You are not logged in.

#26 2012-11-02 21:45:45

MatejLach
Member
From: United Kingdom
Registered: 2011-06-22
Posts: 309
Website

Re: [SOLVED] [bug fixed] filemanagers double-mounting external devices

BrainWorker wrote:

The same issue with thunar and pcmanfm.

Thunar's fixed now - http://forum.xfce.org/viewtopic.php?pid=27873#p27873 -


-
Everyone should read K&R C at least once in their lifetime.

Offline

#27 2012-11-03 02:34:31

illusionist
Member
From: localhost
Registered: 2012-04-03
Posts: 498

Re: [SOLVED] [bug fixed] filemanagers double-mounting external devices

MatejLach wrote:
illusionist wrote:

I found a patch fixing double partitions issue for  thunar. I created the pkgbuild . You can get it from my github (see my sig).
I have tested it on 3 of my systems running archlinux 64 bit and it works fine . Please have a look and let me know if you have any problem regarding pkgbuild.

Thanks, will try it and report back.

P.S. I believe that you have bad source url (you have [...]/1.3/Thunar-${pkgver}.tar.bz2 and it should probably be [...]/1.4/Thunar-${pkgver}.tar.bz2).

Sorry ..
changed..


  Never argue with stupid people,They will drag you down to their level and then beat you with experience.--Mark Twain
@github

Offline

#28 2012-11-03 02:50:27

kangtian
Member
Registered: 2012-11-03
Posts: 3

Re: [SOLVED] [bug fixed] filemanagers double-mounting external devices

dontbugme wrote:

Same problem as MatejLach's, and also I can't mount any of my internal partitions: it's always "Not authorized to perform operation." (however is works by using udisksctl).
Here is my /etc/polkit-1/localauthority/50-local.d/10-storage-group-mount-override.pkla:

[storage group mount override]
Identity=unix-group:storage
Action=org.freedesktop.udisks2.filesystem-mount-system
ResultAny=no
ResultInactive=yes
ResultActive=yes

I have both udisks and udisks2, but I can't remove udisks, because kdelibs depends on it.

[user@box ~]$ pactree -r udisks
|--udisks
   |--kdelibs
      |--kactivities
         |--kdebase-runtime
            |--kdbg
            |--kdebase-kdialog
            |--kdeedu-kstars
            |--kdesdk-okteta
            |--kdeutils-filelight
      |--nepomuk-core
         |--kdebase-runtime

What should I (we) do? smile

The .pkla file in /etc/polkit-1/ has been of no effect now. I find need to modify this file : /usr/share/polkit-1/actions/org.freedesktop.udisks2.policy.
Find the unit <action id="org.freedesktop.udisks2.filesystem-mount-system"> and modify the line "<allow_active>auth_admin</allow_active>" in it, "auth_admin" should be changed to "yes".

Offline

#29 2012-11-03 09:05:45

BrainWorker
Member
Registered: 2011-02-23
Posts: 26

Re: [SOLVED] [bug fixed] filemanagers double-mounting external devices

The problem fixed in Thunar. In PCManFM it still exists.

Offline

#30 2012-11-03 09:48:54

lampslave
Member
From: Russia
Registered: 2011-11-10
Posts: 10

Re: [SOLVED] [bug fixed] filemanagers double-mounting external devices

Problem with mount can be fixed by adding

polkit.addRule(function(action, subject) {
		if (action.id.indexOf("org.freedesktop.udisks2.") == 0 && subject.isInGroup("storage")) {
			return polkit.Result.YES;
		}
	}
);

in /etc/polkit-1/rules.d/99-my.rules

Offline

#31 2012-11-03 11:55:27

min
Member
Registered: 2011-05-14
Posts: 46

Re: [SOLVED] [bug fixed] filemanagers double-mounting external devices

I can confirm this is fixed in the latest Thunar version.

MatejLach can you change the thread name a bit to indicate double mounting? Many member created duplicate thread, probably because they don't know this Thread already exists

Offline

#32 2012-11-03 12:07:39

MatejLach
Member
From: United Kingdom
Registered: 2011-06-22
Posts: 309
Website

Re: [SOLVED] [bug fixed] filemanagers double-mounting external devices

min wrote:

I can confirm this is fixed in the latest Thunar version.

MatejLach can you change the thread name a bit to indicate double mounting? Many member created duplicate thread, probably because they don't know this Thread already exists

Done.
Hopefully it's OK, but I am open to suggestions.

Last edited by MatejLach (2012-11-03 12:07:53)


-
Everyone should read K&R C at least once in their lifetime.

Offline

#33 2012-11-03 16:26:05

ubuntubang
Member
Registered: 2012-03-28
Posts: 17

Re: [SOLVED] [bug fixed] filemanagers double-mounting external devices

Here is the reopened bug report for pcmanfm https://sourceforge.net/tracker/?func=d … tid=801864

That is handled differently in libfm. And that in thunar was not fix really
but rather a workaround over gvfs bug. And I still believe gvfs bug should
be fixed in gvfs but we have no chance to have it fixed with all the GNOME
attitude. And it's why glib/gtk applications are so slow - each application
implements bunch of workarounds for glib/gtk bugs and GNOME people refuse
to fix them but rather remove features when they went buggy too much
(nautilus 3.6 is just an example). I don't have gvfs 0.14 installed
anywhere to test it so I cannot add a workaround into libfm for now,
sorry.
Thank you very much.

Offline

#34 2012-11-03 17:06:30

ubuntubang
Member
Registered: 2012-03-28
Posts: 17

Re: [SOLVED] [bug fixed] filemanagers double-mounting external devices

Offline

#35 2012-11-03 17:40:56

MatejLach
Member
From: United Kingdom
Registered: 2011-06-22
Posts: 309
Website

Re: [SOLVED] [bug fixed] filemanagers double-mounting external devices

@ubuntubang - Added to the original post for easy reference.


-
Everyone should read K&R C at least once in their lifetime.

Offline

#36 2012-11-03 20:37:13

weirddan455
Member
Registered: 2012-04-15
Posts: 192

Re: [SOLVED] [bug fixed] filemanagers double-mounting external devices

OK so now they updated Thunar and it's fixed there but I'm still seeing doubles on my desktop (XFCE)  Also, not as big of a deal but it's not showing my Windows System Reserved partition.  I never need to mount it so it's whatever if they changed the default to not show partitions <= 100MB or whatever they did.  I can still mount it manually via the command line if I need to.

Offline

#37 2012-11-03 20:44:49

min
Member
Registered: 2011-05-14
Posts: 46

Re: [SOLVED] [bug fixed] filemanagers double-mounting external devices

weirddan455 wrote:

OK so now they updated Thunar and it's fixed there but I'm still seeing doubles on my desktop (XFCE)  Also, not as big of a deal but it's not showing my Windows System Reserved partition.  I never need to mount it so it's whatever if they changed the default to not show partitions <= 100MB or whatever they did.  I can still mount it manually via the command line if I need to.

Remove the icon from desktop (change it to minimised pallication) and changed it back. It remove the duplicate in desktop for me.

Offline

#38 2012-11-03 21:05:02

weirddan455
Member
Registered: 2012-04-15
Posts: 192

Re: [SOLVED] [bug fixed] filemanagers double-mounting external devices

min wrote:

Remove the icon from desktop (change it to minimised pallication) and changed it back. It remove the duplicate in desktop for me.

I had done that actually and it works but the duplicates still come back next time you restart.

Offline

#39 2012-11-03 21:25:10

min
Member
Registered: 2011-05-14
Posts: 46

Re: [SOLVED] [bug fixed] filemanagers double-mounting external devices

The same as the Thunar trick earlier. I need to test my sugestion after have restarted next time smile

Offline

#40 2012-11-04 19:50:24

felixculpa
Member
From: Alberta, Canada
Registered: 2012-06-12
Posts: 181

Re: [SOLVED] [bug fixed] filemanagers double-mounting external devices

lampslave wrote:

Problem with mount can be fixed by adding

polkit.addRule(function(action, subject) {
		if (action.id.indexOf("org.freedesktop.udisks2.") == 0 && subject.isInGroup("storage")) {
			return polkit.Result.YES;
		}
	}
);

in /etc/polkit-1/rules.d/99-my.rules

This should be put into a seperate thread as this is an answer that fixes auto-mounting problems, but I am unsure if it has anything to do with double-mounting. I was having problems with auto-mounting a camera for Thunar, and following these directions fixed the problem.

Edit: my mistake it wasn't automounting, only giving me user permission to mount by clicking on the icon.

Last edited by felixculpa (2012-11-04 21:59:03)

Offline

#41 2012-11-06 01:02:17

dontbugme
Banned
Registered: 2011-11-04
Posts: 166
Website

Re: [SOLVED] [bug fixed] filemanagers double-mounting external devices

kangtian, is hacking /usr/share/polkit-1/actions/org.freedesktop.udisks2.policy is the only way to solve the mounting issue? And is it the right way?

However, the problem with doubled icons is solved for me by just updating to latest xfdesktop (4.10.0-4) now.

Last edited by dontbugme (2012-11-06 03:24:37)

Offline

#42 2012-11-06 01:53:08

Berveris
Member
From: Banfield
Registered: 2012-05-14
Posts: 11

Re: [SOLVED] [bug fixed] filemanagers double-mounting external devices

i've noticed that the double icons in the desktop disapear by runing:

 xfdesktop --reload 

so i execute that command on every startup...

also i've read that downgrading polkit works (didn't try it yet), but remember to recompile it with:

 --with-systemdsystemunitdir=/usr/lib/systemd/system 

this is the source (post 5 & 8 are the relevant ones):
http://forum.xfce.org/viewtopic.php?pid=27684

sorry for the english...

Last edited by Berveris (2012-11-06 02:07:21)

Offline

#43 2012-11-06 13:00:53

BrainWorker
Member
Registered: 2011-02-23
Posts: 26

Re: [SOLVED] [bug fixed] filemanagers double-mounting external devices

After update of gvfs pcmanfm is OK as well.

I think problem [SOLVED]

Offline

#44 2012-11-06 16:21:53

MatejLach
Member
From: United Kingdom
Registered: 2011-06-22
Posts: 309
Website

Re: [SOLVED] [bug fixed] filemanagers double-mounting external devices

BrainWorker wrote:

After update of gvfs pcmanfm is OK as well.

I think problem [SOLVED]

You're right :-)


-
Everyone should read K&R C at least once in their lifetime.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB