You are not logged in.

#401 2014-10-20 16:52:35

quequotion
Member
From: Oita, Japan
Registered: 2013-07-29
Posts: 799
Website

Re: Pantheon Shell on Archlinux

Alucryd wrote:

Yes, every new version of GNOME breaks Pantheon. It will take time to port everything to 3.14.

We may need gnome-settings-daemon-compat or a pantheon version thereof in the future.
Gnome has decided that interoperability is no longer something people want, so hotkeys only work if gnome-shell is running. gnome-settings-daemon-compat has gnome-fallback-media-keys-helper to restore functionality, but this must be appened to the  RequiredComponents of the gnome-session .session file.

I found this here in the forums an I was surprised to see how long this has been known; there are posts in forums and blogs all over the internet about broken hotkeys in non-gnome-shell gnome-sessions. I've been using Pantheon with compiz and openbox. Compiz has it's own means making hotkeys work (voodoo?), but openbox definetly needs the helper. If gala is not doing it's own hotkey handling, it's going to need the helper too.

Offline

#402 2014-10-20 17:17:38

quequotion
Member
From: Oita, Japan
Registered: 2013-07-29
Posts: 799
Website

Re: Pantheon Shell on Archlinux

bennylb0 wrote:

On installation I noticed that it removes the power icon from the right of wingpanel.

That should not happen. I've never had a power indicator to begin with, and never succeded in getting one to work (desktop?); unfortunately I can't help debug this.

When you installed indicator-pantheon-session-bzr, did you need to upgrade some other packages? Maybe you need an equivalent version of indicator-power?

I also noticed modifications to the schemas are made in the patches.

I've modified (corrected) the dconf schemas, which were using a deprecated path. Those patches will hopefully become obsolete when the elementary devs update to the current policy.

In gnome you can logout using a terminal with dbus and the following schema's:

This is not a schema, it is a dbus call. I have not modified these in indicator-session-pantheon-bzr. If this dbus call does not work for you in terminal, something is probably wrong with gnome-session--there are/have been problems with gnome-session and pantheon.

dbus-send --session --type=method_call --print-reply --dest=org.gnome.SessionManager /org/gnome/SessionManager org.gnome.SessionManager.Logout uint32:1

Do the modifications made in your patches somehow provide the same ability to logout via terminal in Pantheon?

Nothing should be able to take away your ability to logout by terminal; indicators are irrelevant to this.

Gnome has all kinds of quirky feature drops and unnecessarily simplifying redesigns lately, and has become increasingly more difficult to use outside of gnome-shell.

Last edited by quequotion (2014-10-21 03:44:26)

Offline

#403 2014-10-21 19:29:02

alkar
Member
Registered: 2014-10-21
Posts: 1

Re: Pantheon Shell on Archlinux

I've been using (or trying to setup) pantheon when I get some time.

After my recent upgrade to kernel 3.17.1-1 it just stopped working and I'm getting the infamous "Oh no! Something went wrong!" screen.

The only useful logs (I think) come from dmesg:

[ 1569.349072] gala[4605]: segfault at 20 ip 000000000042723c sp 00007fff2ee15a70 error 4 in gala[400000+55000]
[ 1569.372037] gala[4612]: segfault at 20 ip 000000000042723c sp 00007fffcac31a70 error 4 in gala[400000+55000]
[ 1569.535280] gala[4632]: segfault at 20 ip 000000000042723c sp 00007fff7e8a74d0 error 4 in gala[400000+55000]
[ 1569.646586] gala[4664]: segfault at 20 ip 000000000042723c sp 00007fff27de4ae0 error 4 in gala[400000+55000]
[ 1569.810007] gala[4666]: segfault at 20 ip 000000000042723c sp 00007fff516f36b0 error 4 in gala[400000+55000]
[ 1569.939431] gala[4679]: segfault at 20 ip 000000000042723c sp 00007fff39fe30a0 error 4 in gala[400000+55000]
[ 1570.156210] gala[4688]: segfault at 20 ip 000000000042723c sp 00007fffd06a8620 error 4 in gala[400000+55000]
[ 1570.386406] gala[4695]: segfault at 20 ip 000000000042723c sp 00007ffffa621860 error 4 in gala[400000+55000]

(there's also a bunch of lightdm generated warnings but just warnings)

I've since downgraded back to 3.16.4-1 but this error persists. Any ideas? What might be wrong? Where should I look next?

Thanks!

Offline

#404 2014-10-21 19:32:40

roi.dm
Member
Registered: 2011-10-29
Posts: 24

Re: Pantheon Shell on Archlinux

compile gala from this branch https://code.launchpad.net/~gala-dev/gala/mutter314 it works +/- ok here

Offline

#405 2014-10-23 14:17:31

orschiro
Member
Registered: 2009-06-04
Posts: 2,136
Website

Re: Pantheon Shell on Archlinux

Good news for the Pantheon's independency from Ubuntu:

The Fedora developers are thinking at porting Elementary OS’s Pantheon Desktop to Fedora. If this happens, Pantheon will be available via the default repositories of Fedora, starting with Fedora 22, which will be released next year.

http://linuxg.net/elementary-oss-panthe … fedora-22/
Elementary OS's Pantheon Desktop May Become Available For Fedora Systems, Starting With Fedora 22

Offline

#406 2014-10-23 19:18:06

DepletionMode
Member
Registered: 2014-06-07
Posts: 8

Re: Pantheon Shell on Archlinux

roi.dm wrote:

compile gala from this branch https://code.launchpad.net/~gala-dev/gala/mutter314 it works +/- ok here

I compiled off the branch. Launching gala yeilds the following:

(gala:19341): GModule-CRITICAL **: g_module_close: assertion 'module->ref_count > 0' failed

(gala:19341): Clutter-CRITICAL **: Unable to initialize Clutter: Failed to connected to any renderer due to constraints

(gala:19341): mutter-ERROR **: Unable to initialize Clutter.

[2]    19341 trace trap (core dumped)  DISPLAY=:1.0 gala

Offline

#407 2014-10-23 20:15:09

pgoetz
Member
From: Austin, Texas
Registered: 2014-02-21
Posts: 316

Re: Pantheon Shell on Archlinux

orschiro wrote:

Good news for the Pantheon's independency from Ubuntu:

I read this article, too, and the accompanying discussion on reddit.  It's kind of frustrating that there's not a blog or something keeping people up to date on progress.  I guess this is happening on slack?  Some public information source might also attract more development effort.

Offline

#408 2014-10-24 05:26:07

orschiro
Member
Registered: 2009-06-04
Posts: 2,136
Website

Re: Pantheon Shell on Archlinux

@pgoetz

From which party do you mean? At least the elementaryOS guys maintain a very detailed and clear journal, I think:

http://elementaryos.org/journal

Offline

#409 2014-10-24 09:36:34

pgoetz
Member
From: Austin, Texas
Registered: 2014-02-21
Posts: 316

Re: Pantheon Shell on Archlinux

orschiro wrote:

From which party do you mean? At least the elementaryOS guys maintain a very detailed and clear journal, I think:

http://elementaryos.org/journal

I meant for the porting work to other distros.  I would love to help out with this, but have basically zero experience with GUI code, and don't know where to start.

With Wayland now a reality, I'm wondering if it isn't time for someone to write a new, non-X-centric UI design toolkit which could be used to re-implement Pantheon, but with a smaller memory footprint, and lightning fast.  I think all the big players (and I included MS WIndows and Mac OS X; not just KDE and gnome) have erred on the side of "being lean and efficient doesn't matter any more in the days of multi-core processors and GHz CPU cycles".  I disagree.  I currently use KDE and can't stand how it feels like I'm moving through some viscous liquid all the time.  Especially when I'm coding, I want my UI to respond instantaneously.  It makes a huge difference in productivity.  However, I still want to enjoy all the conveniences of a modern UI.  I think it's possible to have both.

Offline

#410 2014-10-25 11:09:45

Weegee
Member
Registered: 2010-08-06
Posts: 62

Re: Pantheon Shell on Archlinux

I'm curious: How well is Pantheon working on Arch Linux right now? I'm unable to get it to work properly in VirtualBox unfortunately, but I'd like to install it on an actual machine of mine.

Are there lots of issues because of the GTK+ update from GNOME 3.14 and because of the missing Ubuntu integration or is it rather usable as an every-day desktop environment already?


~

Offline

#411 2014-10-25 17:26:51

DepletionMode
Member
Registered: 2014-06-07
Posts: 8

Re: Pantheon Shell on Archlinux

Weegee wrote:

I'm curious: How well is Pantheon working on Arch Linux right now? I'm unable to get it to work properly in VirtualBox unfortunately, but I'd like to install it on an actual machine of mine.

Are there lots of issues because of the GTK+ update from GNOME 3.14 and because of the missing Ubuntu integration or is it rather usable as an every-day desktop environment already?

Pretty badly for me. I was really really happy with it until gnome 3.14 broke everything. Now gala is dead (even with the launchpad version that is meant to work with 3.14....

Offline

#412 2014-10-25 23:14:38

Toniti
Member
Registered: 2014-10-25
Posts: 4

Re: Pantheon Shell on Archlinux

Downgrading this packages makes gala-bzr version r418-1 (in pantheon repo) works again:

mutter 3.12.2-1
clutter 1.18.4-1
libinput 0.2.0-1
upower 0.99.0-3

smile

The new gala-bzr in AUR for mutter 3.14 doesn't work for me well.

I added this packages to be ignored when upgrade puting this in my pacman.conf (waiting for a stable version of gala-bzr):

IgnorePkg   = mutter clutter libinput upower

Thanks for all your hard work. Pantheon is right now with Antergos and Arch my prefered operative system. Is faster than everything.

Only a note: I fix the problem with indicators using a convination of lxpanelx and gdevilspie, using the systemtry of the panel, configuring the panel as transparent and make it always on top of wingpanel with gdevilspie and near the indicators. I only use 4 indicators: indicator-session-systemd, network-manager-applet-ubuntu from unity-for-arch repo, indicator-sound from Pantheon repo (thanks so much Alucryd for this repo) and indicator-weather-bzr from AUR. Is not very clean, but makes me work perfectly with my pantheon desktop in arch.

Sorry about my english.

Thanks again!

Last edited by Toniti (2014-10-25 23:30:45)

Offline

#413 2014-10-26 07:33:12

quequotion
Member
From: Oita, Japan
Registered: 2013-07-29
Posts: 799
Website

Re: Pantheon Shell on Archlinux

Toniti wrote:

Only a note: I fix the problem with indicators using a convination of lxpanelx and gdevilspie,

What we really need, for (super-)wingpanel, are:

A: Indicators that are platform (toolkit?) agnostic.

B: A pantheon indicator applet that is compatible with indicators from any platform.

C: Pantheon-specific indicators in Vala; make yet another new standard.

D: ????

Last edited by quequotion (2014-10-26 07:36:24)

Offline

#414 2014-10-26 15:08:35

Weegee
Member
Registered: 2010-08-06
Posts: 62

Re: Pantheon Shell on Archlinux

DepletionMode wrote:

Pretty badly for me. I was really really happy with it until gnome 3.14 broke everything. Now gala is dead (even with the launchpad version that is meant to work with 3.14....

That's really unfortunate. I guess I'll stick with GNOME 3 then until the elementary OS developers decide that Pantheon should be usable on other distributions just as much as on their own Ubuntu derivative.


~

Offline

#415 2014-10-29 19:18:32

DepletionMode
Member
Registered: 2014-06-07
Posts: 8

Re: Pantheon Shell on Archlinux

Weegee wrote:
DepletionMode wrote:

Pretty badly for me. I was really really happy with it until gnome 3.14 broke everything. Now gala is dead (even with the launchpad version that is meant to work with 3.14....

That's really unfortunate. I guess I'll stick with GNOME 3 then until the elementary OS developers decide that Pantheon should be usable on other distributions just as much as on their own Ubuntu derivative.

@Toniti's solution worked really well for me - back in business!

Offline

#416 2014-11-13 14:10:20

orschiro
Member
Registered: 2009-06-04
Posts: 2,136
Website

Re: Pantheon Shell on Archlinux

Is someone of you running Plank dock and can reproduce the following:

On every update of Firefox, a new Firefox instance is shown with a second icon instead of the default icon that I pinned to the dock. I need to reboot my system in order to have every Firefox instance using the icon which is pinned to the dock.

Screenshot: http://i.imgur.com/lzD9kw0.jpg

Offline

#417 2014-11-13 14:53:01

Alucryd
Developer
From: France
Registered: 2011-05-07
Posts: 110
Website

Re: Pantheon Shell on Archlinux

Has happened here too for as long as I can remember, it seems that BAMF is no longer able to match firefox to its desktop file after an upgrade. I am clueless as to why though, I don't really know the inner workings of BAMF. IIRC, closing and reopening your session makes it all good again, no need to reboot.


The bird of Hermes is my name, eating my wings to make me tame.

Offline

#418 2014-11-14 09:31:55

orschiro
Member
Registered: 2009-06-04
Posts: 2,136
Website

Re: Pantheon Shell on Archlinux

I am clueless as to why though, I don't really know the inner workings of BAMF.

Thanks for confirming. I will report this bug to the BAMF developers.

IIRC, closing and reopening your session makes it all good again, no need to reboot.

I tried closing all Firefox instances and reopening them. However, this still brings up a second icon.

Offline

#419 2014-11-14 10:01:54

Alucryd
Developer
From: France
Registered: 2011-05-07
Posts: 110
Website

Re: Pantheon Shell on Archlinux

orschiro wrote:

IIRC, closing and reopening your session makes it all good again, no need to reboot.

I tried closing all Firefox instances and reopening them. However, this still brings up a second icon.

I meant your user session, not just firefox. Might have sth to do with D-Bus and bamfdaemon.


The bird of Hermes is my name, eating my wings to make me tame.

Offline

#420 2014-11-15 21:52:55

orschiro
Member
Registered: 2009-06-04
Posts: 2,136
Website

Re: Pantheon Shell on Archlinux

Let's wait for the developers' response: https://bugs.launchpad.net/bamf/+bug/1393081

Offline

#421 2014-11-21 09:35:37

Alucryd
Developer
From: France
Registered: 2011-05-07
Posts: 110
Website

Re: Pantheon Shell on Archlinux

Gala now has integrated notifications support. Unfortunately it's not in the mutter314 branch, so I patched it in for now, you can reinstall gala-bzr from my repo or build it from source. Along with that comes a new dedicated plug for switchboard: switchboard-plug-notifications-bzr. Have a VM screenshot: https://paste.xinu.at/rzm/


The bird of Hermes is my name, eating my wings to make me tame.

Offline

#422 2014-12-12 03:12:49

quequotion
Member
From: Oita, Japan
Registered: 2013-07-29
Posts: 799
Website

Re: Pantheon Shell on Archlinux

Alucryd wrote:

Gala now has integrated notifications support. Unfortunately it's not in the mutter314 branch, so I patched it in for now, you can reinstall gala-bzr from my repo or build it from source. Along with that comes a new dedicated plug for switchboard: switchboard-plug-notifications-bzr. Have a VM screenshot: https://paste.xinu.at/rzm/

what does this mean for pantheon-notify? discontinued? sad

Offline

#423 2014-12-12 07:26:34

Alucryd
Developer
From: France
Registered: 2011-05-07
Posts: 110
Website

Re: Pantheon Shell on Archlinux

Yup, it's a thing of the past now.


The bird of Hermes is my name, eating my wings to make me tame.

Offline

#424 2014-12-14 03:39:59

IlPrincipino
Member
Registered: 2010-06-10
Posts: 61

Re: Pantheon Shell on Archlinux

Is Pantheon working right now ? I really liked the functionality and look of the elementary os distro and would like to have something like that in an arch linux system. If Pantheon is not working, is something like xfce+gala or lxde+gala usable ?
Thanks.

Offline

#425 2014-12-17 21:18:39

quequotion
Member
From: Oita, Japan
Registered: 2013-07-29
Posts: 799
Website

Re: Pantheon Shell on Archlinux

IlPrincipino wrote:

Is Pantheon working right now?

For the most part yes, it has been working for some time. Only (Unity) indicators are really causing trouble.

is something like xfce+gala or lxde+gala usable?

Probably, the pantheon components are rather modular. If you are comfortable putting together your own desktop session, you could try with lxpanel or xfce-panel in place of wingpanel.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB