You are not logged in.

#76 2013-04-02 19:47:38

meijin
Member
From: Israel
Registered: 2009-03-05
Posts: 92

Re: It is possible to install Gnome 3.x?

i installed everything successfully from [gnome-unstable], and after "r" or restarting gdm (systemctl restart gdm.service) everything works great.  but after restarting, gdm refuse to load. X starts (i see mouse courser, but nothing else, on the background of boot messages).
any ideas?

Offline

#77 2013-04-03 01:31:14

ElderSnake
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2010-12-09
Posts: 93

Re: It is possible to install Gnome 3.x?

Is it normal for Gnome-Shell process to clime up to 400+mb of RAM usage after some hours of use? A restart of the shell brings it back to 150mb, at least for a time.

I've heard of GS memory leaks before but just curious to others' experiences.


Arch Linux - Intel E5200 Desktop (Cinnamon 2.0) - Debian Testing - Netbook EeePC AMD C-50 (Xfce)

Offline

#78 2013-04-03 01:48:17

hadrons123
Member
From: chennai
Registered: 2011-10-07
Posts: 1,249

Re: It is possible to install Gnome 3.x?

ElderSnake wrote:

Is it normal for Gnome-Shell process to clime up to 400+mb of RAM usage after some hours of use? A restart of the shell brings it back to 150mb, at least for a time.

I've heard of GS memory leaks before but just curious to others' experiences.

Yeah I had that too. Mine was rocking at almost twice RAM usage in GS. It happens in Fedora 19 TCs too.


LENOVO Y 580 IVYBRIDGE 660M NVIDIA
Unix is user-friendly. It just isn't promiscuous about which users it's friendly with. - Steven King

Offline

#79 2013-04-03 01:56:13

ElderSnake
Member
From: Australia
Registered: 2010-12-09
Posts: 93

Re: It is possible to install Gnome 3.x?

hadrons123 wrote:
ElderSnake wrote:

Is it normal for Gnome-Shell process to clime up to 400+mb of RAM usage after some hours of use? A restart of the shell brings it back to 150mb, at least for a time.

I've heard of GS memory leaks before but just curious to others' experiences.

Yeah I had that too. Mine was rocking at almost twice RAM usage in GS. It happens in Fedora 19 TCs too.

Ahh okay. I notice you are on NVIDIA, as I am.

Makes me a little nervous, as I remember NVIDIA systems were having memory leaks with Gnome-Shell once before but I thought it was fixed. Anyway I'll keep an eye on it, it may not get any higher than a certain point but it seems to rise a fair amount.

Last edited by ElderSnake (2013-04-03 01:57:12)


Arch Linux - Intel E5200 Desktop (Cinnamon 2.0) - Debian Testing - Netbook EeePC AMD C-50 (Xfce)

Offline

#80 2013-04-03 02:26:38

hadrons123
Member
From: chennai
Registered: 2011-10-07
Posts: 1,249

Re: It is possible to install Gnome 3.x?

I don't think Nvidia is making issues here. As I have disabled nvidia on BIOS, so its intel 99% of time.


LENOVO Y 580 IVYBRIDGE 660M NVIDIA
Unix is user-friendly. It just isn't promiscuous about which users it's friendly with. - Steven King

Offline

#81 2013-04-03 03:28:08

aiguofer
Member
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 31

Re: It is possible to install Gnome 3.x?

Hmm... So I'm still stumped on this.  I'm using the latest updates and still freezing on boot with gdm.

I've tried enabling debugging and trying to trace through /var/log/messages.log but it's pointless since it doesn't place the errors there when it freezes.

Are the other guys that get this issue using stock kernels? I'm on linux-pf... I think I'm about to try a different kernel and see what happens.

I'll report my findings.

Offline

#82 2013-04-03 03:46:05

aiguofer
Member
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 31

Re: It is possible to install Gnome 3.x?

Ok nvm, changing kernels didn't help.

If I start gdm manually my log file gets bombarded with "/usr/bin/dbus-launch[1683]: (gnome-settings-daemon:1712): dconf-CRITICAL **: unable to create directory '/run/user/0/dconf': Permission denied.  dconf will not work properly." lines so I can't really find any useful information in the logs.

Guess I'll just keep waiting and running slim in the meantime

Offline

#83 2013-04-03 04:34:08

bwat47
Member
Registered: 2009-10-07
Posts: 637

Re: It is possible to install Gnome 3.x?

the memory leak is probably https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/32484

which is supposedly supposed to be fixed in 3.8 if you are using 3.8 + a mythical future version of gjs/spidermonkey.

Offline

#84 2013-04-03 04:45:07

yangtsesu
Member
Registered: 2011-08-20
Posts: 26

Re: It is possible to install Gnome 3.x?

aiguofer wrote:

Ok nvm, changing kernels didn't help.

If I start gdm manually my log file gets bombarded with "/usr/bin/dbus-launch[1683]: (gnome-settings-daemon:1712): dconf-CRITICAL **: unable to create directory '/run/user/0/dconf': Permission denied.  dconf will not work properly." lines so I can't really find any useful information in the logs.

Guess I'll just keep waiting and running slim in the meantime

I hav e report a bug,but no one care about this.
https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/34543

Offline

#85 2013-04-03 04:45:39

yangtsesu
Member
Registered: 2011-08-20
Posts: 26

Re: It is possible to install Gnome 3.x?

meijin wrote:

i installed everything successfully from [gnome-unstable], and after "r" or restarting gdm (systemctl restart gdm.service) everything works great.  but after restarting, gdm refuse to load. X starts (i see mouse courser, but nothing else, on the background of boot messages).
any ideas?

https://bugs.archlinux.org/task/34543

Offline

#86 2013-04-03 10:28:24

hadrons123
Member
From: chennai
Registered: 2011-10-07
Posts: 1,249

Re: It is possible to install Gnome 3.x?

I doubt your bug will recieve a response since the package is not in official repos.


LENOVO Y 580 IVYBRIDGE 660M NVIDIA
Unix is user-friendly. It just isn't promiscuous about which users it's friendly with. - Steven King

Offline

#87 2013-04-03 12:22:43

aiguofer
Member
Registered: 2011-10-09
Posts: 31

Re: It is possible to install Gnome 3.x?

^ what he said.

Hopefully they'll have it fixed by the time it goes into testing, if not then we can just update the bug report when they do.

Offline

#88 2013-04-03 14:32:33

bots
Member
Registered: 2013-04-03
Posts: 2

Re: It is possible to install Gnome 3.x?

If I'm using gnome-unstable I'm assuming I need to be using the testing repo as well? Can I use gnome-unstable along with only the stable repos?

Offline

#89 2013-04-03 15:27:56

hadrons123
Member
From: chennai
Registered: 2011-10-07
Posts: 1,249

Re: It is possible to install Gnome 3.x?

I used testing and gnome-unstable. Maybe you can try gnome-unstable without using testing. But the odds are more breakage, rather than more stability becoz the dependency libs may exist in testing which might be required for gnome 3.8.

Last edited by hadrons123 (2013-04-03 16:39:56)


LENOVO Y 580 IVYBRIDGE 660M NVIDIA
Unix is user-friendly. It just isn't promiscuous about which users it's friendly with. - Steven King

Offline

#90 2013-04-03 16:39:04

bots
Member
Registered: 2013-04-03
Posts: 2

Re: It is possible to install Gnome 3.x?

hadrons123 wrote:

I used testing and gnome-unstable. Maybe you can try gnome-unstable without using testing. But the odds are more breakage, rather than more stability becoz the dependency libs maybe in testing which might be required for gnome 3.8.

Yeah that's what I figured. Thanks for clarifying.

Offline

#91 2013-04-03 23:08:51

D4ve
Member
Registered: 2012-08-02
Posts: 209

Re: It is possible to install Gnome 3.x?

bots wrote:

Can I use gnome-unstable along with only the stable repos?

I've just tested it - works without problems.

There are only 2 things i don't like: The new alt+f2-dialog and the fact i can't set a transparent background in gnome-terminal.

Oh, and it feels a lot smoother (and faster) than gnome 3.6

EDIT: In the case gnome 3.8 doesn't work for you: You can always downgrade.

Last edited by D4ve (2013-04-03 23:09:45)

Offline

#92 2013-04-03 23:58:48

dberg918
Member
Registered: 2009-05-11
Posts: 18

Re: It is possible to install Gnome 3.x?

The only hiccup I've experienced over the past few days of testing is that I can't get my Google account connected in Online Accounts. I've tried removing and re-adding several times, and the end result is the same -- the credentials are "expired". Anyone else having issues with this? Otherwise, I think 3.8 is a huge improvement from 3.6.

As I'm using [gnome-unstable], I've also enabled [testing] and [community-testing], though I don't think I'm using anything that's in [community-testing] at the moment.

Offline

#93 2013-04-04 06:48:56

KriK
Member
Registered: 2012-05-14
Posts: 5

Re: It is possible to install Gnome 3.x?

After some updates gnome 3.8 and some gtk programms refuse to run again:

gnome-session[8705]: GLib-GIO-ERROR: No GSettings schemas are installed on the system
(totem:8703): GLib-GIO-ERROR **: No GSettings schemas are installed on the system

Also not worked sound in kde and xfce at present ((

Offline

#94 2013-04-04 08:48:16

KriK
Member
Registered: 2012-05-14
Posts: 5

Re: It is possible to install Gnome 3.x?

Also 'gsettings list-schemas' crashes:

Segmentation fault (core dumped)

Offline

#95 2013-04-04 10:45:05

JGC
Developer
Registered: 2003-12-03
Posts: 1,659

Re: It is possible to install Gnome 3.x?

You should check your system for scripts that set XDG_* variables in /etc/profile.d/

Offline

#96 2013-04-04 12:55:16

KriK
Member
Registered: 2012-05-14
Posts: 5

Re: It is possible to install Gnome 3.x?

JGC wrote:

You should check your system for scripts that set XDG_* variables in /etc/profile.d/

JGC, Thank you so much! It was not due gnome, it is all because "hawaii"-updates (they are equipped with a file "/etc/profile.d/hawaii.sh").

Gnome! Sweet Gnome!

Offline

#97 2013-04-04 16:24:40

Arogers10
Member
Registered: 2012-06-20
Posts: 68

Re: It is possible to install Gnome 3.x?

Has anybody else experienced an issue with Empathy, Telepathy Gabble, and connecting to Facebook? Just checking if it's broken on my end or if I'm just waiting for an update to gnome-unstable

Offline

#98 2013-04-04 17:33:32

perosb
Member
Registered: 2011-09-19
Posts: 12

Re: It is possible to install Gnome 3.x?

no one got issue with dependencies to libsoup-gnome?

error: failed to prepare transaction (could not satisfy dependencies)
:: Starting full system upgrade...
:: libsoup-gnome: requires libsoup=2.40.3

Last edited by perosb (2013-04-05 13:31:56)

Offline

#99 2013-04-04 17:39:17

Arogers10
Member
Registered: 2012-06-20
Posts: 68

Re: It is possible to install Gnome 3.x?

perosb wrote:

no one got issue with dependencies to libsoup-gnome?

error: failed to prepare transaction (could not satisfy dependencies)
:: Starting full system upgrade...
:: libsoup-gnome: requires libsoup=2.40.3

If I remember correctly I upgraded libsoup first via pacman -S libsoup and then ran pacman -Syu to update to gnome-unstable.

Offline

#100 2013-04-04 17:40:16

perosb
Member
Registered: 2011-09-19
Posts: 12

Re: It is possible to install Gnome 3.x?

Arogers10 wrote:
perosb wrote:

no one got issue with dependencies to libsoup-gnome?

error: failed to prepare transaction (could not satisfy dependencies)
:: Starting full system upgrade...
:: libsoup-gnome: requires libsoup=2.40.3

If I remember correctly I upgraded libsoup first via pacman -S libsoup and then ran pacman -Syu to update to gnome-unstable.

Yup, got it!

Offline

Board footer

Powered by FluxBB