You are not logged in.

#151 2014-10-19 23:05:28

0strodamus
Member
Registered: 2014-01-22
Posts: 90

Re: kalu: Keeping Arch Linux Up-to-date

Thanks for bringing the work-around to my attention. Kalu looks normal again. smile


archlinux | OpenRC | TOMOYO Linux | Xfce

"In his house at R'lyeh dead Cthulhu waits dreaming."

Offline

#152 2014-12-19 15:44:45

nomorewindows
Member
Registered: 2010-04-03
Posts: 3,249

Re: kalu: Keeping Arch Linux Up-to-date

Any way to make kalu update other roots (diskless, different architectures) at the same time as main root?


I may have to CONSOLE you about your usage of ridiculously easy graphical interfaces...
Look ma, no mouse.

Offline

#153 2014-12-19 18:10:47

jjacky
Member
Registered: 2011-11-09
Posts: 347
Website

Re: kalu: Keeping Arch Linux Up-to-date

Not sure what you mean, but kalu's updater simply does a sysupgrade operation (similar to -Syu) using the ALPM configuration from the file specified on config (default: /etc/pacman.conf)

As for a way to specify e.g. a different root much like pacman's --root, nope it's not possible. And if you need such things, you probably want to use pacman, kalu's updater is meant for usual/regular sysupgrade operations, for anything more specific/out of the ordinary, pacman is likely to be a better option.

Offline

#154 2014-12-19 19:18:26

nomorewindows
Member
Registered: 2010-04-03
Posts: 3,249

Re: kalu: Keeping Arch Linux Up-to-date

A root can be specified in pacman.conf, but not multiple as far as I know.  I can use kalu to keep me up on the main system, and I have linked in so that I can save bandwidth with shared architecture with the main root.  I update the main root, and then pacman -Su the same architecture different route.  By default, it uses the main package cache of the main root.  Still have to update the package database for all other architectures with different roots.


I may have to CONSOLE you about your usage of ridiculously easy graphical interfaces...
Look ma, no mouse.

Offline

#155 2014-12-19 19:59:37

jjacky
Member
Registered: 2011-11-09
Posts: 347
Website

Re: kalu: Keeping Arch Linux Up-to-date

Sounds to me like you can indeed use kalu to handle your "main system," but for the rest using (a script calling) pacman is still best. Note that you could have such a script ran automatically by kalu after a sysupgrade, if you wanted to always update everything at the same time.

(I guess you could try to use another kalu instance with a different configuration (there's no option for that, but starting w/ the next version kalu will use $XDG_CONFIG_HOME/kalu as its config dir) but that doesn't really sound like a good solution to me.)

Offline

#156 2014-12-20 15:42:21

adam777
Member
Registered: 2012-05-28
Posts: 161

Re: kalu: Keeping Arch Linux Up-to-date

Hello, jjacky.
With pacman 4.2.0 out in [testing], can we expect an updated kalu version soon?
Thanks.

Offline

#157 2014-12-20 18:09:38

jjacky
Member
Registered: 2011-11-09
Posts: 347
Website

Re: kalu: Keeping Arch Linux Up-to-date

Of course! As a matter of fact, I released kalu 3.0.0 just about now. I haven't yet updated the AUR, I'll do that once pacman-4.2 hits core, but here's a PKGBUILD for it.

Offline

#158 2014-12-21 05:30:54

adam777
Member
Registered: 2012-05-28
Posts: 161

Re: kalu: Keeping Arch Linux Up-to-date

jjacky wrote:

Of course! As a matter of fact, I released kalu 3.0.0 just about now. I haven't yet updated the AUR, I'll do that once pacman-4.2 hits core, but here's a PKGBUILD for it.

Thanks!

Offline

#159 2014-12-29 18:47:39

nomorewindows
Member
Registered: 2010-04-03
Posts: 3,249

Re: kalu: Keeping Arch Linux Up-to-date

This last update had me readd my user to kalu group.


I may have to CONSOLE you about your usage of ridiculously easy graphical interfaces...
Look ma, no mouse.

Offline

#160 2014-12-30 17:23:34

cars10
Member
Registered: 2014-03-11
Posts: 26

Re: kalu: Keeping Arch Linux Up-to-date

I cant do updates on my system right now.
It errors out saying kalu needs pacman <4.2

Offline

#161 2014-12-30 18:06:29

nomorewindows
Member
Registered: 2010-04-03
Posts: 3,249

Re: kalu: Keeping Arch Linux Up-to-date

cars10 wrote:

I cant do updates on my system right now.
It errors out saying kalu needs pacman <4.2

pacman -R kalu, then pacman -Syu, then remake kalu.


I may have to CONSOLE you about your usage of ridiculously easy graphical interfaces...
Look ma, no mouse.

Offline

#162 2015-03-22 07:03:34

agkbill
Member
Registered: 2011-06-13
Posts: 85

Re: kalu: Keeping Arch Linux Up-to-date

Hi,

I got kalu up and running very nicly on my Arch system using i3 wm.
However one small question regarding AUR.

When I hower the pointer I get info that say for example:

[kaly] last checked 49 minutes ago
2 AUR packages updated
10 watched AUR packages updated

That is fine, but when I look in the "Manage watched AUR packages" list I only se the 10 packages that I added to the list, all with version 0. Nothing about the 2 AUR updates. This list have never changed. The packages I added are all packages that I have installed. For testing I added around half of the AUR packages I have on my system.

Should I not se the versions of the package in the list? Version on the installed package and verson of avalible upgrade if any.

This is a minor thing, but I would like to understand how it suppose to work.

Thank you.

Best regards,
Christer

Offline

#163 2015-03-22 18:26:34

jjacky
Member
Registered: 2011-11-09
Posts: 347
Website

Re: kalu: Keeping Arch Linux Up-to-date

Those refer to 2 different things:

- 2 AUR packages updated: This means you currently have 2 packages installed on your system for which updates are available on the AUR. The way to make those disappear is to upgrade the packages to the latest version. This is similar to "regular" packages (from repos) only for AUR packages.

- 10 watched AUR packages updated: This does indeed refer to the list you maintain via "Manage watched AUR packages" Point of watched (AUR) package(s) is when you wanna keep an eye on (AUR) packages that you don't have installed on your system. You can either change the version number manually from the "Manage..." window, or from the notifications you can use the button "Mark packages..." to select which packages to automatically update their version numbers.

Hope this clears thing up.

Offline

#164 2015-03-22 18:57:05

agkbill
Member
Registered: 2011-06-13
Posts: 85

Re: kalu: Keeping Arch Linux Up-to-date

Thank you jjacky.

So the  "Manage watched AUR packages" list have nothing to do with AUR packages that are installed, it is a tool to keep an eye on uninstalled packages.
The place were I get notification about installed AUR packages updates is the notification when I hower the pointer over the Arch icon.

All the best,
Christre

Offline

#165 2015-03-22 20:29:33

jjacky
Member
Registered: 2011-11-09
Posts: 347
Website

Re: kalu: Keeping Arch Linux Up-to-date

Yes, you can in fact manage two lists: watched packages, and watched AUR packages. Both are meant to keep an eye on non-installed packages (from repos or AUR), for example because you recompile/repackage them yourself.

When you hover over the icon you get kalu's tooltip, with some info, but after kalu ran its checks you should get actual notifications, from your notification daemon that is, which may include more info and a button (e.g. "Mark packages..."). Obviously you need a notification daemon running to get those, e.g. notification-daemon or xfce4-notifyd.

Offline

#166 2015-04-21 10:32:49

adventurer
Member
Registered: 2014-05-04
Posts: 50

Re: kalu: Keeping Arch Linux Up-to-date

jjacky, I'm using delta updates with kalu following the instructions in the wiki. This works very well.

Just one observation: When kalu downloads the delta packages, there is no progress bar, and once downloaded, the delta packages are not colored blue in the download column (contrary to non-delta packages). This is certainly no big deal but ... well ... a visual inconsistency, IMO, which can be a bit irritating at times.

Thanks again for kalu!

Last edited by adventurer (2015-04-21 10:36:47)

Offline

#167 2015-04-21 21:07:09

jjacky
Member
Registered: 2011-11-09
Posts: 347
Website

Re: kalu: Keeping Arch Linux Up-to-date

Oh, interesting. Yeah, kalu uses filenames to get the package name & version in order to locate the row and show progress/change color, but with delta updates I'm guessing filenames aren't as expected and, as a result, it fails to find the row and you get no feedback. Not ideal indeed...

Thanks for the report, I'll have to look at this; I've never used delta myself, not sure how files are named or how this works at all.

Offline

#168 2015-04-22 13:04:37

adventurer
Member
Registered: 2014-05-04
Posts: 50

Re: kalu: Keeping Arch Linux Up-to-date

jjacky wrote:

but with delta updates I'm guessing filenames aren't as expected

Yes, indeed, they have the delta suffix, see http://delta.archlinux.fr/pool-delta/

Thanks for the report, I'll have to look at this; I've never used delta myself, not sure how files are named or how this works at all.

Thanks for looking into this.

EDIT: As a general remark, I think delta updates is worth a try, particularly if your internet connection is not very fast. For some packages the reduction in download size is really dramatic.

Last edited by adventurer (2015-04-22 13:08:48)

Offline

#169 2015-04-27 18:02:58

jjacky
Member
Registered: 2011-11-09
Posts: 347
Website

Re: kalu: Keeping Arch Linux Up-to-date

Okay, I've just pushed a branch delta to github, which should handle feedback when downloading deltas correctly; if you could please try it & tell me whether or not it works. You can simply use the PKGBUILD from kalu-git, onyl making sure to switch the branch name from next to delta.

Offline

#170 2015-04-28 11:13:28

adventurer
Member
Registered: 2014-05-04
Posts: 50

Re: kalu: Keeping Arch Linux Up-to-date

jjacky wrote:

Okay, I've just pushed a branch delta to github, which should handle feedback when downloading deltas correctly; if you could please try it & tell me whether or not it works. You can simply use the PKGBUILD from kalu-git, onyl making sure to switch the branch name from next to delta.

Thanks a lot, Olivier! I installed it. Will test it for a while and report how it goes.

Offline

#171 2015-05-01 10:36:16

adventurer
Member
Registered: 2014-05-04
Posts: 50

Re: kalu: Keeping Arch Linux Up-to-date

@jjacky: The delta branch works flawlessly for me. The progress bar also appears for delta packages, and they are colored blue once downloaded. Thanks a lot again, Olivier!

Offline

#172 2015-05-01 16:38:12

jjacky
Member
Registered: 2011-11-09
Posts: 347
Website

Re: kalu: Keeping Arch Linux Up-to-date

Alright, good to hear. I'll push that to next when I get a chance then; Thanks.

Offline

#173 2015-07-02 16:34:33

brix
Member
Registered: 2014-05-26
Posts: 68

Re: kalu: Keeping Arch Linux Up-to-date

Since today's upgrade of polkit (0.112-3 -> 0.112-4), it seems kalu won't accept the usual password when authorizing an upgrade ("Failed to initialize Authorization from PolicyKit failed").

[edit]
(facepalm) SOLVED: Works again after a reboot.

Last edited by brix (2015-07-02 17:18:34)


Enough is more.

Offline

#174 2015-09-21 19:31:37

0strodamus
Member
Registered: 2014-01-22
Posts: 90

Re: kalu: Keeping Arch Linux Up-to-date

Today kalu started segfaulting (error 4 in libc-2.22.so) on me. I traced it down to an AUR package update that was posted today. The AUR package is pluma-plugins which I have in my watched-aur.conf file. I'm not sure exactly why this package update is triggering the segfault, but the package is the only one in my watched-aur.conf file that contains an epoch. Once I manually edited pluma-plugins=1:1.8.0-1 to pluma-plugins=1:1.8.0-2, the segfaults stopped.


archlinux | OpenRC | TOMOYO Linux | Xfce

"In his house at R'lyeh dead Cthulhu waits dreaming."

Offline

#175 2015-09-23 09:13:18

jjacky
Member
Registered: 2011-11-09
Posts: 347
Website

Re: kalu: Keeping Arch Linux Up-to-date

Right, not good. Turns out it has nothing to do with epoch, but with the fact that it has no description.

Anyhow, fixed in git (so you can use kalu-git to be good).
Thanks!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB