You are not logged in.

#876 2012-08-22 19:54:37

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

firecat53 wrote:

Edit: Feature request -- uselessgaps patch for xinerama?

you can do this as:

$ git clone https://..../monsterwm.git
$ git checkout xinerama-init  # the branch you want
$ git cherry-pick origin/uselessgaps
$ make
$ $EDITOR config.h  # customize
$ sudo make install

so done! tongue

Last edited by c00kiemon5ter (2012-08-22 19:56:07)


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#877 2012-08-22 20:09:22

firecat53
Member
From: Lake Stevens, WA, USA
Registered: 2007-05-14
Posts: 1,542
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Oh. hmm I thought I had to checkout xinerama-init and then then just merge the uselessgaps branch...which obviously didn't work out for me. <sigh> So much still to learn about git. Should the README be updated? Is the cherry-pick only for the xinerama branches?

Thanks!
Scott

Offline

#878 2012-08-23 13:30:18

null
Member
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 398

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

I just tried monsterwm today and like it so far. But I ran into a problem which is maybe a bug:

I got the following in my config.h:

    {  MOD1,             XK_a,          spawn,             {.com = menucmd}},
    {  MOD1,             0x79,          spawn,             {.com = menucmd}},

where 0x79 is the y key. I tried with both. Mod1+a starts dmenu without any trouble, Mod1+y (or 0x79) just doesn't work.
I've got a German keyboard, so y is where the z is on English keyboards. Maybe that's the problem, because I've got no Mod1+XK_z key combination but I can't type z when Mod1 is pressed as I can't with any other letter I got in key combinations. But on the opposite if I press Mod1+y the y letter is typed.

Offline

#879 2012-08-23 20:05:42

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

c00kiemon5ter wrote:

I will push a fix once I get some free time to look more closely wink
If anyone is interested in hunting the bug, it's on grabbuttons() func

hey phil,
bah! cm-grace does all sort of non-conformant things tongue
I fixed the issue and will push in a bit -- PUSHED

firecat53 wrote:

Oh. hmm I thought I had to checkout xinerama-init and then then just merge the uselessgaps branch...which obviously didn't work out for me. <sigh> So much still to learn about git. Should the README be updated? Is the cherry-pick only for the xinerama branches?

yeah, maybe it's better to cherry-pick as long as that other branch adds up only one commit (which currently all do)

null wrote:

I just tried monsterwm today and like it so far. But I ran into a problem which is maybe a bug:

I got the following in my config.h:

    {  MOD1,             XK_a,          spawn,             {.com = menucmd}},
    {  MOD1,             0x79,          spawn,             {.com = menucmd}},

where 0x79 is the y key. I tried with both. Mod1+a starts dmenu without any trouble, Mod1+y (or 0x79) just doesn't work.
I've got a German keyboard, so y is where the z is on English keyboards. Maybe that's the problem, because I've got no Mod1+XK_z key combination but I can't type z when Mod1 is pressed as I can't with any other letter I got in key combinations. But on the opposite if I press Mod1+y the y letter is typed.

there was some discussion about this starting here. Does that help ? I would also try using 'XK_z' to be sure. I'm not sure what other wms do to fix this. Maybe I should look it up.

Last edited by c00kiemon5ter (2012-08-23 20:54:21)


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#880 2012-08-24 03:52:21

hellomynameisphil
Member
From: /home/phil/Vancouver
Registered: 2009-10-02
Posts: 257
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

c00kiemon5ter wrote:

hey phil,
bah! cm-grace does all sort of non-conformant things tongue
I fixed the issue and will push in a bit -- PUSHED

Great, thanks! Yes, Grace's windows aren't all that graceful. :-) One thing I noticed right away is that there is no WM_CLASS string. I'm sure there is more that I don't want to know. :-P

Still, thanks for wading in there and fixing the issue.

Offline

#881 2012-08-24 09:17:00

null
Member
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 398

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

c00kiemon5ter wrote:

there was some discussion about this starting here. Does that help ? I would also try using 'XK_z' to be sure. I'm not sure what other wms do to fix this. Maybe I should look it up.

Thanks for your reply! I already tried XK_z, but it didn't work. The discussion you linked gave me the idea to try 0x79 instead of XK_y but there isn't more of a solution. I would be very happy if you can fix this but I can use mod1+XK_a in the mean time I guess smile

Offline

#882 2012-08-24 11:04:50

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

hey null,

I just tried this, and seems to work here

-    {  MOD1,             XK_v,          spawn,             {.com = menucmd}},
+    {  MOD1,             0x79,          spawn,             {.com = menucmd}},

I set my .xinitrc to:

...
setxkbmap de
exec monsterwm

with 'setxkbmap de' I can see how 'z' is now 'y'
(ie pressing what 'z' is on my kbd, writes 'y')

xev output for the same button on different layouts:

    state 0x0, keycode 52 (keysym 0x7a, z), same_screen YES,   # with setxkbmap us
    state 0x0, keycode 52 (keysym 0x79, y), same_screen YES,   # with setxkbmap de

Alt+z (on english keyboard -- or 'Alt+y' on german keyboard) works

---- What's the catch! ----

This will work only if your kbd layout is 'de'!
If you have something like "grp:alt_shift_toggle" to toggle layouts between 'us' and 'de'
then if you're on 'us' layout, the shortcut will not work!!


Now, as '0x79' is actually 'y' you can replace it with 'XK_y' and it should work the same.
To make the shortcut work with the 'us' keymap, you should also define 'XK_z'

-    {  MOD1,             XK_v,          spawn,             {.com = menucmd}},
+    {  MOD1,             XK_y,          spawn,             {.com = menucmd}},
+    {  MOD1,             XK_z,          spawn,             {.com = menucmd}},

so, now 'Alt-z' and 'Alt-y' will work on both 'us' and 'de' layouts.
That is the behavior here.

So in conclusion what matters is in which layout you're in.

I got to go now, but I will probably look more into this when I'm back.
In the meanwhile, test with the last snippet.
Does defining both z and y to spawn dmenu work ?
It definitely works here and it doesnt matter if the layout is changed.


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#883 2012-08-24 12:28:07

null
Member
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 398

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

It was enough just to set the keyboard layout in .xinitrc with setxkbmap. Now everything is working like a charm. Thanks!

Offline

#884 2012-08-26 13:44:30

Knusperkeks
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2012-07-14
Posts: 26

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

I'm playing around with this wm and i'm loving it, thanks for this piece of software! big_smile
Because i wanted to hava a statusbar, i installed LemonBoy's bar, so far everything is fine. Now i wanted to use conky to put systeminformation into the bar and found a script in the thread here. But it seems not to work as intended, because now, using conky to output data to the bar, the data from monsterwm isn't refreshed any more sad
When i disable conky again, everything works fine... If anyone could help me, it would be great smile

Greetings,
Knusperkeks

Offline

#885 2012-08-26 13:53:29

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

hi, post your script that feeds TheLemonBar and we'll have a look wink


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#886 2012-08-26 14:10:46

Knusperkeks
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2012-07-14
Posts: 26

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

OK, for the this the script feeding LemonBar:

ff="/tmp/monsterwm.fifo"
[[ -p $ff ]] || mkfifo -m 0600 "$ff"

ff2="/tmp/monsterwm2.fifo"
[[ -p $ff2 ]] || mkfifo -m 0600 "$ff2"

conky | while read -r; do echo "$REPLY" > "$ff2"; done &

# desktop names
ds=("web" "dev" "foo" "null")

# layout names
ms=("T" "M" "B" "G" "F")

while read -t 60 -r wmout || true; do
    if [[ $wmout =~ ^(([[:digit:]]+:)+[[:digit:]]+ ?)+$ ]]; then
        read -ra desktops <<< "$wmout" && unset r
        for desktop in "${desktops[@]}"; do
            IFS=':' read -r d w m c u <<< "$desktop"
            ((c)) && fg="\\f4" i="${ms[$m]}" || fg="\\f3"
            ((u)) && w+='\f5!'
            r+="$fg${ds[$d]} ${w/#0/\\f8-} \\f3:: "
        done
        r="${r%::*}"
    fi

    printf "\\\l%s\\\r%s\n" "$r\\f5[\\f3$i\\f5]" "$(< "$ff2")"
done < "$ff" | bar &

# pass output to fifo
monsterwm > "$ff

Why can't i put conky's output directly in the named pipe? I tried a bit around, but it nothing worked...seems i really should start learning a bit bash scripting, would make life much easier...
And this is my conkyrc:

update_interval 60
out_to_x no
out_to_console yes

TEXT
< CPU: ${cpu cpu0}% - ${acpitemp}°C < RAM: ${mem} < WLAN: ${wireless_link_qual_perc wlan0}% - ${wireless_bitrate wlan0} < BAT: ${battery_percent}% - ${battery_time} < ${time %H:%M} < ${time %a, %d.%m.%Y}

Greetings,
Knusperkeks

Offline

#887 2012-08-26 19:00:16

mhertz
Member
From: Denmark
Registered: 2010-06-19
Posts: 681

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Hi there!

I've changed your script to work with the single named pipe and without delays in lemonman's bar:

ff="/tmp/monsterwm.fifo"
[[ -p $ff ]] || mkfifo -m 600 "$ff"

conky | while read -r; do echo "$REPLY" > "$ff"; done &

ds=("web" "dev" "foo" "null")

ms=("T" "M" "B" "G" "F")

while read -t 60 -r wmout || true; do
	[[ $wmout =~ ^\<.*\<.*\<.*\<.*\<.*\<.*$ ]] && status=$wmout
    if [[ $wmout =~ ^(([[:digit:]]+:)+[[:digit:]]+ ?)+$ ]]; then
		unset r
        read -ra desktops <<< "$wmout"
        for desktop in "${desktops[@]}"; do
            IFS=':' read -r d w m c u <<< "$desktop"
            ((c)) && fg="\\f4" i="${ms[$m]}" || fg="\\f3"
            ((u)) && w+='\f5!'
            r+="$fg${ds[$d]} ${w/#0/\\f8-} \\f3:: "
        done
        r="${r%::*}"
    fi
    printf "\\\l%s\\\r%s\n" "$r\\f5[\\f3$i\\f5]" "$status"
done < "$ff" | bar &

monsterwm > "$ff"

Last edited by mhertz (2012-08-26 19:23:10)

Offline

#888 2012-08-26 21:49:05

Knusperkeks
Member
From: Germany
Registered: 2012-07-14
Posts: 26

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Thank you very much, seems to work fine now smile

Greetings
Knusperkeks

Offline

#889 2012-08-29 12:35:52

kuraku
Member
From: planet Earth
Registered: 2012-01-03
Posts: 202

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Can someone, please, take a little test with wine working under monsterwm? I Noticed that some apps are really messing up with window numbers. In short: they are creating a bunch of windows and they are making clutter on workspaces. I will have to retest using gnome/kde to see what the problem might be.

Offline

#890 2012-08-29 16:39:33

Šaran
Member
From: Bosnia
Registered: 2011-09-03
Posts: 407

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Office 2010 works just fine here.

Offline

#891 2012-08-29 23:11:56

Shinryuu
Member
From: /dev/urandom
Registered: 2010-02-27
Posts: 339

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Mhh, I haven't noticed any weird behaviour with wine.. well I rarely run anything with it.

Last edited by Shinryuu (2012-08-29 23:12:23)

Offline

#892 2012-09-01 09:37:49

null
Member
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 398

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Hey, after using monsterwm for a week now I can say it's really awesome and I'll stick with it for some time!
But I run over a little bug:
If I got several windows open in one tag and use the monocle layout after some window switches the windows are just starting to flicker. The only way to stop the flickering is to change the tag and going back.
I got no patches applied!

Offline

#893 2012-09-01 09:40:56

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Yeah, I have this noted, this is caused by FOLLOW_MOUSE.
If you set it to false then it's fixed.
I need to look into it, and maybe come up with a better way to implement follow-mouse.


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#894 2012-09-02 15:21:05

null
Member
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 398

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Thanks, didn't even use this functionality. Everything is fine now smile

Offline

#895 2012-09-03 03:41:33

hellomynameisphil
Member
From: /home/phil/Vancouver
Registered: 2009-10-02
Posts: 257
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

c00kiemon5ter wrote:

hey phil,
bah! cm-grace does all sort of non-conformant things tongue
I fixed the issue and will push in a bit -- PUSHED

Speaking of Grace, how would one set up a rule on windows which have no WM_CLASS string in their X properties? I tried "" as the class, but the rule then seems to match *all* windows.

Offline

#896 2012-09-03 10:51:51

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

well, nothing you can do really.
I opened a bug report on sourceforge about it.


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

#897 2012-09-03 11:32:44

hellomynameisphil
Member
From: /home/phil/Vancouver
Registered: 2009-10-02
Posts: 257
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Tanks, I figured I was prolly out of luck.Tanks for the bug report.

Offline

#898 2012-09-04 13:19:18

Shinryuu
Member
From: /dev/urandom
Registered: 2010-02-27
Posts: 339

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

I also wrote this information to bar thread but I'll post it here too because Cookie has a fork of LemonBoy's bar.

Shinryuu wrote:

There are couple of weird things I can't seem to figure out at all. Overline/underline doesn't work, it just draws a background colored line across the whole bar. Also BAR_BOTTOM doesn't seem to work until you use "bar -b" command. I can't find any errors sad

Last edited by Shinryuu (2012-09-04 13:19:34)

Offline

#899 2012-09-04 17:44:34

Shinryuu
Member
From: /dev/urandom
Registered: 2010-02-27
Posts: 339

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

Can anyone else confirm this? I have really interesting problem with Medit, when I press CTRL+O (or from menu) to open something I can't see the box, but yeah it still exists because Medit loses focus and I get an extra number in to my panel. Also I tried to move things around with shortcuts and different layout modes but it still won't appear. This happened with Deadbeef (CTRL+O) too but I was able to fix it by resetting it's settings. Ding! I'm on latest monsterwm (master branch). This have been around for quite a while, thanks.

Last edited by Shinryuu (2012-09-04 17:46:02)

Offline

#900 2012-09-04 20:00:02

c00kiemon5ter
Member
From: Greece
Registered: 2010-06-01
Posts: 562
Website

Re: monsterwm! ~ yet another tiny wm

try 'Mod4+h' (most probable) or 'Mod4+l'
I have a feeling that the window is there, but off-screen.
I will look into it, see why it's doing that.

edit: dunno, very weird behavior.

the first time the open-window gets off-screen. It is also marked as transient, ie it won't be tiled.
after the first time the open-window will spawn in the position it was last placed.
medit is storing some files under '~/.local/share/medit-1/' and '~/.cache/medit-1'
if you delete those, it seems to restore those settings,
ie the open-window will be centered on top of the medit main window..

Last edited by c00kiemon5ter (2012-09-04 20:10:37)


.:[ git me! ] :.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB