You are not logged in.

#176 2012-04-02 05:25:31

OrangeRoot1000
Member
From: TN -- USA
Registered: 2008-08-07
Posts: 106
Website

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

wonder wrote:

calendar issue is fixed http://git.savannah.gnu.org/gitweb/?p=g … 30534e003c

if you want a package until a new version is released, get it from pkgbuild.com/~ioni/gnutls



Good on my end sir. Thx.

Offline

#177 2012-04-02 05:36:42

jesusjimenez
Member
Registered: 2007-09-26
Posts: 20

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

arash-m wrote:

I just upgraded my gnome to 3.4 but I cant open gnome-control-center. here is the error:

*** glibc detected *** gnome-control-center: free(): invalid pointer: 0x00007f2b5e3684d8 ***
======= Backtrace: =========

Same here.

Offline

#178 2012-04-02 05:41:54

rfischer1984
Member
Registered: 2012-03-25
Posts: 11

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

jesusjimenez wrote:
arash-m wrote:

I just upgraded my gnome to 3.4 but I cant open gnome-control-center. here is the error:

*** glibc detected *** gnome-control-center: free(): invalid pointer: 0x00007f2b5e3684d8 ***
======= Backtrace: =========

Same here.

mine will not work either. as well as cinnamon's settings either. it does seem like gnome 3.4 is faster though. It starts up and shuts down way faster than gnome 3.2 did for me..

Offline

#179 2012-04-02 07:27:08

kaddy
Member
From: Perth, Western Australia
Registered: 2009-09-22
Posts: 192

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

wait.... I can't see gnome 3.4 in the repos yet... but i obviously see it in testing.... so i assume you upgraded from the testing repo?

Offline

#180 2012-04-02 11:15:54

Javafant
Member
Registered: 2012-04-02
Posts: 19

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

Hi first of all I want to thank you for getting out the update so quickly. Screen recording by using ctl + alt + shift + r is not working for me. Is there any way to see if the key kombination is set correct for this? I couldn't find it in the settings or is it a bug?

Offline

#181 2012-04-02 13:22:29

rAX
Member
From: Algiers
Registered: 2011-05-27
Posts: 86

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

Javafant wrote:

Hi first of all I want to thank you for getting out the update so quickly. Screen recording by using ctl + alt + shift + r is not working for me. Is there any way to see if the key kombination is set correct for this? I couldn't find it in the settings or is it a bug?

Are you using Alt+shift to switch languages' layouts? If yes, use something else.

Offline

#182 2012-04-02 14:46:06

quasifilmie
Member
Registered: 2011-10-27
Posts: 296

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

This thread should be renamed since gnome 3.4 is now in testing

Offline

#183 2012-04-02 14:56:01

OrangeRoot1000
Member
From: TN -- USA
Registered: 2008-08-07
Posts: 106
Website

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

Ioni, heftig and falconindy...

The control panel is and issue still for me. However, the Notification area and the way it is integrated at the lower panel for new events. When a message comes in the whole shell blinks. Otherwise I haven't had any issue with the shell being stable as it is currently.


** OFFTOPIC** Is it possible to change my username to gm5729?

gk

Offline

#184 2012-04-02 15:53:48

Javafant
Member
Registered: 2012-04-02
Posts: 19

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

rAX wrote:
Javafant wrote:

Hi first of all I want to thank you for getting out the update so quickly. Screen recording by using ctl + alt + shift + r is not working for me. Is there any way to see if the key kombination is set correct for this? I couldn't find it in the settings or is it a bug?

Are you using Alt+shift to switch languages' layouts? If yes, use something else.

I don't think so, in the keyboard settings it's unchecked.

Offline

#185 2012-04-02 17:26:46

thebluesgnr
Member
Registered: 2012-04-02
Posts: 18

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

The problem with gnome-control-center crashing was fixed when I switched from the open source ATI drivers to fglrx.

Offline

#186 2012-04-02 17:53:32

stronnag
Member
Registered: 2011-01-25
Posts: 54

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

It crashes here with the Nouveau driver on nvidia, and compared to installing nvidia's proprietary drivers, that's the lesser evil.

Offline

#187 2012-04-02 18:55:56

jesusjimenez
Member
Registered: 2007-09-26
Posts: 20

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

stronnag wrote:

It crashes here with the Nouveau driver on nvidia, and compared to installing nvidia's proprietary drivers, that's the lesser evil.

Crashes with the nouveau for me. I haven't tried nvidia binary drivers anyway.

Offline

#188 2012-04-02 19:06:52

thebluesgnr
Member
Registered: 2012-04-02
Posts: 18

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

Did anyone get the Totem browser plugin to play .swf videos? It's a new feature in 3.4, but it's not working for me.

Installing totem-plugin adds a "Shockwave Flash" plugin in Epiphany's about:plugin page, but no MIME types are associated with it. Maybe I'm missing a dependency?

Edit: nm, found the problem. Had to enable it in /etc/totem/browser-plugins.ini.

Last edited by thebluesgnr (2012-04-02 19:12:27)

Offline

#189 2012-04-02 22:07:34

Javafant
Member
Registered: 2012-04-02
Posts: 19

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

Is "Boxes" included in the archlinux testing packages? I couldn't find it.

Offline

#190 2012-04-02 22:16:43

mythus
Member
From: MS Gulf Coast
Registered: 2008-05-15
Posts: 509
Website

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

I turned on testing today to install Gnome 3.4.
Removed old extensions.
Went to the extentions website, got the new ones that are made for GNOME 3.4.
All seems to work fine. Old selected shell theme and everything is up... however!(tm)

I cannot change the shell theme. It tells me that the user theme extension was installed incorrectly, despite the fact that I got it from the extension website. Any ideas on what to do here?


Legends of Nor'Ova - role playing community devoted to quality forum-based and table-top role play, home of the Legends of Nor'Ova Core Rule Book and Legends of Nor'Ova: Saga of Ablution steam punk like forum based RPG

Offline

#191 2012-04-03 09:13:46

sakhnik
Member
From: Kyiv
Registered: 2011-07-09
Posts: 11
Website

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

A problem appeared on one out of three (different) computers. gnome-shell crashes, glibc complains on freeing an invalid pointer. How to track it down?

Offline

#192 2012-04-03 13:31:22

intgr
Member
Registered: 2009-10-02
Posts: 42

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

arash-m wrote:

I just upgraded my gnome to 3.4 but I cant open gnome-control-center. here is the error:

*** glibc detected *** gnome-control-center: free(): invalid pointer: 0x00007f2b5e3684d8 ***
======= Backtrace: =========
/lib/libc.so.6(+0x78e66)[0x7f2b7f4dce66]
/usr/lib/libstdc++.so.6(_ZNSs7reserveEm+0x6a)[0x7f2b68fd244a]
...
/usr/lib/libcogl.so.9(cogl_renderer_check_onscreen_template+0x69)[0x7f2b60a04129]
/usr/lib/libclutter-1.0.so.0(+0x2f5fd)[0x7f2b60ea65fd]
...

This regression occurs with clutter-gtk-1.2.0 or cheese-3.4.0. You can fix it by installing cheese from the extra repsitory:

pacman -S extra/cheese

Or downgrading clutter:

pacman -U /var/cache/pacman/pkg/clutter-gtk-1.0.4-1-x86_64.pkg.tar.xz

Here's the Arch Linux bug report: https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/29202

Last edited by intgr (2012-04-03 13:35:34)

Offline

#193 2012-04-03 14:16:17

sakhnik
Member
From: Kyiv
Registered: 2011-07-09
Posts: 11
Website

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

sakhnik wrote:

A problem appeared on one out of three (different) computers. gnome-shell crashes, glibc complains on freeing an invalid pointer. How to track it down?

Investigation with GDB revealed that libnm-glib crashes when in the function _nm_remote_settings_ensure_inited() if there's no NetworkManager accessible. Found a similar bug discussion: http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-6999596.html

Obviously, the variable pointer error isn't initialized before being dereferenced and freed. That's sad.
Let me try the git head revision.

Offline

#194 2012-04-03 14:22:50

sakhnik
Member
From: Kyiv
Registered: 2011-07-09
Posts: 11
Website

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

sakhnik wrote:
sakhnik wrote:

A problem appeared on one out of three (different) computers. gnome-shell crashes, glibc complains on freeing an invalid pointer. How to track it down?

Investigation with GDB revealed that libnm-glib crashes when in the function _nm_remote_settings_ensure_inited() if there's no NetworkManager accessible. Found a similar bug discussion: http://forums.gentoo.org/viewtopic-p-6999596.html

Obviously, the variable pointer error isn't initialized before being dereferenced and freed. That's sad.
Let me try the git head revision.

Yeap, the crash has been fixed by now. Thus, anyone willing to try the gnome-shell-3.4 out without NetworkManager running, should start past networkmanager-0.9.4 (or before it).

Offline

#195 2012-04-03 14:29:56

fowler
Member
Registered: 2009-01-26
Posts: 152

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

mythus wrote:

I turned on testing today to install Gnome 3.4.
Removed old extensions.
Went to the extentions website, got the new ones that are made for GNOME 3.4.
All seems to work fine. Old selected shell theme and everything is up... however!(tm)

I cannot change the shell theme. It tells me that the user theme extension was installed incorrectly, despite the fact that I got it from the extension website. Any ideas on what to do here?


I had the same issues.  Is this going to be a recurring theme with gnome?  3.6 comes out and we have to remove all extension and themes, go to default, do the upgrade and see what extensions/themes no longer work.  I'm just saying this is the second time and it's doesn't seem sane.  I know the Arch developers are awesome so this must be an upstream PIA?

Offline

#196 2012-04-03 17:15:11

Javafant
Member
Registered: 2012-04-02
Posts: 19

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

User theme extension isn't working for me either. I noticed that the screenshot save dialog doesn't open if I press print or alt+print. however the screen flashes white, like it should if you make a screenshot, so the keys seem to be recognized.

Offline

#197 2012-04-03 17:20:30

wonder
Developer
From: Bucharest, Romania
Registered: 2006-07-05
Posts: 5,937
Website

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

Javafant wrote:

User theme extension isn't working for me either. I noticed that the screenshot save dialog doesn't open if I press print or alt+print. however the screen flashes white, like it should if you make a screenshot, so the keys seem to be recognized.

the files now are saved automatically in ~/Pictures. You need to install xdg-user-dirs-gtk and relogin


Give what you have. To someone, it may be better than you dare to think.

Offline

#198 2012-04-03 18:01:44

Javafant
Member
Registered: 2012-04-02
Posts: 19

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

After installing xdg-users-dir-gtk screencasts and screenshots work fine.

Offline

#199 2012-04-03 21:10:13

quasifilmie
Member
Registered: 2011-10-27
Posts: 296

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

Anyone else having issues with multiple monitors. In gnome 3.2, I could plug my tv in via hdmi and the gnome top bar would automatically go over to the tv (as I configured to do so in gnome display settings.). However, there seems to be a regression. When I unplug the hdmi, my computer freezes. The top bar does not come back over to the laptop and I have to hard shutdown. The only workaround is that before unplugging the hdmi I can go into gnome display settings and turn off the tv output. This is very annoying and I did not have this issue in 3.2. I have intel integrated graphics. I don't have a custom xorg config.

Offline

#200 2012-04-04 05:39:14

fredbezies
Member
Registered: 2011-07-28
Posts: 333

Re: gnome 3.4beta2 in gnome-unstable

Javafant wrote:

Is "Boxes" included in the archlinux testing packages? I couldn't find it.

Will be for gnome 3.6, see gnome 3.4 release notes :

http://library.gnome.org/misc/release-n … ingforward

"Boxes is in the making: A brand new GNOME 3 application which allows you to easily connect to remote machines as well as use virtual machines. A first testing version of Boxes is already available for GNOME 3.4. However, it might not come included with your system yet. "

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB