You are not logged in.

#1 2012-09-20 09:23:06

swapnil360

[SOLVED] Offline Installation Help

I'm new to Arch. It's just 2 days since I've downloaded the iso. I installed it and it worked really nice. However, I messed up the system trying out some experiments.

Now I want to reinstall it. I have my /var/cache/pacman/pkg folder backed up. Is there a way I can skip the humongous download and install these? My ISP gives me really low bandwidth speeds. Thanks in advance. big_smile

Last edited by swapnil360 (2012-09-23 11:11:34)

#2 2012-09-20 10:41:22

ajaykumar
Website

Re: [SOLVED] Offline Installation Help

Hi swapnil360,

I always do offline installation. Use repoadd to create your custom repo on your dvd and install it when required. Check Pacman Tips for more details.

Also How to create a Custom Repo

With regards,
Ajay Kumar G

With regards,
Ajay Kumar G
Nanos Gigantum Humeris Insidentis

#3 2012-09-20 10:49:47

DSpider

Or the one above that (since you already downloaded them): https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Pa … _USB_stick

But "base" and "base-devel" is only about 150 MiB.

Last edited by DSpider (2012-09-20 10:56:57)

"How to Succeed with Linux"

I have made a personal commitment not to reply in topics that start with a lowercase letter. Proper grammar and punctuation is a sign of respect, and if you do not show any, you will NOT receive any help (at least not from me).

#4 2012-09-21 05:32:56

swapnil360

ajaykumar wrote:

Hi swapnil360,

I always do offline installation. Use repoadd to create your custom repo on your dvd and install it when required. Check Pacman Tips for more details.

Also How to create a Custom Repo

With regards,
Ajay Kumar G

Thanks a lot! I bookmarked this thread for future reference as well!

DSpider wrote:

Or the one above that (since you already downloaded them): https://wiki.archlinux.org/index.php/Pa … _USB_stick

But "base" and "base-devel" is only about 150 MiB.