06

Cloudef
Member
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 636

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

@c00kie, I thought about the same thing (AnyModifier + button1) and had that even for one moment in personal branch, but it din't work either. It's some weird Xorg bugs I guess.

Offline

#649 2012-06-12 19:29:03

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Yeah, that's weird :S I'll see if I can dig anything from their bugtracker or ml.

On other news, Matus Telgarsky had sent me (like 3 months ago) a nice tiny pager-bar for monsterwm. I've set up a repo for it, made some changes and added a makefile and readme with basic instructions on how to use it.
It displays a slim bar, divided in #desktops one has, and the active desktop part is colored.
Each desktop part of the bar, also places markers on it, to show the #windows on that desktop.

I think it's nice, minimal and useful on netbooks with small screens, where a statusbar would take more space. On the otherside, a statusbar can show more info, like, the date and time. But if one doesn't really care about that, and doesn't need to 'see' desktop "names" and window "numbers", the slim bar does a good visual job.

The repo is here

Last edited by c00kiemon5ter (2012-06-12 19:30:07)


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#650 2012-06-12 19:59:34

mloskot
Member
From: London, United Kingdom
Registered: 2012-06-01
Posts: 86
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

c00kiemon5ter wrote:
http://cloc.sourceforge.net v 1.55  T=0.5 s (4.0 files/s, 1582.0 lines/s)
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Language                     files          blank        comment           code
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
C                                1             88             30            586
C/C++ Header                     1              8             22             57
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------
SUM:                             2             96             52            643
-------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Looks suckless indeed, nice.
What I'm missing is "Motivation" section in the README.md, to have an overview of how it is different to other numerous "dynamic tiling window manager" projects.


Mateusz Loskot | github | archlinux-config
Arch (x86-64) | ThinkPad T400  | Intel P8600| Intel i915
Arch (x86-64) | ThinkPad W700 | Intel T9600 | NVIDIA Quadro FX 2700M

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB