You are not logged in.

#501 2013-06-16 08:46:19

Lockheed
Member
Registered: 2010-03-16
Posts: 1,427

Re: 3x+ battery life

I stopped updating powerdown package months ago, because every time it overwritten my hard tuned custom settings (extremely annoying).
I recently had to temporarily remove the package, but I kept my scripts. I reinstated them afterwards, but they won't run anymore because

/bin/powerup: line 9: /usr/lib/powerdown-functions: No such file or directory
/bin/powerup: line 11: lock: command not found
opt: Too many positional arguments specified!
Can specify at most 1 positional arguments: See: opt -help
opt: Too many positional arguments specified!
Can specify at most 1 positional arguments: See: opt -help
opt: Too many positional arguments specified!
Can specify at most 1 positional arguments: See: opt -help
opt: Too many positional arguments specified!
Can specify at most 1 positional arguments: See: opt -help
opt: Too many positional arguments specified!
Can specify at most 1 positional arguments: See: opt -help
opt: Too many positional arguments specified!

So I tried to install powerdown package again, but it no longer exists in AUR.

Any clues?


Laptop: ThinkPad W500, C2D P9500, 8GB, Radeon RV635 (HD3650), Arch | Server/fw: Zotac AQ01, A4-5000 Kabini, 4GB, Arch/pfSense VM

Offline

#502 2013-06-16 08:47:55

JoKo
Member
Registered: 2010-04-09
Posts: 37

Re: 3x+ battery life

Lockheed wrote:

So I tried to install powerdown package again, but it no longer exists in AUR.

Any clues?

It goes under the name powerdown-git these days...

Offline

#503 2013-06-16 09:21:57

Lockheed
Member
Registered: 2010-03-16
Posts: 1,427

Re: 3x+ battery life

Is it still based on settings hardcodded into the executables, or does it have conf files now?


Laptop: ThinkPad W500, C2D P9500, 8GB, Radeon RV635 (HD3650), Arch | Server/fw: Zotac AQ01, A4-5000 Kabini, 4GB, Arch/pfSense VM

Offline

#504 2013-06-16 15:16:43

OdinEidolon
Member
From: Belluno - Italy
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 315

Re: 3x+ battery life

Well when you update powerdown just copy the old executables (powerup, powerdown, powernow) and after the update merge the differences between the old files (modified by you) and the new files. It's not that bad, for 3 files, it takes 2 minutes.


Hardware: 2016 Dell XPS15 - FullHD - i5-6300HQ - 8GB DDR4 - Nvidia GTX960M - Samsung 840EVO 250GB SSD - 56Wh
Software: Plasma 5 - rEFInd - linux-ck - preload - prelink - verynice - psd - bumblebee

Offline

#505 2013-06-16 15:25:10

Lockheed
Member
Registered: 2010-03-16
Posts: 1,427

Re: 3x+ battery life

Thanks, it wasn't an answer to my question.

The real answer is: NO, because regardless of months that passed since people pointed out this obvious and massive fault,  the script is still using a ridiculously perishable way of storing settings.

Yes, it is THAT bad. I won't go through the list of updates every time I update my system, just to see if this time I need to get down and dirty just to be able to update it.

Therefore
IgnorePkg   =  powerdown-git


Laptop: ThinkPad W500, C2D P9500, 8GB, Radeon RV635 (HD3650), Arch | Server/fw: Zotac AQ01, A4-5000 Kabini, 4GB, Arch/pfSense VM

Offline

#506 2013-06-16 15:30:03

OdinEidolon
Member
From: Belluno - Italy
Registered: 2011-01-31
Posts: 315

Re: 3x+ battery life

Yeah, sorry that was not an answer to your question exactly. But there's no reason to be rude...

I also IgnorePkg powerdown-git, I manually check for updates once every one or two months and update following the previous post I made.

If you don't like it, you can adopt and fork it. Or use another program with similar features:
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Tlp
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Laptop_Mode_Tools
https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/La … wer_saving

edit: I now notice you have a thinkpad, so just use TLP and forget it IMHO...

Last edited by OdinEidolon (2013-06-16 15:31:21)


Hardware: 2016 Dell XPS15 - FullHD - i5-6300HQ - 8GB DDR4 - Nvidia GTX960M - Samsung 840EVO 250GB SSD - 56Wh
Software: Plasma 5 - rEFInd - linux-ck - preload - prelink - verynice - psd - bumblebee

Offline

#507 2013-06-16 15:37:52

Lockheed
Member
Registered: 2010-03-16
Posts: 1,427

Re: 3x+ battery life

I was being factual, not rude.
Thanks for the tip on TLP. I haven't heard of it before. I'll need to read on it.


Laptop: ThinkPad W500, C2D P9500, 8GB, Radeon RV635 (HD3650), Arch | Server/fw: Zotac AQ01, A4-5000 Kabini, 4GB, Arch/pfSense VM

Offline

#508 2013-06-16 15:48:28

Unia
Member
From: The Netherlands
Registered: 2010-03-30
Posts: 2,469
Website

Re: 3x+ battery life

Lockheed wrote:

I was being factual, not rude.

Factual how? It's a matter of choise, from Taylorchu's point of view he is providing everyone a sane set of optimized values. Nothing stops you from implement a configuration file yourself, it's not that hard. You can also fork the project, add your changes and keep it in sync with Taylorchu's repo.

There are better ways to contribute than to be factual rude.


If you can't sit by a cozy fire with your code in hand enjoying its simplicity and clarity, it needs more work. --Carlos Torres

Offline

#509 2013-06-16 15:49:07

jakob
Member
From: Berlin
Registered: 2005-10-27
Posts: 419

Re: 3x+ battery life

Lockheed wrote:

I was being factual, not rude.
Thanks for the tip on TLP. I haven't heard of it before. I'll need to read on it.

If you're searching for something that's also capable of dimming your screen, ftw might also be an interesting option.

Offline

#510 2013-06-16 18:15:10

Lockheed
Member
Registered: 2010-03-16
Posts: 1,427

Re: 3x+ battery life

Unia wrote:

Factual how? Nothing stops you from implement a configuration file yourself, it's not that hard.

....    Read again what I wrote. I didn't say I have problems changing the default values, but I have huge problems if the package overwrites my custom values on every update. If you think there is nothing wrong in it, then perhaps we have a very different perception of sane development.


jakob wrote:

If you're searching for something that's also capable of dimming your screen, ftw might also be an interesting option.

Actually, I already have that in my custom powerdown script. I might just copy it, or use it in parallel.

Last edited by Lockheed (2013-06-17 07:52:13)


Laptop: ThinkPad W500, C2D P9500, 8GB, Radeon RV635 (HD3650), Arch | Server/fw: Zotac AQ01, A4-5000 Kabini, 4GB, Arch/pfSense VM

Offline

#511 2013-06-17 02:30:49

taylorchu
Member
Registered: 2010-08-09
Posts: 405

Re: 3x+ battery life

@everyone
new release!
* fix for power consumption by stev47
* some bash script clean up
* move to /usr/bin
* !!customization via /etc/power{down,up}: just throw in any scripts in the directories. they will be run one by one..

how to create extension for powerdown
1. source /usr/lib/powerdown-functions
2. because all extensions are run in the end, they can override any powerdown/up behavior.
3. you can keep your own config there. and please update update update!

PS. for someone that experiences many runs of powerdown:
this problem does not appear for me...at least 4 arch systems.

Last edited by taylorchu (2013-06-17 02:32:24)


"After you do enough distro research, you will choose Arch."

Offline

#512 2013-06-24 19:44:37

djipey
Member
Registered: 2011-07-30
Posts: 78

Re: 3x+ battery life

Hi,

I have a question, is it normal that the parameter /sys/module/i915/parameters/i915_enable_rc6 is not set by powerdown/powerup ?
When one of these script is launched, the parameter is still at -1, its default value. All the other parameters seem to be modified. Any reason ?

Last edited by djipey (2013-06-24 21:08:56)

Offline

#513 2013-06-25 19:29:48

fawkes5
Member
From: Canada
Registered: 2012-12-23
Posts: 84

Re: 3x+ battery life

Have the binaries been moved to /usr/bin?

Offline

#514 2013-06-25 23:11:05

thesystematic
Member
Registered: 2013-02-08
Posts: 44

Re: 3x+ battery life

taylorchu wrote:

@everyone
new release!
* fix for power consumption by stev47
* some bash script clean up
* move to /usr/bin
* !!customization via /etc/power{down,up}: just throw in any scripts in the directories. they will be run one by one..

Offline

#515 2013-06-26 07:46:33

djipey
Member
Registered: 2011-07-30
Posts: 78

Re: 3x+ battery life

@fawkes5, yes, they are in /usr/bin. All the other commands work, except this one.

Offline

#516 2013-06-26 08:32:13

nierro
Member
From: Milan, Italy
Registered: 2011-09-02
Posts: 798

Re: 3x+ battery life

@djipey: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Po … ve_Options . User can no more enable rc6 runtime, it should be done from your bootloader.
Just to test, log in as root, and "echo 3 > /sys/module/i915/parameters/i915_enable_rc6", you should see the value isn't changed in that file after you've ran this command.

Offline

#517 2013-06-26 08:39:10

djipey
Member
Registered: 2011-07-30
Posts: 78

Re: 3x+ battery life

Yep, ok. So the script should be updated, right ? And this parameter should beset by the booloader.

Offline

#518 2013-06-26 14:52:50

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: 3x+ battery life

nierro wrote:

@djipey: https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Po … ve_Options . User can no more enable rc6 runtime, it should be done from your bootloader.
Just to test, log in as root, and "echo 3 > /sys/module/i915/parameters/i915_enable_rc6", you should see the value isn't changed in that file after you've ran this command.

I just want to note that it is not the bootloader that actually controls this option.  It is and option that is specified when the module is modprobed, so setting the options in /etc/modprobe.d should be enough. 

Also, just FYI, on newer hardware a least, i915_enable_rc6 is set with a value of -1, which is actually equivalent to i915_enable_rc6=3 (rc6pp is turned off).

Offline

#519 2013-06-26 14:59:20

nierro
Member
From: Milan, Italy
Registered: 2011-09-02
Posts: 798

Re: 3x+ battery life

Obviously it is not set by bootloader smile It is related to the kernel module i915. As you said, it can probably be done through a modprobe.d file, but there is no reason to do that, while you can achieve the same result with just a string in kernel's bootloader line.

Also, just FYI, on newer hardware a least, i915_enable_rc6 is set with a value of -1, which is actually equivalent to i915_enable_rc6=3 (rc6pp is turned off).

Thanks for pointing it out, i did not know about this!

Offline

#520 2013-06-26 15:10:10

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: 3x+ battery life

I wasn't trying to post to inform you, but rather potential others that might read this thread in the future.

nierro wrote:

...there is no reason to do that, while you can achieve the same result with just a string in kernel's bootloader line.

I disagree here, though not to say you are by any means wrong. I think there is more to the story  Sure the kernel command line is one way you can do it, and a legitimate one at that.  But many modules have power saving options which can be included at load time.  So once you start to get a number of changes going to various modules, your kernel command line is going to start to look unwieldy. 

I just think it is a good idea to know how to do both.  I have several files in /etc/modprobe.d confguring a few things (including a file of blacklists), and then I use the kernel command line to potenitally change these options at run time if I so desire.

Last edited by WonderWoofy (2013-06-26 15:27:38)

Offline

#521 2013-06-26 17:51:17

donniezazen
Member
From: Salt Lake City
Registered: 2011-06-24
Posts: 671
Website

Re: 3x+ battery life

WonderWoofy wrote:

Also, just FYI, on newer hardware a least, i915_enable_rc6 is set with a value of -1, which is actually equivalent to i915_enable_rc6=3 (rc6pp is turned off).

Is the value of 1 no longer applicable and -1 is default for power saving?

WonderWoofy wrote:

But many modules have power saving options which can be included at load time.  So once you start to get a number of changes going to various modules, your kernel command line is going to start to look unwieldy. 

I just think it is a good idea to know how to do both.  I have several files in /etc/modprobe.d configuring a few things (including a file of blacklists), and then I use the kernel command line to potentially change these options at run time if I so desire.

I suppose resume=/dev/sdXY still goes in /etc/default/grub.

And all other options can be put in a line separated .conf file in /etc/modprobe.d/.

Offline

#522 2013-06-26 21:22:43

WonderWoofy
Member
From: Los Gatos, CA
Registered: 2012-05-19
Posts: 8,412

Re: 3x+ battery life

donniezazen wrote:

Is the value of 1 no longer applicable and -1 is default for power saving?

# systool -m i915 -av 

The above will give you all the parameter settings of i915.

And all other options can be put in a line separated .conf file in /etc/modprobe.d/.

Keep in mind, that this is just personal preference.  I just feel like if there are native ways of doing things within the filesystem, I like to use those instead of the kernel command line where appopriate.  I just didn't want someone to come along and read this thread thinking that was the only way yo go about loading module parameters.

Offline

#523 2013-07-06 21:04:43

cris9288
Member
Registered: 2013-01-07
Posts: 347

Re: 3x+ battery life

This has probably been discussed, but I am curious as to why pacman doesn't generate .pacnew files for powerup, powerdown, and powernow when updating. The wiki doesn't say anything about pacman ignoring AUR packages when deciding whether to generate these types of files.

EDIT: Now that I think about it, I guess it's kind of pointless since you can view the new scripts after makepkg completes, assuming you don't run it with the -i switch.

Last edited by cris9288 (2013-07-06 21:08:44)

Offline

#524 2013-07-06 21:46:04

karol
Archivist
Registered: 2009-05-06
Posts: 25,423

Re: 3x+ battery life

You have add the files you want to be backed up (which means pacnew / pacsave files may be created upon update) to backup array in the PKGBUILD.

Offline

#525 2013-07-24 21:53:06

hazote
Member
Registered: 2013-07-24
Posts: 5

Re: 3x+ battery life

hi,
very good job, I win about 2 hour without do anything more that follow the first post !

only one probleme: on powerup or down,  i get :

powerdown cannot run mount -o remount,relatime /dev/sda1
[powerdown] cannot run mount -o remount,relatime /dev/sda4
[powerdown] cannot write 0 to /sys/module/i915/parameters/i915_enable_rc6.

sda1 and 4 is ntfs partition.
but for the i915??

grep name /proc/cpuinfo
model name      : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2430M CPU @ 2.40GHz
model name      : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2430M CPU @ 2.40GHz
model name      : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2430M CPU @ 2.40GHz
model name      : Intel(R) Core(TM) i5-2430M CPU @ 2.40GHz
cat /sys/module/i915/parameters/i915_enable_rc6
-1

so i have I915, right ?
why i got this error ?
thanks

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB