You are not logged in.

#276 2012-04-09 21:37:55

icalper
Member
Registered: 2012-04-09
Posts: 2

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

kjell wrote:
icalper wrote:
kjell wrote:

Ok, the last icu [testing] update breaks it....go back to 4.8

Temporally solved by:

# ln -s /usr/lib/libicuuc.so.49 /usr/lib/libicuuc.so.48
# ln -s /usr/lib/libicui18n.so.49 /usr/lib/libicui18n.so.48

Dont want to downgrade icu because i have installed the latest version of LibreOffice and it requires icu >= 4.9

Check 2 posts above.

I just posted a solution for those who dont want to downgrade icu, just like me

Offline

#277 2012-04-09 21:39:56

kjell
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2012-03-26
Posts: 99

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

icalper wrote:
kjell wrote:
icalper wrote:

Temporally solved by:

# ln -s /usr/lib/libicuuc.so.49 /usr/lib/libicuuc.so.48
# ln -s /usr/lib/libicui18n.so.49 /usr/lib/libicui18n.so.48

Dont want to downgrade icu because i have installed the latest version of LibreOffice and it requires icu >= 4.9

Check 2 posts above.

I just posted a solution for those who dont want to downgrade icu, just like me

Yeah, but you don't have to downgrade...thats was the point..

Offline

#278 2012-04-10 08:25:45

camp
Member
From: Vancouver BC
Registered: 2009-01-20
Posts: 16

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

Another weird thing! I have Nvidia driver and Firefox 11.0. If I play video from youtube every person have color like smurf but If I play videos in different players everything is normal. So I did disable hw acceleration by right clicking and it's OK.

Last edited by camp (2012-04-10 08:42:29)

Offline

#279 2012-04-10 08:41:13

Javafant
Member
Registered: 2012-04-02
Posts: 19

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

camp wrote:

Another weird thing! I have Nvidia driver and Firefox 11.0. If I play video from youtube every person have color like smurf but If I play videos in different players everything is normal.

This is not a gnome bug. It's a bug with Flash-Player 11.2, you can try disabling hardware acceleration in the flash settings. This should fix your problem.

Offline

#280 2012-04-10 08:50:11

camp
Member
From: Vancouver BC
Registered: 2009-01-20
Posts: 16

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

I don't see any big bugs that crashing my desktop. It seems to work fine and without any problem for me. So when it's gonna be 3.4 in standard repo?

Offline

#281 2012-04-10 08:54:28

forumache
Member
From: Netherlands
Registered: 2011-09-02
Posts: 52

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

camp wrote:

I don't see any big bugs that crashing my desktop. It seems to work fine and without any problem for me. So when it's gonna be 3.4 in standard repo?

After 3.4.1 is released (it was mentioned on the previous page)

Offline

#282 2012-04-10 15:02:02

foobarrior
Member
Registered: 2012-03-11
Posts: 11

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

U know, that custom <Win-x> hotkeys are not working anymore.
That gnome just omits Win pressing, until it's single press.
First of all, the old ones are disappeared, but it's just because that settings migrated to dconf.
Ive tried hard to use <C-A-t> instead of regular and comfortable <Win-t> for terminal. But it is also somehow laggy..dunno, it's worked from time to time.
So tired of this sh*t you might google and do not fid anything, so you can then go serfing dconf-editor, thinking to workaround if something is just saving bad.

So you can find hotkeys config at 'org.gnome.settings-daemon.plugins.media-keys' and see the key called 'custom-keybindings' which is..what? yes it is a f*&king array of absolute paths!
Somebody should s@ck plenty of c@cks to make such a s@ckful design!
But okay, here they are, here are our hotkeys in the same named subdirectory. But uh, <Super>t is okay, but well lets try to chandge it to <Mod4>t, ah fu* this supid thing is not still going to work!!! BUM BUM BUM....aw

U know, as many as two terminas have opened! Of course, assuming BUM=<Mod4>t. So three bums => two terminals, two bums => one terminal, and so on big_smile
So can anyone say should i now report a bug or is it a feature?) lol
BTW if you'll now look through bindings in 'keyboard preferences', you'll find AS COOL hotkey as you'll ever press) yes, it is actually Mod4+Super+Hyper+T lol

"Uh, gnomoproblems", - my suckless friend said

Last edited by foobarrior (2012-04-10 15:04:41)

Offline

#283 2012-04-10 16:16:12

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,941
Website

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

foobarrior wrote:

<SNIP>
"Uh, gnomoproblems", - my suckless friend said

I belive is already reported. https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=659899


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.

Offline

#284 2012-04-10 20:55:33

kjell
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2012-03-26
Posts: 99

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

I just gave the GNOME 3.4 live boot a whirl, and the contacs issue I'm having here, was no issue there.  They all showed fine.   Above the "new" button, there is also a menu option "Application" which is lacking here.   Is there a version mismatch or build error we're seeing here?

Offline

#285 2012-04-10 20:59:21

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,941
Website

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

kjell wrote:

I just gave the GNOME 3.4 live boot a whirl, and the contacs issue I'm having here, was no issue there.  They all showed fine.   Above the "new" button, there is also a menu option "Application" which is lacking here.   Is there a version mismatch or build error we're seeing here?

what contacts issue?


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.

Offline

#286 2012-04-10 21:02:27

kjell
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2012-03-26
Posts: 99

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

wonder wrote:
kjell wrote:

I just gave the GNOME 3.4 live boot a whirl, and the contacs issue I'm having here, was no issue there.  They all showed fine.   Above the "new" button, there is also a menu option "Application" which is lacking here.   Is there a version mismatch or build error we're seeing here?

what contacts issue?

Out of all my google contacts (dont have any local), I get 2 entries in the gnome contacts program.   They all show in evolution, and they are searchable .  However if I try to open a contact from search, it get an error about the ID not being found.   I think someone else above had same problem...

Offline

#287 2012-04-10 21:06:28

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,941
Website

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

kjell wrote:
wonder wrote:
kjell wrote:

I just gave the GNOME 3.4 live boot a whirl, and the contacs issue I'm having here, was no issue there.  They all showed fine.   Above the "new" button, there is also a menu option "Application" which is lacking here.   Is there a version mismatch or build error we're seeing here?

what contacts issue?

Out of all my google contacts (dont have any local), I get 2 entries in the gnome contacts program.   They all show in evolution, and they are searchable .  However if I try to open a contact from search, it get an error about the ID not being found.   I think someone else above had same problem...


the two entries is a known problem. https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=660281
as for the ID not being found,  I don't know.


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.

Offline

#288 2012-04-10 21:10:59

kjell
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2012-03-26
Posts: 99

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

wonder wrote:
kjell wrote:
wonder wrote:

what contacts issue?

Out of all my google contacts (dont have any local), I get 2 entries in the gnome contacts program.   They all show in evolution, and they are searchable .  However if I try to open a contact from search, it get an error about the ID not being found.   I think someone else above had same problem...


the two entries is a known problem. https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=660281
as for the ID not being found,  I don't know.

No, that's not the same issue.  That bug report is about duplicate entries in Empathy.  This is gnome-contacts is showing two, and only two, contacts.

EDIT:  Seem more like this one https://bugzilla.gnome.org/show_bug.cgi?id=670652 but that's 3.2.x (where I have never seen such problem personally).   I tried to create a fresh account, sync with another google account, and there nothing showed at all (app seems to do nothing).

Last edited by kjell (2012-04-10 22:05:31)

Offline

#289 2012-04-10 23:27:49

kjell
Member
From: Norway
Registered: 2012-03-26
Posts: 99

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

2 more:  (no bug reported that i can see). The calendar applet doesn't pick up events from the calendar. .. that one is bit annoying, use that a lot.   The date / time settings panel also really wants me to be in London (just ignores any changes).

From FAQ: Why are my events displayed in Evolution, but not in the gnome-panel clock applet?

If you compile yourself, make sure that gnome-panel is built with "USE=eds".

Is it?

Last edited by kjell (2012-04-10 23:53:05)

Offline

#290 2012-04-11 13:49:43

Sara
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2009-07-09
Posts: 219
Website

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

When I enable the on-screen keyboard via the universal access settings applet, gnome crashes, and I can't login again except by resetting my gnome configuration. I don't have an issue with using the on-screen keyboard in GDM, and this issue definitely did not exist in gnome 3.2.


Registed Linux User 483618

Offline

#291 2012-04-11 13:52:27

quasifilmie
Member
Registered: 2011-10-27
Posts: 296

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

Lots of issues are happening with 3.4. What you can do is  logout and switch to a tty (ctrl-alt-f2) login as your user and type startx and then type gnome-shell --replace. Try the keyboard there and paste the output in the gnome-shell --replace window here.

Offline

#292 2012-04-11 14:43:03

foppe
Member
Registered: 2011-04-02
Posts: 47

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

Found this in dmesg:

[56209.888939] gnome-shell[693]: segfault at 385a03e800 ip 00007f8ee958b9f7 sp 00007fffd75403b0 error 4 in libgdk-3.so.0.400.0[7f8ee951b000+91000]

I didn't notice any behavioural error associated with this.

Offline

#293 2012-04-11 14:49:34

Taylor001
Member
Registered: 2009-12-07
Posts: 36

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

Illegal instruction (core dumped)

by epiphany a bunch of seconds after start on 32-bit.

Offline

#294 2012-04-11 15:25:28

boypt
Member
Registered: 2009-09-25
Posts: 11

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

foppe wrote:

Found this in dmesg:

[56209.888939] gnome-shell[693]: segfault at 385a03e800 ip 00007f8ee958b9f7 sp 00007fffd75403b0 error 4 in libgdk-3.so.0.400.0[7f8ee951b000+91000]

I didn't notice any behavioural error associated with this.

I got lots:

[   95.058452] gnome-shell[1532]: segfault at a3b9000 ip b705f71c sp bfb3a388 error 4 in libc-2.15.so[b6f2e000+19b000]
[  101.622338] gnome-shell[1861]: segfault at a9bf005 ip b7015703 sp bf9b35d8 error 4 in libc-2.15.so[b6ee4000+19b000]
[  306.561237] gnome-shell[2052]: segfault at b9de006 ip b70b871c sp bfa5bc38 error 4 in libc-2.15.so[b6f87000+19b000]
[  312.684163] gnome-shell[2731]: segfault at b047008 ip b709971c sp bf8c7468 error 4 in libc-2.15.so[b6f68000+19b000]

Totaly no idea what to do.


mostly crashes happens when empathy receives a message and a notification pop out

Offline

#295 2012-04-11 20:42:32

Sara
Member
From: USA
Registered: 2009-07-09
Posts: 219
Website

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

quasifilmie wrote:

Lots of issues are happening with 3.4. What you can do is  logout and switch to a tty (ctrl-alt-f2) login as your user and type startx and then type gnome-shell --replace. Try the keyboard there and paste the output in the gnome-shell --replace window here.

I should have clarified; I can enable the onscreen keyboard, and it will work in that current session, but when I logout, upon logging in again, gnome complains that something has gone wrong and it has disabled all extensions (and I am not using any extensions). I can't log in again no matter how many times I try sad. I just duplicated my exact setup, minus the onscreen keyboard, and now I can login normally, so I'm pretty sure there's something off with caribou...


Registed Linux User 483618

Offline

#296 2012-04-11 22:43:07

skoruppa
Member
Registered: 2011-09-24
Posts: 4
Website

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

I got the same problem like him https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour … bug/973979 with Gnome Shell 3.4 on Arch. Maybe someone noticed this too and know how to fix?
Like this: http://oi39.tinypic.com/w8aott.jpg

Ow and gnome-screnshoot isnt working... i heard the sound but any window didnt popup. In treminal there isn't any error message hmm

Last edited by skoruppa (2012-04-11 23:13:17)


Archlinux i686 | Gnome Shell 3.2 beta

Offline

#297 2012-04-12 01:54:44

sbfreak
Member
Registered: 2010-06-06
Posts: 149

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

I have the same problem.Disabling "Have file manager handle the desktop" in gnome-tweak-tool to get rid of it.

Offline

#298 2012-04-12 03:08:40

jackgu1988
Member
Registered: 2010-11-16
Posts: 39

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

skoruppa wrote:

I got the same problem like him https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour … bug/973979 with Gnome Shell 3.4 on Arch. Maybe someone noticed this too and know how to fix?
Like this: http://oi39.tinypic.com/w8aott.jpg

Ow and gnome-screnshoot isnt working... i heard the sound but any window didnt popup. In treminal there isn't any error message hmm

Someone reported a few pages back that screenshot works, it just saves automatically screenshots in the Pictures folder. He also provided a solution if you want to be asked where the screenshots should be saved. Imo it is better to automatically save pictures, as asking is just a waste of time. Anyway, for anyone interested look 2-4 pages back and you'll find that post

Offline

#299 2012-04-12 06:19:28

kryo
Member
Registered: 2004-04-13
Posts: 40

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

skoruppa wrote:

I got the same problem like him https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour … bug/973979 with Gnome Shell 3.4 on Arch. Maybe someone noticed this too and know how to fix?
Like this: http://oi39.tinypic.com/w8aott.jpg

Ow and gnome-screnshoot isnt working... i heard the sound but any window didnt popup. In treminal there isn't any error message hmm

I have this problem too.

Temp fix: change your screen resolution, then change it back. This usually fixes the problem for the current session. Can't wait for the real fix.

Offline

#300 2012-04-12 06:43:41

skoruppa
Member
Registered: 2011-09-24
Posts: 4
Website

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

jackgu1988 wrote:
skoruppa wrote:

I got the same problem like him https://bugs.launchpad.net/ubuntu/+sour … bug/973979 with Gnome Shell 3.4 on Arch. Maybe someone noticed this too and know how to fix?
Like this: http://oi39.tinypic.com/w8aott.jpg

Ow and gnome-screnshoot isnt working... i heard the sound but any window didnt popup. In treminal there isn't any error message hmm

Someone reported a few pages back that screenshot works, it just saves automatically screenshots in the Pictures folder. He also provided a solution if you want to be asked where the screenshots should be saved. Imo it is better to automatically save pictures, as asking is just a waste of time. Anyway, for anyone interested look 2-4 pages back and you'll find that post

Installing xdg-user-dirs-gtk helped, but i couldn't find in any post here a way to be asked where screenshots should ba saved.

kryo wrote:

I have this problem too.

Temp fix: change your screen resolution, then change it back. This usually fixes the problem for the current session. Can't wait for the real fix.

For me an easier way is restarting AWN wink It is still the best window manager here.


Archlinux i686 | Gnome Shell 3.2 beta

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB