You are not logged in.

#126 2013-05-28 19:14:26

borisbsc
Member
Registered: 2013-04-19
Posts: 17

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

Hi, I'm a new Aura user. Can someone please tell me how to resolve circular dependencies when installing AUR packages with aura?

For example, I'm using `nvidia-beta` and `nvidia-beta-utils` AUR packages installed with aura which are updated frequently. Whenever a new kernel is released in main repos I have to recompile those packages using headers for the latest kernel, but the problem is when `nvidia-beta*` packages also get updated. If I do `aura -A nvidia-beta` (which gets the latest version) I get an error stating that 'nvidia-beta-utils (my-current-version)` is required. If I then try `aura -A nvidia-beta-utils` I get an error that `nvidia-utils (my-current-version)` is required, so it's a chicken-or-the-egg situation.

By the way, `nvidia-utils-beta` is *not* a dependency of `nvidia-beta`, at least it's not directly listed in PKGBUILD of `nvidia-utils-beta`.

Offline

#127 2013-06-01 02:24:40

dabrado
Member
Registered: 2012-07-21
Posts: 15

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

Hi again,

Following up on my own problem, I feel a little silly, but in my zsh environment I had redeclared 'makepkg' as a function that did some other stuff (including a directory change) before calling the real 'makepage'.  Apparently Aura did not like that.

While on the topic, is it expected behavior that Aura would use the 'makepkg' function from my zsh environment, versus calling '/usr/bin/makepkg' directly?

Offline

#128 2013-06-01 09:08:12

fosskers
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 142
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

@borisbsc: I'll need some time to look into that.

@dabrado: Interesting that that would happen. I've change it to  `usr/bin/makepkg` and things still work, so this should fix your problem.

Last edited by fosskers (2013-06-01 09:32:05)


Author of Aura

Offline

#129 2013-06-03 22:32:58

drrossum
Member
From: Chicago
Registered: 2009-02-24
Posts: 69

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

Hi,

I'm not sure if this is related but after today's system update involving the move to /usr/bin I can no longer use aura to build/install packages.  The system is fully up to date and aura is the newest version 1.2.0.1. Using this command I get the following error:

sudo aura -A perl-any-moose

...
:: Proceed with installation? [Y/n]
(1/1) checking keys in keyring                      [#####] 100%
(1/1) checking package integrity                  [#####] 100%
(1/1) loading package files                           [#####] 100%
(1/1) checking for file conflicts                      [#####] 100%
(1/1) checking available disk space              [#####] 100%
(1/1) installing perl-mouse                           [#####] 100%
aura >>= Building `perl-any-moose`...
loading packages...
error: '': wrong or NULL argument passed
Raw shell command call failed.

Offline

#130 2013-06-04 01:32:09

hcra
Member
From: Oregon
Registered: 2013-04-20
Posts: 56

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

Similarly, after today's update,

$ sudo aura -Akua

ends with

aura >>= Building `aura`...
loading packages...
error: '': wrong or NULL argument passed
Raw shell command call failed.

For completeness, I'm using.

[steve@arch ~]$ pacman -Qi aura
Name           : aura
Version        : 1.2.0.1-2

Stuck. Suggestions welcome. Thanks!

Offline

#131 2013-06-04 14:14:37

drrossum
Member
From: Chicago
Registered: 2009-02-24
Posts: 69

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

Issue solved in newest version 1.2.0.1-4.  Thanks

Offline

#132 2013-06-04 14:44:00

hcra
Member
From: Oregon
Registered: 2013-04-20
Posts: 56

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

drrossum wrote:

Issue solved in newest version 1.2.0.1-4.  Thanks

Not for me. It's still throwing the same error.

[steve@arch ~]$ sudo aura -Akua
aura >>= Fetching package information...
aura >>= Aura update available. Update it first? [Y/n] y
aura >>= `aura` PKGBUILD changes:
 pkgver=1.2.0.1
+pkgrel=4
-pkgrel=3
 pkgdesc="A secure package manager for Arch Linux and the AUR written in Haskell."

 source=(https://bitbucket.org/fosskers/aura/downloads/${_hkgname}-${pkgver}.tar.gz)
+md5sums=('72ea55bd7197408eb167ab3298f6208c')
-md5sums=('ab6ca10c1ee73ca923f2f1467cc4774b')
 

aura >>= Determining dependencies...
aura >>= AUR Packages:
aura

aura >>= Continue? [Y/n] y
aura >>= Building `aura`...
loading packages...
error: '': wrong or NULL argument passed
Raw shell command call failed.

I assume that my aura is pulling down the current version, 1.2.0.1-4. Something's still not quite right, at least for me. Stuck. Thanks so much for your help!!

Offline

#133 2013-06-04 15:00:24

bootleg
Member
Registered: 2010-12-08
Posts: 38

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

Well you are still using the old version to install the new one. You should use another AUR helper to install the new aura version or install it by hand.

Offline

#134 2013-06-04 15:01:34

hcra
Member
From: Oregon
Registered: 2013-04-20
Posts: 56

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

bootleg wrote:

Well you are still using the old version to install the new one.

Yes, I'll give it a go. Thanks.
[edit] success! Thanks for the tip.

Last edited by hcra (2013-06-04 15:20:03)

Offline

#135 2013-06-05 06:32:50

dabrado
Member
Registered: 2012-07-21
Posts: 15

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

fosskers wrote:

@dabrado: Interesting that that would happen. I've change it to  `usr/bin/makepkg` and things still work, so this should fix your problem.

@fosskers: Thanks for the change. Indeed this worked!

Offline

#136 2013-06-13 21:39:45

silvik
Member
From: Bucharest/Romania
Registered: 2006-11-08
Posts: 110

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

fosskers wrote:

New release!

1.1.6.0
-------
- New option `--build` for specifying AUR package build path.
- Vote number now shown in `-As` output.
- Fixed Repo/AUR name collision bug.
- API Change: Argument order for functions in `Aura/Languages` changed.


--build doesn't work for me:

$ sudo aura --build /build -Akua aura-bin
error: invalid option
aura >>= Please check your input.

I don't have enough memory to build large packages if the build dir is /tmp, so this would be really useful. I hope I'm not missing something obvious smile

Thank you for your work. I really like aura!

EDIT: uff, sorry, it was in the man page. wrong syntax...  I need some coffee...

Last edited by silvik (2013-06-13 21:47:15)

Offline

#137 2013-06-19 03:15:45

fosskers
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 142
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

Hi Silvik. Haha yeah, when in doubt, check the man page. Also, aura doesn't build in tmp by default, so memory shouldn't be an issue.

Glad you enjoy aura.


Author of Aura

Offline

#138 2013-06-27 06:56:31

orschiro
Member
Registered: 2009-06-04
Posts: 2,136
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

Hi fosskers,

A while ago I asked for a binary version of Aura. I am very happy to seeing it available. Thanks!

One question though. The command 'sudo aura -Akua' is supposed to upgrade all AUR packages, correct?

Yet I miss the feature to skip packages that fail to build (for whatever reasons). At the moment the whole upgrade progress is aborted if one packages fails to build.

Can this behaviour be changed to skipping the failed packages but continuing to build the others?

Offline

#139 2013-06-27 13:09:32

fosskers
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 142
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

orschiro wrote:

Hi fosskers,

A while ago I asked for a binary version of Aura. I am very happy to seeing it available. Thanks!

One question though. The command 'sudo aura -Akua' is supposed to upgrade all AUR packages, correct?

Yet I miss the feature to skip packages that fail to build (for whatever reasons). At the moment the whole upgrade progress is aborted if one packages fails to build.

Can this behaviour be changed to skipping the failed packages but continuing to build the others?

1. Bitte!
2. I'm glad someone uses -Akua instead of -Ayu!
3. I wasn't aware that this was happening. I quite enjoyed that feature as well. Let me look into it.

Last edited by fosskers (2013-06-27 13:11:45)


Author of Aura

Offline

#140 2013-07-01 22:13:36

gondsman
Member
Registered: 2009-07-27
Posts: 84

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

Is there a way in aura to list all the packages installed from AUR? And to list packages not found in neither in repos nor AUR?
Thanks so much!

Offline

#141 2013-07-02 04:58:00

PhaytalError
Member
Registered: 2013-07-02
Posts: 1

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

gondsman wrote:

Is there a way in aura to list all the packages installed from AUR? And to list packages not found in neither in repos nor AUR?
Thanks so much!

While this answer is a bit off-topic, it's still useful information.

Pacman can list all AUR packages you have installed (including installed AUR package dependencies): pacman -Qm -- simularly you can view any package you installed yourself from the main Arch repos (ie. not automatically pulled in by another package): pacman -Qe -- Pacman can also view orphans: pacman -Qdt

Pacman is very versatile and more powerful than people realize. smile

Last edited by PhaytalError (2013-07-02 05:00:58)

Offline

#142 2013-07-02 07:54:06

gondsman
Member
Registered: 2009-07-27
Posts: 84

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

PhaytalError wrote:
gondsman wrote:

Is there a way in aura to list all the packages installed from AUR? And to list packages not found in neither in repos nor AUR?
Thanks so much!

While this answer is a bit off-topic, it's still useful information.

Pacman can list all AUR packages you have installed (including installed AUR package dependencies): pacman -Qm -- simularly you can view any package you installed yourself from the main Arch repos (ie. not automatically pulled in by another package): pacman -Qe -- Pacman can also view orphans: pacman -Qdt

Pacman is very versatile and more powerful than people realize. smile

Thanks for the answer, but it's not exactly what I was looking for. pacman -Qm lists all packages not present in any repository, it doesn't check whether an AUR package exists for those packages or not. I'm mainly asking because it happens that some packages from AUR changed name, or they were removed and I didn't know for months, so a query to look for packages which are neither in the repos nor in AUR could be useful.

Offline

#143 2013-07-02 08:39:35

fosskers
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 142
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

@gondsman: There isn't a convenient way to do a mass check, but if you used `aura -Ai` on your package and nothing came up, then you'd know it doesn't exist as an AUR package.


Author of Aura

Offline

#144 2013-07-02 09:58:32

Spyhawk
Member
Registered: 2006-07-07
Posts: 399

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

@fosskers > I think you've misunderstood gondsman request. What he is actually asking is possible by simply asking the Json RPC interface for all "foreign" packages (-Qm) to filter the package that are not in the AUR either. Another helper automatically warns about such packages when upgrading all packages from the AUR.

Offline

#145 2013-07-02 14:44:55

evujumenuk
Member
Registered: 2013-07-02
Posts: 14

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

Hi,

my current, makepkg-only setup is this: I build packages as a normal user (named makepkg) and install them as root via pacman -U. Although I'm aware that the makepkg user effectively is root (as it can plant malicious code in built packages), I am reluctant to give that user sudo privileges since that would widen the attack surface even more.

How can aura support me there? Can I name a user to build as when I call aura as root? (I am fine with su -c). Or can aura do all necessary step as a normal user except for pacman calls? (I'd need to know what root needs to do with pacman then, however).

Thanks in advance.

Offline

#146 2013-07-03 04:33:22

orschiro
Member
Registered: 2009-06-04
Posts: 2,136
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

When I try to build Insync package from AUR the building process aborts with the following error:

insync : 0.10.8-1 => 0.10.9-1

aura >>= `insync` is known to fail at building. Reason:
aura >>= Too many bashisms in PKGBUILD.
aura >>= Will you try anyway? [Y/n] 
aura >>= `chromium-pepper-flash-stable` PKGBUILD changes:
 pkgdesc="Google Chrome's Pepper Flash plugin for Chromium (stable version)"
+pkgver=11.8.800.96
+pkgrel=1
+_verbld=28.0.1500.70-209565
-pkgver=11.7.700.203
-pkgrel=6
-_verbld=28.0.1500.63-208724
 _channel='stable'

         source+=(https://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/rpm/stable/x86_64/google-chrome-${_channel}-${_verbld}.x86_64.rpm)
+        sha1sums+=('a496fd42dfc70eee2353c1dd4201644517e5e2f4')
-        sha1sums+=('3680f97b50bc7a198671b1798e5d0a69688e6ef4')
 elif [ "$CARCH" == i686 ]; then

         source+=(https://dl.google.com/linux/chrome/rpm/stable/i386/google-chrome-${_channel}-${_verbld}.i386.rpm)
+        sha1sums+=('bcef883c6e2490038e50c871e59567b2da5ecbc0')
-        sha1sums+=('61078c80002426fe8699e276f65300f10f0e9f69')
 fi

aura >>= `insync` has no stored PKGBUILD yet.
aura >>= Determining dependencies...
aura >>= Dependency checking failed for these reasons:
`xdg-utils[@]}` exists in NO WAY as a package or as one provided by another!

Manual building with makepkg runs fine.

Last edited by orschiro (2013-07-03 04:36:56)

Offline

#147 2013-07-15 21:04:31

orschiro
Member
Registered: 2009-06-04
Posts: 2,136
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

Is it possible with Aura to just download the PKGBUILD of a package to a specific directory?

Last edited by orschiro (2013-07-15 21:04:40)

Offline

#148 2013-07-21 00:28:19

fosskers
Member
Registered: 2012-02-21
Posts: 142
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

@evujumenuk: Aura, even when run with sudo, runs makepkg as a normal user.

@orschiro: Yes unfortunately with `insync`s PKGBUILD the way it is now, Aura will never be able to build it.
And yes you can download just the PKGBUILD. Go to the target direction, then use `aura -Ap pkg-name-here > PKGBUILD`


Author of Aura

Offline

#149 2013-07-22 09:59:13

orschiro
Member
Registered: 2009-06-04
Posts: 2,136
Website

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

@fosskers

Thanks for the info on downloading the PKGBUILD. Very useful!

Just for interest: Why is Aura not able to build Insync but Yaourt is?

Offline

#150 2013-07-23 04:50:41

zoqaeski
Member
From: /earth/australia/.
Registered: 2009-09-30
Posts: 124

Re: Aura - 1.3.5 *Please update to fix breakage*

Could you add a shorthand option to enable editing of PKGBUILDs? I prefer to edit them before building, but typing ‘--hotedit’ all the time gets a little annoying. ‘-e’ doesn’t seem to conflict with anything. Also, sometimes Aura will ask twice if you want to edit the PKGBUILD.

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB