You are not logged in.

#226 2012-04-05 19:15:59

rasat
Forum Fellow
From: Finland, working in Romania
Registered: 2002-12-27
Posts: 2,183
Website

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

jackgu1988 wrote:

yeah, sounds like a good plan, though it will take a month or so until gnome 3.4.1.

New stable release 3.4.1 on 18 April:
http://live.gnome.org/ThreePointThree

Offline

#227 2012-04-05 22:08:16

jackgu1988
Member
Registered: 2010-11-16
Posts: 39

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

rasat wrote:
jackgu1988 wrote:

yeah, sounds like a good plan, though it will take a month or so until gnome 3.4.1.

New stable release 3.4.1 on 18 April:
http://live.gnome.org/ThreePointThree

Glad to hear! Thanks

Offline

#228 2012-04-06 02:45:34

RJQ
Member
From: Los Angeles
Registered: 2010-06-25
Posts: 70
Website

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

Testing 3.4 now, everything seams smooth, about epiphany, is there a way to set a homepage? mine opens in a blank page, I wonder if this is normal. any comments are much appreciated.


Natural Spanish speaker person babbling English...
Natural Linux user babbling Archlinux...

Offline

#229 2012-04-06 05:24:21

bakerboy
Member
From: Manchester, UK
Registered: 2009-10-06
Posts: 23

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

Hi all,

My problem is that there is no battery indicator in the top panel anymore. I did:

[gordy@archbox ~]$ dmesg | grep battery
[   11.595405] ACPI: Battery Slot [BAT0] (battery present)


So I know the battery is present. Also the laptop wont suspend anymore when I close the lid.
The system is completely updated.

Thanks for any help,

Gordy

info: Gnome 3.4 all updated with Testing enabled.

Last edited by bakerboy (2012-04-06 05:25:29)

Offline

#230 2012-04-06 09:42:08

jackgu1988
Member
Registered: 2010-11-16
Posts: 39

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

bakerboy wrote:

Hi all,

My problem is that there is no battery indicator in the top panel anymore. I did:

[gordy@archbox ~]$ dmesg | grep battery
[   11.595405] ACPI: Battery Slot [BAT0] (battery present)


So I know the battery is present. Also the laptop wont suspend anymore when I close the lid.
The system is completely updated.

Thanks for any help,

Gordy

info: Gnome 3.4 all updated with Testing enabled.

I've got the same problem with 3.2. Laptop does not suspend when closing the lid. Make sure that on the gnome-tweak-tool you have enabled that option though. Mine is enabled but still nothing.

Offline

#231 2012-04-06 12:15:59

jackgu1988
Member
Registered: 2010-11-16
Posts: 39

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

bakerboy wrote:

Hi all,

My problem is that there is no battery indicator in the top panel anymore. I did:

[gordy@archbox ~]$ dmesg | grep battery
[   11.595405] ACPI: Battery Slot [BAT0] (battery present)


So I know the battery is present. Also the laptop wont suspend anymore when I close the lid.
The system is completely updated.

Thanks for any help,

Gordy

info: Gnome 3.4 all updated with Testing enabled.

I solved the problem for gnome 3.2, please check if this is the case for 3.4 as well. Xrandr thinks that the configuration file is /etc/gnome-settings-daemon/xrandr/monitors.xml (which in my case does not exist) so if you open dconf-editor and go to org.gnome.settings-daemon.plugins.xrandr and set the default-configuration-file to /home/username/.config/monitors.xml solves the problem (at least for me, when no external display is connected)

EDIT: I had to reboot to make it work

EDIT 2: acpid actually solves the problem as I explain below

Last edited by jackgu1988 (2012-04-07 03:17:46)

Offline

#232 2012-04-06 14:37:33

bakerboy
Member
From: Manchester, UK
Registered: 2009-10-06
Posts: 23

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

jackgu1988, I did change the directory path as you have suggested but it did not create a monitors.xml in my /home/gordy/.config. It still does not work or do I have a battery icon so there is no way of knowing how much battery life I have.

Thanks for the help so far.

Gordy

Offline

#233 2012-04-06 14:40:32

jackgu1988
Member
Registered: 2010-11-16
Posts: 39

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

bakerboy wrote:

jackgu1988, I did change the directory path as you have suggested but it did not create a monitors.xml in my /home/gordy/.config. It still does not work or do I have a battery icon so there is no way of knowing how much battery life I have.

Thanks for the help so far.

Gordy

Try running "find / -name monitors.xml" and it will give you the path if it exists. That's how I found that

Edit: Also try installing gnome-power-manager and upower. This might be the reason why lid close does not suspend and you see no battery icon (sorry forgot about the last one) smile After installing them search for monitors.xml

Last edited by jackgu1988 (2012-04-06 14:57:36)

Offline

#234 2012-04-06 15:19:06

bakerboy
Member
From: Manchester, UK
Registered: 2009-10-06
Posts: 23

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

I ran find / -name monitors.xml  but the file does not exist??? getting a bit confused now. I have gnome-power-manager and upower installed so I reinstalled these but still not luck. Any more ideas?

Thanks.

Offline

#235 2012-04-06 16:05:11

jackgu1988
Member
Registered: 2010-11-16
Posts: 39

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

bakerboy wrote:

I ran find / -name monitors.xml  but the file does not exist??? getting a bit confused now. I have gnome-power-manager and upower installed so I reinstalled these but still not luck. Any more ideas?

Thanks.

It might always be a bug. I am also running gnome 3.2 at the moment, so I can't be of much help. Maybe battery sign appears only when running on battery power? Also, are you running gdm or you start X manually? In the second case, check if you are using ck-launch-session and if not add it. Finally, try restarting dbus before starting X, may fix the issue.

Offline

#236 2012-04-06 16:24:27

bakerboy
Member
From: Manchester, UK
Registered: 2009-10-06
Posts: 23

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

It is possible it is a bug. Not heard anyone complaining about it so not so sure. For information I run dbus as one of the first Daemons in my /etc/rc.conf file. I use gdm to start Gnome. Thanks for trying, hopefully someone else will come up with something.

Offline

#237 2012-04-06 18:48:31

kimi2013
Member
From: OÖ/Wels
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 22

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

i had the same problem, when i close the lid it didnt suspend and it didnt show the battery. the .xsession-error file show the error - i think it was something about upower cant read ... not sure.  1 day later the update for upower comes out ->  version 0.9.15.2 - this version fix the problem for me.

sorry for my english.

kimi

Offline

#238 2012-04-06 19:20:11

bakerboy
Member
From: Manchester, UK
Registered: 2009-10-06
Posts: 23

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

Where did you get upower 0.9.15-2 from?  I can only find version 0.9.15-1

Here is my .xsession-error file. Seems to be loads of errors. Can anyone help me understand this file and tell me what is happening?

http://pastebin.com/bCSYceuH

Thanks.

I know upower is one of them.

Last edited by bakerboy (2012-04-06 19:21:43)

Offline

#239 2012-04-06 20:10:05

kimi2013
Member
From: OÖ/Wels
Registered: 2010-10-12
Posts: 22

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

i get this version from [gnome-unstable].

greetings

kimi

Last edited by kimi2013 (2012-04-06 20:12:09)

Offline

#240 2012-04-06 20:15:59

bakerboy
Member
From: Manchester, UK
Registered: 2009-10-06
Posts: 23

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

I would like to thank everyone who scratched their heads and helped me over this problem. I am glad to say the problem is now fixed. :-) The problem was libimobiledevice-git from aur. That would teach me to install a main package from AUR.  I removed libimobiledevice-git and just install libmobiledevice.

Gordy. :-)

Offline

#241 2012-04-06 20:45:38

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

kimi2013 wrote:

i get this version from [gnome-unstable].

greetings

kimi

do pacman -Suu


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.

Offline

#242 2012-04-07 02:32:31

kryo
Member
Registered: 2004-04-13
Posts: 40

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

bakerboy wrote:

Hi all,

My problem is that there is no battery indicator in the top panel anymore. I did:

[gordy@archbox ~]$ dmesg | grep battery
[   11.595405] ACPI: Battery Slot [BAT0] (battery present)


So I know the battery is present. Also the laptop wont suspend anymore when I close the lid.
The system is completely updated.

Thanks for any help,

Gordy

info: Gnome 3.4 all updated with Testing enabled.

Hi!

I had this problem with gnome 3.2.

I never did solve it and was hoping gnome 3.4 would cure the problem. It did not.

The solution (if you can call it that) is to delete or move '~/.config/dconf' directory and log out and in again.

Gnome will regenerate it with the defaults and you will lose all your gnome customizations and settings. That's the downside.

The upside is, you'll get your battery meter back, the screen backlight now turns off by itself after a specified amount of time.

To suspend on lid close, make sure you have 'gnome-power-manager' installed.

Hope this helps, and if anyone has the proper solution, please do post it. smile

Last edited by kryo (2012-04-07 02:33:51)

Offline

#243 2012-04-07 03:05:25

jackgu1988
Member
Registered: 2010-11-16
Posts: 39

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

kryo wrote:
bakerboy wrote:

Hi all,

My problem is that there is no battery indicator in the top panel anymore. I did:

[gordy@archbox ~]$ dmesg | grep battery
[   11.595405] ACPI: Battery Slot [BAT0] (battery present)


So I know the battery is present. Also the laptop wont suspend anymore when I close the lid.
The system is completely updated.

Thanks for any help,

Gordy

info: Gnome 3.4 all updated with Testing enabled.

Hi!

I had this problem with gnome 3.2.

I never did solve it and was hoping gnome 3.4 would cure the problem. It did not.

The solution (if you can call it that) is to delete or move '~/.config/dconf' directory and log out and in again.

Gnome will regenerate it with the defaults and you will lose all your gnome customizations and settings. That's the downside.

The upside is, you'll get your battery meter back, the screen backlight now turns off by itself after a specified amount of time.

To suspend on lid close, make sure you have 'gnome-power-manager' installed.

Hope this helps, and if anyone has the proper solution, please do post it. smile

OK I found the solution (for 3.2 at least). You have to install acpid and add it to your /etc/rc.conf. After reboot everything is fine. I don't know why it doesn't work without, but anyway, it is a workaround to get suspend on lid close. About the battery indicator, never had this issue so far, but deleting dconf is not that bad I guess since it is a one time thing only.

Offline

#244 2012-04-07 09:45:52

kryo
Member
Registered: 2004-04-13
Posts: 40

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

OK I found the solution (for 3.2 at least). You have to install acpid and add it to your /etc/rc.conf. After reboot everything is fine. I don't know why it doesn't work without, but anyway, it is a workaround to get suspend on lid close. About the battery indicator, never had this issue so far, but deleting dconf is not that bad I guess since it is a one time thing only.

I do have acpid in my rc.conf. It's only after installing gnome-power-manager that it "magically" sleeps on lid close. I couldn't find a setting for it at all. It just starts doing it afterwards.

Yes, deleting dconf isn't too bad, but it is annoying to have to set everything up again.

Last edited by kryo (2012-04-07 09:46:16)

Offline

#245 2012-04-07 12:08:30

jackgu1988
Member
Registered: 2010-11-16
Posts: 39

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

kryo wrote:

OK I found the solution (for 3.2 at least). You have to install acpid and add it to your /etc/rc.conf. After reboot everything is fine. I don't know why it doesn't work without, but anyway, it is a workaround to get suspend on lid close. About the battery indicator, never had this issue so far, but deleting dconf is not that bad I guess since it is a one time thing only.

I do have acpid in my rc.conf. It's only after installing gnome-power-manager that it "magically" sleeps on lid close. I couldn't find a setting for it at all. It just starts doing it afterwards.

Yes, deleting dconf isn't too bad, but it is annoying to have to set everything up again.

I guess then it depends on both. Try removing acpid and see if it works smile

Also, it is worse having to wait for extensions to be compatible every time a new version of gnome comes out. Not to mention the very buggy extensions.gnome.org which does not have all the extensions I am looking for ( I really love the mint shell extensions, especially the bottom panel - without it things are way too complicated) and is hard to search and find the extensions you need, but still it is the recommended way to install extensions.

Offline

#246 2012-04-07 15:37:10

OrangeRoot1000
Member
From: TN -- USA
Registered: 2008-08-07
Posts: 106
Website

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

UPDATE 4-7-2012:

I have done the following changes:

clutter-gtk downgrade extra
cheese reinstall
networkmanager downgrade extra -- fwiw I can now see network settings on the top left panel  in system settings

This also holds true for GOA and seeing the system settings, and actually being able to choose icons.
I can get Windows Live to show its directory, but the WL setup options are blank.
The Google settings can now be chosen but this area clocks, and I have to make it force quit.

I still can NOT choose any themes and once in a great while now. So not anywhere even close with the same frequency after changing the networkmanager the shell/Firefox quit/restart by themselves.

Other than those few minor, minor bugs Gnome 3.4 seems to be well baked for use. Thanks heftig, wonder, falcon and others. Good work on packaging this edition of Gnome for ArchLinux.

Last edited by OrangeRoot1000 (2012-04-07 15:39:24)

Offline

#247 2012-04-07 18:27:17

lasombra
Member
From: Luzern
Registered: 2011-09-01
Posts: 66

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

intgr wrote:
arash-m wrote:

I just upgraded my gnome to 3.4 but I cant open gnome-control-center. here is the error:

*** glibc detected *** gnome-control-center: free(): invalid pointer: 0x00007f2b5e3684d8 ***
======= Backtrace: =========
/lib/libc.so.6(+0x78e66)[0x7f2b7f4dce66]
/usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6(_ZNSs7reserveEm+0x6a)[0x7f2b68fd244a]
...
/usr/lib/libcogl.so.9(cogl_renderer_check_onscreen_template+0x69)[0x7f2b60a04129]
/usr/lib/libclutter-1.0.so.0(+0x2f5fd)[0x7f2b60ea65fd]
...

This regression occurs with clutter-gtk-1.2.0 or cheese-3.4.0. You can fix it by installing cheese from the extra repsitory:

pacman -S extra/cheese

Or downgrading clutter:

pacman -U /var/cache/pacman/pkg/clutter-gtk-1.0.4-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz

Here's the Arch Linux bug report: https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/29202

Thanks, this worked for me!

Offline

#248 2012-04-08 06:42:32

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

did anyone let know clutter-gtk upstream about this? please, do not solve isssues by downgrading packages, lets fix it for real by reporting everything upstream.


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.

Offline

#249 2012-04-08 09:45:43

kjell
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2012-03-26
Posts: 97

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

So, Installed Arch w/ Gnome 3.4 on my main laptop (dual with my Mint 12 Gnome 3.2 setup), and it works great.  I love the stock gnome shell experience, not some cluttered python infested hybrid setup that Mint is doing now .   Anyways,  the only issue I have ran into is this:   

In Gnome-contacts, I only get 2 contacts showing.  I'm using online accounts syncing with Google contacts, and they show in evolution, are searchable..but in the contact window itself, I only see people...weird problem, but I haven't found out why or a remedy.   Any suggestions?

Another thing is that Windows Live never logs in right, but I have that same problem in 3.2, so I'll assume something have changed on the m$ side (or some certificate issue).  Not  a big deal...

Thanks,

KTP

Offline

#250 2012-04-08 18:58:01

camp
Member
From: Vancouver BC
Registered: 2009-01-20
Posts: 16

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

Hm ... I found weird bug. In evolution doesn't work hot-keys as usual and also moving keys doesn't work as usual.

Last edited by camp (2012-04-08 21:20:30)

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB